46 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

4th Gen Nissan Serena Official discussion Thread, The Facelift is here, from RM138k

MomoFoong
post Jul 31 2013, 12:04 AM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Ro4feH5Mys

All - look at Japan Full spec...
frank76
post Jul 31 2013, 11:19 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(ryanit @ Jul 30 2013, 10:43 PM)
Indonesia not sure, but in HK, definitely cbu from jp
HA... Then Nissan is lying then!!! mad.gif
cheekin36
post Jul 31 2013, 01:28 PM

and one thing, steering wheel audio control i think is a most basic feature TCM also taken out. Even our local made Exora and Alza also have this option. Dunno later on can add in this feature or not?
sonyman
post Aug 1 2013, 08:33 AM

1,043 posts

i was looking into this serena as well, went to see.

plus
great ergonomics.
average comfort.
good space design.
good convenience with power doors.
a lot of glove compartment.
i like the movable or adjustable center console.
aircond zone control
ISO FIX seats.

negatives.
1)price, i doubt this would be the excise duty pricing, previous serena is selling about the same price.
2) safety, : though there is VDC and the basics active, but 2 airbags i think this is a pity.
3) why is this considered a hybrid, but the mazda 6 with a start stop system does not?
4) it cannot run on batteries alone, so i doubt it will save plenty of fuel. probably a marginal better only.
5) as a large car, i think the lighting is not enough.
6) quality in par with perodua or proton. Dont feel like a japanese made.

now i am just playing the waiting game. Tan Chong as a dinasour company usually gives the dinasour technology when they launch a new car. probably will wait until when they have about 2 to 3 facelifts then the MPV probably comes with more features. But i doubt they airbags will increase.
Anyway, today we travel more on highway, the risk of accidents and severity of accidents are more drastic compare to 30 years ago.

So i probably will pass this first

MomoFoong
post Aug 1 2013, 10:15 AM

QUOTE(sonyman @ Aug 1 2013, 08:33 AM)
i was looking into this serena as well, went to see.

plus
great ergonomics.
average comfort.
good space design.
good convenience with power doors.
a lot of glove compartment.
i like the movable or adjustable center console.
aircond zone control
ISO FIX seats.
negatives.
1)price, i doubt this would be the excise duty pricing, previous serena is selling about the same price.
2) safety, : though there is VDC and the basics active, but 2 airbags i think this is a pity.
3) why is this considered a hybrid, but the mazda 6 with a start stop system does not?
4) it cannot run on batteries alone, so i doubt it will save plenty of fuel. probably a marginal better only.
5) as a large car, i think the lighting is not enough.
6) quality in par with perodua or proton. Dont feel like a japanese made.
now i am just playing the waiting game. Tan Chong as a dinasour company usually gives the dinasour technology when they launch a new car. probably will wait until when they have about 2 to 3 facelifts then the MPV probably comes with more features. But i doubt they airbags will increase.
Anyway, today we travel more on highway, the risk of accidents and severity of accidents are more drastic compare to 30 years ago.

So i probably will pass this first
MomoFoong
post Aug 1 2013, 10:17 AM

http://paultan.org/2010/11/12/nissan-intro...a-mpv-in-japan/

"Among the many items on the equipment list are VDC, TCS, ABS and EBD plus Brake Assist, Hill Start assist, curtain and side airbags, Isofix mount points, front seat active head restraints and auto light and rain sensors."

If like the Honda Jazz CBU model, come with all this good features, it will be better choice..
sonyman
post Aug 1 2013, 06:41 PM

1,043 posts

i think we are getting this model

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VKLLvfE3qAk

from Japan
sonyman
post Aug 1 2013, 06:51 PM

1,043 posts

i went to look at AP Estima 08, the price was selling at about 158K excluding insurance and all those admin items, after including everything it would be about RM 162,000 somewhere there.

some how i ask, all the japanese MPV are all only equipped with 2 airbags. Seems that safety is not a concern in an MPV. No side airbags, even at 300 K alphard. i wonder.

So looking into the Serena again, probably wanna say expensive is it really not because it is new. But unless i am comparing a wrong category.

