Planted Aquarium V11

tehoice
post Feb 25 2013, 11:01 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Feb 25 2013, 10:33 PM)
Today I saw a disposable CO2 system for like RM140. The refills were like RM20+. Normal price?

http://www.paraquatics.co.uk/contents/media/l_mc086.jpg
ya i agree with derick, and if you are serious about planted tank, get a proper one, not those disposable type which cant last you very long.

yes, RM20 for refill is kinda normal depending on where you go, if you go to syarikat city in Sungai Besi, then you can get your tank refilled cheaper.

the co2 system as per your photo is really too small for me... but in your nano tank, I'm not too sure about it, but I think RM140, can get a decent 2nd hand 3kg tank easily like derick said. but without the manual regulator....
tehoice
post Mar 4 2013, 08:33 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Mar 4 2013, 07:45 PM)
Fuiyoo didn't know growing HC grass is so problematic. Luckily today met up a fellow forummer and he also told me about HC. Meh... GLOSSO FTW!! tongue.gif

Btw, I think I've set my eyes on the Fluval C3. 5 stage filtration. One thing I think I will love about it is that all the individual filter chambers can be easily accessed without having to remove the entire filtration system, thus it is pretty convenient. Plus, the mechanical filtration is easily replaceable by getting any generic filter wool/sponge, the chemical filtration container can easily fit in any sort of media of your choice. By default it comes with charcoal but you can replace it with bio rings instead! Then, there's the trickle system where the water will pass over a plastic plate with holes in it. Water will drip down, directly in contact with the bio media. And then only the water is fully filtered and goes into the tank.

Mechanical (Double foam pads) -----> Chemical filtration (optional: Any media of your choice like bio rings/balls) ---> Biological filtration

Btw guys, the Ista CO2 disposable can (RM30+) is not good enough for a 15 gallon planted tank maybe?
can can, it can even be used in a 4ft tank, but it just wont last you long... why waste that kind of money on disposable ones?
tehoice
post Mar 5 2013, 08:13 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(kimimaro_kun @ Mar 5 2013, 04:12 PM)
what's your tank size?? if 2 feet, 2213 is enough.
Plus, please read the bold part
icon_rolleyes.gif
i recommend 2215, over filtration is always better, furthermore, it gives you the future option of adding a chiller too...
my 2ft tank also using 2215, very satisfactory in my opinion.
tehoice
post Mar 5 2013, 08:42 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(jctasoga @ Mar 5 2013, 08:37 PM)
u can always dial down the outflow to get the water flow speed that you want. bigger filters are always better. more space to expand in terms of the biomedia smile.gif
absolutely right
tehoice
post Mar 7 2013, 10:09 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(calmshot @ Mar 7 2013, 09:45 PM)
suddenly today when im back from work, my puffer tank was attacked by algae, the algae grew all over the aquarium glass and looks damn gross. Then quickly i took out one of my otto from my 2ft tank and put them in the puffer tank, crossed fingers hopefully the puffers will not attack the otto. Damn i was amazed by the result in less than 10 mins. see the action below
u can see the gross algae on  the glass, the otto starting to do his job

Untitled by xmox, on Flickr
He's start to speeding up and eat the algae vigorously

Result in less than 10 mins, my front glass cleared and clean from algae, the otto start to go to the side of the tank to eat more algae.

i really recommend whoever that just started planted tank like me to get an otto for ur planted tank if u have an algae problem. but the only problem that i know is otto only eat certain type of algae only.
that's because you starved it too much! lol!!! hahaha.....
tehoice
post Mar 12 2013, 09:52 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(syafiq_lomotech @ Mar 12 2013, 08:52 PM)
just install new lamp. buy from weijie heh. i tot wanna borak2 somemore but seems weijie have awek in the car. heh. next time

i make cucumber for my oto. waaa so hungry meh. first float. then i beat a bit using chopstick and tweezer to get the air out from the cucumber. then not float. oto eat the cucumber.

but maybe boil not enuf long the cucumber not soft so much yet.

how long to boil the cucumber?
I did it for approximately 10 mins, you can feel it with your hands, if you feel soft enough, prolly, your otta might take...

but why do you wanna feed them with cucumber? no algae at all?
tehoice
post Mar 13 2013, 11:28 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(varialmctwist @ Mar 13 2013, 11:13 AM)
saw NA subang selling otto rm4...SAE RM2.50 i guess...
petsmart 88 rm5 each otto...got shrimps..but i dun interested coz water temp too high (28C)
with that temperature, you can still keep shrimps, even CRS, but you just couldn't breed them, thats it. I used to keep shrimps, though my tank was like at about 30C.
tehoice
post Mar 18 2013, 08:45 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(Junid @ Mar 18 2013, 07:13 PM)
hi, just trying my luck here.
my univ is running an event called campus festival. wondering whether is this club interested to join the event as exhibitor. do pm me for more details biggrin.gif
I think you should pm Stanchung of MAC.
tehoice
post Mar 28 2013, 08:31 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(jiejian @ Mar 28 2013, 08:15 PM)
Ahh.. i hate Green dust algae... removed the stem plants caused imbalance in the tank.. now wave after wave of GDA attack.. sad.gif
minus the GDA im actually quite happy with the tank..
imho, the rock is too big for your tank....

0.0474sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:56 AM