129 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V18, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

XeactorZ
post Jan 13 2013, 02:20 AM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

QUOTE(ilovestrawberry @ Jan 13 2013, 12:15 AM)
hmm.. my current asus a52j is using 500GB 7200rpm  one wor. all in all, the lenovo is that good?  hmm.gif  ohmy.gif
QUOTE(ilovestrawberry @ Jan 13 2013, 02:02 AM)
ohh.. yea.. it boots up abit slower i guess? .. but sorry to ask.. what's ssd? lol.  rclxub.gif . i got my a52j like... 3 years ago? about rm2.7k i think. haha. and one more thing.. regarding the keyboard and mousepad.. is it good to use? i mean.. (dust cannot enter easily) coz i find that a52j.. lots of dust.  hmm.gif
that the best laptop for your budget and requiremeet
for 7200rpm, yes is slower compare to this 5400rpm, just install things slower perhaps

boot slower ?? not really bah
if you worry boot slower go buy SSD biggrin.gif
basyer
post Jan 13 2013, 02:47 AM

hey guys, can you suggest a laptop for my younger brother. But he's on tight budget.. a laptop below 1K.. is that possible? pfft.. i also dun know.. he also mentioned that he dun mind for a 2nd hand laptop.. but where can i look a nice decent 2nd hand laptop? anyway this is what i think he prefer.
1. Preferred Brand=Acer.. anything else would be ok or maybe something more superior than Acer.

2. Budget=below 1K (this question me of how in the hell i can look for a laptop below 1K)haha..

3. Usage=light usage web office work ( report writing for his job) excel and words only. plus web browsing.

4. Preferred laptop/screen size= 14.1 or 13.3 maybe..

thanks for helping me out guys =)
nexus2238
post Jan 13 2013, 02:57 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(ilovestrawberry @ Jan 13 2013, 02:02 AM)
ohh.. yea.. it boots up abit slower i guess? .. but sorry to ask.. what's ssd? lol.  rclxub.gif . i got my a52j like... 3 years ago? about rm2.7k i think. haha. and one more thing.. regarding the keyboard and mousepad.. is it good to use? i mean.. (dust cannot enter easily) coz i find that a52j.. lots of dust.  hmm.gif
7200rpm HDD is slightly faster than 5400rpm HDD, it will impact any disc accessing activities (OS boot, program launch, swap file, ... )

SSD - solid state drive, inside is NAND flash. Relatively expensive (128G ~ RM250+). Compare to HDD:
run (very much) faster
quieter (no moving parts)
cooler (generate a lot less heat)
help laptop getting better battery performance (use less power)

All the high end ultrabook use full SSD.

Lenovo keyboard is good. The touchpad in Y580 is up to personal taste (you go and try it to find out).

Dust? Blow them away laugh.gif (seriously, use compressed air or brush)

Important to keep laptop clean. You do heard about the research which found keyboard is dirtier than toilet seat? laugh.gif
ilovestrawberry
post Jan 13 2013, 03:04 AM

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Jan 13 2013, 02:57 AM)
7200rpm HDD is slightly faster than 5400rpm HDD, it will impact any disc accessing activities (OS boot, program launch, swap file, ... )

SSD - solid state drive, inside is NAND flash. Relatively expensive (128G ~ RM250+). Compare to HDD:
run (very much) faster
quieter (no moving parts)
cooler (generate a lot less heat)
help laptop getting better battery performance (use less power)

All the high end ultrabook use full SSD.

Lenovo keyboard is good. The touchpad in Y580 is up to personal taste (you go and try it to find out).

Dust? Blow them away laugh.gif (seriously, use compressed air or brush)

Important to keep laptop clean. You do heard about the research which found keyboard is dirtier than toilet seat? laugh.gif
oh that one . yea i heard of that . wink.gif
quzain
post Jan 13 2013, 03:06 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jan 12 2013, 08:49 PM)
Usually people running AutoCad and 3D modelling stuffs would prefer 15" notebooks because of the FullHD screen (larger workspace)...
But if you want a 14", then this one has the best specs (before the Asus G46 comes in, if it comes tongue.gif):
Lenovo Y400, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT650M@RM2799, 4GB, 500GB, W8, 120wPSU, swappable ODD

Going down one level would be these:
14"
Asus A45VS-VX028H, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT640M@RM2899[2.4kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8

