32 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Bottom

Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V18, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

nexus2238
post Feb 26 2013, 05:54 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Kookie10 @ Feb 26 2013, 05:48 PM)
Yea i saw the Taichi and XPS 12 before but the small screen is really a minus. I have seen the zenbook touch and the screen is not as nice as the non-touch zenbook which is another let down. Really hard to find a laptop that suits me man.
The XPS12 is actually 12.5", only slightly smaller than 13" smile.gif
Yes, I find the same about the screen of the Zenbook touch.
May I ask: Why are you so hung up on touchscreen? laugh.gif
nexus2238
post Feb 26 2013, 11:03 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(zyei @ Feb 26 2013, 10:13 PM)
Hi guys, just need some advice on what to get.

1. No preferences, but would prefer one with a better after sales service
2. RM 3,000 - 3,500
3. For business use, playing strategy games such as starcraft 2, dota 2, etc. Maybe a little bit of FPS. Watching movies    etc.
4. No preferences for this as well.

don't think ill be needing any of the touch screen functions anytime soon. so that can be excluded!

Suggestions please!  icon_rolleyes.gif
"For business use" - do you mean "I am running my business on this, cannot afford for this machine to be down", or "running some business software, but not mission critical", or "just some MS Office stuff, no big deal"? laugh.gif

Anyway, since you prefer better after sales service, then Dell, Lenovo, HP ...
You may consider some consumer line (more powerful GPU for gaming), or entry level business class laptop (matte screen, slightly better build, normally slightly better warranty support ... )

Dell 14"
Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2049[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), W7HP/W8
Vostro 3460, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M + 32GB mSATA+ 500GB(7200rpm) HDD@RM2559[2.23kg], 4GB, W7HB; colors: red/silver/bronze
Latitude E5430, i5-3320M + Intel HD4000@RM3200, 4GB, 320GB(5400rpm), W7P (32-bit)/W8 Pro, 3 years pro support; [CPU Options: i5-3320M - i7-3520M], HD+ screen upgradable (Opt for HD+ screen. GPU too weak to play games well, but the jump in build quality is noticable)
15"
Inspiron 15R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + AMD HD7730M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) + 32GB SSD + 1TB HDD(5400rpm)@RM3199, 8GB, backlit keyboard optional, W8
Vostro 3560, i5-3210M + AMD HD7670M + 32GB SSD + 500GB(7200rpm) HDD@RM2549[2.57kg], 4GB, W7HB; colors: red/silver/bronze
Vostro 3560, i7-3632QM + AMD HD7670M + 32GB SSD + 750GB(7200rpm) HDD + (1920x1080)@RM3209[2.57kg], 8GB, W7HB; colors: red/silver/bronze

HP 14"
ProBook 4341s, i5-3210M + AMD HD7570M@RM2599, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7P, anti-glare

Lenovo 14"
Z480, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M@RM2099, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm) W8, colors: grey/red/blue
ThinkPad Edge E430, i7-3612QM + Nvidia GT630M + (750GB HDD [5,400rpm] + 16GB SSD)@RM3399[2.2kg], W7P, 4GB, anti-glare

Prices are RSP, negotiable. Use your remaining budget to extend warranty to 3 years on site (if the model don't come standard with this).
nexus2238
post Feb 26 2013, 11:11 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Nelvs @ Feb 26 2013, 08:21 PM)
My dad says that if I can get a touchscreen he will up the budget to 2.5k, do you recommend getting a touchscreen and if so can you please give some recommendations?

1. No Asus if possible
2. 2.5k
3. Digital audio workshops, moderate gaming and possibly animating in the future
4. 15.6 and 14

Thanks again.  smile.gif
For standard laptop (especially those of 14" or 15" screen), I find the touchscreen not ergonomical to use, and always worry whether the hinge holding the screen and the keyboard base together will last or not under constant poking sweat.gif Touchscreen work best in those hybrid / convertible laptop (normally found in 11", 12", and rare in 13").

