Samsung Galaxy Note II LYN's Official Thread V14, Selling hotcakes worldwide! 4.1.2 OTA!

sklchan
post Jan 10 2013, 11:08 AM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(komputer @ Jan 10 2013, 10:54 AM)
I am experiencing battery drain; 10% in 3 hours.
Is it normal? 3G (H+) seems to be a huge battery drinker
3g idling with sync on can cause 3~5% drop per hour... nod.gif
sklchan
post Jan 10 2013, 11:09 AM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

andrei screwed ppl kao kao loh... sweat.gif
sklchan
post Jan 10 2013, 11:33 AM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Jan 10 2013, 11:30 AM)
Dear uncle Benny, speaking of which, my phone is on battery for the past 12 hours and 7 minutes. the on screen time is only 30 mins. and it has dropped from 100% to 83% now, I barely touch the phone today due to my busy schedule.

the BBS indicated a 1.4%/h. my wifi/data is only on since 7.30am this morning. and the battery drop is terrible.
When I check the partial wakelocks, something called:-

"handleMediaEvent" (Android System)
11h 43m 12s (42192 s) count: 214   96.5%

this particular item is the grand champion of draining my battery.
The runner up item is my 3g watchdog, whch only has 31 count on 3m 48s and taking only 0.5%

May I ask, what on our android phone is this “handleMediaEvent”?
with that kind of consumtion you still complaining??

30 mins screen time will cost you at least 5~10% drop
let say 5% for the screen on time which make your phone just drain 12% in 12 hours which is 1% per hour, anything unusual??? i don't think so... doh.gif

This post has been edited by sklchan: Jan 10 2013, 11:34 AM
sklchan
post Jan 10 2013, 11:46 AM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Jan 10 2013, 11:39 AM)
the thing is, I was sleeping for 7 hours+ from 12am to 7am, so the phone is in deep sleep... so is the data/wifi off during that period. so no one touch the phone =.=

I just wanna figure out what is the "handleMediaEvent" thing.
okay... then yes it's a bit drain if all data off... you suppose have below

5% drop from 30 mins screen on... then 5 hours data on will cost ~10% (wifi cost ~1~2% per hour, 3g will cost 2~4% per hour) then left 2% during your 7 hours sleeping (which is with data off)... still quite normal to me... hmm.gif
sklchan
post Jan 10 2013, 12:00 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(angel-girl @ Jan 10 2013, 11:51 AM)
15% way too over.for mine before update to latest,without 3g and wifi on,from 12 am till 8am ,100% oni drop to 97% the most.
me set my mail to sync in 4 hour interval during 12am-8am but all others remain normal with wifi connected 12am-8am cost me 05-0.8% per hour nod.gif
sklchan
post Jan 10 2013, 12:08 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Jan 10 2013, 12:05 PM)
thanks for the explanation.

@noobie, yup, the data is off while sleeping. will check and google what is mediaEvent all about. just fyi, I didn't have any single auto syncing app ie. FB, twitter and etc. even weather forecast also I refresh myself. so just wondering why  hmm.gif

no one else has "handleMediaEvent" drinking your juice like freshly squeezed orange juice?  hmm.gif
or have you newly adding lots of media files into your storage? hmm.gif
sklchan
post Jan 10 2013, 04:32 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(komputer @ Jan 10 2013, 04:11 PM)
Same as mine. Rapid switching means fast dormancy isn't working.. After switching off data roaming it went idle. My batt still remaining at 100%. Would be at 99% by now.

Fast Dormancy :-> http://www.androidnz.net/2012/06/at-your-o...sable-fast.html
so bolehland telco which of which have/don't FD capability? rather we switch it off blindly... sweat.gif
sklchan
post Jan 10 2013, 04:47 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Jan 10 2013, 04:39 PM)
My maxis line does go to idle mode. So i suppose it does have fast dormancy.
with just this info i'm suppose all Maxis users no need to worry on that FD thing then?? hmm.gif
sklchan
post Jan 10 2013, 04:56 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Jan 10 2013, 04:48 PM)
Erm but i do get a lot of fast dormancy wakelocks. Dunno why?
the Deep Sleep Battery Saver do work... kind of cool when set it to allow sync/data/wifi 1 min per 30mins, it seem like it force all those sync/data needed apps to align and beratur for update... nice... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by sklchan: Jan 10 2013, 05:05 PM
sklchan
post Jan 10 2013, 05:00 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

