my tank is a moss only tank..
actually the moss is not on the surface.. haha
im guessing that the dust went into the water over time and accumulate on my moss
Planted Aquarium V11
Feb 26 2013, 09:26 PM
23 posts Joined: Jan 2013 |
my tank is a moss only tank..
actually the moss is not on the surface.. haha im guessing that the dust went into the water over time and accumulate on my moss |
Feb 26 2013, 09:58 PM
743 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
Ya the Orange algae eater love to kill themselves
Feb 27 2013, 12:14 AM
1,551 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
Feb 27 2013, 12:26 AM
Its mini prawns...
Feb 27 2013, 01:26 AM
1,138 posts Joined: May 2008 |
guys, how much would ada 5 elements + power sand cost for a 30 by 30 nano tank?
Feb 27 2013, 02:52 AM
3,928 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Incheon, Korea.. currently in Miri, Soviet Sarawak |
emily: i've been reading awefully a lot, still kicking start my tank...
here is what happen to the 'nitrogen cycle' in the water. 1. fish/living things shit, and pee... waste turn into ammonia. 2. when enough ammonia, nitrite-forming bacteria will start to form/grow...hence turning the ammonia into Nitrite. 3. when nitrate starts to gathered enough, nitrAte-forming bacteria will start form/grow and covert the nitrIte to nitrAte 4. NitrAte will get more and more and more... NitrAte is pretty much Harmless.... but this is where "water change" comes in, by doing 25-35% water change, the nitrate will be throw out and new water will bring the nitrate down again. (i hope i write the right thing... correct me if im wrong) another thing i read... usually, the ceramic rings are put after the filter. since filter usually used to catch 'dirt/shits'... its pointless to put the ring before the filter to gather those shit too, since u will kill the bacteria when u clean the rings, why not put after the filter, let the filter clean up the shit (and u can wash the filters when its blocked with dirt), and left ammonia that pass through, to the rings where the bacteria will form and makes the ammonia/nitrite to harmless nitrate, since the ring wont get caught up with dirt, so u dont have to wash it, hence the bacteria will always be happy staying there. This post has been edited by ieR: Feb 27 2013, 03:21 AM |
Feb 27 2013, 08:17 AM
Feb 27 2013, 08:19 AM
11 posts Joined: Aug 2012 |
Feb 27 2013, 08:21 AM
Feb 27 2013, 08:31 AM
23 posts Joined: Jan 2013 |
QUOTE(ieR @ Feb 27 2013, 02:52 AM) emily: i've been reading awefully a lot, still kicking start my tank... haha.. im wondering why do you tag me here here is what happen to the 'nitrogen cycle' in the water. 1. fish/living things shit, and pee... waste turn into ammonia. 2. when enough ammonia, nitrite-forming bacteria will start to form/grow...hence turning the ammonia into Nitrite. 3. when nitrate starts to gathered enough, nitrAte-forming bacteria will start form/grow and covert the nitrIte to nitrAte 4. NitrAte will get more and more and more... NitrAte is pretty much Harmless.... but this is where "water change" comes in, by doing 25-35% water change, the nitrate will be throw out and new water will bring the nitrate down again. (i hope i write the right thing... correct me if im wrong) another thing i read... usually, the ceramic rings are put after the filter. since filter usually used to catch 'dirt/shits'... its pointless to put the ring before the filter to gather those shit too, since u will kill the bacteria when u clean the rings, why not put after the filter, let the filter clean up the shit (and u can wash the filters when its blocked with dirt), and left ammonia that pass through, to the rings where the bacteria will form and makes the ammonia/nitrite to harmless nitrate, since the ring wont get caught up with dirt, so u dont have to wash it, hence the bacteria will always be happy staying there. actually, that makes sense too.. gotta ask others about the rings though.. i remember that for water cycle, science textbook got also.. easier to understand somemore.. hahah! good that you figured out everything |
Feb 27 2013, 08:39 AM
179 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: BP, JH |
i put the ceramic rings before the filter on the HOB. mainly because of the space constraint. to move the filter to the water motor is not impossible but i dun see the need to do it coz u can always rinse the ceramic rings with aquarium water to preserve the good bacteria.
anyway, i'm not against the swap of filter before ceramic rings or ceramic rings before filter. just saying that somethings are better if left as it is. |
Feb 27 2013, 10:12 AM
11 posts Joined: Aug 2012 |
Feb 27 2013, 02:01 PM
0 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: Ipoh, Perak. |
hello all sifu-sifus here...
i'm a newbie here and i started my planted tank yesterday... now i'm waiting for the water to run clear with a running HOB... bt i found alot of dirt laying on the surface of my plants and my marble stones... pls advice on how 2 clean them... |
Feb 27 2013, 02:04 PM
Take photo n show us la whatever99...
It would be easier for us to understand what are you talking about. |
Feb 27 2013, 02:25 PM
Feb 27 2013, 02:32 PM
Hey I saw my avatar in your photo !!!
Btw where ru from? |
Feb 27 2013, 02:36 PM
Oh,
I saw someone choosing this few marble stones that day. Maybe it was you! Anyways to clean it I use Borneo Sucker or use a toothbrush to slowly brush em. |
Feb 27 2013, 02:53 PM
QUOTE(qz4eva @ Feb 27 2013, 02:36 PM) Oh, ahaha... cos u ask me show pic maaa... so i directly take pic show u... xDI saw someone choosing this few marble stones that day. Maybe it was you! Anyways to clean it I use Borneo Sucker or use a toothbrush to slowly brush em. i dun think u saw me... cos this stone is the boss give me for free geh... i'm from ipoh btw, now staying in kampar... |
Feb 27 2013, 02:56 PM
btw, borneo sucker eat dirt?? i have 2 ottos in my nano tank now... planning to shift my livestock in my nano tank into the newly planted tank after a few more days...
Feb 27 2013, 02:58 PM
907 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: 124qn543x |
sorry to interupt, what soil are u using whatever99? sorry if i miss to read on that
| Change to: | 0.0260sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:36 AM |