Used Ibook G4 Guide..., I going to buy 1 soon...Need Help

SUSronaldlaw
post Mar 21 2006, 12:14 PM, updated 20y ago

39 posts

Hi all sifu/guru here,

I new babies with Mac sweat.gif I been using Ipod Mini abt 1yrs plus,recently bought a Ipod 5G video 30GB realize that MAC are really useful with Ipod compare what i using now(Window Xp) sweat.gif
I going go grab a used 4month old Ibook G4 from my collegue friend,here are the list spec:

1.2ghz Power PC G4 processor

512 level 2 cache

256mb of ddr sdram; supports up to 1.25gb

30gb ultra ATA hard drive

slot-loading combo drive (DVD-rom/ CDRW)

12.1 inch TFT active-matrix XGA colour display

ATI Mobility Radeon 9200 with 32mb of video memory

Built in 10/100 BASE-T ethernet and 56k modem

Built in AirPort Extreme wireless netwrking

Firewire 400 port; high-speed USB 2.0 ports

VGA video output; S-video and composite video output

Lithium ion battery that lasts 6 hours of running time

Included software : Mac OS X, classic environment, mail, ichat av, safari, sherlock, address book, quicktime, ilife( includes itunes, iphoto, imovie, idvd, garage band), isync, ical, appleworks, world book, marble blast gold, nanosaur 2 and more

What do your think about this spec?What to concern for ibook?Display?Battery?.. rclxub.gif
What shall i check?I really new babe here,need your help...Many many Thanks! thumbup.gif
wei
post Mar 21 2006, 01:12 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

if you're not a demanding user. this laptop will last you for atlease another 2years. another 1-2year if you can hold yourself not to get the latest softwares, else you might have to endure some slowdown. so a top 4-5years worth of usage.

the spec you cant do much since u already decide to get it. because u cant customize it. you might want to consider what u will do with it first. Forget about playing latest 3D heavy game it will be slow or at the worse setting.

you might want some tips on what to look for when getting used Mac instaed of comments on the spec. here's what i think you should do.
when u get the machine, variefied you have the following:
- All the manuals & restore CD/DVD.
- Video cable. charger, charger's extension cord.
- receipt (not very important but will be handy)

then check the following:
- get the serial number and check the warranty at: www.apple.com/support at the lower right section.
- check the battery lifespan with apps like coconut battery.
- check all the ports are working or not, USB, Firewire, network, video.
- check the wifi & bluetooth (if available).
- look for dead pixels on the screen. (very rare)

If any thing you found not working, demand for more discount. Then send it to apple center for repair. If the iBook is really 4 months old, it should have 8month warranty to go. Start saving for applecare protection plan that will extend warranty for another 2 years. And prepare to do RAM upgrade when u have extra cash.

This post has been edited by wei: Mar 21 2006, 01:16 PM
Achilles
post Mar 21 2006, 01:25 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(ronaldlaw @ Mar 21 2006, 01:14 PM)
Hi all sifu/guru here,

I new babies with Mac sweat.gif I been using Ipod Mini abt 1yrs plus,recently bought a Ipod 5G video 30GB realize that MAC are really useful with Ipod compare what i using now(Window Xp)  sweat.gif
  I going go grab a used 4month old Ibook G4 from my collegue friend,here are the list spec:

1.2ghz Power PC G4 processor

512 level 2 cache

256mb of ddr sdram; supports up to 1.25gb

30gb ultra ATA hard drive

slot-loading combo drive (DVD-rom/ CDRW)

12.1 inch TFT active-matrix XGA colour display

ATI Mobility Radeon 9200 with 32mb of video memory

Built in 10/100 BASE-T ethernet and 56k modem

Built in AirPort Extreme wireless netwrking

Firewire 400 port; high-speed USB 2.0 ports

VGA video output; S-video and composite video output

Lithium ion battery that lasts 6 hours of running time

Included software : Mac OS X, classic environment, mail, ichat av, safari, sherlock, address book, quicktime, ilife( includes itunes, iphoto, imovie, idvd, garage band), isync, ical, appleworks, world book, marble blast gold, nanosaur 2 and more