Dell Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2799[2.38kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm); backlit keyboard optional

Lenovo V480, i7-3632QM + Nvidia GT630M@RM2899, 4GB,750GB(5400rpm), W7P

Toshiba Satellite M840-1009XG/XP/XQ, i7-3612QM + AMD HD7670M@RM2799[2kg], 4GB, 750GB, W7HP; colors: Gold/Pink/Blue
rclxms.gif ...thank for all info Broo,now i got what i want.
nexus2238
post Jan 13 2013, 03:10 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(basyer @ Jan 13 2013, 02:47 AM)
hey guys, can you suggest a laptop for my younger brother. But he's on tight budget.. a laptop below 1K.. is that possible? pfft.. i also dun know.. he also mentioned that he dun mind for a 2nd hand laptop.. but where can i look a nice decent 2nd hand laptop? anyway this is what i think he prefer.
1. Preferred Brand=Acer.. anything else would be ok or maybe something more superior than Acer.

2. Budget=below 1K (this question me of how in the hell i can look for a laptop below 1K)haha..

3. Usage=light usage web office work ( report writing for his job) excel and words only. plus web browsing.

4. Preferred laptop/screen size= 14.1 or 13.3 maybe..

thanks for helping me out guys =)
Yes, there are 14" laptop for < RM1k, and they can handle your brother usage requirement smile.gif

Acer
Aspire E1-431-B822G50, B820 + Intel HD@RM1099, 2GB, 500GB, FreeDOS

Dell
Inspiron 14, B820 + Intel HD@RM999[2.1kg], 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8

Lenovo
G480, B830 + Intel HD3000@RM999, 2GB, 500GB (5400rpm), FreeDOS

FreeDOS means need to get OS yourself. That's why the Dell is a good deal, you get W8.
MS Office not included in RSP. If your brother open a few Words or Excel files simultaneously, good idea to upgrade RAM (4G is ~RM80), maybe can ask re-seller to give it as free upgrade tongue.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Jan 13 2013, 03:11 AM
-kytz-
post Jan 13 2013, 06:51 AM

12,573 posts

Bila Microsoft surface pro mau keluar? tongue.gif
basyer
post Jan 13 2013, 11:23 AM

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Jan 13 2013, 03:10 AM)
Yes, there are 14" laptop for < RM1k, and they can handle your brother usage requirement smile.gif

Acer
Aspire E1-431-B822G50, B820 + Intel HD@RM1099, 2GB, 500GB, FreeDOS

Dell
Inspiron 14, B820 + Intel HD@RM999[2.1kg], 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8

Lenovo
G480, B830 + Intel HD3000@RM999, 2GB, 500GB (5400rpm), FreeDOS

FreeDOS means need to get OS yourself. That's why the Dell is a good deal, you get W8.
MS Office not included in RSP. If your brother open a few Words or Excel files simultaneously, good idea to upgrade RAM (4G is ~RM80), maybe can ask re-seller to give it as free upgrade tongue.gif
thanks @nexus2238 dell inspiron is OK.. but these laptops running on processor BXXX.. is this running on intel or AMD? and can you provide any 2nd hand laptop as well if possible.

FreeDos is Ok i can ask my friend to install it for me..
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 13 2013, 11:56 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jan 13 2013, 06:51 AM)
Bila Microsoft surface pro mau keluar? tongue.gif
Eying on one bro? brows.gif
Last I've read it'll be released in January, so for Malaysia, probably around end of February or even March tongue.gif
Mr.CoMoT
post Jan 13 2013, 04:24 PM

Manchester United <3
1,504 posts

guys its lenovo s300 good? since it ultrabook..using it for browsing..youtube..hd movies 720p/1080p...

connect to tv 40" vida hdmi watching 1080p..

a simple editing from photoshop...

my budget is 1.2k only...i dun a bulky notebook..and yes i know s300 dun have a dvd..its ok..

but the main thing i want to know that pentium 997 its enough? since i see bench b950 > 997...hmm
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 13 2013, 04:42 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Mr.CoMoT @ Jan 13 2013, 04:24 PM)
guys its lenovo s300 good? since it ultrabook..using it for browsing..youtube..hd movies 720p/1080p...

connect to tv 40" vida hdmi watching 1080p..

a simple editing from photoshop...

my budget is 1.2k only...i dun a bulky notebook..and yes i know s300 dun have a dvd..its ok..

but the main thing i want to know that pentium 997 its enough? since i see bench b950 > 997...hmm
Usually a 14" mainsteam notebook would be a better pick because of the better performance. but since you are more interested in portability, the S300 will do nod.gif
It can handle the stuffs you mentioned, but try not to expect too much in Photoshop, especially more intensive tasks laugh.gif
Cranky guy
post Jan 13 2013, 04:53 PM

Writer@Gizchina
1,818 posts

Hey guys, need a recommendation.