Anyway, if you really want touchscreen:

Lenovo
Z400 touch, i7-3632QM + Nvidia GT645M + (1366x768; touch)@RM2699, 4GB, 1TB, W8; backlit, 2 years warranty

But at this price point, if you omit touchscreen, you could get this laugh.gif
Lenovo
Y400, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT650M@RM2799, 4GB, 500GB, W8, 120wPSU, swappable ODD
nexus2238
post Feb 26 2013, 11:21 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Kookie10 @ Feb 26 2013, 07:08 PM)
Well first i dont hope that my ultrabook will be "outdated" in a few months time since when Haswell launch all ultrabook will require to have touchscreen. Other than that i tried windows8 on a non-touch laptop and the experience is not that good compared to a touchscreen one. Is there any reason that i shouldn't get a touchscreen ultrabook?
Haswell? If you can wait, then wait until end of 2013 laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif There will be a lot more choice on touch screen laptop smile.gif
Touchscreen on standard laptop, even 13", for me is just not ergonomical (arm get tired real fast poking across keyboard). Also the strength of hinge is a concern. You mention Vivobook and the Samsung. I tried both. The screen (of the demo set) wobble (after constant abuse), and since the glossy touchscreen is reflective of background light, the wobbling just give me headache looking at it laugh.gif

(That's why I think if you really want touchsceen on 13", Yoga is still the best bet tongue.gif Otherwise, go for XPS12 which is 12.5" with pretty decent keyboard)
nexus2238
post Feb 26 2013, 11:24 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(syco @ Feb 26 2013, 06:59 PM)
Im looking for a laptop which are:

1: Easy to bring here and there (mobility)
2: Gaming Performance.
3: Not to Big.
4: Any brand will do.
5: Battery life can last at least 3 hours
6: Budget range rm3200 and below.

Suggest me..
The one and only thumbup.gif

Illegear www.illegear.com 11.6"
R-11, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT650M@RM2999, 8GB, 500(5400rpm), FreeDOS [CPU options: i5-3210M-i7-3630QM]

They are Malaysian selling Clevo barebone. Warranty service is good. Check out the threads in this forum by Prince J (Illegear staff) for some user reviews and (non-photoshopped) pictures of the unit smile.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Feb 26 2013, 11:29 PM
nexus2238
post Feb 27 2013, 10:09 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(maldini3totti @ Feb 27 2013, 06:56 AM)
1. Any brand
2.RM 2000-2200
3. Gaming, surfing n office work
4. 15.6 n above
5. Preferably i5 with 6gb ram of possible.
6. Possibly touch screen

Any suggestions are welcome. Thanks
Seriously, don't attempt touchscreen on 15" (there is only 2 models in Malaysia anyway, iinm). The weigth of the screen compounding with constant poking leads to weaken hinges and wobbly screen in the long run.
RAM is cheap, 4G is ~ RM80. Upgrade aftermarket, normally will not void warranty.

Dell
Inspiron 15R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + AMD HD7730M@RM2199, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm); backlit keyboard optional, W8

Lenovo
Z580, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M@RM2299, 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), W7HB, white
Z580, i7-3612QM + Nvidia GT640M@RM2299, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), freeDOS, white
Z500, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT645M @RM2299, 4GB, 1TB, W8; backlit, 2 years warranty (4-cell)

Prices is RSP, negotiable.
nexus2238
post Feb 27 2013, 12:42 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(meemoo @ Feb 27 2013, 12:09 PM)
thanks for the sharing..  biggrin.gif
then i'll just stick to win8 la if the sifu said its a good os..  rclxms.gif
If you are experience with W7 or older, make sure you don't grope in dark with W8, it will make you frustrated very quickly tongue.gif (like figure out how to shut down laugh.gif )
Search the net for videos or articles on how to use W8. Some laptop brands like Asus also produce W8 manual like this:
http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/nb/Apps/e..._User_Guide.pdf

Just keep an open mind. You don't need touch screen to use W8. Keyboard short cut, "just typing", the build in search of W8, make W8 really a breeze to use.
Performance wise, W8 is faster / snappier than W7, and there are a lot of niffy new tools in W8 (like native support for ISO file ... )
nexus2238
post Feb 27 2013, 04:44 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(dexrys @ Feb 27 2013, 01:39 PM)
Will look into those and make a decision, slightly above budget..Thanks for sharing biggrin.gif
As I said, negotiate. It will be within your budget laugh.gif
nexus2238
post Feb 27 2013, 05:09 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Feb 27 2013, 04:33 PM)
Guys, any suggestions for a Laptop for which primary concern is that the screen must be very good?

Currently looking at Asus' Zenbook with its' 19x10 Full HD IPS display. Also HP's Envy 6 15" model the 19x10 is pretty nice with wide viewing angles.

Any other models I can look at?
What is your budget? The best screen in laptops are those in Apple Retina Display, HP Elitebook DreamColor and Dell Precision PremierColor. Also the Clevo barebone sold by Illegear (www.illegear.com) could be customised with great screen.

