What Should I/We Do?, when i/we receive/bought my notebook...

TSmadstone
post Mar 21 2006, 02:36 PM, updated 20y ago

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

Hey guys,
this questions kept running in my head for quite sometime since i have confirmed the order of my Inspiron 6400
i read quite a bit what to do and what to test like dead pixel for example
but when i read more i came across a lot of problem with new laptop
so many problem and yet we dunno how to prevent it

so, guys out there, if u know anything what to do when we receive/buy new laptop
please share with us here what to do with our 1st day of new laptop

MY QUESTION IS:
WHAT TO TEST AND HOW?
Wolfgard
post Mar 21 2006, 03:15 PM

Real life Orc in Australia, rawr
892 posts

Here're my suggestion:

-Before you take out each item from the box, snap a picture with your digicam.
-copy down the serial number and stash it somewhere
-make sure everything you want is in the box
-check for dead pixel
-test all buttons
-do a RAM test
-scan your HDD for bad sectors
-run your lappie for a day and check its temperature fluctuation

And don't forget to download Centrino Hardware Controller (CHC) from downloads.com
TSmadstone
post Mar 21 2006, 04:07 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(Wolfgard @ Mar 21 2006, 03:15 PM)
Here're my suggestion:

-check for dead pixel
-test all buttons
-do a RAM test

And don't forget to download Centrino Hardware Controller (CHC) from downloads.com

BUT HOW? Can u teach me more details on this?
If not too hard laa...
jamezco
post Mar 21 2006, 06:16 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

hey hey ... i also wanna know ... good topic madstone !!!

btw wat are the pics for ?

and how to do a Ram test ???

sorry i noob to the max ....

This post has been edited by jamezco: Mar 21 2006, 06:18 PM
adventures18
post Mar 21 2006, 06:37 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(Wolfgard @ Mar 21 2006, 03:15 PM)
Here're my suggestion:

-check for dead pixel
-test all buttons
-do a RAM test

good topic, but can't find the Centrino Hardware Controller that u mention in download.com
mind pm me the link? thx
BratPAQ
post Mar 22 2006, 09:52 AM

404 - Witty quotes not found!
719 posts

does every software and driver comes in a cd included in the package of a new laptop? or its all installed already and no cd installer?
TSmadstone
post Mar 22 2006, 10:23 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

so far, they came with all the CD include the OS if u ordered/bought with OS specs

my experience with FTEC are quite good
the salesman/tehnician showed me everything i wanted to know like RAM, HDD, Processor ans taught me what to do with the driver
this happened at the PC FAIR last december

The problem is, that is the consider normal thing,
they don't show u different things unless u ask for it

so, any details about how to test the new laptop?
yetieater
post Mar 22 2006, 10:28 AM

pur.skill
1,546 posts

To test your RAM, download and use MemTest
Because you are purchasing a laptop, it'll come with all the drivers and the operating system installed for you
If you're purchasing from a big-name retailer, the laptop will have been tested for you. Dell tests all their laptops before sending them out to customers.
Check for stuck and dead pixels by using red, green, black, and blue background images. Set the image as your desktop, close out of explorer.exe, and look through the whole screen for stuck pixels.
RoxyMunky
post Mar 22 2006, 10:57 AM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

checking on dead pixel is crucial man!!! last time i got my laptop from a vendor in LY. got dead pixel in the mid of the screen!!!! vmad.gif

then i went back for exchange... changed edi, stil got dead pixel but at the corner... vmad.gif then lazy go back change di.... cz need it to rush assignment... sweat.gif
TSmadstone
post Mar 22 2006, 11:55 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

finish your assignment then change it later laa
how many years the warranty last? 1 year?
BratPAQ
post Mar 22 2006, 06:49 PM

404 - Witty quotes not found!
719 posts

QUOTE(madstone @ Mar 22 2006, 10:23 AM)
so far, they came with all the CD include the OS if u ordered/bought with OS specs

my experience with FTEC are quite good
the salesman/tehnician showed me everything i wanted to know like RAM, HDD, Processor ans taught me what to do with the driver
this happened at the PC FAIR last december