Preferred brand- None, any brand works.

Budget- Below 1.5k, a bit higher is OK.

Usage- Gaming and web browsing.

Preferred screen size- Not a problem, the smaller the better

This post has been edited by Cranky guy: Jan 13 2013, 05:16 PM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 13 2013, 04:58 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Cranky guy @ Jan 13 2013, 04:53 PM)

Budget- Below 1k, a bit higher is OK.

Your budget is a bit too low for any serious gaming unfortunately sad.gif
You need around at least Rm1.5k to get a decent budget gaming machine capable of playing the latest games at around low-mid level graphic settings hmm.gif
Cranky guy
post Jan 13 2013, 05:17 PM

Writer@Gizchina
1,818 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jan 13 2013, 04:58 PM)
Your budget is a bit too low for any serious gaming unfortunately sad.gif
You need around at least Rm1.5k to get a decent budget gaming machine capable of playing the latest games at around low-mid level graphic settings  hmm.gif
Edited accordingly, recommendations?
Mr.CoMoT
post Jan 13 2013, 05:18 PM

Manchester United <3
1,504 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jan 13 2013, 04:42 PM)
Usually a 14" mainsteam notebook would be a better pick because of the better performance. but since you are more interested in portability, the S300 will do nod.gif
It can handle the stuffs you mentioned, but try not to expect too much in Photoshop, especially more intensive tasks  laugh.gif
bro u think pentium 997 can perform well..i means can open 7 tab..2 browser watching utube at the same time or hd movies...

and can it run well on windows 7 ultimate..or win 8?

i sked if it lag... sweat.gif

4gb ram is enough right?
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 13 2013, 05:26 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Mr.CoMoT @ Jan 13 2013, 05:18 PM)
bro u think pentium 997 can perform well..i means can open 7 tab..2 browser watching utube at the same time or hd movies...

and can it run well on windows 7 ultimate..or win 8?

i sked if it lag... sweat.gif

4gb ram is enough right?
The latest S300 model comes with W8 already right? hmm.gif
It should be able to handle your requirements, but on the safe side, try to "test-drive" on display models, just to be sure icon_rolleyes.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 13 2013, 05:27 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Cranky guy @ Jan 13 2013, 04:53 PM)

Budget- Below 1.5k, a bit higher is OK.

QUOTE(Cranky guy @ Jan 13 2013, 05:17 PM)
Edited accordingly, recommendations?
This one is the cheapest, and most decently-speced notebook capable of gaming for that price range thumbup.gif
14"
Lenovo G480, i3-3110M + Nvidia GT635M@RM1499, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), FreeDOS

But do take note that it doesn't come with an OS nod.gif
Mr.CoMoT
post Jan 13 2013, 05:31 PM

Manchester United <3
1,504 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jan 13 2013, 05:26 PM)
The latest S300 model comes with W8 already right? hmm.gif
It should be able to handle your requirements, but on the safe side, try to "test-drive" on display models, just to be sure  icon_rolleyes.gif
lowyat plaza get ar a display model??

later test2 sure kena buy sweat.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 13 2013, 05:54 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Mr.CoMoT @ Jan 13 2013, 05:31 PM)
lowyat plaza get ar a display model??

later test2 sure kena buy  sweat.gif
Yup, I've seen display units there the last time I went there laugh.gif

Well, they are display units (which are meant for you to abuse try) tongue.gif
Mr.CoMoT
post Jan 13 2013, 06:33 PM

Manchester United <3
1,504 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jan 13 2013, 05:54 PM)
Yup, I've seen display units there the last time I went there laugh.gif

Well, they are display units (which are meant for you to abuse try)  tongue.gif
u think its worth?? ya I mean for budget 1.2 k...

129 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0161sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:06 PM