129 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 124 > » Bottom

Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V18, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

lucifer93
post Apr 1 2013, 05:27 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 31 2013, 10:22 AM)
14"
Dell
Inspiron 14R, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1899[2.29kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8
Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2049[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), W7HP/W8

Lenovo G480, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT635M@RM1899, 4GB, 1TB (5400rpm), W8, 2 yrs warranty

GPU performance: GT640M> GT635M > GT630M  icon_rolleyes.gif
is there any larger screen at this same requirement?
raymondtong94
post Apr 1 2013, 07:44 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(tabs @ Apr 1 2013, 01:35 AM)
so this is RM2419 7520-61412G-W8 I7-3612QM 4GB 1TB ATI AMD RADEON HD7730M 2GB 15.6" W8 (Black HoneyComb) is I7 QM??

so this is better compare to W7P I7-3517U? since it is core i7 U?

any other can recommend from you ?"
yes. it is better than i7-3517U. but according to your usage, you seems dont need the power of quad core. so you can stick to core i7 U if you want. smile.gif

actually, the 'U' doesnt present at the end of a core i7 logo. i just add it to notify you according to the model number.

nexus2238
post Apr 1 2013, 09:45 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(ShinSekai @ Apr 1 2013, 12:32 AM)
resources from india (my seniors) claim it's more expensive in india.
India supposedly to be advanced(?) in tech stuffs right?
~_~.

India slap a 12% excise duty on IT products laugh.gif
It's definitely cheaper to buy laptop in Malaysia smile.gif
kelvinkhai94
post Apr 1 2013, 10:43 AM

1. asus or dell
2.maximum 2500
3. use for university and gaming
4.14 or 15.6'

i saw this laptop quite nice [asus A55VM-SX038V RM2330 I7-3610 6GB 750GB NV GT630 2GB 15'6" W7HP] (planning to upgrade to 8gb ram)

is the laptop good enough for me? cause probably i might use it to play the latest game
tabs
post Apr 1 2013, 11:06 AM

Gadget Siao @@
2,587 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Apr 1 2013, 07:44 AM)
yes. it is better than i7-3517U. but according to your usage, you seems dont need the power of quad core. so you can stick to core i7 U if you want. smile.gif

actually, the 'U' doesnt present at the end of a core i7 logo. i just add it to notify you according to the model number.
haha. no la. just try to get something that is worth for money. can last longer. so I7-3612QM is better. might consider this unit. how about other?
raymondtong94
post Apr 1 2013, 11:41 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(tabs @ Apr 1 2013, 11:06 AM)
haha. no la. just try to get something that is worth for money. can last longer. so I7-3612QM is better. might consider this unit. how about other?
this

Lenovo Z400, i7-3632QM + Nvidia GT645M@RM2699, 4GB, 1TB, W8; backlit, 2 years warranty

GT645M -> HD7730M
chongaik82
post Apr 1 2013, 11:57 AM

454 posts

Dear all,

Plan to buy a notebook for my wife. Appreciate your advice

1. Preferred Brand - none
2. Budget - < RM2,000
3. Usage - i)Mainly for paper work (Word, excel and power), ii)Entertainment (surfing, movie and music). light, easy carry around
4. Preferred laptop/screen size:prefer 14", Second choice 13"
nexus2238
post Apr 1 2013, 02:27 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(chongaik82 @ Apr 1 2013, 11:57 AM)
Dear all,

Plan to buy a notebook for my wife. Appreciate your advice

1. Preferred Brand - none
2. Budget - < RM2,000
3. Usage - i)Mainly for paper work (Word, excel and power), ii)Entertainment (surfing, movie and music). light, easy carry around
4. Preferred laptop/screen size:prefer 14", Second choice 13"
Your wife don't need a laptop with powerful CPU & GPU; i3, HD4000 is good enough.
13" models are expensive, most of them are out of your budget. Consider 14" ultrabook instead:

Asus
K46CM-WX059V, i3-3217U + Nvidia GT635M@RM1899[2kg], 2GB, 500GB, 4-cell battery, W7HP, OD

Dell
Inspiron 14z, i3-3227U + Intel HD4000@RM1899[1.87kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8, *no VGA port, OD

