That's a bit high for dota 2. hmm.gif
yea i think so too.
fixgd
post Jan 13 2013, 08:06 AM

3,881 posts

QUOTE(Prince J @ Jan 13 2013, 12:06 AM)
R-11 temperature should be within 60 to 90 degree Celcius. smile.gif
even with ic diamond its dota2 with 83 degrees is normal?
rroflyc
post Jan 13 2013, 08:53 AM

61 posts

Very interesting piece of machinery. Here are some thoughts on it from a personal viewpoint.
1. Battery life.
3 hours. For a machine that is supposedly portable. On what can be considered casual usage. I do understand the juice required to run this baby, but this is rather fatal in terms of practical usage. Can a larger capacity battery be fitted? 5 hours should be the minimum I feel.
2. Screen.
Some might argue that the resolution is more than enough for a screen this size. Maybe, but would prefer a higher resolution maybe to the likes of the MacBook Air. Of course not at the expense of battery life. And the corners are just an invitation for dust, much prefer a flush screen on the likes of HP Mini.
3. Build quality.
Would have to play with one to find out.
4. Touchpad.
As before, got to try it.
Everything else seems fine, in fact I would get one if not for the weak points stated above. Might get a future iteration depending on any improvements.
Prince J
post Jan 14 2013, 09:37 AM

1,272 posts

QUOTE(rroflyc @ Jan 13 2013, 08:53 AM)
Very interesting piece of machinery. Here are some thoughts on it from a personal viewpoint.
1. Battery life.
3 hours. For a machine that is supposedly portable. On what can be considered casual usage. I do understand the juice required to run this baby, but this is rather fatal in terms of practical usage. Can a larger capacity battery be fitted? 5 hours should be the minimum I feel.
2. Screen.
Some might argue that the resolution is more than enough for a screen this size. Maybe, but would prefer a higher resolution maybe to the likes of the MacBook Air. Of course not at the expense of battery life. And the corners are just an invitation for dust, much prefer a flush screen on the likes of HP Mini.
3. Build quality.
Would have to play with one to find out.
4. Touchpad.
As before, got to try it.
Everything else seems fine, in fact I would get one if not for the weak points stated above. Might get a future iteration depending on any improvements.
Replied you in pm smile.gif
rroflyc
post Jan 14 2013, 10:56 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(Prince J @ Jan 14 2013, 09:37 AM)
Replied you in pm smile.gif
You should have replied here in fact, just a suggestion. I do think my "input" and how you cleared it up should be invaluable to address any issues raised. Not to spark a discussion or raise malcontent, since my views and usage is strictly personal. For the benefit of everyone interested. Thanks by the way for clarifying some queries.
Anitelu
post Jan 14 2013, 12:13 PM

41 posts

yeah would have been good to see what the answers to those questions were in fact wink.gif

However, in saying that I have ordered my R-11 yesterday. just waiting for my payment to go thru wink.gif
fixgd
post Jan 14 2013, 12:15 PM

3,881 posts

QUOTE(Anitelu @ Jan 14 2013, 12:13 PM)
yeah would have been good to see what the answers to those questions were in fact wink.gif

However, in saying that I have ordered my R-11 yesterday. just waiting for my payment to go thru wink.gif
Total spec? Same like mine? Or u take ssd with them too? OS?
Anitelu
post Jan 14 2013, 12:21 PM

41 posts

ILLEGEAR R-11
Promotion Display: 11.6" HD LED-Backlit Display with Matte Finished Surface (1366 x 768)
Perfect Screen Display: Professional Color Calibration [FREE]
Processor: 3rd Generation Intel® Core™ i5-3210M Processor
Graphics Card: 2GB GDDR3 Nvidia GeForce GT 650M GPU with Optimus / Embedded Intel HD Graphics
Thermal Compound: IC Diamond Thermal Compound - CPU + GPU [FREE]
RAM: 16GB Dual Channel DDR3 SDRAM at 1600MHz - 2 X 8GB (FREE)
Primary Hard Disk Drive: 256GB Crucial M4 Series SATA3 Solid State Disk Drive
Wireless Network Card: Internal 802.11 B+G+N Wireless LAN + Bluetooth Combo Module

+the free HDD to put into an enclosure, no OS. Going to clean install my own Home Premium (or Ultimate havnt decided yet) rather than Win 8.

