Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V18, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

NecroPhilia
post Feb 24 2013, 12:30 AM

979 posts

Guys is there Lenovo Y500 that come with only one graphic card? As i no need the 2nd piece of graphic card because I'm not in gaming. I'm just need the full hd and use it as a programming learning laptop. I saw lenovo Y500 at the website stated $799.00,is it the price that come with one piece of graphic card only? If so,is it available in Malaysia?
NecroPhilia
post Feb 24 2013, 12:41 AM

979 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Feb 24 2013, 12:34 AM)
Standard spec from Lenovo Malaysia
Ideapad Y500, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT650M + (1920x1080)@RM3799, 4GB, 500GB, W8; GN36 exGPU, 120W & 170W AC adapter

Units that come with other specs are grey imports.

If you want FHD screen, can consider these:

Dell
Inspiron 15R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + AMD HD7730M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) + 32GB SSD + 1TB HDD(5400rpm)@RM3199, 8GB, backlit keyboard optional, W8

Lenovo
Ideapad Y580, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GTX660M (2GB) + (1920x1080) + Bluray@RM3499[JBL], 8GB, 1TB HDD(7200rpm), W7HP, backlit keyboard, 2 years international warranty

Prices are RSP, negotiable.
I see, thanks for the explanation.

I'll try see if there got any stock left at my area for the Lenovo Y580 because I had visit few shops last week and they told me that Lenovo Y580 out of stock already sad.gif

If no choice then I'll pick either Y500 or Inspiron 15SE,thanks smile.gif

By the way,what is the best deal for the Lenovo Y500 at the moment?
NecroPhilia
post Mar 3 2013, 12:40 AM

979 posts

Guys,today I went to my local IT store,Karamunsing at Kota Kinabalu,Sabah. The stores at the mall selling Lenovo laptop thatt come with only ONE YEAR INTERNATIONAL WARRANTY.Should I get from them or buy from forumer.I search all the shops there but saw all provide one year international warranty only but yet still got people buying.

Anyway,I tested the inspiron 15(I wanted to test out 15R SE but they didn't got at there)and lenovo Y400,Y500 which suggested by forumer at here smile.gif I found out that I need 1920X1080 screen for more workspace but I didn't gaming at all,so pick Y500 is it a waste of money? sad.gif

Another case is I found out that the Y400's trackpad not accurate and keep malfunction from time to time :S is Y500 also got problem like that? sad.gif

Hope you guys can help me out smile.gif

EDIT:

Usage: Programming and no gaming.
Budget: About 3k+ -
Screen Resolution : 1920X1080 because I feel that I need more work space sad.gif although the 1366X768 seems quite ok,but still a bit tight. sad.gif Is 1920X1080 worth the price? smile.gif
Screen Size: 14" or 15.6" will do
Weight : Do not mind smile.gif

This post has been edited by NecroPhilia: Mar 3 2013, 12:43 AM
NecroPhilia
post Mar 3 2013, 02:24 PM

979 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 3 2013, 11:40 AM)
Newer batches of non-budgeted Lenovo units come with 2 years regional warranty already hmm.gif
Its better to go for 15" notebooks with FullHD for your usage considering the larger workspace~
Can consider these:
15.6"
Acer V3-571G-736b8G1T, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT730M(DDR3) + (1920x1080 IPS) @RM2899[2.6kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8
Dell Inspiron 15R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + AMD HD7730M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) + 32GB SSD + 1TB HDD(5400rpm)@RM3199, 8GB, backlit keyboard optional, W8
Dell Vostro 3560, i7-3632QM + AMD HD7670M + 32GB SSD + 750GB(7200rpm) HDD + (1920x1080)@RM3209[2.57kg], 8GB, W7HB; colors: red/silver/bronze
Lenovo Ideapad Y580, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GTX660M + 1920x1080 @RM2999[JBL], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HB/W8, backlit keyboard, 2 yrs warranty (Stock limited)

