129 Pages « < 119 120 121 122 123 > » Bottom

Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V18, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

icecreamcake
post Mar 31 2013, 09:51 PM

307 posts

Hi sifus , can you guys recommend me a laptop almost same spec with Lenovo Y400 but not more than 3k. I need it for heavy gaming,I prefer i-7 and no Acer. I want to consider others laptop. Thanks ya.

This post has been edited by icecreamcake: Mar 31 2013, 09:54 PM
raeimad
post Mar 31 2013, 09:57 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 31 2013, 07:12 PM)
I don't think its possible for Lenovo notebooks hmm.gif
Its not exactly very worth it as well...
Mind sharing your budget and usage?
Notebooks are getting more affordable nowadays, might be better to just get a new one with much longer warranty coverage  icon_rolleyes.gif
I asked a couple of questions before and I aimed for the Lenovo G480 but then settled down for the Z580 (2299rm, i7 FreeDOS) which was actually over my budget. But all the shops said they don't have the model I was looking for T_T

So I went laptop hunting on the garage sales and found a (supposed to be in good condition since it wasn't used much but already 10-11 months old) Lenovo Y480. Price around 2K plus or minus a couple o hundred. Meeting with the fellow forum.lowyat member next week to check it out and hopefully buy it biggrin.gif

So I just wanted to check if extending warranty was possible... If not possible, I'm willing to take risk and use laptop for a couple of years ><

This post has been edited by raeimad: Mar 31 2013, 09:58 PM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Mar 31 2013, 10:07 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(icecreamcake @ Mar 31 2013, 09:51 PM)
Hi sifus , can you guys recommend me a laptop almost same spec with Lenovo Y400 but not more than 3k. I need it for heavy gaming,I prefer i-7 and no Acer. I want to consider others laptop. Thanks ya.
I guess the closests would be these:
14"
Asus A45VS-VX028H, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT640M@RM2899[2.4kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8

Dell Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2799[2.38kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm); backlit keyboard optional

Lenovo Z400, i7-3632QM + Nvidia GT645M@RM2699, 4GB, 1TB, W8; backlit, 2 years warranty

TS[PF] T.J.
post Mar 31 2013, 10:08 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(raeimad @ Mar 31 2013, 09:57 PM)
I asked a couple of questions before and I aimed for the Lenovo G480 but then settled down for the Z580 (2299rm, i7 FreeDOS) which was actually over my budget. But all the shops said they don't have the model I was looking for T_T

So I went laptop hunting on the garage sales and found a (supposed to be in good condition since it wasn't used much but already 10-11 months old) Lenovo Y480. Price around 2K plus or minus a couple o hundred. Meeting with the fellow forum.lowyat member next week to check it out and hopefully buy it biggrin.gif

So I just wanted to check if extending warranty was possible... If not possible, I'm willing to take risk and use laptop for a couple of years ><
Just be extra careful when checking the notebook oh...
I doubt people would just sell the notebook because of "lack of use", especially after 10-11 months hmm.gif
Abit suspicious to be honest, and the price is not worth it imho...
I'd just get a new Y500 laugh.gif

Ciezuki
post Mar 31 2013, 10:23 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 31 2013, 09:36 PM)
Its either the Inspiron 14R SE or the Lenovo Z480 nod.gif
I would pick the Dell (although its pretty ugly laugh.gif) because of the faster HDD, good specs and also  the good warranty support by Dell nod.gif
Yes,the Dell 14R SE is quite ugly haha tongue.gif

Now I'm contemplating between the Z480 and Dell 14R SE since both almost have the same specs hmm.gif

So now I just have to pick,thank you for your recommendation sifu! icon_rolleyes.gif
raeimad
post Mar 31 2013, 10:30 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 31 2013, 10:08 PM)
Just be extra careful when checking the notebook oh...
I doubt people would just sell the notebook because of "lack of use", especially after 10-11 months hmm.gif
Abit suspicious to be honest, and the price is not worth it imho...
I'd just get a new Y500 laugh.gif
Exactly why I have to check before buying. Hahah.
Well, I really need (or want) an i7 (not the ulv stuff ;p) cause I keep open quite more stuff than my dad while he's working, well i can't really explain xD and i'm planning to start gaming again. desktop to slow and have a *netbook* >< So need laptop for uni and gaming biggrin.gif

