4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Hobbies Fishing thread v11, fish fish fish

SneakyLeaky
post Mar 8 2013, 10:57 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ Mar 8 2013, 10:44 PM)
Mmm the rod itself will have the marking ,example 10-20lbs,12-20lbs,8-17lbs
i checked but it only says

Length: 1.95m
Section: 2
Action: Medium-Hard
SneakyLeaky
post Mar 8 2013, 11:07 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ Mar 8 2013, 11:04 PM)
Mm can lo medium hard, scare extra light jek.
lolz yeah if i get anything i will post them here and share it with you guys! thanks for all the comments and suggestions
SneakyLeaky
post Mar 22 2013, 07:59 PM

150 posts

ARGHHHH NO FISH STREAK!!!! this is starting to take its toll ....

been using all sorts of bait... earthworms, chicken liver, chicken skin, bread and been to different locations ...

i am wondering if it is me being a total noob or these places are just over fished.

any of you guys here have any light to shed on my despair? perhaps u guys been thru this before? gosh malaysia should have fishing seasons ... that way people wont just fish out the whole damn place
SneakyLeaky
post Mar 22 2013, 09:25 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(max_cjs0101 @ Mar 22 2013, 08:55 PM)
If you're expecting to land a fish everytime you go fishing then i think fishing's not for you.
that i was prepared.. however don't you think is normal for one to feel frustrated after so many tries and yet still zero catches? i am fishing at 'wild' areas but many people fish there too... i saw them getting palm size catfish and that's about it..
SneakyLeaky
post Mar 22 2013, 09:27 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(acheong7 @ Mar 22 2013, 09:14 PM)
there have been and will continue to be times when anglers will get nuthin' at all ... xcept for sunburn, dew, rain-soaked, fall into water, fall in the mud, attacked by mosquitoes, leeches, cobras, pricked by their own hooks ...

these does not include bumps and scrapes from loading an unloading stuff
p'raps this is the origin of 'worst day of fishing still better than best day at work' tongue.gif

last time i will always prep one medium rod for bottom with live baitfish
another medium/light/ul rod with worm
then go scour the fringes with handline lolololol ...
nowadays, add a BC so i have something to do in between waiting ... heheheh

mesia bleh ... semua bleh
illegal immigrants get IC overnight - bleh
illegal immigrants + locals take everything from every waterhole - BLEH
mesia absolutely no enforcement in most things - ABSO-BLEHLY BLEH

i digress, sorry
sounds like bro sneakyleaky need to do reconn mission
fish usually bite early morning and evening
thanks for that, at least now i know what to expect and know that i am not alone and that this happens lol
SneakyLeaky
post Mar 23 2013, 01:09 AM

150 posts

what would be the best time you guys would suggest for fishing? say in the morning ... 5am? damn the effort it takes juz to get up... now i m on hols i still could do crazy things like this
SneakyLeaky
post Mar 23 2013, 01:29 AM

150 posts

QUOTE(rorytate @ Mar 23 2013, 01:14 AM)
Referring to the bentong spot?

Look at the bright side. You found out numerous ways NOT to get a score smile.gif perhaps the honey hole not where you went, maybe the time or water temp is not right. Either way you are LEARNING smile.gif

Just like Thomas Edison, he found thousands and one way, Wrong ways or making a light bulb

Always for me, catching something at the end of the line is a bonus. Otherwise, we still enjoyed our angler buddy's companionship and nature

Stay chill. Result will yield to the one that keep trying and learning. Cheers mate
thanks dude! yea its been kinda hard trying to get anything at all. at the back of my head i am ok and i know this is all part of learning
but den there's also this frustration also lol.
SneakyLeaky
post Mar 23 2013, 08:22 PM

150 posts

FINALLY LOL!! got something ... sai dou fish. just a small one tho. i was about to leave already since i wasn't planning to fish when night falls. when i was reeling in thinking there's nothing i felt these few jerks on the line that i have not been feeling for quite some time, and i was like DAFUQ COULD THAT BE?

i cant believe i am actually so happy to see this small puny fish lolz. i guess i shud put my fishing hours later in the evening next time for better results.
SneakyLeaky
post Mar 23 2013, 09:13 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(kayent @ Mar 23 2013, 08:56 PM)
congrats bro!

wah from the picture looks damn big though hahaha
its only about 1 and a 1/3 of a palm hehe
btw do u know what is the name of this species in english?
SneakyLeaky
post Mar 23 2013, 10:35 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(faujc99 @ Mar 23 2013, 10:07 PM)
congrats bro that is 1 fish i havent got at the end of my line yet  rclxms.gif
pretty common here. wads the common fish u get at ur place?
SneakyLeaky
post Mar 24 2013, 12:26 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(katsumoto2011 @ Mar 24 2013, 02:06 AM)
if i m not mistaken is call belida in malay ????

anyway congratulation  rclxms.gif

btw this time what time you go fishing ?
i went at 5pm till 7.30pm. the whole time all i got was nibbles on the bait and that's it. then until 7.30pm when i was packing my stuff and reeling it in for the last time i got this bugger lolz.

i guess when the sun goes down it's the best time to fish
SneakyLeaky
post Mar 24 2013, 12:37 PM

150 posts

hey guys, i have something to discuss about. i've been getting much criticisms from my family members about me going fishing.