The Acer is still quite new and I'm not too sure whether you will be able to find it in Sabah...
Same goes to the Y580 which is not easy to find...
As for the Dell units, most shops do not sell the variants with the highest configurations, in which's case its better if you just order online(but do check 1st and see whether Dell's warranty coverage is available in Kota Kinabalu (It should be available since its a large town XD)
I guess I would buy from forumer instead of get it from my local store as well if I'm going to pick the Lenovo. The price here pricey than online price.They all sell @ RSP but giving off some useless freebies which is doesn't worth the money at all :S just to catch the attention of buyer :S

The Acer available here but I got nightmare with two previous Acer laptop so I think I wont go for it anymore sad.gif

I'm now down to two model which is Lenovo Y500 and Dell Inspiron 15R(Special edition),the problem is I not sure is these two model will waste my money just for the FULL HD as I think i won't be benefit from the mid-poweful graphic card that provided in these two laptops. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif If you guys think worth it,I think I gonna grab it by today or next week smile.gifsmile.gif

Another thing is my brother ask me to wait for haswell laptop,is there a lot of improvement of haswell over ivy. As far as I know,the integrated graphic is far powerful.
NecroPhilia
post Mar 3 2013, 03:22 PM

979 posts

QUOTE(wavezard @ Mar 3 2013, 02:37 PM)
how about lenovo? i know website that provide almost all laptop coupon..pm me..

btw we cannot buy online at lenovo malaysiawebsite?
got coupon for dell? rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
NecroPhilia
post Mar 3 2013, 05:58 PM

979 posts

QUOTE(wavezard @ Mar 3 2013, 03:57 PM)
What dell laptop u want
dell inspiron 15R Special edition biggrin.gif
NecroPhilia
post Mar 3 2013, 06:41 PM

979 posts

QUOTE(wavezard @ Mar 3 2013, 06:12 PM)
for laptop between rm2500-2999  GZT1GHMSN9GM4C
for laptop 3000-3999 395ZGKPNW21C9B
WOW thanks for it,I'll use it when buy the dell laptop tomorrow smile.gif
NecroPhilia
post Mar 3 2013, 06:43 PM

979 posts

By the way guys,Can I negotiate the price with dell sales assistant?

The dell 15R special edition that priced at RM3199 but after the warranty extension,the price is RM3700 :S

How you all negotiate with the sales assistant? How far can it go smile.gif

EDIT: BY the way guys,after negotiate with the DELL SA,Can i still apply the coupon? doh.gif

This post has been edited by NecroPhilia: Mar 3 2013, 06:49 PM
NecroPhilia
post Mar 3 2013, 09:52 PM

979 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 3 2013, 06:56 PM)
Sure, we always encourage you guys to negotiate prices with Dell sales agents~
Most of the time the offers given by them sales agents are better than the coupon discounts brows.gif
And now that you have the coupons, (thanks to wavezard for sharing them  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif ), you will know how much minimum the sales agents should offer  tongue.gif
Thanks for your guidance for so many posts smile.gif I'll try negotiate with them by tomorrow smile.gif

Yeap big thanks and thumbs up for WAVEZARD smile.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

By the way,since Dell Inspiron 15SE after warranty,it might cost like a Y500,why not i just jump to Y500 instead? doh.gif:X
NecroPhilia
post Mar 3 2013, 10:14 PM

979 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Mar 3 2013, 09:58 PM)
Don't understand smile.gif
The 15R SE after extend warranty to 3 years on site only come to RM3448 (i just tried tongue.gif How do you get RM3.7k?). Negotiate, it will go back down to RM3.1k easy smile.gif
I saw forumer Hikari85 selling Y500 at RM3.4k price sad.gif

Hope tomorrow able to negotiate it to 3.1k.I'm poor in negotiate sad.gif
NecroPhilia
post Mar 3 2013, 10:34 PM

