8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Planted Aquarium V11

EmilyEmily
post Feb 11 2013, 05:50 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(jiejian @ Feb 11 2013, 02:05 PM)
the watt thingy is just a general guide.. there is also how goood is ur reflector, water clarity, tank height,distance of light to water surface,what type of colour spectrum is ur bulb(6400k,6500k,8000k,10000k?). plus i think its per''liter'' instead of ''gallon'' then again. LED is the exception- meaning the wat per liter doesnot apply to leds..
mine did not specify "K" all the info provided is in the picture provided above..
my water is about 2 inches away from the light..
the bulb- 1 white 1 blue
height approx 1ft.
mines not led. florescent i guess..
my water i'd consider very clear since i perform water change everyweek at least 1 + using filter..
EmilyEmily
post Feb 16 2013, 10:04 PM

23 posts

may i know the characteristics of moss XI & a picture of it?
EmilyEmily
post Feb 19 2013, 02:39 PM

23 posts

this is gonna sound so stupid ><

bought a tiny tank about 5liters 25x15x16cm
HOB filter
& aquazonic lights

this tank is so small that i dont know how long should i cycle it..
usually cycle my other tanks for at least 3-4weeks

anyway,
1, how long shall i cycle thing tank?

2, is it safe to cycle it with newly bought java & xmas moss?
will it affect the moss?

3, how can i speed up the cycling process?

4, what's the use of cycling with fish food inside?
EmilyEmily
post Feb 19 2013, 02:56 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(jctasoga @ Feb 19 2013, 02:43 PM)
emily,

1, how long shall i cycle thing tank?
- until u get 0ppm ammonia and some nitrate reading. can be a few weeks long...

2, is it safe to cycle it with newly bought java & xmas moss?
will it affect the moss?
- yes no problems, just dun add fishes yet.

3, how can i speed up the cycling process?
- use the filter media from the older aquarium if you have (must be a current running one)
- use start up bacteria liquid available at LFS

4, what's the use of cycling with fish food inside?
- fish food will rot away due to no fish eating it. the rotting will make ammonia. the first process of nitrogen cycle begins where ammonia - nitrite - nitrate

thanks for your reply smile.gif
i cant test cause i dont have test kit ><
yay! hate leaving mosses in other thanks for quarantine..
so i just throw in come fish food & let it rot? haha

btw, for mosses in general, what's the lowest & highest temp they can survive in?
in the morning/night my room is cold & the water temp goes down to 18 degrees.. lol
afternoon no aircond, so im sure it'l be around 27 or 28 degrres (means i need to get a fan)
will this type of clip on fan work? lol can't find proper fan for this tiny aquarium user posted image

mosses i have now: java & xmas
mosses that i plan to get: subwarsetang, flame moss, fissidens

EmilyEmily
post Feb 19 2013, 03:01 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(syafiq_lomotech @ Feb 19 2013, 02:58 PM)
mine 26. if u can get lower to 25 its ok. 18 too cold imho. the fish and the moss will be shivering brows.gif
haha ya.. thats why i wanna know what's the min temp..
anyone tried those kind of fan before?
EmilyEmily
post Feb 19 2013, 03:05 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(jctasoga @ Feb 19 2013, 03:01 PM)
18c is too cold ya... preferable is 22c-25c region is more than enough. in fact, lower temp will result in difficult for nitrifying bacteria to get established.
alright.. will have to control the AC at night..
so now i have to try to settle the tamp during the afternoon hours..
realized that 2nd floor is warmer than 1st floor when AC is not turned on in the afternoon
EmilyEmily
post Feb 19 2013, 04:12 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(qz4eva @ Feb 19 2013, 03:43 PM)
Wah Emily ur like me morning hot at night cold ya... Cool
haha ya.. with keep changing like that, will it effect shrimps & mosses?
EmilyEmily
post Feb 19 2013, 04:42 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(qz4eva @ Feb 19 2013, 04:19 PM)
Wont effect la... I see mine still okay...
okay okay cool... this temp thing is so irritating.. lol
never had the problem for the 1st floor tank since there 24/7 ac
EmilyEmily
post Feb 19 2013, 05:05 PM

23 posts

haha.. im not as rich as you think la.. haha
ya whole day on.. sundays off & heavy rain / too cold then switch to fan lo. haha
yes bill over the head all the time. but my beloved father insist on cool environment so he sendiri settle the bill..
my house's elec will trip at least 2 times a year cause using too much elec =.=

my new tank is empty.. only got water & HOB & lights & 1 marimo. LOL so no need picture la right? haha
1st floor tank is a cray fish tank.. nothing fancy, got plants but mr.crayfish chop everything, now all floating.
only thing in place is DW

pictures of my crayfish from 2nf half of the album onwards
http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.1...16520682&type=3

dont think so i have a picture of the full tank cause it's ugly LOL
very plain tank
EmilyEmily
post Feb 19 2013, 05:16 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(varialmctwist @ Feb 19 2013, 05:10 PM)
ask ur father to change the electric system into two way system...my hometown got 3-4 airconds so the electrician suggest us to change the wiring. so no more trip. if not always kena on balik the mainbox.
*pretends to know what is 2-way system*
will query my dad about it..
i have 6 AC at home >< but not all are on all the time..
trip about 2 times a year cause dad- wants cooling eviron, mom- light freak, on almost all the lights when she comes home =.=

btw, can amano shrimp live along with cherry shrimp/ghost shrimp?

