131 Pages « < 82 83 84 85 86 > » Bottom

Solar Power (FIT, Self-Consumption, Net-Metering), Business and Investment

owj
post Aug 25 2015, 05:07 PM

871 posts

QUOTE(arjunaidi @ Aug 25 2015, 05:03 PM)
Tera Va is helpful.
Thanks. Was yours installed by Tera VA? How's their quality and after sales service?
arjunaidi
post Aug 25 2015, 05:15 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(owj @ Aug 25 2015, 05:07 PM)
Thanks. Was yours installed by Tera VA? How's their quality and after sales service?
I am not a customer yet, but I am dealing with them on a commercial solar project. I was impressed how they were genuine in exchanging information with me on that project. Not many Malaysian or foreign businesses work that way :-)
Krools
post Aug 26 2015, 02:20 PM

189 posts

I did get my system from ReFit...

u need to know what u want from ReFit, they do have cheap cheap one...
Do some research for what system specs do u want.

This post has been edited by Krools: Aug 26 2015, 02:20 PM
owj
post Aug 26 2015, 03:48 PM

871 posts

QUOTE(Krools @ Aug 26 2015, 02:20 PM)
I did get my system from ReFit...

u need to know what u want from ReFit, they do have cheap cheap one...
Do some research for what system specs do u want.
Thanks. Was quoted Growatt and yingli panel. Is yours the same?

How's the workmanship and quality so far?
Krools
post Aug 27 2015, 08:48 AM

189 posts

Yup,
Growatt 4200MTL n Yingli panel (cant remember model).
Go for 10year inverter warranty bro, i got it for no extra charges hehe

*Just beware, when negotiating they will offer other spec n model.

Workmanship and quality, so far so good...

owj
post Aug 27 2015, 02:57 PM

871 posts

QUOTE(Krools @ Aug 27 2015, 08:48 AM)
Yup,
Growatt 4200MTL n Yingli panel (cant remember model).
Go for 10year inverter warranty bro, i got it for no extra charges hehe

*Just beware, when negotiating they will offer other spec n model.

Workmanship and quality, so far so good...
OK Thanks. Will push for 10 years.

Even Yingli panel has different grades?

Btw, hows your return so far? Within expectation or above?
Krools
post Aug 28 2015, 08:00 AM

189 posts

Yingli has different model n grades.

U better goggle abit for the latest model n tech for both panel n inverter.
*Dont get the same model as mine

Return wise, so far so good for me... not much can be done as my roof is very tilted.

From commision date last year, lowest is RM514.45 /month n highest RM6xx /month (Mac if im not mistaken was the highest yield month.)

Hopefully every goes well for 25year hahaha...

QUOTE(owj @ Aug 27 2015, 02:57 PM)
OK Thanks. Will push for 10 years.

Even Yingli panel has different grades?

Btw, hows your return so far? Within expectation or above?
jchong
post Aug 28 2015, 10:59 AM

5,989 posts

Just received my first FIT payment a few days ago.

My system was T&C on 13/5/2015. The first reading was taken up to 1/8/2015. Payment reached my account on 25/8/2015. So took nearly 3-1/2 months to receive my first payment after T&C. Hope it will be monthly regular from now onwards.

Anyway, the average is 12.956 kW/day (TNB reading, not inverter). Mine is a 4KW system, so it's about 3.239 hours per day.

Orientation: SW-NE

But my roof is really steep - 40 degree pitch.

This post has been edited by jchong: Aug 28 2015, 11:03 AM
divo90
post Sep 1 2015, 05:04 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(arjunaidi @ Aug 25 2015, 01:00 PM)
If I am not mistaken, FiT will end in 2017.  It was launched Dec 2011.
http://seda.gov.my/?omaneg=000101000000010...000&y=45&s=4984

NEM will start in 2016 or 2017 ? I visited SEDA website and see the news that SEDA will implement NEM from 2016 to 2020 . They should give 1 year notice if want to change the system so that public aware of this .
arjunaidi
post Sep 1 2015, 05:10 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(divo90 @ Sep 1 2015, 05:04 PM)
http://seda.gov.my/?omaneg=000101000000010...000&y=45&s=4984

NEM will start in 2016 or 2017 ? I visited SEDA website and see the news that SEDA will implement NEM from 2016 to 2020 . They should give 1 year notice if want to change the system so that public aware of this .
NEM will run in parallel with FiT which will end in 2017.
divo90
post Sep 1 2015, 05:13 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(arjunaidi @ Sep 1 2015, 05:10 PM)
NEM will run in parallel with FiT which will end in 2017.
Owh . I see . Meaning that people still have 1 last chance to apply for FiT .

