179 posts

we can always make it : "LIKE" +1 haha
jctasoga
post Jan 8 2013, 11:23 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(megahertz @ Jan 7 2013, 11:54 PM)
today all my red cherry shrimps died because of my surface skimmer broke edy last saturday
just got back from work,  then see the surface very bad and thick with protein oil and all shrimps died.

i think they must be suffocate for oxygen, since all snail also going up near surface.
sorry for your loss. maybe you can check the root cause of too much protein oil? overfeeding? thick oil isn't likely to form within 3-4 days...
jctasoga
post Jan 8 2013, 11:23 AM

179 posts

luqee : frequent members lounge or normal lounge? tongue.gif
jctasoga
post Jan 10 2013, 08:05 AM

179 posts

qz: its hard to tell from your description. usually turning brown means your tank is not meeting the parameters required by the star moss.

moss usually are low light requirement. Most of the time, the concern is the temperature. you can't let it go higher than 28c.
jctasoga
post Jan 10 2013, 08:07 AM

179 posts

i must admit, i dun have star moss. even my java moss also KO already. they barely survive in my tank.... sorry applebee... T_T
jctasoga
post Jan 10 2013, 08:12 AM

179 posts

tats why i find it weird. but the echinodorus and subwasstertang and rotala najenshan is superb though...

one more thing.. my angelfish really pulls out the riccia and the java moss out... so fishes also reason it cant grow well in my tank.

so i only go for the hard stem plants now.

WTB : anubias!!
jctasoga
post Jan 10 2013, 02:43 PM

179 posts

Kimi & Weijie, please calm down brothers.

We are all working for the benefit of the community. Weijie's blog serves as a info bank based on his experience and certainly makes things easier for new people to get their answer. It also helps in cutting down repeated Q&A. Some frequent forumers have time to answer to newbies but others might not be so lucky.

Ultimately, i don't think its wrong or inappropriate to make reference to the blog. But to actively promoting it is another issue which should be avoided.

Like Kiminha said, make peace n love. I'm not siding whichever side but just pointing out my opinion. Cheers all!

For wmengc, it would be better to get the bigger LPH. IMHO, Ejet is bigger capacity than Shiruba and usually these canisters have those valve to dial down if the flow is too fast. The only issue is that these canisters are the size (where to store it etc). so, i would recommend getting the Ejet compared to Shiruba.

Luqee : u first. I haven't rescaped yet.
jctasoga
post Jan 10 2013, 03:14 PM

179 posts

applebee: I got it with your moss when u sent me. but it gradually gone. I didn't dose excel or limit the light. jsut normal fert range. maybe need to add some guppies or bigger prawns? hehe
jctasoga
post Jan 10 2013, 05:26 PM

179 posts

sorry, can i ask if the excel is doing spot treatment only? maybe can trial by using a syringe on a small batch first? at least the rest of tank is ok?
jctasoga
post Jan 11 2013, 10:14 AM

179 posts

luqee : hoses can easily replace. can get replacement from LFS or hardware shop smile.gif
jctasoga
post Jan 11 2013, 05:10 PM

179 posts

weijie : i got sell magnifying glass... laugh.gif
jctasoga
post Jan 11 2013, 08:00 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(qz4eva @ Jan 11 2013, 05:36 PM)
Seller Alert!!!

NO SELLING HERE PLS!!!

LOL i know u never sell magnifying glass la...

HEHE
T_T pls dun....

btw, after trying out the full set of dry fert dosing, my curled leaves on the java fern and echinodorus seems to be recovering. much thanks to Kiminha's help on the dosage too.

next up is my diy manual regulator + solenoid controller.. hehe... waiting for it to arrive.

i've also shorten the distance of my 2 x 50w light from 6.5" distance to 3.5" distance from water surface. i hope this will give more light power to my plants. probably cooked some of them in the process... haha

jctasoga
post Jan 11 2013, 08:26 PM

179 posts

no la.. i just try out for fun. i wanted to save some $ on electricity. tats why i went for the led spotlight... but i think end up still better to keep to standard PLL or T5HO lights.. haha

jctasoga
post Jan 11 2013, 11:14 PM

179 posts

mine is 4ft tank

kiminha: most welcome. its a good product u have there.
jctasoga
post Jan 12 2013, 08:52 AM

179 posts

weijie : i was afraid u r going to say that.. haha...

kiminha : no probs. any time is fine. will get the next batch from u after u r back.
jctasoga
post Jan 12 2013, 06:34 PM

179 posts

looks good macrusin. wats the indicator colour when u r running ur co2? the one in pic seems under...
jctasoga
post Jan 12 2013, 10:53 PM

179 posts

if want to know can use or not, try to pump co2 directly into the indicator. if turn to yellow means OK. but pls make sure to mix with 4dkh water for right col our indication.
jctasoga
post Jan 13 2013, 08:47 AM

179 posts

tats nice mate. althought the pico is more tougher than a 1ft or 2ft for a starter, i really salute to you for trying. all the best!
jctasoga
post Jan 13 2013, 12:27 PM

179 posts

u can actually chip it or break the stones or do as you see fit. as long as you like it can already smile.gif

13 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0221sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:41 AM