MGM
post Aug 6 2013, 03:27 AM

18,399 posts

Newly lauched and already so quiet, guess response not so good
sianglee
post Aug 6 2013, 10:52 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Aug 6 2013, 03:27 AM)
Just overpriced as TCM too ambitious,they still thinking consumers like 10yrs back mentality that: new version must not cheaper than existing version even it is hybrid version.
H brand already putting their new hybrid version cheaper than some CKD one .
TCM just reluctant to return the tax exemption benefits to consumers.

Be frank either quality or level of refinement, the Serena S-Hybrid still not reaching RM 150k price level in most malaysian's mind.

Cliff_Tan73
post Aug 6 2013, 01:00 PM

74 posts

[quote=sianglee,Aug 6 2013, 10:52 AM]
Just overpriced as TCM too ambitious,they still thinking consumers like 10yrs back mentality that: new version must not cheaper than existing version even it is hybrid version.
H brand already putting their new hybrid version cheaper than some CKD one .
TCM just reluctant to return the tax exemption benefits to

Their SA told me need to wait for 2 months for delivery.. Went to test drive last weekend, don't feel sufficient power, aircond not cold even as maximum speed with minimum temperature-18c. Noticed that Indonesia version highest spec with 2 power door, 6 airbag, panoramic roof , Price around rm130k with is not hybrid version.......so u guys know the answer........ hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Cliff_Tan73: Aug 6 2013, 06:51 PM
barrywcb
post Aug 10 2013, 08:05 PM

QUOTE(MGM @ Aug 6 2013, 03:27 AM)
Probably most MPV owner are uncle and family man which don't chat in forum much. :-)
anyway, i am new owner of this boxy MPV.
1st impression driving, not too bad.
just done my 1st 1000 service which is free.
overall, boleh tahan la, fuel consumption is pretty impressive . full tank from KL - JB - KL = 700+ km. When refuelling time, cost me 90 bucks. +- 12-13cents per km. is this good? not a really fast drive but cruising at 120-140km along PLUS.

other members feedback welcome.
do feel free to ask any question if you want. cheers guys.

Cliff_Tan73
post Aug 11 2013, 11:31 AM

74 posts

QUOTE(barrywcb @ Aug 10 2013, 08:05 PM)
Probably most MPV owner are uncle and family man which don't chat in forum much. :-)
anyway, i am new owner of this boxy MPV.
1st impression driving, not too bad.
just done my 1st 1000 service which is free.
overall, boleh tahan la, fuel consumption is pretty impressive  . full tank from KL - JB - KL = 700+ km. When refuelling time, cost me 90 bucks. +- 12-13cents per km.  is this good? not a really fast drive but cruising at 120-140km along PLUS. 

other members feedback welcome.
do feel free to ask any question if you want. cheers guys.
Oh? So fast get the car? What calour u choose? Beside free Navigation system, what else u get obtain from TC? Will appreciate u can share with us about the FC in city drive...... Once again congrat for the new car.

This post has been edited by Cliff_Tan73: Aug 11 2013, 11:32 AM
barrywcb
post Aug 11 2013, 02:18 PM

QUOTE(Cliff_Tan73 @ Aug 11 2013, 11:31 AM)
Oh? So fast get the car?  What calour u choose? Beside free Navigation system, what else u get obtain from TC? Will appreciate u can share with us about the FC in city drive...... Once again congrat for the new car.
Hi Cliff,

I got mine last week and its Pearl White in color.
Not too sure what other buyers get but my salesman did arrange me Free tinted,Carpet, Full Tank and also
No Plate. ( Crystal type ) icon_rolleyes.gif
So far, just 1000km done, mostly on PLUS, have not really go on city driving yet but i suppose its not going to take long before i share again.

Are you driving MPV as well Cliff?
Own an 05 accord 2.0 previously and to compare with MPV ( not a fair comparison ), i can say i was trill to have such a reading on my meter :-) - ( at least exceed expectation) icon_rolleyes.gif

Cheers and have a good day guys and gals.
sonyman
post Aug 11 2013, 06:37 PM

1,043 posts

i am just wondering is the serena would be more comfortable than the Estima.

looking at it i believe the comfort level on the estima probably is no doubt. but because it is a used MPV the price is kind of expensive. But thats the very few choices that we can get.

As for the serena, the boxy shape is really a put off but that really translate a more space interior. For the estima it feels a bit more cramp. But estima second row seat is more comfortable compare to serena. well i am also waiting here. so those who own the serena can comment more on your MPV ergonomics and fuel consumption.