979 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Mar 3 2013, 10:22 PM)
Yup, RM34xx is the going price for Y500 now smile.gif You do notice the RSP is RM3799 right, 10% discount without negotiation tongue.gif
Laptop above RM3k has ok margin for brands. Getting ~ 10% off (your target) is not hard smile.gif
The trick with Dell is that you can actually online negotiate with a few agents laugh.gif Just straigth up and ask for RM3.1k. They give you buy, they don't give, go to another agent tongue.gif
Thanks a lot for your help bro smile.gif I'll do what you taught me here to negotiate with the SA tomorrow biggrin.gif Try one by one,if still no luck,then I'll fork out the another 300 and jump to lenovo Y500 biggrin.gif

Anyway,I wonder got people that using Lenovo Y400 would want to buy the extra GPU unit? If they want,I could buy a Lenovo Y500 and sell the extra GPU unit to them biggrin.gif:D
NecroPhilia
post Mar 3 2013, 10:46 PM

979 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Mar 3 2013, 10:40 PM)
Don't worry about the Y400. There are a lot of people out there who actually bought those Y500 grey units without the ultrabay GPU. If you indeed go for Y500, you could easily off load your ultrabay GPU for ~ RM500+ smile.gif
Do note that Y500 (due to the SLI setup) don't support Nvidia Optimus, i.e. the GT650M is always on and the Intel HD4000 was disabled permanently, so the battery performance is worse compared to models that can make use of the HD4000.
Thank you very much for your help,appreciate it notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

I'll think carefully about the battery life of the Y500 and do my decision by tomorrow after negotiate with Dell Sales Assistant with the skill that i had just learnt from you,thanks for your time dude smile.gif
NecroPhilia
post Apr 1 2013, 02:55 PM

979 posts

Guys,I posted here and asked few questions last month I think.By that time,I decided to choose dell inspiron 15R special edition but I cant get a good price for this model.As a month passed,I'm now doubt on these few models as my main priority is full hd screen for programming usage and totally no gaming.

1. Lenovo Y500
As people said,I'm not a gamer so just waste my money if buying this gaming laptop.
2. Inspiron 15R special Edition
After googled it,found people said the build quality and speaker are poor.
3. Acer V3-571G-736b8G1T
FULL HD IPS caught my attention but scared of the reliability and warranty of Acer because many peoples had bad experience in Acer.

Due to various reason for each model,I doubt on getting which laptop that had confuse me about a month.So I decided to post here to let you guys choose for me sad.gif I'm sorry that I asked a lot of question last time but yet didn't grab it yet.Too confuse of the specs.

NecroPhilia
post Apr 1 2013, 04:58 PM

979 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 1 2013, 04:37 PM)
The complaints on Acer has receded across the years I think hmm.gif Perhaps its worth a try now hmm.gif
If you really are worried about warranty support, then Dell would still be the best pick here because of the good after sales service. The only problem is that you'll have to live with the pretty ugly design of the notebook tongue.gif
The others are right, Y500 is a bit too overkill for your usage  hmm.gif
Thanks for the reply.
I would get the Acer if I cant get a decent discount from Dell as you guys said the lenovo Y500 is kinda overkill for my usage.
Currently,I get offered from dell for the Inspiron 15R special Edition with backlit keyboard and 3 years accident warranty for 3.4k.
The sales assistant also recommend me the new inspiron 15R. May I know which laptop is better because the Inspiron 15R is just newly released.
Y500 about the same price with dell Inspiron 15R SE,so I don't mind it overkill if it is best bang for buck and worth it doh.gif
NecroPhilia
post Apr 1 2013, 05:59 PM

979 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 1 2013, 05:36 PM)
Bargain with shop people/ online sellers then you will get discounts brows.gif

RM3.4k for the 15R SE and complete cover warranty is pretty worth it laugh.gif If you think its too expensive you can just opt for the standard on-site warranty which will be a lot cheaper nod.gif Leaving you remaining money to buy some other accessories or upgrade your RAM/HDD hmm.gif

The new Inspiron 15 is running on an ULV processor, which is not as powerful as the full-fletched i7 in the 15R SE... iinm, you will need the extra juice from the quad core i7 for your programming needs hmm.gif

