7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Planted Aquarium V11

kiminha
post Jan 7 2013, 05:58 PM

Hi you can use MgSO4 to increase gH alone. Baking soda to increase kH only. or you can use CaCO3 to increase kH and gH.
kiminha
post Jan 7 2013, 08:05 PM

QUOTE(jiejian @ Jan 7 2013, 06:52 PM)
Congratz on V11, house warming post of my 1ft update  tongue.gif
[attachmentid=3249358]
wub.gif
nicely done sir!! rclxms.gif
kiminha
post Jan 7 2013, 09:47 PM

QUOTE(jctasoga @ Jan 7 2013, 08:11 PM)
where's the like button? haha... i was seriously looking for it.. tongue.gif
me too was searching for it. LOL
kiminha
post Jan 7 2013, 11:32 PM

QUOTE(deric79k @ Jan 7 2013, 09:50 PM)
ai ya , facebook only have lah
confuse maa taiko.. bro when are you going to show us ur 4 tanks? must be nice super nice with your collection.. smile.gif
kiminha
post Jan 8 2013, 11:50 AM

QUOTE(megahertz @ Jan 7 2013, 11:54 PM)
today all my red cherry shrimps died because of my surface skimmer broke edy last saturday
just got back from work,  then see the surface very bad and thick with protein oil and all shrimps died.

i think they must be suffocate for oxygen, since all snail also going up near surface.
maybe it was because of overdosing co2?
kiminha
post Jan 8 2013, 12:23 PM

QUOTE(deric79k @ Jan 8 2013, 12:05 PM)
Maybe also, ph too low, overdosing co2.
Is ok, can buy somemore cherry from me. Hahahhaha Rm 30 for 40 pcs. Few batch only , limited offer
like button pressed..
kiminha
post Jan 8 2013, 12:25 PM

QUOTE(monoeye @ Jan 8 2013, 12:35 AM)
my humble attempt at a planted tank

nice work bro. keep it up. rclxms.gif
kiminha
post Jan 8 2013, 11:32 PM

QUOTE(ayiesz @ Jan 8 2013, 03:53 PM)
MgSO4 need to mixed with CaSO4 right? the test kit can't detect any Gh, so it must be very low or at 0 dGh

if i use coral stone, just put in the canister?
about coral stone, it is used to increase the pH. it will incease the gH and kH but im not sure about the calculation.

Baking soda, NaHCO3 is used to increase the kH only
MgSO4, CaSO4 is used to increase the gH only
CaCO3 is used to increase the kH and gH together.

Hope that helps sir. smile.gif

This post has been edited by kiminha: Jan 8 2013, 11:40 PM
kiminha
post Jan 9 2013, 09:49 AM

QUOTE(kymanhalim @ Jan 8 2013, 11:46 PM)
haha sory bro, i mean is natural filteration aquarium smile.gif
you can search for diana walstad approach. high plant mass + floating plants.
kiminha
post Jan 9 2013, 10:59 AM

QUOTE(ayiesz @ Jan 9 2013, 10:35 AM)
thanks!

do you sell CaSO4? biggrin.gif
i'll pm u. smile.gif
kiminha
post Jan 9 2013, 05:15 PM

QUOTE(kymanhalim @ Jan 9 2013, 02:46 PM)
thx bro
Welcome bro.
kiminha
post Jan 10 2013, 02:23 PM

QUOTE(wmengc @ Jan 10 2013, 09:44 AM)
Hi guys I'm newbie and mind asking some questions? smile.gif

1.) What are the differences between T5,T5HO and T8?
2.) How many watts do I need if I were to form thick and dense glosso carpet in 2 feet tank?
3.) Does diy co2 provide the same co2 to the tank?
4.) Is 360lph flow rate good for 2 feet tank?

Would be happy if any sifus can help out..  icon_question.gif

1.) What are the differences between T5,T5HO and T8?
Like master Weijie said, the technology behind it. lowest to highest in terms of intensity: T8, T5, T5HO

2.) How many watts do I need if I were to form thick and dense glosso carpet in 2 feet tank?
if using T8, for a 15 us gallon tank, min 23 watt to max 30 watt without using CO2.
at 31 watts and above, CO2 is a must.
The higher you wattage, the faster your plants will grow, thus more CO2 and more fertilizer.

3.) Does diy co2 provide the same co2 to the tank?
it will provide co2 and as master Weijie said its troublesome. Additional note, diy co2 will not provide consistent CO2.
CO2 inconsistency will aid in algae outbreak.

4.) Is 360lph flow rate good for 2 feet tank?
Assuming 2 feet tank with 15 us gallon volume, minimum for a planted tank times 6 = 90 us gallon per hour.
for heavily planted tank up to 10 to 12 times filtration. 150 us gallon/ hour to 180 us gallon/ hour.