HP
Envy4-1238TX, i5-3337U + AMD HD8750M@RM2099[Beats][1.75kg], 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8

Lenovo
S400, i3-2365M + AMD HD7450M@RM1699[1.8kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HB
S400, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 24GB mSATA + 500GB(5400rpm)@RM1999[1.8kg], 4GB, W7HB; AMD HD7450M/W8@RM2199

Prices are RSP, negotiable.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Apr 1 2013, 02:27 PM
nexus2238
post Apr 1 2013, 02:31 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(kelvinkhai94 @ Apr 1 2013, 10:43 AM)
1. asus or dell
2.maximum 2500
3. use for university and gaming
4.14 or 15.6'

i saw this laptop quite nice [asus A55VM-SX038V RM2330 I7-3610 6GB 750GB NV GT630 2GB 15'6" W7HP]  (planning to upgrade to 8gb ram)

is the laptop good enough for me? cause probably i might use it to play the latest game
Asus
A45VS-VX026H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT645M@RM2199[2.4kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8

Dell
Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2049[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), W7HP/W8

Both have better GPU than the A55VM. At this price point, getting the best GPU you can is more important than CPU (i7) as gaming performance is more likely capped by the GPU.

Price is RSP, negotiable.
Use remaining of your budget to increase RAM (4G stick ~ RM80), extend warranty (Dell, 3 years ~ RM250+/-).
nexus2238
post Apr 1 2013, 02:48 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(jess7 @ Mar 31 2013, 12:27 PM)
hi there sifus!

looking for budget laptop for everyday use, basic will do

1. Preferred Brand- asus, toshiba, dell
2. Budget - mummy giving max RM 3k but anything lower is fine
3. Usage- college assignments, watching movies, series, videos
4. Screen size: 13' or 14'

other specs tt i am looking for:
- i5
- lightweight
- windows 8
4GB ram
- 500GB HDD
- matte screen (BONUS!)
thnak you all!
Matte screen is tough laugh.gif (Other than Samsung, or Asus ZenBook, you don't find too many 13" or 14" consumer models with matte screen)

Asus
S300CA-C1033H, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + (1366x768;touch)@RM2399, 4GB, 500GB, W8
K46CM-WX090H, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT635M@RM2199[2kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8, OD

Dell
Vostro 3360, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000@RM2249[1.67kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HB; colors: red/silver/bronze (this is entry level business laptop with matte screen. But ugly laugh.gif )
Inspiron 14z, i5-3337U + AMD HD7570M + 32GB SSD + 500GB(5400rpm)@RM2549[1.87kg], 4GB, W8 *no VGA port, OD

Toshiba
Portégé R930-2001/R/B, i5-3210M + Intel HD4000@RM3099[1.4kg], 4GB, 640GB (7200rpm), W7HP; 3 years warranty, color: metallic black, red, blue
Satellite U840-1008X, i5-3317U + AMD HD7550M + 32GB mSATA + 500GB HDD@RM2799[1.7kg], 4GB, backlit keyboard, color: silver
Satellite U940-1001X, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT630M + 32GB mSATA + 640GB HDD@RM2699[1.7kg], 4GB, W8, backlit keyboard

Prices are RSP, negotiable.
YiyuKum
post Apr 1 2013, 02:53 PM

56 posts

1. Preferred Brand
Preferred brand will be asus or any other brand will do but not Dell!

2. Budget
My budget is around 2k to 3k. If it exceed 3k, doesn't matter, as long as it's worth to buy.

3. Usage
I am working more on programming, web surfing, general purpose, versatile performance and light gaming. I wished the weight could be light enough for me carry to university everyday, battery life is important to me, keyboard as well and the most important thing is it need to be fast for works! BTW, I'm studying for degree in software engineering currently.

4. Preferred laptop/screen size
13 or 14inch! If 15 inch but the weight is light, it doesn't matter but i don't think there's one? smile.gif

This post has been edited by YiyuKum: Apr 1 2013, 03:00 PM
NecroPhilia
post Apr 1 2013, 02:55 PM

979 posts

Guys,I posted here and asked few questions last month I think.By that time,I decided to choose dell inspiron 15R special edition but I cant get a good price for this model.As a month passed,I'm now doubt on these few models as my main priority is full hd screen for programming usage and totally no gaming.

