May 27 2013, 10:13 AM
897 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(Kcee @ May 27 2013, 09:56 AM) Hi Ciahra, If you refer to the price before break out of the 'wedge' i.e. around 1.10Thanks for sharing. For this counter, the stochastics is overbought though the 'flag' or 'wedge' looked nice. By sharing this counter, can I assume that the candlesticks pattern and trendline have more importance than the readings by stochastics? Of course, overbought doesn't mean it will go down soon, but I'm quite wary of entering or opening position on overbought condition. Erm, did I asked the right questions? Stochastic was at oversold area.... ![]() MUHIBAH daily In trending market, indicators like stoch, RSI etc. tend to stay in a OB/OS area for quite a long time.... But anyway, candlesticks / chart patterns with VISIBLE Supports and Resistance (Fixed and Dynamic) always be my priority. If the price was at the place WHERE I want to take action (as determined by my VISIBLE SnR), then I'll check for another evidence (Invisible SnR like fibo....). My trigger will be candlesticks (bullish pattern for Long, bearish for Short) Then only I check my stoch for further confirmation..... As in the charts above, there was a hidden divergence btw the price and the stoch, where stoch coming back to oversold area at 1.10, but price is actually higher than the last time stoch in oversold area.....with trendline, fibo 50% as a support, hammer like candlesticks, with 'wedge' pattern, with a very low vol, and stoch was at oversold area, all met my requirement already to buy..... |
May 27 2013, 10:27 AM
QUOTE(zitis @ May 27 2013, 10:16 AM) LUSTER daily:![]() LUSTER daily Already at resistance area, with vol still very high. I'll be really cautious, as smart money could be in the process of dumping their holding to retailers..... I had my fun for 1 day on this one, not going to touch it again, at least not until it breaks the resistance THHEAVY daily: ![]() THHEAVY daily Besides the recent high (0.84 i think....), the road seems cleared at least until 1.00. I am hoping for the price to come back down to 0.62 so that I can buy again.... |
May 27 2013, 10:36 AM
May 27 2013, 10:39 AM
QUOTE(Kcee @ May 27 2013, 10:33 AM) May I know what do you mean by 'Dynamic SnR'? Fixed Visible and Invisible SnR, I understand (though not good), but Dynamic? I think I need to Trendline, Channel, Moving Average are examples of dynamic SnR.....the price for support or resistance are not fixed, they moved from time to time, based on your trendline, channel, MA etc.....strengthen my SnR. I always use MMA as support only. what's MMA? |
May 27 2013, 10:47 AM
QUOTE(Kcee @ May 27 2013, 10:40 AM) Multiple Moving Averages by Daryll Guppy. I kinda like his method. Simple for trend following. To know it's profitable or not, you backtest whatever system you like to use....But of course, profitable or not ...... Personally, there are no holy grail for trading. It all comes down to your own system, how you manage your trade. WHERE do you want to enter the trade? WHEN do you want to enter? How much you willing to risk? How much profits would you expect, given the risk taken? I kept trading journal to find out which methods give me the best winning rates.....and stick to it. Anyway, here's MUHIBAH with MMA (I hope I select the correct indicator ![]() MUHIBAH daily What's your strategy? This post has been edited by ciahcra: May 27 2013, 10:50 AM |
May 27 2013, 11:27 AM
QUOTE(Kcee @ May 27 2013, 11:00 AM) Can you give more details on this 'back test', please? At least based on your experience. I've invested in I took 10 years data, choose set of rules I want to test, then do paper trade on that...Metastock software to learn a things or two. Did try to backtest using the software, but the period of backtest, will bring different results. I mean, during downtrend, naturally my method don't work. I don't short as I've limited capital. During uptrend, I guess who need TA during the crazy bull run a few weeks ago. Just 'tikam' and you 'kena' as well, because for I'm no expert, I noticed those that are expert will play around with SnR to shakeout the weak players. Usually I do set certain threshold for my cut loss and if the chart don't look nice by going down cutting through the Multiple Moving Averages, I'm out. Not sure of your opinion but just my reading my post, I'm definitely a novice in this field. you can choose whatever set of rules you want to test. For example: you want to use MA cross over (i.e. shorter period MA cross over longer period MA) You pick whatever range you want to test (maybe 14 days MA with 50 days MA for example).... Then go down 10 years back, and start to look for those cross over. each time you see one, decides whether to take the trade or not, then record it. If it's a successful trade, record it as a winning trade, and vice versa. Records also how much you win/lose each trade Let say I do 10 trades, I jotted down winning trades and losing trades, then calculate the percentage of win trades Then I jotted down the total winning amount, and find the average winning amount (in term of Ringgit) per trade and average losing amount per trade. After 10 trades, analyse your data. see whether the method you choose give you high percentage of winning or not. My predefined value is 40%. which means, if I want to use the system (set of rules that I want to use), I have to make sure the system can gives me at least 40% of winning trades see whether your winning amount per trade is high or not. Avg winning amount / Avg losing amount is your Reward to Risk Ratio (RRR). I set mine to 2:1. meaning for every Ringgit i risk, I make RM2. If the system gives me more than 40% winning rates, but RRR is less than 2:1, I'll ditch the system as well..... By making trading journal, you will know which system works in which market. Seriously, trading is exhausting..... And if I have the perfect system, I'd probably have George Soros phone number in my contact list already This post has been edited by ciahcra: May 27 2013, 11:51 AM |