Hope that helps. smile.gif

to both masters.. make peace/love not war... nod.gif

kiminha
post Jan 10 2013, 03:37 PM

QUOTE(applebee @ Jan 10 2013, 02:53 PM)
too bad jctasoga for the KO moss. I am having problem with my moss too... but it is hair algae problem. Last time i try bleaching treatment, end up all flame moss KO  cry.gif . Now just leave the spiky and singaporean moss fighting themselves against algae. WC and increase CO2 doesn't seem useful.

Anybody can advise, if I take out all algae affected moss to another tank and treat with Seachem Flourish Excel. once cure only remove back to my tank. Is it good move? I dun want to add Excel direct into my tank to prevent my RCS from going to heaven.

How long and what dosage to do Excel treatment to effectively get rid of hair algae.
how many RCS do u have sir?
kiminha
post Jan 10 2013, 06:44 PM

QUOTE(applebee @ Jan 10 2013, 04:55 PM)
not many around 20 adults + unknown shrimplet hiding.
if you can remove the RCS it would have been better to cure the algae using blackout treatment plus excel dosing. usually the blackout procedure is for 3 days. its for a tank infested with serious algae outbreak. however for minor hair algae, pick it up manually and just spot dose it with excel. the amount you can use the instruction from the excel bottle itself. but i cant guarantee the CRS survival. after you have remove the hair algae, try reduce your light intensity. smile.gif
kiminha
post Jan 10 2013, 11:06 PM

QUOTE(applebee @ Jan 10 2013, 10:58 PM)
Last time I did blackout during raya. away for a week. I covered the entire tank with paper box and off the light. But not really effective. Maybe I should add some Excel this time.
yes blackout combine with excel is the best.

bro derick, you are right. +1 smile.gif
kiminha
post Jan 11 2013, 12:11 PM

QUOTE(weijie @ Jan 11 2013, 09:13 AM)
it is quite imposible to diff SAE and flying fox when they are still small.
if you found any method, please share here smile.gif
i am sure lots of members would be happy  rclxms.gif
Hi, just look at the black line. if from infront until after the beginning of the tail then its sae. if the line stops at the beginning of the the tail then its flying fox. smile.gif
kiminha
post Jan 11 2013, 02:44 PM

QUOTE(weijie @ Jan 11 2013, 12:14 PM)
nope. flying fox and SAE has the same black line extended to tail.
flying fox will have yellowish belly when they grown up. SAE doesnt.
they look alike when they less than 2inch
no they are different. flying fox will have yellow line above the black line. and the black line will stop at the beginning of the tail. the barbels for flying fox is 4 meanwhile for sae is two. smile.gif

opps my bad. you are correct. flying fox will have the line till the tail. i thought false siamensis is the same as flying fox.

to give us a better picture, we will just look at their picture.. tongue.gif

1) true SAE

2) flying fox

3) false siamensis

i think what we can do to identify the true sae is by looking at the black line till the end of tail and by looking at their clear fin. smile.gif

This post has been edited by kiminha: Jan 11 2013, 03:03 PM
kiminha
post Jan 11 2013, 06:49 PM

QUOTE(weijie @ Jan 11 2013, 04:36 PM)
Bro kiminha,
yes. thanks for providing the correct information.
i been trying to spot SAE or flying fox by "barbels for flying fox is 4 meanwhile for sae is two"  blush.gifrclxub.gif
Master Weijie, you are most welcome. Thank you for correcting me. for all this while i thought flying fox and false siamensis is the same. I have a false siamensis. it has 4 barbels. but very hard to see them because it moves so fast. smile.gif
kiminha
post Jan 11 2013, 07:24 PM

QUOTE(applebee @ Jan 11 2013, 03:55 PM)
Thanks  Kiminha. very clear with the picture. Seems like the "flying fox" i used to have was SAE.

which of these 3 better algae remover?

Which of these 3 take shrimp/shrimplet as snack?
The reason why sae is so famous because they eat BBA. they are peaceful even when they have grown up. which is the opposite to other species where they become aggrasive when become adult even to their own kind.

from my experience, once sae has tasted a shrimp, they will take shrimp as their rightful food. maybe my sae was very hungry since i dont feed them regularly.

You are most welcome sir. smile.gif
kiminha
post Jan 11 2013, 09:49 PM

QUOTE(jctasoga @ Jan 11 2013, 08:00 PM)
T_T pls dun....

btw, after trying out the full set of dry fert dosing, my curled leaves on the java fern and echinodorus seems to be recovering. much thanks to Kiminha's help on the dosage too.

next up is my diy manual regulator + solenoid controller.. hehe... waiting for it to arrive.

i've also shorten the distance of my 2 x 50w light from 6.5" distance to 3.5" distance from water surface. i hope this will give more light power to my plants. probably cooked some of them in the process... haha
Hi Mr Jctasoga. You are most welcome sir. Glad that it helped your plants. Thank you so much for trying out the dry fertilizer. smile.gif May your plants flourish and grow beautifully sir.

Wow so near? doing some experimenting ? tongue.gif

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0361sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 09:43 PM