Cliff_Tan73
post Aug 11 2013, 06:52 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(barrywcb @ Aug 11 2013, 02:18 PM)
Hi Cliff,

I got mine last week and its Pearl White in color.
Not too sure what other buyers get but my salesman did arrange me Free tinted,Carpet, Full Tank and also
No Plate. ( Crystal type )  icon_rolleyes.gif
So far, just 1000km done, mostly on PLUS, have not really go on city driving yet but i suppose its not going to take long before i share again.

Are you driving MPV as well Cliff?
Own an 05 accord 2.0 previously and to compare with MPV ( not a fair comparison ), i can say i  was trill to have such a reading on my meter :-) - ( at least exceed expectation)  icon_rolleyes.gif

OtCheers and have a good day guys and gals.
I am driving year 2006 E200k, Nissan Serena is for my wife fetch kids to school and weekend car with my parent, went to test drive last weekend, kids like it, but I feel aircond not as cold as expected, 4 adults and 3kids, can feel lack of power, how about u? Satisfy with the performance ?

Sales man give u free tinted? It zit VKool Elite? How about cash rebate? Most of the branch give RM500 discount, or they give u higher trade in price? R u booked the car since last month?

Waiting u news for the FC in city drive wink.gif wink.gif wink.gif

This post has been edited by Cliff_Tan73: Aug 11 2013, 07:06 PM
barrywcb
post Aug 11 2013, 11:45 PM

QUOTE(sonyman @ Aug 11 2013, 06:37 PM)
i am just wondering is the serena would be more comfortable than the Estima.

looking at it i believe the comfort level on the estima probably is no doubt. but because it is a used MPV the price is kind of expensive. But thats the very few choices that we can get.

As for the serena, the boxy shape is really a put off but that really translate a more space interior. For the estima it feels a bit more cramp. But estima second row seat is more comfortable compare to serena. well i am also waiting here. so those who own the serena can comment more on your MPV ergonomics and fuel consumption.
Sonyman,

Never tested Estima as a driver but ride wise, pretty much the same as passenger as far as i am concern.
As for looks, Estima surely looks more sporty compare to Serena.

You are right to mention as far as price is concern, with RM150k, its very difficult to get a decent 2.0l MPV.
Not many choices and if i get it correctly, only Toyota Innova is in the same list, otherwise, it will all go down to recon which may be 4-6 years old. I am not very convince that all these recon car are in good condition esp when reading the forum. blush.gif

So far, i am enjoying the ride, the kids love it too. Its better than my previous Trajet which is a guzzler tongue.gif
barrywcb
post Aug 11 2013, 11:53 PM

QUOTE(Cliff_Tan73 @ Aug 11 2013, 06:52 PM)
I am driving year 2006 E200k, Nissan Serena is for my wife fetch kids to school and weekend car with my parent, went to test drive last weekend, kids like it, but I feel aircond not as cold as expected, 4 adults and 3kids, can feel lack of power, how about u? Satisfy with the performance ?
Sales man give u free tinted? It zit VKool Elite? How about cash rebate? Most of the branch give RM500 discount, or they give u higher trade in price? R u booked the car since last month?

Waiting u news for the FC in city drive  wink.gif  wink.gif  wink.gif
Hi Cliff,

A/con is ok when its in driving mode however if one stop the car, thats where the Smart Hybrid kick in. Engine will be running on battert and a/con become KIPAS biggrin.gif . Thats what i was told by the SA.

My tinted is not VKool, its lower range, ECO TINT. ( Free mah , how to get VKOOL ?) blush.gif
I got a cash rebate of 500 bucks hence the total bill is 149k instead of 149,500k. Free GPS, Reverse sensor camera which TC claims is RM 3300.

I didnt trade in my car, it was sold much earlier.I waited almost close to a month for the car.

Will update on town driving to you guys soon. By the way,its still new engines, got to wait for the new engine to get kick in ( is that the right terms? ) then only its fair to share. biggrin.gif
MomoFoong
post Aug 12 2013, 11:41 PM

I hav booked 1 for my wife (need a MPV for kids, haha) , should able to get it within next 1/2 weeks, will provide more input
lunchtime
post Aug 13 2013, 09:23 AM

487 posts

Can owners let us know whether the Serena will be underpower / struggling to go uphill will full load aka going up Genting or Cameron's?

46 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0207sec    1.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:26 AM