The Y500 may be sort of the same price, but don't forget it is not covered by on-site warranty one oh laugh.gif
Thanks for the reply.I tried to get different sales representative of Dell but not able to connect to the chat room.Maybe should try another time tomorrow

RM3.4k 3 years accidental warranty+backlit keyboard
RM3.25k for 3 years standard on-site warranty + backlit keyboard

RM150 should be worth for the cover.As what I saw you said in another post,laptop not easy to diagnose the problem and we cant fix by our own.take full warranty for a safer side smile.gif

Thanks for telling me the different between the two smile.gif

I wont mind drive to claim the warranty if the depot warranty is good hehe smile.gif Anyway,I'll try few Sales Representative tomorrow.

Anyway,if you are me,which laptop would you choose between these 3 or maybe others that fall in my budget smile.gif
NecroPhilia
post Apr 1 2013, 09:09 PM

979 posts

So guys,if you are me,you would choose which among the three?
Acer V3-571G-736b8G1T
Lenovo Y500
Dell Inspiron 15R special edition
you guys choose for me smile.gif
NecroPhilia
post Apr 1 2013, 10:01 PM

979 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 1 2013, 09:37 PM)
its best that you go and check out the real units and test them out yourself...
By doing that you will pretty much be able to make up your mind already since you have your own preferences in terms of design, ergonomics, feel etc. of the notebook nod.gif

The sifus here cannot help you make that decision since we are not you lol, and if later got problem we get blamed pulak  tongue.gif
I tested Y500 as the Dell inspiron 15R SE and Acer didn't display at my local store so i hardly to make up my mind because I never hand on to test them and feel them sad.gif The stunning IPS Acer V3 also never see before sad.gif

Nah,wont blame you all,instead would thanks and thumbs up for the sifu smile.gifsmile.gif
NecroPhilia
post Apr 2 2013, 04:22 PM

979 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Apr 2 2013, 09:46 AM)
Where are you staying? If around Klang Valley, just spend a few hours in LYP laugh.gif Models galore smile.gif
I'm from Kota Kinabalu Sabah sad.gif
NecroPhilia
post Apr 2 2013, 05:02 PM

979 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Apr 2 2013, 04:37 PM)
Sorry, sorry, not familiar with IT scene in KK tongue.gif (Karamungsing has quite a few shops? )
All I can say is the IPS in the V3-571G is really nice in my opinion tongue.gif
Even in Klang Valley, some forumers found it hard to locate that model as well  hmm.gif
Last week I went there but Didn't see any V3-571G full ips there sad.gif Yeap quite a few shops at there biggrin.gif biggest IT mall at kota kinabalu biggrin.gif
Would you recommend me to buy the Acer over the lenovo Y500 and Dell Inspiron 15R SE? smile.gif
NecroPhilia
post Apr 3 2013, 12:19 AM

979 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Apr 2 2013, 06:08 PM)
Gee, you are putting me on a spot laugh.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
I think all 3 models has a compelling package at this price point. And at this price point, you have to make compromise, can't have the best of everything tongue.gif
My personal (some of these are very subjective) opinion:
Screen - V3, 15R SE, Y500
Keyboard - Y500, 15R SE (don't have numpad, which is a good thing for me laugh.gif), V3
Touchpad - 15R SE, V3, Y500
Speaker - Y500, 15R SE, V3
CPU - even
GPU - Y500, 15R SE / V3

If your main usage is game, Y500.
If your main usage is video / photo, V3 (hook it up with desktop speaker)
If your main usage is work and want good warranty, 15R SE.
Thank you for your summarize. notworthy.gif
I tried Y500 at my local store before but the touch pad seems like same as what the others said,the trackpad keep auto move or not function as usual. sad.gif Is Lenovo solve the problem?
I feel like wanted to go to Y500 although I not gaming.gaming rig specs would be a + for laptop I think sad.gif but I get offered from dell with a lower price and a upgrade laptop bag(which I don't know worth it or not) sad.gif Dell Sales Assistant told me that the offer only valid for one day :S He needs me to make a quick decision sad.gif

0.0536sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:00 AM