2K -/+ 300 is my budget, so can't really get a mutimedia/gaming new laptop for that price. |:
Stitchie
post Mar 31 2013, 10:56 PM

1,091 posts

QUOTE(Stitchie @ Mar 31 2013, 04:33 PM)
Guys, what does graphic do? i dont mean the gaming graphic, but the desktop graphic, i view some laptops, and all of them scored the lowest(4.5~4.8) in the graphic, will this affecy my laptop performance?
anyone?
-kytz-
post Mar 31 2013, 11:23 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Stitchie @ Mar 31 2013, 10:56 PM)
anyone?
You're talking about Windows Experience Index? It means the performance of your laptop's graphics card.

Anyway, that score is just a number only. A better way to gauge the graphical performance of your laptop is basically by how well it run games. In terms of fps of course.

Or you can use benchmark tools such as Unigine Heaven, 3D Mark 11, 3D Mark Vantage etc smile.gif
arina_maflo
post Mar 31 2013, 11:42 PM

Lenovo ideaPad Z480 or Asus VivaBook Touch UltraBook S200E-CT163H? sad.gif
eugene88
post Mar 31 2013, 11:44 PM

2,176 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 31 2013, 09:37 PM)
Pretty much the Y500 for your budget nod.gif
You can take a look at the Illegear RS-15 as well, but after some upgrades (like getting an OS laugh.gif), it will definitely be over your budget  sad.gif
15.6"
Illegear RS-15, i5-3210M + Nvidia GTX660M + (1920x1080)@RM3299, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), FreeDOS [CPU Options: i5-3210M - i7-3840XM][/color]
I think only Y500 can get me the best graphic card for its price..
Thanks thumbup.gif
raymondtong94
post Mar 31 2013, 11:53 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 31 2013, 09:37 PM)
Illegear RS-15, i5-3210M + Nvidia GTX660M + (1920x1080)@RM3299, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), FreeDOS [CPU Options: i5-3210M - i7-3840XM][/color]
isnt that RE-15? hmm.gif

RS-15 costs RM5xxx.

This post has been edited by raymondtong94: Mar 31 2013, 11:54 PM
tabs
post Apr 1 2013, 12:21 AM

Gadget Siao @@
2,587 posts

very need a suggestion right now.

1. Preferred Brand : didn't have any specifity but most important is the warranty issue.

2. Budget : around 2-3k max
3. Usage : Light gaming, surfing and microsoft office.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : size 13-15..
ShinSekai
post Apr 1 2013, 12:32 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Mar 29 2013, 07:52 PM)
haha, apple is not in that budget range. apple needs at least RM4k. laugh.gif
however, your laptop options :

ASUS A45VS-VX026H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT645M@RM2199[2.4kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8
Dell Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2049[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), W7HP/W8
Lenovo Z400, i7-3632QM + Nvidia GT645M@RM2699, 4GB, 1TB, W8; backlit, 2 years warranty
Lenovo Ideapad Z580, i7-3612QM + Nvidia GT640M@RM2299, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), freeDOS, white

price is RSP and negotiable. for the ASUS, negotiate with the seller for RAM upgrade to 4GB. im wondering, why dont you buy at India and have warranty coverage at there? maximum warranty coverage in Malaysia is 3 years for most laptops. some more, warranty claiming can only be done in malaysia, not in India.
resources from india (my seniors) claim it's more expensive in india.
India supposedly to be advanced(?) in tech stuffs right?
~_~.

anyway thanks for the recommendations biggrin.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 1 2013, 12:35 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(tabs @ Apr 1 2013, 12:21 AM)
very need a suggestion right now.