The cheapest laptop with good IPS screen now is this one:
Acer
V3-571G-736b8G1T, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT730M(DDR3) + (1920x1080 IPS) @RM2899[2.6kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Feb 27 2013, 05:10 PM
nexus2238
post Feb 27 2013, 05:17 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Pegasus88 @ Feb 27 2013, 04:06 PM)
Brand: Asus/Lenovo/Dell/Apple

Usage: Gaming, websurfing, Microsoft Office, Photo editing.

Screen size: 14"

Required graphic card.

Budget: RM3000-RM4000
No 14" Apple smile.gif

Asus
A45VS-VX028H, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT640M@RM2899[2.4kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8
A45VS-VX026H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT645M@RM2199[2.4kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8

Dell
Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2049[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), W7HP/W8
Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2799[2.38kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm); backlit keyboard optional
Alienware M14x R2, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT650M (1GB) + (1600x900)@RM3999[2.92kg][Klipsch], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm); [CPU Options: i7-3630QM - i7-3840QM], W8, 2 years warranty

Lenovo
Y400, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT650M@RM2799, 4GB, 500GB, W8, 120wPSU, swappable ODD
Z400 touch, i7-3632QM + Nvidia GT645M + (1366x768; touch)@RM2699, 4GB, 1TB, W8; backlit, 2 years warranty
Z480, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M@RM2099, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm) W8, colors: grey/red/blue

Prices are RSP, negotiable.
nexus2238
post Feb 27 2013, 05:18 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(meemoo @ Feb 27 2013, 01:36 PM)
is z400 already in sales in lyp?
Yes.
nexus2238
post Feb 27 2013, 05:23 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(aryons @ Feb 27 2013, 03:06 PM)
Dear Team.. still need your help to list down..

requirement min.at least intel i5 processor, Touch screen are need, Nvidia GT6++ or similar not intel graphic.. and budget around RM3500

Please help due to Z400 touch are not available..
What do you mean Z400 touch not available? smile.gif

Anyway:
Acer
M5-481PTG-53316G52, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT640M + 20GB mSATA + 500GB HDD@RM2999, 10-point touch, W8
V5-471PG, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT710M + (1366x768; touch)@RM2299, 4GB, 500GB, W8

nexus2238
post Feb 27 2013, 06:31 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(min1991 @ Feb 27 2013, 06:11 PM)
Help me sifus.
Looking for laptop. mostly use for gaming. :3
budget 2500~3500

currently eyeing on lenovo y500 but a lil bit confuse with the price given by retailer from most online shops price from 28**~34** . mind to explain ? the differences ?
Ideapad Y500, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT650M + (1920x1080)@RM3799, 4GB, 500GB, W8; GN36 exGPU, 120W & 170W AC adapter, 2 Yr International Warranty

This is the standard spec and RSP of Y500 in Malaysia. (Re-sellers are selling ~ RM34xx)
Anything else are probably grey import sets, which you may have problem getting warranty support from Lenovo Malaysia.
Those at ~ RM28xx most probably are grey imports that don't come together with the ultrabay GPU.
nexus2238
post Feb 27 2013, 06:46 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(coz4u @ Feb 27 2013, 06:27 PM)
Brand: Asus/Lenovo/Dell

Usage: Heavy 3-D design, web-surfing, programming purposes, watch movie in HD

Screen size: 14" / 15"

Must have a reasonably strong graphic card

Budget: RM3500-4500

(Do not want any gaming laptop like Asus G-Series, Dell Alienware. Reason is too heavy to b portable.)

Thanks!
Most 15" are heavy ~ 3kg laugh.gif (of course G series, Alienware are nearer to 4kg sweat.gif )
If you like FHD screen (more work space), then go for 15":

Acer (I know you did not mention this tongue.gif, but the screen is very nice laugh.gif)
V3-571G-736b8G1T, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT730M(DDR3) + (1920x1080 IPS) @RM2899[2.6kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8

Asus
N56VZ-S4284H, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT650M + (1920x1080) + Bluray@RM3699[2.7kg][B&O], 4GB, 1TB, W8; color: black

Dell
Inspiron 15R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + AMD HD7730M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) + 32GB SSD + 1TB HDD(5400rpm)@RM3199, 8GB, backlit keyboard optional, W8

Lenovo
Ideapad Y500, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT650M + (1920x1080)@RM3799, 4GB, 500GB, W8; GN36 exGPU, 120W & 170W AC adapter (this is a gaming laptop actually laugh.gif )
Ideapad Y580, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GTX660M (2GB) + (1920x1080) + Bluray@RM3499[JBL], 8GB, 1TB HDD(7200rpm), W7HP, backlit keyboard, 2 years international warranty

HP 14" (I know you also did not mention this brand tongue.gif but the build quality is top notch for real pro thumbup.gif and excellent warranty)
EliteBook 8470w, i7-3520M + AMD FirePro M2000 (1600x900) @RM5099, 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), W7P, anti-glare, 3 years

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Feb 27 2013, 06:48 PM
nexus2238
post Feb 28 2013, 06:58 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Artstyle @ Feb 28 2013, 01:15 AM)
Hey guys need some recommendation.