What do your think about this spec?What to concern for ibook?Display?Battery?.. rclxub.gif
What shall i check?I really new babe here,need your help...Many many Thanks! thumbup.gif
Just curious, I am also the ibook user.. I bought myself one in somewhere Sep' 05, 12inch iBook too, but spec is 1.33 40gb harddisk and 512mb ram.. but how come your 4 months old spec is .....

mac.tay
post Mar 21 2006, 02:12 PM

459 posts

unless veri veri cheap, if not i advise u wait4 new ibook launch in April
xaw5126
post Mar 21 2006, 02:16 PM

3,488 posts

i think ronaldlaw bought a older machine smile.gif his friend needs to explain himself smile.gif

check the original receipt please. also... here's a useful website.
EveryMac iBook 1.33 Specification

Basically, the 1.2 was replaced on 26 July 2005, so there's something screwy going on smile.gif

This post has been edited by xaw5126: Mar 21 2006, 02:19 PM
SUSronaldlaw
post Mar 22 2006, 03:26 AM

39 posts

Actually i need a Ibook coz i bought a Ipod 3G Video recently but really dunno how to use it...went to Seminar by apple,and find out alot of thing can be done with Iphoto,IDvd,....Plan to get a cheap used ibook since there are coming out Ibook Core Duo very soon.
I not sure this spec also,coz every thing been told by him.He say just bought beggining 2006 at $1788...now selling me cheap coz he urgently need money.
I though 2006 already come out 1.33GHZ with 512mb ram,40GB hdd right??

Should i take this offer or maybe Apple selling him old stock as display set ?
xaw5126
post Mar 22 2006, 03:40 AM

3,488 posts

just get the receipt... that will answer all your questions. Also, Apple resellers hardly ever sell demo units, and you shouldn't buy a demo unit unless its 1/3 of the retail price. I think this fella is lying to you ... and really shouldn't be trusted unless he has documents to prove it.

There hasn't been any production of the iBook 1.2 GHz since July 2005, so what crap is he giving you?
SUSronaldlaw
post Mar 22 2006, 04:04 AM

39 posts

ok..thanks for advise....Thanks

Maybe i going to looking other seller
Vervain
post Mar 22 2006, 04:30 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

i'm thinking on getting an ibook too but there are a few things i need to ask.

few years back, i had a ftec notebook. I need mobility as i travel alot. but the laptop always breakdown and often i can feel the heat generated from the laptop's case. fixed couple of times and the cost is almost 1.2k ( i have to cause there are valueble datas inside which i need to work out ). Lastly i gaveup on the laptop and choose to work around with a trusty desktop and a thumbdrive.

Now i need to choose a laptop back to do work. Ibook is one of my choice cause i heard it has the most reliable component and OS. my question goes

1. Will the OS support windows programs? i have an equipment and i'm required to connect and extract data via a laptop. Does Ibook have serial port? The software runs on windows but will it run on mac OS? personally i haven got hold of the program yet.

2. I choose Ibook cause it has a sturdy case. just wanna know if the whole case is shock resistance as i'll be travelling alot. my choice is a 12inch g4 ibook.

3. Speed is not an issue here. my basic usage will require wifi, spreedsheet, and no games. i can live with slow speeds but i cannot live with constant breakdown as the datas are important to me.

4. Does mac OS prone to worms and virus attack as much as windows? cause there are tonnes of patches in windows and i'm getting sick and tired with all the worms lurking around the net.

5. i heard there is an intel processor coming up.. how soon will it be.. any comments on it? will it be better?? price wise?

thanks. i hope to hear some constructive comments from fellow forummers.
SUSronaldlaw
post Mar 22 2006, 04:50 PM

39 posts

The told me that he asked he freo from USA who bought it at DEC 2005,Now he claim everything from a fren from USA...
SUSronaldlaw
post Mar 22 2006, 05:06 PM

39 posts

And just check the warranty day....WTF is stated product at late 2004!!!Lucky your's guy give me the website to check it out....

