Sony Xperia Z & Xperia ZL Official Thread, 5", 4core, 2GBram, 13mp, LTE, waterproof

sebastianX11
post Jan 6 2013, 11:49 PM

1,735 posts

I just hope they can bring in asap after the launch
Other wise its an outdated specs
sebastianX11
post Jan 7 2013, 01:35 AM

1,735 posts

QUOTE(junsheng @ Jan 7 2013, 01:01 AM)
2000 mah, if xperia V,
but now quad core i think i think 3000 mah will only satisfy me

Added on January 7, 2013, 1:04 am

i think smart phones dosen't need so much processing power
in the end wat is gonna suffer is the battery only
The specs I'm referring to is not just processing power
It includes the battery, this phone won me over HTC butterfly is because the battery capacity...

Added on January 7, 2013, 1:42 amBattery capacity is just part of the equation of the battery usage
Other important stuff to look at is how b power hungry is the processor. Newer chip will consume less power than older chip too.
And how the processor heat does not affect the battery for over heating damage the battery greatly over time

This post has been edited by sebastianX11: Jan 7 2013, 01:42 AM
sebastianX11
post Jan 7 2013, 09:29 PM

1,735 posts

QUOTE(ckchan @ Jan 7 2013, 09:13 PM)
Is it just me or does the bottom bezel looks too thick?
It does.... From this angle the bezel is a bit ugly
sebastianX11
post Jan 8 2013, 10:18 AM

1,735 posts

http://youtu.be/gWysHOjl95E

the promo video
sebastianX11
post Jan 8 2013, 10:45 AM

1,735 posts

QUOTE(Jmnote @ Jan 8 2013, 10:40 AM)
Z vs Butterfly in battery: 2,330 vs 2,020 (source from GSMArena)

So Z beat B in very department. Next will be on S4. i5S/6 is foreseen to be tiny screen, far lacked behind and not going water resistant.

If S4 no water resistant, then Z will be my next phone. ^^
for sure butterfly will fail, in the batt dept
like oneX, awesome phone, terrible batt...

2330 at least at par as the processor need to push a full hd on 5in.... icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif
sebastianX11
post Jan 8 2013, 11:52 AM

1,735 posts

Z is more stunning with glass at the back
whereas ZL is rubbery type

Z is LTE dependent so not sure it can support 2.6k band

edit: textured plastic matterial for ZL back

This post has been edited by sebastianX11: Jan 8 2013, 11:54 AM
sebastianX11
post Jan 8 2013, 02:13 PM

1,735 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Jan 8 2013, 02:00 PM)
btw..one noob question please as all this while i'm using Samsung product tongue.gif
Is it easy to root Sony phone and is the service centre any good..?

thanks thumbup.gif
easy for who have rooted HTC b4
can be quite challenging for Sammy / Gnex user rooter

edit: not challenging but more like troublesome...not as straight fwd as sammy

This post has been edited by sebastianX11: Jan 8 2013, 02:16 PM
sebastianX11
post Jan 8 2013, 02:21 PM

1,735 posts

QUOTE(Neo|ofGeo @ Jan 8 2013, 02:16 PM)
oh come on
>_> there's alot of guide out there.
XDA have plenty
and the recent co-operation between Sony Devs and XDA Devs is showing its effect.
it is still not as easy as rooting a sammy or nexus
even the toolkit is not user friendly
have rooted lotsa SE/Sony phone, definitely not as friendly
sammy toolkit or chainfire rooting is like noob proof ...hahaha brows.gif brows.gif
sebastianX11
post Jan 8 2013, 02:27 PM

1,735 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Jan 8 2013, 02:25 PM)
Yea..it's true. Somemore now with the Exynos4 exploit..you can doing it by just installing one apk..and you're rooted...lolz
sammy bootloader is not even locked... HTC and Sony's bootloader is locked... once you officially unlocked, they have the right to reject your rooted phone
sammy...pfff.... they dun even care ur phone is rooted or not, they just wanna settle the phone and get it outta their SC
sebastianX11
post Jan 8 2013, 03:25 PM

1,735 posts

this Z is confirmed 2.6k LTE Band
sebastianX11
post Jan 8 2013, 04:35 PM

1,735 posts

QUOTE(jueiri @ Jan 8 2013, 04:33 PM)
And now the wait. What's your guess?

Earliest by June? July? August?
if its June, i'll give this a pass....
the market would be crammed with similar spec phone
sebastianX11
post Jan 9 2013, 04:55 PM

1,735 posts

QUOTE(soitsuagain @ Jan 9 2013, 04:50 PM)
XZ is coming around April according to Sony Mobile MY facebook page.
great.... we will have more time decide by then what phone to get
SONY my buck up pls
sebastianX11
post Jan 10 2013, 10:09 AM

1,735 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Jan 10 2013, 03:14 AM)
nexus series has never ever been the most advance smartphone in terms of hardware..

but it leads every android smartphones out there in software side.
agreed! what the use of a phone when it has the superior hardware but cant even be running on JB. this i LOLed hard at SONY. Samsung and HTC realised this and hence they are trying their very hard to update the older gen phone
cant be said of SONY. even though they have the closest working relation with JBQ, but their software look dated. nothing new to the game except for better spec.
the reason im attracthed to Z is that i can foresee that this will prob a dev friendly phone as more dev is abandoning exynos based phone project