in a nutshell, they have been saying that i am ~wasting time~
they say..
- that i shud rather get a fish from the market
- wasting petrol going to the place to fish
- fishing is uncle's activity
- my skin is tanned till i look like a malay (no racism intended lol)

perhaps all i need is to get my full time job (i am 23 y/o). atm i am waiting for my result to be out at May and i am currently looking for a job. i guess maybe is becoz they don't 'see' me actually looking for a job that caused them to be so unsupportive.
SneakyLeaky
post Mar 24 2013, 01:50 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(faujc99 @ Mar 24 2013, 01:46 PM)
u see, problem with parents is, nothing you do is right, if u just stay at home do nothing, they complain, go fishing they complain, go yumcha with friends always, complain, u read a lot, they say u dont go out and play, u go out play a lot, they say u dont stay at home. when later in ur life u move out cuz working somewhere else, they stopped complaining, cuz they dont see what u're doing, that's when u get ur freedom  drool.gif u see, when my mom comes down visit, she'll stay for a few days, everything oso complain, from my lunch and dinner time, to my everything, not yet on the fishing though she doesnt know that much lol. some ppl say families are the ones usually to bring us down, they are against everything we do. try tell ur parents u wanna do business with ur friends, b4 u utter the next word, they will stop u, giving u negative feedback. just food for thoughts  nod.gif
i have to agree with you. however i think we all know that our parents nag/complain us mainly out of care and duty but i believe many .. or rather almost all of our parents are over protective, that's why they nag and always give negative perspective on EVEYRTHING ...

i like how they always compare me with kids who do not have parents looking after them and yet they succeed in life. i was wondering perhaps is becoz you guys (parents) are always giving me negative feedback on everything and giving almost zero support on whatever i do? lol...

well i guess the moment i start work i will have my freedom and hopefully i will be able to do what i wanna do and be responsible for MYSELF .. lol.. and to my family .. to a certain extend
SneakyLeaky
post Mar 24 2013, 01:57 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(faujc99 @ Mar 24 2013, 01:50 PM)
maybe u can tell them, in fishing, u learned
- patience
- u learn everything new everyday
- u get to know fantastic ppl from this thread who shares their experiences with u, SHARING, u dont get this more that often nowadays, that u learned to share
- ur time spent in the wild, get some fresh air, not in the city all the time only
- fishing is not uncle's activity, they have to understand its a hobby, a sport
- healthy ppl's skin are usually tanned  tongue.gif

etc etc
haha i like this list biggrin.gif

one thing about fishing that i believe has taught me is

- determination
- patience
- appreciation of nature, reward (fish big or small). I got this feeling most of the time that i don't wanna kill the fish... just wanna catch and release lol.

Determination and Patience alone are one of the key values to anybody's success. not that i am comforting myself but this is the truth. i strongly believe i can use what i have learn in fishing and apply them to my work very soon.

my parents are already holding back on their 'nagging'. but once they burst .. my gosh the words they use can be very disheartening ... they kept asking me to work as part time while looking for job but i find it rather unnecessary and i am highly unwilling to do so. however if it is the full time job i am looking for, i am more than willing to start.

sometimes i wonder if it is wrong to be picky ... am i juz spoilt? some people are just glad to get a part time job for side income.

SneakyLeaky
post Mar 28 2013, 07:50 PM

150 posts

Guys! i have a question! hehe hope you guys have an answer.

i have been confusing Soon Hock and Grouper.
at the moment i know soon hock is - Marbled Goby and not Grouper.

But i wanna know are these 2 from the same family? They look so similar! big mouth, ambush predator, hides in banks/rocks/holes, barely moves...

how big can Marbled Goby or Soon Hock grow?
SneakyLeaky
post Mar 28 2013, 08:04 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(faujc99 @ Mar 28 2013, 07:58 PM)
soon hock freshwater, grouper saltwater. feeding behavior quiet same, soon hock is from the goby family, in fact the biggest of all goby, except indian guy named Goby. definitely not same with grouper.  soon hock max out at around 2 feet, but 12 inch specimen nowadays consider big already. wild soon hock in restaurant is selling up to RM120 per kg, but damn tasty  thumbup.gif
60cm is pretty big lol. i suppose these maxed out gobies can weigh up to 3-5kgs. anyway thanks for clearing it up for me! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by SneakyLeaky: Mar 28 2013, 08:05 PM
SneakyLeaky
post Mar 28 2013, 10:31 PM

150 posts

eh, any one of you hear tried using garlic as scent? ive been reading online on using garlic as scent to attract all sort of fishes... but i tried it myself and it doesn't seem to be effective at all. with worms the worst times ive atleast have nibbles but with bread and garlic nothing even goes near.... anyone has something to share? hehe

This post has been edited by SneakyLeaky: Mar 28 2013, 10:32 PM
SneakyLeaky
post Mar 28 2013, 11:04 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(rorytate @ Mar 28 2013, 11:01 PM)
Bro Hamstrex,
If not mistaken its just rm50 per pair.

SS bearings each is about rm20 liao smile.gif

Bro SL,
Try bread with sirap! Worked best in Thai, unsure in MY
lol so many recipes i guess i will have to try them out by slotting in one or two during fishing trips.
SneakyLeaky
post Mar 30 2013, 12:57 PM

150 posts

eh guys, the place where i am fishing right. near the banks ... about 1 - 5 meters away from the banks i often see fishes coming up as if to catch something. it comes up and goes back down really fast.

but i manage to spot the color of the fish - black. they are not big, probably about 20cm in length (or shorter). i tried using worms to catch them, even with floaters they wont bite.

any ideas what fish are these?

This post has been edited by SneakyLeaky: Mar 30 2013, 12:57 PM
SneakyLeaky
post Mar 30 2013, 07:38 PM

150 posts

What species of catfish is that? body so long @@... i was told tat its called Keli and in chinese thong sat.

and what about the tilapia? really small one but the colour is orange dafuq?

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0572sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 12:26 PM