after 2 hours still on 99% (:
sklchan
post Jan 10 2013, 05:23 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Jan 10 2013, 05:20 PM)
I get similar wakelock with fast dormancy app by gokhan ON or OFF hence why i dun think it actually work.  tongue.gif  But seriously i still can get 5 - 6 hrs SOT daily so its not an issue for me.
try the deep sleep battery saver... i'm monitoring it now, dormant or not it freeze all data/wifi connections totally with interval... the only downside would be u won't get REALTIME not icon_rolleyes.gif ification (which i think get it within 30~60 mins is good enough for me)
sklchan
post Jan 10 2013, 05:27 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(arslow @ Jan 10 2013, 05:26 PM)
like that he cant use usb tethering ready tongue.gif
nop, it won't sleep if background data is flowing... brows.gif
sklchan
post Jan 10 2013, 05:41 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(kevintth @ Jan 10 2013, 05:30 PM)
the UI looks like Juice defender haha.. but it works similar like Easy Battery Saver which has most downloaded, most rated, most highest rating battery saver apps so far lol  laugh.gif
read the users review and it just seem it's like the Tasker where u can drill real deep... but sometimes too complicated doesn't really mean user friendly... tongue.gif
sklchan
post Jan 10 2013, 05:47 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(tanlipseong @ Jan 10 2013, 05:47 PM)
Note 2 screen is "Corning Gorilla Glass 2" is it very scratch resistance? any one here do not use screen protector and have no scratch?
here! wave.gif
sklchan
post Jan 10 2013, 05:53 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(kevintth @ Jan 10 2013, 05:48 PM)
JD... it looks complicated but lots of settings can be customized.
Easy Battery Saver.. .it cuts off the network connection if idle when screen off.

And i tried to use Deep Sleep Battery saver again.. .damn.. .check with BBS.. .the awake ratio is so higher than without Deep Sleep Battery saver!!!
yup, it seem that the case but actual batt usage 3 hours over i'm still 98%... very nice and improved drain result brows.gif
sklchan
post Jan 10 2013, 05:55 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

the BBS seem capture every single valid/non valid battery stat... more doesn't mean worse... I'm suspect those logged activities just simply event message rather actual hw power usage... hmm.gif
sklchan
post Jan 10 2013, 05:59 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(kevintth @ Jan 10 2013, 05:57 PM)
But it indeed drain my battery more than without it activated lolx...
without touching my phone.. .1 hour later 3% battery gone... if without it installed, only 1% drop ...
10 mins SOT and 3 hours over now it's 97%... i'm happy rclxm9.gif
sklchan
post Jan 11 2013, 11:04 AM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Jan 11 2013, 09:04 AM)
Now got new issue where phone just go goes dead without reason. Sudden death but not brick by flashing..i mean. S3 have a lots of cases though Note2 only one case i heard so far.
Perseus 31.2 fixed the bug... icon_rolleyes.gif

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1927852
sklchan
post Jan 11 2013, 11:13 AM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(amirudin920927 @ Jan 11 2013, 11:06 AM)
Can anyone explain to me what is it means? Mine still virgin lol
this is my wild guess... the 1st time you trigger the software update the samsung server will acknowledge your request but due to heavy load currently (multi million users q for update) this is the reply the server give to you to ask you check again later (no body know for how long) but at this point the server ALREADY captured your request so the NEXT TIME (maybe a few days later) you send the software request again it will let you in and do the update (as your q already done for your turn)... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by sklchan: Jan 11 2013, 11:14 AM
sklchan
post Jan 11 2013, 11:25 AM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(amirudin920927 @ Jan 11 2013, 11:15 AM)
Oww I see.. that means I just let the autoupdate on n then it will update when come to my turn ?
no need, just wait for a day then tomorrow run again the software update check... my friend check yesterday and get same error as you but this morning he already can get the update through OTA... icon_rolleyes.gif

0.0464sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:32 PM