May 27 2013, 11:43 AM
QUOTE(Kcee @ May 27 2013, 11:10 AM) This morning I entered Eastland because: 1)The short term MMA seems to be separating from the long term MMA 2)RSI and Stoch readings not overbought. Seems to be going up. 3)Chart seems to be making higher low and higher high though very slow. 4)MACD histogram seems to be turning positive soon. And most of the times, I only entered at a higher price because it's a sign of strength. Though seeing it going down after purchasing is....erm..... Any comments? ![]() EASTLND daily And if it doesn't goes up, where do you plan to exit? and if the price still doesn't shoot up, how long you plan to hold on this counter? you need to define all that before you enter the trade. Unless this is an undervalue stock, and you tend to buy and hold, then timeframe doesn't really matter I guess. Anyway, for Malaysia stocks market, VOLUME is one of the most important element to me. Average daily vol for this counter is about 200k to 250k a day? how much you expect to buy? for trading purpose, you need higher vol to make it easy for you to get out. I don't know about this counter anyway, so maybe in the next 2-3 days the vol will spike.... This post has been edited by ciahcra: May 27 2013, 11:45 AM |
May 27 2013, 11:56 AM
QUOTE(Kcee @ May 27 2013, 11:52 AM) Erm, my plan is the holding period of 1 week to 1 month. I don't know about this counter, so I cant really comment much, but if you said you make money using the same method, then maybe you might hit it again this time. Record down your trades, that's the only way to see whether the system you choose works or not....Yes, volume is important. I agree. But when volume is peaking, I assume the smart money is getting out either. The last I profit from penny counters are counters like KOMARK and HYTEX using this method. I 'cabut' after 10-20% profit and bought roughly like same time like this counter. When it's rather quiet. The counters continued to climb actually but I can only console my self by saying 'Don't be greedy' Yeah sometimes stock can move up without having much vol....but the question is, which one to pick? This post has been edited by ciahcra: May 27 2013, 11:59 AM |
May 27 2013, 12:07 PM
QUOTE(Boon3 @ May 27 2013, 11:09 AM) Back testing. My best system gives me 60% only....only 10% higher than 'gambling' No two persons trades exactly the same. What works for A, might not work for B. So when you back test, the back test has to be a discovery process that helps you discover the system that works 'best' for you, ie the system that produces the best average result for you. And yes, it is very important to note that your 'best' system might not work all the time. Confusing? If it is the best, why doesn't it work all the time? That's because a system that produces good results during an uptrend/bullish phase, might not work as well during a downtrend/consoildation phase. This post has been edited by ciahcra: May 27 2013, 12:11 PM |
May 29 2013, 01:34 AM
QUOTE(kueyteowlou @ May 28 2013, 02:51 PM) I heard GPACKET! ![]() GPACKET Daily Limited by the 200 days EMA, but if can break, might shoot up!! |
May 29 2013, 01:35 AM
May 29 2013, 09:47 AM
May 29 2013, 09:53 AM
May 29 2013, 10:11 AM
QUOTE(Kcee @ May 29 2013, 09:59 AM) Ciahra, based on your posting, you do have a pre-defined pool of stocks I do, but sometimes I just take whatever that are currently in the theme (now o&g, iskandar.....)that you want to trade, is it? You mentioned Fundamental Analysis before, so meaning that you only trade stocks that have fundamental? Penny and small cap stocks are out of your radar or pool of stocks? I was thinking like, Technical Analysis should work on any stocks if we got the right move. Not me with the right move, of course but my best method, I go to FB group that discuss stock market, or even here in this forum, and take stock picks from those punters but i do my own analysis la, instead of jumping in together with them.....save me time from the need to go thru each stocks. yes I invests (or trades) stocks that have fundamentals. This post has been edited by ciahcra: May 29 2013, 10:13 AM |
May 29 2013, 10:21 AM
WASEONG
![]() WASEONG Daily The last push up was to break thru from the 2 years down trend. with the huge vol accompanied the breakout, I believed it's a genuine breakout. Most of the o&g are now making new, record highs. But Waseong doesn't seems to move that much yet And if Elliot Wave Theory are to be believed, I think we are now at the 2nd wave, with 3 more waves to go. ![]() WASEONG Daily 1 Rebounded at fibo 50%, with bullish harami yesterday, and a bullish kicker, if the price closes above yesterday high just my 2 cents. This post has been edited by ciahcra: May 29 2013, 10:57 AM |
May 29 2013, 11:02 AM
QUOTE(Kcee @ May 29 2013, 10:52 AM) Anybody here have opinions or knowledge about Heikin Ashi Chart in helping our trades? The gap wasn't even close as of today.....if there is correction maybe it will just close the gap. when? i dont know And will corrections ever come to our market? Seems like it's 'bulls' all the way. anyway, if look carefully at WASEONG, it seems like a flag to me..... |
May 29 2013, 11:14 AM
May 29 2013, 11:16 AM
YINSON
![]() YINSON daily No idea what to comment...... Trend still intact, got hammer yesterday near trendline doing offshore support service for o&g if i'm not mistaken, so is in the theme.... |
May 29 2013, 11:23 AM
QUOTE(kueyteowlou @ May 29 2013, 11:18 AM) some people said the same thing about Dayang to me at RM3.....can still move ah? from very low to very high alreadyNow RM5 already!! So i don't know if it can still moves upward or not, but since it's in the theme, so I guess maybe got some more upside potential, as long as the theme is in play..... p/s: if it doesn't, just cut.... This post has been edited by ciahcra: May 29 2013, 11:26 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0239sec
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:36 AM |