The problem is, that is the consider normal thing,
they don't show u different things unless u ask for it

so, any details about how to test the new laptop?
comes with a cd for drivers and OS? cause my friend bought an thinkpad R50 and the driver and OS already installed but no CD is included in the package, he bought it at singapore. is that the norm? if i buy an acer without windows, will there be a CD for the drivers like soundcard, video, wifi, etc.?
clemong_888
post Mar 22 2006, 08:04 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(BratPAQ @ Mar 22 2006, 06:49 PM)
comes with a cd for drivers and OS? cause my friend bought an thinkpad R50 and the driver and OS already installed but no CD is included in the package, he bought it at singapore. is that the norm? if i buy an acer without windows, will there be a CD for the drivers like soundcard, video, wifi, etc.?
yea, acer will giv u cd with all d drivers needed. think u can dl in online too
jamezco
post Mar 23 2006, 01:53 AM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

ok most latest ... my friend who sells Hundai lappies last time taught me how to see lappies which have been used as Demo ...

1st ... Look at seals at the lappie box and make sure it is not tampered with...

2nd... Look for thumbprints at screen ...

3rd... Look for dust at air vents...

4th... Look at how the lappie is covered wit the "bubble" thingy... (must be nicely wrapped)

5th... The XP loading thingy can be reset to look like it's new ... so dont base on the XP starting installation stuff ...

6th... If they said LYP no stock and ask u to come back another day to take ... they might get the old stock from MV or Sunway and format it and then pass it to you the next day ....

Lastly ... be "seng mok" (alert) ...

All The Best biggrin.gif ... I am also scared myself ....
TSmadstone
post Mar 23 2006, 09:46 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(BratPAQ @ Mar 22 2006, 06:49 PM)

Last time i went to NETWORLD COMPUTER at MidValley
they said that they have all the driver in one CD
if u want to buy ACER with no OS, bring your own pirated windows
they will install it for u and install the driver afterward
ask for FIRDAUS, nice guy and helpful

This post has been edited by madstone: Mar 23 2006, 09:47 AM
s@ni
post Mar 24 2006, 05:36 PM

Gambar Di Lesen Kereta Saya
2,843 posts

QUOTE(madstone @ Mar 23 2006, 09:46 AM)
Last time i went to NETWORLD COMPUTER at MidValley
they said that they have all the driver in one CD
if u want to buy ACER with no OS, bring your own pirated windows
they will install it for u and install the driver afterward
ask for FIRDAUS, nice guy and helpful
danjeres ler like dat.haha.but i oso bought acer linux os.
TSmadstone
post Mar 25 2006, 12:01 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(sani_othman @ Mar 24 2006, 05:36 PM)
danjeres ler like dat.haha.but i oso bought acer linux os.

Y dinjeres?

williamngwl
post Mar 25 2006, 12:27 AM

3,368 posts

QUOTE(madstone @ Mar 25 2006, 12:01 AM)
Y dinjeres?
cause u mention the "pirated windows" "networld computers sdn. bhd.""they will install it for u".

btw i know fridaus is a nice person

This post has been edited by williamngwl: Mar 25 2006, 12:29 AM
THTgadgets.com
post Mar 25 2006, 12:29 AM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

QUOTE(madstone @ Mar 22 2006, 11:55 AM)
finish your assignment then change it later laa
how many years the warranty last? 1 year?
Yup, most PC warranties should be for about a year... But if i'm not mistaken, there are some models that carry a three-year warranty...
williamngwl
post Mar 25 2006, 12:51 AM

3,368 posts

QUOTE(ClieNut Gadget Freak @ Mar 25 2006, 12:29 AM)
Yup, most PC warranties should be for about a year... But if i'm not mistaken, there are some models that carry a three-year warranty...
warrnty can be claim only for accumulate 10 or more unconfirming pixel only
NieA_83
post Apr 14 2006, 09:21 AM

280 posts

Ya, where can find the Centrino Hardware Controller?

0.0177sec    1.68    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 10:57 PM