1. Lenovo Y500
As people said,I'm not a gamer so just waste my money if buying this gaming laptop.
2. Inspiron 15R special Edition
After googled it,found people said the build quality and speaker are poor.
3. Acer V3-571G-736b8G1T
FULL HD IPS caught my attention but scared of the reliability and warranty of Acer because many peoples had bad experience in Acer.

Due to various reason for each model,I doubt on getting which laptop that had confuse me about a month.So I decided to post here to let you guys choose for me sad.gif I'm sorry that I asked a lot of question last time but yet didn't grab it yet.Too confuse of the specs.

SUSkawaii87
post Apr 1 2013, 03:43 PM

257 posts

Preferred brand:any except acer
Budget rm1600-rm2200
Usage, 50%work includedmicrosoft things, database, mysql,java
50% on gaming, play like skyrim, sc2, amalur, lotr online, wow like mmorpg

Ty
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 1 2013, 04:35 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(YiyuKum @ Apr 1 2013, 02:53 PM)
1. Preferred Brand
    Preferred brand will be asus or any other brand will do but not Dell!

2. Budget
    My budget is around 2k to 3k. If it exceed 3k, doesn't matter, as long as it's worth to buy.

3. Usage
    I am working more on programming, web surfing, general purpose, versatile performance and light gaming. I wished the weight could be light enough for me carry to university everyday, battery life is important to me, keyboard as well and the most important thing is it need to be fast for works! BTW, I'm studying for degree in software engineering currently.

4. Preferred laptop/screen size
    13 or 14inch! If 15 inch but the weight is light, it doesn't matter but i don't think there's one?  smile.gif
If you prefer performance over weight:
14"
Sony Vaio SVE14A36CV, i5-3230M + AMD HD7670M + (1600x900; touch)@RM3199[2.4kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8

If you prefer weight over performance (not really suitable for gaming):
13"
Asus [Ultrabook] UX32VD-R3001H, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT620M + 24GB mSATA SSD + 500GB HDD@RM2999[1.45kg], 4GB, W8

HP [Ultrabook] Envy SpectreXT 13-2215TU, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD@RM2899[1.39kg], 4GB, W8,backlit keyboard

TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 1 2013, 04:37 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(NecroPhilia @ Apr 1 2013, 02:55 PM)
Guys,I posted here and asked few questions last month I think.By that time,I decided to choose dell inspiron 15R special edition but I cant get a good price for this model.As a month passed,I'm now doubt on these few models as my main priority is full hd screen for programming usage and totally no gaming.

1. Lenovo Y500
As people said,I'm not a gamer so just waste my money if buying this gaming laptop.
2. Inspiron 15R special Edition
After googled it,found people said the build quality and speaker are poor.
3. Acer V3-571G-736b8G1T
FULL HD IPS caught my attention but scared of the reliability and warranty of Acer because many peoples had bad experience in Acer.

Due to various reason for each model,I doubt on getting which laptop that had confuse me about a month.So I decided to post here to let you guys choose for me sad.gif I'm sorry that I asked a lot of question last time but yet didn't grab it yet.Too confuse of the specs.
The complaints on Acer has receded across the years I think hmm.gif Perhaps its worth a try now hmm.gif
If you really are worried about warranty support, then Dell would still be the best pick here because of the good after sales service. The only problem is that you'll have to live with the pretty ugly design of the notebook tongue.gif
The others are right, Y500 is a bit too overkill for your usage hmm.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 1 2013, 04:38 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(kawaii87 @ Apr 1 2013, 03:43 PM)
Preferred brand:any except acer
Budget rm1600-rm2200
Usage, 50%work includedmicrosoft things, database, mysql,java
50% on gaming, play like skyrim, sc2, amalur, lotr online, wow like mmorpg

Ty
14"
Dell Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2049[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), W7HP/W8

15.6"
Lenovo Z500, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT645M @RM2299, 4GB, 1TB, W8; backlit, 2 years warranty (4-cell)