1. Preferred Brand : didn't have any specifity but most important is the warranty issue.

2. Budget : around 2-3k max
3. Usage : Light gaming, surfing and microsoft office.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : size 13-15..
Can consider these from Dell:
14"
Inspiron 14R, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT730M + (1366x768;touch)@RM2099[2.33kg], 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), Linux; W8@RM2399

[Ultrabook]Inspiron 14z, i5-3337U + AMD HD7570M + 32GB SSD + 500GB(5400rpm)@RM2549[1.87kg], 4GB, W8 *no VGA port, OD

*Use remaining money to extend warranty to 3 years on-site (~RM250) icon_rolleyes.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 1 2013, 12:36 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Mar 31 2013, 11:53 PM)
isnt that RE-15? hmm.gif

RS-15 costs RM5xxx.
My bad, updating error
Thanks for pointing out rclxms.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Apr 1 2013, 12:37 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(arina_maflo @ Mar 31 2013, 11:42 PM)
Lenovo ideaPad Z480 or Asus VivaBook Touch UltraBook S200E-CT163H? sad.gif
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 31 2013, 09:38 PM)
Those are 2 notebooks of very different categories hmm.gif

Please follow the format on the 1st page if you need some recommendations from the sifus  notworthy.gif
tabs
post Apr 1 2013, 01:07 AM

Gadget Siao @@
2,587 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Apr 1 2013, 12:35 AM)
Can consider these from Dell:
14"
Inspiron 14R, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT730M + (1366x768;touch)@RM2099[2.33kg], 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), Linux; W8@RM2399

[Ultrabook]Inspiron 14z, i5-3337U + AMD HD7570M + 32GB SSD + 500GB(5400rpm)@RM2549[1.87kg], 4GB, W8 *no VGA port, OD

*Use remaining money to extend warranty to 3 years on-site (~RM250)  icon_rolleyes.gif
oh. how is about

RM2419 7520-61412G-W8 I7-3612QM 4GB 1TB ATI AMD RADEON HD7730M 2GB 15.6" W8 (Black HoneyComb) NEW & LIMITED
RM2299 5423-51851G-W7P I7-3517U 8GB 500GB+32SSD ATI 1GB 14" W7HP (SILVER) NEW & LIMITED(ULTRABOOK

bcos i see both are using I7. for the above I7 Better or I5 Better?
raymondtong94
post Apr 1 2013, 01:25 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(tabs @ Apr 1 2013, 01:07 AM)
oh. how is about

RM2419 7520-61412G-W8 I7-3612QM 4GB 1TB ATI AMD RADEON HD7730M 2GB 15.6" W8 (Black HoneyComb) NEW & LIMITED
RM2299 5423-51851G-W7P I7-3517U 8GB 500GB+32SSD ATI 1GB 14" W7HP (SILVER) NEW & LIMITED(ULTRABOOK

bcos i see both are using I7. for the above I7 Better or I5 Better?
be noted that between these 2 models, the processor model that comes with U at the end of the model number is an ultra-low-voltage CPU. it is physically dual core while the QM is quad core. normally, the arrangement of CPU is Core i7 QM -> Core i5 -> Core i7 U -> Core i5 U
tabs
post Apr 1 2013, 01:35 AM

Gadget Siao @@
2,587 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Apr 1 2013, 01:25 AM)
be noted that between these 2 models, the processor model that comes with U at the end of the model number is an ultra-low-voltage CPU. it is physically dual core while the QM is quad core. normally, the arrangement of CPU is Core i7 QM -> Core i5 -> Core i7 U -> Core i5 U
so this is RM2419 7520-61412G-W8 I7-3612QM 4GB 1TB ATI AMD RADEON HD7730M 2GB 15.6" W8 (Black HoneyComb) is I7 QM??

so this is better compare to W7P I7-3517U? since it is core i7 U?

any other can recommend from you ?"
tabs
post Apr 1 2013, 01:49 AM

Gadget Siao @@
2,587 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Apr 1 2013, 01:25 AM)
so this is RM2419 7520-61412G-W8 I7-3612QM 4GB 1TB ATI AMD RADEON HD7730M 2GB 15.6" W8 (Black HoneyComb) is I7 QM??

so this is better compare to W7P I7-3517U? since it is core i7 U?

any other can recommend from you ?"

129 Pages « < 119 120 121 122 123 > » Top

0.0307sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:35 AM