Planted Aquarium V11

applebee
post Jan 10 2013, 02:53 PM

160 posts

too bad jctasoga for the KO moss. I am having problem with my moss too... but it is hair algae problem. Last time i try bleaching treatment, end up all flame moss KO cry.gif . Now just leave the spiky and singaporean moss fighting themselves against algae. WC and increase CO2 doesn't seem useful.

Anybody can advise, if I take out all algae affected moss to another tank and treat with Seachem Flourish Excel. once cure only remove back to my tank. Is it good move? I dun want to add Excel direct into my tank to prevent my RCS from going to heaven.

How long and what dosage to do Excel treatment to effectively get rid of hair algae.
applebee
post Jan 10 2013, 04:55 PM

160 posts

not many around 20 adults + unknown shrimplet hiding.
applebee
post Jan 10 2013, 05:23 PM

160 posts

will SAE attack shrimp or shrimplet? how to differentiate SAE and flying fox. heard some LFS mix them together.
applebee
post Jan 10 2013, 10:58 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(kiminha @ Jan 10 2013, 06:44 PM)
if you can remove the RCS it would have been better to cure the algae using blackout treatment plus excel dosing. usually the blackout procedure is for 3 days. its for a tank infested with serious algae outbreak. however for minor hair algae, pick it up manually and just spot dose it with excel. the amount you can use the instruction from the excel bottle itself. but i cant guarantee the CRS survival. after you have remove the hair algae, try reduce your light intensity.  smile.gif
Last time I did blackout during raya. away for a week. I covered the entire tank with paper box and off the light. But not really effective. Maybe I should add some Excel this time.

applebee
post Jan 10 2013, 11:12 PM

160 posts

i intend control the algae, then start CRS after CNY. seems like the water is stable, Cherry survive. so it is time to upgrade.
applebee
post Jan 11 2013, 01:09 AM

160 posts

QUOTE(hudzai @ Jan 10 2013, 11:32 PM)
Goodluck Bro!  rclxms.gif
never try never know. sekali try, hari-hari mahu... flex.gif
applebee
post Jan 11 2013, 03:55 PM

160 posts

Thanks Kiminha. very clear with the picture. Seems like the "flying fox" i used to have was SAE.

which of these 3 better algae remover?

Which of these 3 take shrimp/shrimplet as snack?
applebee
post Jan 12 2013, 11:50 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(kiminha @ Jan 11 2013, 07:24 PM)
The reason why sae is so famous because they eat BBA. they are peaceful even when they have grown up. which is the opposite to other species where they become aggrasive when become adult even to their own kind.

from my experience, once sae has tasted a shrimp,    they will take shrimp as their rightful food. maybe my sae was very hungry since i dont feed them regularly.

You are most welcome sir. smile.gif
sound like SAE is a threat to my shrimp. How about flying fox? are they effective on removing algae, and are they threat to shrimp?
applebee
post Jan 20 2013, 11:17 PM

160 posts

i just bought Seachem Flourish Excel and treated my 2ft tank as recommended by LFS. added 5ml each day. now is day 2. shall I add another dose in tomorrow. Worry about overdose.
applebee
post Jan 21 2013, 05:57 PM

160 posts

alright. the instruction says: 5ml/40L water. After that 5ML/200L water.

My tank is 2ft, it is about 60x30x25= 45L. I already pour in 5ml x 2days. Today gotta reduce to 1ml.

I will put the SAE to clean up the hair algae. should be tasteful for them now.

0.0422sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:54 AM