NecroPhilia
post Apr 1 2013, 04:58 PM

979 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 1 2013, 04:37 PM)
The complaints on Acer has receded across the years I think hmm.gif Perhaps its worth a try now hmm.gif
If you really are worried about warranty support, then Dell would still be the best pick here because of the good after sales service. The only problem is that you'll have to live with the pretty ugly design of the notebook tongue.gif
The others are right, Y500 is a bit too overkill for your usage  hmm.gif
Thanks for the reply.
I would get the Acer if I cant get a decent discount from Dell as you guys said the lenovo Y500 is kinda overkill for my usage.
Currently,I get offered from dell for the Inspiron 15R special Edition with backlit keyboard and 3 years accident warranty for 3.4k.
The sales assistant also recommend me the new inspiron 15R. May I know which laptop is better because the Inspiron 15R is just newly released.
Y500 about the same price with dell Inspiron 15R SE,so I don't mind it overkill if it is best bang for buck and worth it doh.gif
aldarisgan
post Apr 1 2013, 05:18 PM

13 posts

Dear all,

Plan to buy a notebook for my wife. Preferred with sleek design, i.e: Asus ZenBook/ MacBook Air for easy carrying and light weight. Appreciate your advice

1. No preferred brand, though I would like something with good post-sale service (warranty and short repairing period).
2. Budget - < RM3, 500
3. Usage - i)Mainly for 3d modeling and rendering but no animation (autocad/ 3dmax/ vray) , ii)Entertainment (surfing, movie and music).
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 15" ~ 16"

TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 1 2013, 05:36 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(NecroPhilia @ Apr 1 2013, 04:58 PM)
Thanks for the reply.
I would get the Acer if I cant get a decent discount from Dell as you guys said the lenovo Y500 is kinda overkill for my usage.
Currently,I get offered from dell for the Inspiron 15R special Edition with backlit keyboard and 3 years accident warranty for 3.4k.
The sales assistant also recommend me the new inspiron 15R. May I know which laptop is better because the Inspiron 15R is just newly released.
Y500 about the same price with dell Inspiron 15R SE,so I don't mind it overkill if it is best bang for buck and worth it doh.gif
Bargain with shop people/ online sellers then you will get discounts brows.gif

RM3.4k for the 15R SE and complete cover warranty is pretty worth it laugh.gif If you think its too expensive you can just opt for the standard on-site warranty which will be a lot cheaper nod.gif Leaving you remaining money to buy some other accessories or upgrade your RAM/HDD hmm.gif

The new Inspiron 15 is running on an ULV processor, which is not as powerful as the full-fletched i7 in the 15R SE... iinm, you will need the extra juice from the quad core i7 for your programming needs hmm.gif

The Y500 may be sort of the same price, but don't forget it is not covered by on-site warranty one oh laugh.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 1 2013, 05:48 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(aldarisgan @ Apr 1 2013, 05:18 PM)
Dear all,

Plan to buy a notebook for my wife. Preferred with sleek design, i.e: Asus ZenBook/ MacBook Air for easy carrying and light weight.  Appreciate your advice

1. No preferred brand, though I would like something with good post-sale service (warranty and short repairing period).
2. Budget - < RM3, 500
3. Usage - i)Mainly for 3d modeling and rendering but no animation (autocad/ 3dmax/ vray) , ii)Entertainment (surfing, movie and music).
4. Preferred laptop/screen size:  15" ~ 16"
Pretty much this one
15.6"
Asus [Ultrabook] S56CM-XX276H i5-3317U + Nvidia GT635M + 24GB mSATA + 1TB@RM2899[2.3kg], 8GB, W8; color: black
*Asus warranty support is pretty lousy laugh.gif

We don't really have a lot of 15.6" ultrabooks here in Malaysia unfortunately..

If you don't mind the heavier weight, then perhaps you can consider these:
15.6"
Asus N56VZ-S4284H, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT650M + (1920x1080) + Bluray@RM3699[2.7kg][B&O], 4GB, 1TB, W8; color: black

Lenovo Z500, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT645M @RM2299, 4GB, 1TB, W8; backlit, 2 years warranty (4-cell)

129 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 124 > » Top

0.0189sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:36 PM