Thanks=WEI....one day yum char on me....thankss
prasys
post Mar 22 2006, 05:39 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(Vervain @ Mar 22 2006, 04:30 PM)
i'm thinking on getting an ibook too but there are a few things i need to ask.

few years back, i had a ftec notebook. I need mobility as i travel alot. but the laptop always breakdown and often i can feel the heat generated from the laptop's case. fixed couple of times and the cost is almost 1.2k ( i have to cause there are valueble datas inside which i need to work out ). Lastly i gaveup on the laptop and choose to work around with a trusty desktop and a thumbdrive.

Now i need to choose a laptop back to do work. Ibook is one of my choice cause i heard it has the most reliable component and OS. my question goes

1. Will the OS support windows programs? i have an equipment and i'm required to connect and extract data via a laptop. Does Ibook have serial port? The software runs on windows but will it run on mac OS? personally i haven got hold of the program yet.

2. I choose Ibook cause it has a sturdy case. just wanna know if the whole case is shock resistance as i'll be travelling alot. my choice is a 12inch g4 ibook.

3. Speed is not an issue here. my basic usage will require wifi, spreedsheet, and no games. i can live with slow speeds but i cannot live with constant breakdown as the datas are important to me.

4. Does mac OS prone to worms and virus attack as much as windows? cause there are tonnes of patches in windows and i'm getting sick and tired with all the worms lurking around the net.

5. i heard there is an intel processor coming up.. how soon will it be.. any comments on it? will it be better?? price wise?

thanks. i hope to hear some constructive comments from fellow forummers.
1. Will it support Windows OS programs , yes..via VirtualPC....and of course Office:mac can read Windows Files , so does Office for Windows as well...As for serial port , you gotta have to get USB-to Serial Port. You could get it over at LowYat Plaza or just about anywhere

2. It superb..no rants

3. No..Not all all..Virus , trojan , Blue Screen of Death..Bah , none..Even there is one , it will be not super uber strong..Imagine..you dont have to run Antivirus..at all [in the background]

4. Unless you're planning to dual boot with Windows...Then you can go with the Intel iBook..As for the price , Im not sure ...It might be expensive....
xaw5126
post Mar 22 2006, 07:16 PM

3,488 posts

to iBook buyers... please wait till Apple's 30th Anniversary, 1st April 2006 smile.gif
ezralimm
post Mar 24 2006, 08:18 AM

LGBTQQIP2SAA+
2,715 posts

ive been using my iBook G4 for about 1.5 years at collage. Networked environment, lotsa sharing of pendrives.. pretty hostile worm/virus filled environment.

While my friends computers were being knocked out by Brontox etc, mine was trouble free smile.gif
SUSronaldlaw
post Mar 29 2006, 12:58 AM

39 posts

Reject the offer after found it manufactored late 2004....Look a used Ibook now...
SUSronaldlaw
post Jul 18 2006, 10:58 AM

39 posts

Just wanna ask your guy here,is there still worht it to buy a used ibook
IBook G4:1.2GHz
PowerPC G4512K L2 cache @ 1.2GHz
12-inch TFT Display1024x768 resolution
512MB DDR266 SDRAM
30GB Ultra ATA drive
Combo DriveATI Mobility Radeon 920032MB DDR video memory
AirPort Extreme built-in
MS Office installed

slightly 1 years old..at Rm2k...worth it to buy since macbook has launch??
wei
post Jul 18 2006, 11:03 AM

6,496 posts

depend what u wanna do with it lar.
RM2k worth mar.
SUSronaldlaw
post Jul 18 2006, 11:12 AM

39 posts

Light user,mainly for surfing and some paper work....
wei
post Jul 18 2006, 11:18 AM

6,496 posts

shouldnt b a problem wink.gif
goodluck.
SUSronaldlaw
post Jul 18 2006, 11:54 AM

39 posts

Is there a really different between late 2004 G4 1.2GHZ and Mid 2005 G4 1.33GHZ spec?...let say just RM500 different,should i take the latest ibook?

0.0209sec    1.21    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 05:41 AM