wink.gif
fixgd
post Jan 14 2013, 12:28 PM

3,881 posts

QUOTE(Anitelu @ Jan 14 2013, 12:21 PM)
ILLEGEAR R-11
Promotion Display: 11.6" HD LED-Backlit Display with Matte Finished Surface (1366 x 768)
Perfect Screen Display: Professional Color Calibration [FREE]
Processor: 3rd Generation Intel® Core™ i5-3210M Processor
Graphics Card: 2GB GDDR3 Nvidia GeForce GT 650M GPU with Optimus / Embedded Intel HD Graphics
Thermal Compound: IC Diamond Thermal Compound - CPU + GPU [FREE]
RAM: 16GB Dual Channel DDR3 SDRAM at 1600MHz - 2 X 8GB (FREE)
Primary Hard Disk Drive: 256GB Crucial M4 Series SATA3 Solid State Disk Drive
Wireless Network Card: Internal 802.11 B+G+N Wireless LAN + Bluetooth Combo Module

+the free HDD to put into an enclosure, no OS. Going to clean install my own Home Premium (or Ultimate havnt decided yet) rather than Win 8.

wink.gif
owh nice. but i see u chose i5 over i7. and i took a killer network card. but u add ssd. so total price should be around 3.5k too rite?

1 year warranty?
Anitelu
post Jan 14 2013, 12:40 PM

41 posts

yeah that sounds right, im not a massive online gamer so didnt opt for the better card.

And with the i5 I cant remember my reasoning in the end, I only just noticed that oversight now, guess its too late to change now sad.gif
Anitelu
post Jan 14 2013, 12:43 PM

41 posts

Hmm i guess that was the only real component I didn't read up about, and now looking at it 229 RM for the difference is a lot better? for the price difference?
fixgd
post Jan 14 2013, 12:43 PM

3,881 posts

QUOTE(Anitelu @ Jan 14 2013, 12:40 PM)
yeah that sounds right, im not a massive online gamer so didnt opt for the better card.

And with the i5 I cant remember my reasoning in the end, I only just noticed that oversight now, guess its too late to change now sad.gif
Haha its okay. Me too install win 7 ultimate. Dun like win8.
fixgd
post Jan 14 2013, 12:47 PM

3,881 posts

QUOTE(Anitelu @ Jan 14 2013, 12:43 PM)
Hmm i guess that was the only real component I didn't read up about, and now looking at it 229 RM for the difference is a lot better? for the price difference?
I'm not sure too. Should be the same I think. Mayb slight improvement.

Btw ure not considering adding another year for warranty? I'm still deciding, still in doubt.
Prince J
post Jan 14 2013, 05:31 PM

1,272 posts

QUOTE(fixgd @ Jan 14 2013, 12:47 PM)
I'm not sure too. Should be the same I think. Mayb slight improvement.

Btw ure not considering adding another year for warranty? I'm still deciding, still in doubt.
We do keep system parts for repair especially for those opt for warranty extension. We always suggest customer to pick the warranty package according to their expected notebook lifespan therefore we can forecast the spare part inventory.

This post has been edited by Prince J: Jan 14 2013, 11:47 PM
Prince J
post Jan 15 2013, 01:50 AM

1,272 posts

QUOTE(fixgd @ Jan 13 2013, 08:06 AM)
even with ic diamond its dota2 with 83 degrees is normal?
Normal in R-11:)
The idle temperature is 55 to 60 C.
But it doesn't matter as long as it doesn't go above 93C

We ran 4 hour GPU stress test on your machine and it's running fine.
fixgd
post Jan 15 2013, 08:16 AM

3,881 posts

QUOTE(Prince J @ Jan 15 2013, 01:50 AM)
Normal in R-11:)
The idle temperature is 55 to 60 C.
But it doesn't matter as long as it doesn't go above 93C

We ran 4 hour GPU stress test on your machine and it's running fine.
okay thanks for the clarification.
KHOdin
post Jan 18 2013, 06:51 PM

7 Stars Newbie
2,928 posts

QUOTE(rroflyc @ Jan 13 2013, 08:53 AM)
1. Battery life.
i would like to know weather we can upgrade the battery life for further more ? do pm me too smile.gif
Prince J
post Jan 18 2013, 06:54 PM

1,272 posts

QUOTE(KHOdin @ Jan 18 2013, 06:51 PM)
i would like to know weather we can upgrade the battery life for further more ? do pm me too  smile.gif
As far as I can see, there is only a 6 cell battery available but you can get a replacement (second one) of these no problem, but I don't see an 8 cell on the cards yet.

7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0247sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:20 PM