suggest a moss for carpet

for wall, xmas/taiwan better?
EmilyEmily
post Feb 19 2013, 05:26 PM

23 posts

been googling & comparing pictures of different types of moss
too many similiar kinds
which brings me to my point,
that now i feel like buying all kinds of mosses,
plant all as mini 8x8cm sample moss wall & compare everything.. LOL

$$$ gives me mixed feelings like such shakehead.gif shocking.gif blink.gif rclxub.gif doh.gif cry.gif icon_question.gif ohmy.gif sad.gif
EmilyEmily
post Feb 19 2013, 05:28 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(syafiq_lomotech @ Feb 19 2013, 05:23 PM)
never use taiwan. got diff between xmas and taiwan?
i cant tell the difference..
but according to google,
taiwan-more compact, xmas-points to 1 direction
EmilyEmily
post Feb 19 2013, 07:08 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(jctasoga @ Feb 19 2013, 06:49 PM)
if u can collect all the mosses, it will be a lovely collection. love the crayfish video!
*waiting for sponsors* haha..
EmilyEmily
post Feb 19 2013, 10:01 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Feb 19 2013, 09:53 PM)
We have the same filter! thumbup.gif

I put the bio ring onto my the other smaller filter together with the sponge like thing. That sponge like thing is supposed to house the bacteria from the bio ring or something right? At least that's what the salesperson told me. I also added in some live bacteria into the bio ring there.. hmm.gif

[attachmentid=3312378]

Btw, I might just end up with an empty tank tomorrow cry.gif Had 6 goldfish cramped up in a 3 gallon tank since Day 1. One by one started dying and now left with 2. One of the fish don't look good, keep wobbling around sideways and sometimes 360degrees sad.gif

Sigh, blame it all on my inexperience. Just pray that both fish survive...

joining the same filter gang.. hahaha
EmilyEmily
post Feb 20 2013, 01:26 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Feb 20 2013, 01:07 AM)
Thank you so much. You are of great help thumbup.gif

Those are really good links, especially the first one!

Unfortunately, my last goldfish just died just now. Now my tank is empty. It's Day 5 cry.gif

I think I will just get the ammonia and nitrite/nitrate tester kit and maybe a ph meter tomorrow.

"why limit yourself to just goldfish & guppy , there are many nice dwarf fish to keep like Tetra , galaxy rasbora & other rasbora type etc."

Let's just say I keep using my 3 gallon tank for now, how many of those fish I can keep in the tank? I have some sand at the bottom and 2 potted plants.
3 gallon tank can fit 4 guppy fish? I'm really really scared of overcrowding liao >_<
45cm length? What are the exact dimensions ah? Care to share link? smile.gif

Looking for maybe a 10gallon tank or something hmm.gif
if you get male & female guppies, it'll get overcrowded in the end anyway. they breed like mad, just like the other live bearers..
google about tetras, danios & cherry barbs, they're kinda cute biggrin.gif
EmilyEmily
post Feb 20 2013, 10:28 PM

23 posts

i always buy otto from SS19 NA. rm4.50 never one failed on me.. all healthy..
the only one that didnt make it is because it got eaten by my crayfish last time. lol
EmilyEmily
post Feb 20 2013, 10:33 PM

23 posts

found this today.. anyone tried this before? any reviews?
EmilyEmily
post Feb 20 2013, 10:35 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(varialmctwist @ Feb 20 2013, 10:34 PM)
so ganas ur crayfish.fresh sashimi it got..hahaa
he eats everything that he can catch, eat & uprooted my plants
but i saw it coming just wanna test his personality haha
EmilyEmily
post Feb 20 2013, 10:36 PM

23 posts

or anyone tried this kind to lower temp?
EmilyEmily
post Feb 20 2013, 11:30 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Feb 20 2013, 11:28 PM)
er well, this is for photo taking purposes, we're not saying you cant do it in a curved edges tank, but for photoshooting wise, normal edges are always better, those that you see on the internet, IAPLC or etc, are all normal edges.

my HC? i thought they grow so slow in my tank, but they are starting to blossom already... yeah, i'm also re-using my 1yr old new amazonia, hc takes a lot of time to root...
well, many aqua hobbyist that i know also try to achieve a slightly yellowish indicator, this is obviously a good sign for plants, however, for fishes? well, as long as you don't see them gasping for oxygen on the surface, that would suffice, and you must have a very well circulated tank, so both the oxygen and carbon dioxide can circulate well in every corners of your tank.
no, what i did was, first week about 4 hours... 2nd week about 5 hours, 3rd week about 6 hours, then i now capped at 8 hours or less for photo period.
bro, did you have any co2? just a reminder, if you are using a HOB filter for those co2 tank, pls top up your water as much as you can until it reaches the outflow of the filter. this way, your co2 pumped into your tank will not be wasted. why? because co2 itself is very hard to dissolved in the water, and if you have a gap between water outflow and the surface, this will create some bubbles into your tank? and these oxygen brought into your tank will even make your co2 harder to be dissolved in your tank.
NA otto so expensive meh? i last bought was about rm4 per piece, but 1 died and 1 jumped out from my tank  sad.gif
well, i have friend used this before, but it creates some noise after a while... and it's not so cheap though... but the cooling was quite ok though. but nothing beat a cheap diy pc fan =)
dont know who to buy from.. cause i dont know how to DIY anything that deals with wires. lol

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0223sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:08 AM