Price below RM2k.

Use: For internet surfing, microsoft office, watching videos.

Preferably 15.6inch.

Weight and battery not important.

Good display. Audio not important.
Good screen cost money, and nothing particularly good is fitted in models within your budget tongue.gif

The cheapest model with good screen (IPS panel) is this:
Acer

Alternative is for you to connect to external display when you need it, a good IPS 23" is ~ RM600.
nexus2238
post Feb 28 2013, 07:04 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Kookie10 @ Feb 28 2013, 12:33 AM)
But TBH i prefer the zenbook design over the envy spectreXT and zenbook does have a better screen right? The only downside to me is that it is an old model over 1 year old already which makes me feel that its not really worth it. Sorry for the mafan-ness sifus.
There has been a few iterations of ZenBook already. The current gen with ivy bridge ULV CPU was launched ~ 3Q12. Actually, most ultrabook with ivy brige ULV were refreshed started from 2Q12.
Obviously the next refresh cycle will be for Haswell, which is only expected to "start" on early 4Q13 laugh.gif
So you just need to make up your mind. Want to catch the tail of this wave or the crest of the new one? icon_rolleyes.gif
nexus2238
post Feb 28 2013, 07:12 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(pigduck @ Feb 28 2013, 12:07 AM)
Asus S550 vs Acer V3-571?
I bought the Acer V5-551 and find the text blurry. So want to change. Do not want to spend above Rm3000. I thought getting a laptop for RM2k (v5-551) was ok but then too bad screen failed to impress.
I want to play the new Sim City when it is out.
Is touch screen necessary for Win 8?
Must be 15.6 and above
As all sifus will tell you, you should look at the real thing (look at the screen, type on the keyboard, click on the touchpad, carry it around ... ) before you actually buy any laptop (actually most thing in life laugh.gif ) sweat.gif

Don't need touchscreen to use W8. Users need to learn keyboard short cut and how to use W8 search. Watch videos, articles tuturial that you can find online.

Want good screen? 15"?
If you go for 15" with 1366x768 resolution, and compare that with 14" with the same resolution of 1366x768, of course it will look "blurry" in 15", because you are looking at the same image in a larger screen smile.gif
Want something sharp in 15", go for HD+ or FHD.
Consider these:

Acer

Dell

nexus2238
post Feb 28 2013, 07:18 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Feb 28 2013, 12:02 AM)
Needs to have nice colors with good contrast and viewing angles. Like the Zenbook's IPS screen tongue.gif ... laptop purpose is on-the-road photo editing, doesn't need to be i7, i5 good enough liao.

Illegear's laptops look tempting but I'm a little hesitant cos I won't be able to see the screen for myself before buying sad.gif
You are in luck smile.gif
Talk to Prince J in this forum (he is from illegear).
Ask him about this 11.6" model: (very portable)
R-11, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT650M@RM2999, 8GB, 500(5400rpm), FreeDOS [CPU options: i5-3210M-i7-3630QM]
Tell him your requirement, and ask him to custom fit a IPS FHD panel for you thumbup.gif (they will probably tell you the panel model they could source, and the type of machine in the market that fit with those panel so you could get a good idea). They also offer professional calibration, so better than the IPS in ZenBook off the shelf (you have to pay, but illegear sometime do promotion and give this service and other goodies for free thumbup.gif )

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Feb 28 2013, 10:16 AM
nexus2238
post Feb 28 2013, 07:25 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(min1991 @ Feb 27 2013, 07:05 PM)
How do i differentiate between grey and non grey imports ?
sorry I'm really noob at technical stuff like this. :3
Read the 1st post in this thread:
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2491914
nexus2238
post Feb 28 2013, 10:17 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(meemoo @ Feb 28 2013, 08:11 AM)
hi sifus..i want to ask about the y400..
is it come in 2years warrNty or 1year warranty?
also is it come with gpu ultrabay or only with the optical drive?

thanks in advance..  icon_rolleyes.gif
Read the 1st post in this thread, PLEASE smile.gif
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2491914

32 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.0481sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:34 AM