QUOTE(uzary @ Jan 10 2013, 03:56 AM)
http://www.xperiablog.net/2013/01/08/xperi...es-in-february/

Not so good news guys, it seems the price is really is more than mere 2k. Most likely between 2000-2.5k or more. sad.gif
if it is more expensive than note 2....SONY is digging their own grave. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by sebastianX11: Jan 10 2013, 10:10 AM
sebastianX11
post Jan 10 2013, 11:03 AM

1,735 posts

QUOTE(uzary @ Jan 10 2013, 10:47 AM)
Note 2 rrp at launched was rm2299. I always said b4 that pricing strategy is very crucial especially for sony. I blieve if sony able to price their products at a right price, they able to captured the market share more that they currently acquired. N if sony xperia z able to price itself under 2k, i blieve it would b a massive hit. If morethan 2k then sweat.gif . Sony isnt Samsung or Apple where their customer n faƱ already obsessed with the company.
at no less than 1.8k, it may not be even a sure hit. samsung user will wait for s4, htc fan will always go back to HTC, ifags dun need to mention. at that premium price, they would rather go for the more popular brand- at least for now
sebastianX11
post Jan 10 2013, 02:28 PM

1,735 posts

QUOTE(junsheng @ Jan 10 2013, 01:03 PM)
europe got vts tax
their spec is not outdated xperia S faster thn S2
xperia T/TX/V is faster thn S3 http://www.gsmarena.com/sony_xperia_tx_t_a...o-news-4722.php
HTC one X is also faster thn S3 http://www.gsmarena.com/jelly_bean_update_...e-news-5010.php

their price drop so much bcauz 2 many ppl think samsung is best n buy samsung
rule of demand & supple  laugh.gif
so the rules same goes to SONY
2 mths it become obsolete...lol icon_rolleyes.gif nod.gif

the spec is not outdated when compared. but when sony launch it phone with dual core, everyone is going with quad ady, irregardless which performs better thumbup.gif
sebastianX11
post Jan 10 2013, 02:34 PM

1,735 posts

QUOTE(junsheng @ Jan 10 2013, 01:11 PM)
misleading again lar
europe got vts tax lar, last time S3 cost RM 2399 in europe
tis phone is released with jellybean  doh.gif ,
as u knw sony is also updating their older generation phone 2 jellybean
some phone ady get jellybean like xperia T

sony update all their high to mid end phone to ICS except xperia play
samsung? they only update their high end phone, S1 no OS upgrade at all,
S2 1 year+ ady now just with pr saying jellybean is coming soon
samsung advance is just the same

sony phones is the most dev friendly bcauz they release all their driver 2 the comunity
unlike samsung which u think they are very good even XDA dev hate samsung
http://www.xda-developers.com/xda-tv-2/sam...a-developer-tv/

u have been mislead by samsung's ads too much laugh.gif
sorry....i dun buy into fanboyism like you do as in how you defended everyphone out there against samsung

i have never once thought sammy phone is every good for dev....pls, they dont release there exynos source to anyone, same goes to tegra. i think you are badly mininfornmed and twisting a lot of facts about how superior sony is.

well whatever, the fact is samsung kicking SONY arse left right centre no matter how hard they market it. marketing is what make the stuff cool. just like iPhone. its about the status, for SONY to catch up
sebastianX11
post Jan 10 2013, 02:45 PM

1,735 posts

QUOTE(junsheng @ Jan 10 2013, 02:42 PM)
bcauz samsung is misleading every1 in their marketing
i just bcom very kinky recently bcauz my friend buy a note 2, 2 days ago
instead he should get a new computer 4 his final year multimedia project
just bcauz of samsung's ads, i bcom very angry  vmad.gif

now he is asking ppl 2 lend him computer shocking.gif
i too encounter a lot of fanboyism....gosh how i hate that
it used to be android vs apple
now it is samsung clan, the nexus gang, the htc gang.... rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
sebastianX11
post Jan 10 2013, 02:46 PM

1,735 posts

double posting.....

This post has been edited by sebastianX11: Jan 10 2013, 02:46 PM
sebastianX11
post Jan 10 2013, 09:39 PM

1,735 posts

QUOTE(soitsuagain @ Jan 10 2013, 05:27 PM)
Are you for real? you are conflicting yourself on your post you said earlier. s3 jellybean sucks. why even bother about the jellybean update when it is laggier than ics. they make a mess of project butter.
Problem?
Which part is contradicting, stating the fact? And me hating fanboyism?
Do I have to list down the device here to let you know what devices I've used? Pls....
sebastianX11
post Jan 11 2013, 09:40 PM

1,735 posts

QUOTE(blackchides @ Jan 11 2013, 05:43 PM)
This phone looks perfect and has micro SD card slot too.

Just that Sony's track record of updating software and XDA dev community support putting me off a bit.

Other than that, it looks like one of the forerunners for 2013. Sammy will have a tough job trying to top this with the Galaxy S4.
Yes, not the best support.... Practically very new but it will have a lot support soon.
Too early to tell, I rmbr last year one x was a strong contender but s3 .... Pffff

0.0517sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:20 AM