Arjunaidi just want your opinion on NEM , do you think its as good as FiT ?
billyboy
post Sep 1 2015, 05:15 PM

2,181 posts

FiT is better. No brainer. Tariff is higher. Quota is however competitive.

However NEM quota will be much easier to obtain. Effective tariff is maybe / roughly half of FiT.

arjunaidi
post Sep 1 2015, 05:19 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(divo90 @ Sep 1 2015, 05:13 PM)
Owh . I see . Meaning that people still have 1 last chance to apply for FiT .

Arjunaidi just want your opinion on NEM , do you think its as good as FiT ?
Yes, you can apply for FiT and/or NEM in 2016. You could be well informed if you attend SEDA's public dialogue on 12 Sep 2015. It is free. http://seda.gov.my/?omaneg=000101000000010...000&y=45&s=5000

FiT is the better scheme for residential users since the rates are high. NEM will be useful for large commercial and industrial users who will reduce their electricity bill by consuming the solar generated electricity, and selling unused solar electricity to TNB.

This post has been edited by arjunaidi: Sep 1 2015, 05:22 PM
Ivanna Lim
post Sep 1 2015, 05:39 PM

QUOTE(PJusa @ Jan 10 2013, 02:50 PM)
I did the maths for a very large private installtion. ROI is nowhere near the stated % even if you it as building material to maximise the FiT.

reason - the following has to be considered:

depreciation/write off
maintenance
insurance for the installation

+ income from FiT is taxable
+ expenses and write off are not possible for private installation

at the end of the day even on a large installation the ROI is so small that it's not worth undertaking the venture from an investment POV. if i remember correctly effective ROI barely hit 3% and that was only because the installed size was 26KwP for my house.

if you can give me a calculation for 26 KwP that gives me 10% please (and i mean it!) get in touch with me ASAP. i have approved funding from my bank for the entire installtion to cover total roof with solar and replace existing roof. BUT i will only do it if it's a good and safe investment.
arjunaidi
post Sep 1 2015, 05:46 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(Ivanna Lim @ Sep 1 2015, 05:39 PM)

Isn't the limit for residential installation 12 kWp at a single location?

billyboy
post Sep 2 2015, 10:56 AM

2,181 posts

return on investment is a difficult subject although it sounds easy.

factoring in depreciation confuses the issue.

i suggest;

1. cash in, cash out - look at how much cash you have to pay out, and how much you get. IGNORE depreciation. If you still ask why, PM me and offer to buy me coffee and i may explain to you.

2. factor in the time value of money - RM1 earned today is worth more than a RM1 earned in 5 years.

Conclusion => just use an IRR calculation (internal rate of return). Google it if you are not sure.

to set-off related expenses (maintenance, insurance etc), set-up a sole proprietor.

i'm not a SP, so i will not contact anyone. in fact, if anyone disputes my methodology, i'm happy. More doubters means less applicants, and more quota for the rest of us. two more years only...

PJusa
post Sep 2 2015, 11:05 AM

1,969 posts

QUOTE(Ivanna Lim @ Sep 1 2015, 05:39 PM)

the post is years old. prices have dropped so much since then that the ROI is indeed there. if anyone interested, i suggest you apply a write off of 5% p.a. on the panels, 10% of the inverter (with a corresponding warranty), include annual cleaning, insurance for the entire set up and immediately write off labour and licensing costs. add in a margin of 1% of the installation for misc. expenditure p.a. too. then do not forget to deduct your personal income tax rate from the taking.

after all this you can calculate with 3 hrs sunshine in PJ for safety and good measure. this will show a ROI exceeding 5%, making it a worthwhile investment because in real life your performance will be higher than 3 hrs (mostly) and because the lifespan can be actually much higher. but you can safely apply 5% ROI after all costs considered. as such its a good safe investment.
billyboy
post Sep 2 2015, 11:08 AM

2,181 posts

i remember the prices from Suria 2000 (pre-FIT) days. 12kw is north of RM150k. Now the same system is south of RM80k. Amazing. Deflation is good.
arjunaidi
post Sep 2 2015, 12:08 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(billyboy @ Sep 2 2015, 11:08 AM)
i remember the prices from Suria 2000 (pre-FIT) days.  12kw is north of RM150k.  Now the same system is south of RM80k.  Amazing.  Deflation is good.
billy,

i think it is because of economies of scale, not deflation

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Deflation
billyboy
post Sep 2 2015, 12:20 PM

2,181 posts

Ok ! Not sure what is what, but solar systems prices dropping is the few bright (pun intended) spots around. Even my teh tarik price is up.

131 Pages « < 82 83 84 85 86 > » Top

0.0285sec    0.12    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 04:30 AM