Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> ASUS Malaysia Networking User & Technical Support, Managed by ASUS Malaysia Representative (Home Networking)

views
     
gaman
post May 9 2022, 11:00 AM

New Member
*
Junior Member
40 posts

Joined: Apr 2006
Current my TM Unifi ADSL Modem/Router (Netis) having some WiFi cutting off issue so I am thinking to replace it with an Asus DSL-N19 ADSL modem/router.

After setting up the Asus DSL-N19 router following and using the "Quick Set Up" by selecting "TM Unifi Home" option and entering correct PPPoE password.

The status screens for both WAN and DSL connection appear OK and Connected, but I am still unable to connect to internet using my PC and phone.

After swap back to the old router, I am able to connect to internet without any problem.

Anyone knows why?


Attached Image

Attached Image
gaman
post May 9 2022, 02:21 PM

New Member
*
Junior Member
40 posts

Joined: Apr 2006
QUOTE(ASUSmy @ May 9 2022, 11:39 AM)
Hi gaman,

Do you mean DSL-N16?

Have you try updating the firmware to the latest?

Can you go to the Network Tools and try ping Google and see whether there is respond.

If there is no respond, can you download the system log and share it to me for checking?

Thank you
*
Hi,

Thanks for prompt reply.

You are right, it is DSL-N16 not DSL-N19.

Firmware already updated to the latest FW_DSL-N16_1123960.zip.

Just now try to ping Google but no respond.

Could I PM you the "system log" & additional screen shots for you to check?
gaman
post May 10 2022, 11:21 AM

New Member
*
Junior Member
40 posts

Joined: Apr 2006
QUOTE(blacktubi @ May 9 2022, 04:31 PM)
You manage to get an IP but it's an local IP.

It means you key in a wrong PPPOE username and password.
*
Yup. Seem like it is password issue.

I thought the username & password are "pppoe@ccs" & "3487_TmPPPoE", which I inspected from HTML. LOL.

Look like I need to call TM to get a new password unless someone here know how to "extract" username & password from Netis router which is supplied by TM.
gaman
post May 13 2022, 02:57 PM

New Member
*
Junior Member
40 posts

Joined: Apr 2006
Thanks for the help I get here.

Indeed it is wrong password used.

Manage to connect to internet after obtained new PPPoE password from TM.

Now, how do I set up Unifi Home IPTV with this DSL-N16 router? I tried different settings on the LAN-IPTV page but my Unifi TV's screen still stuck at the picture below forever.

Attached Image

Attached Image

This post has been edited by gaman: May 13 2022, 03:01 PM
gaman
post May 13 2022, 03:31 PM

New Member
*
Junior Member
40 posts

Joined: Apr 2006
QUOTE(ASUSmy @ May 13 2022, 03:20 PM)
Hi gaman,

May I know what ISP package you are using? Does this package came with UNIFI TV?

Thank you
*
Mine is 30Mbps ADSL with free Unifi Home TV using Huawei EC6108V8 set top box.
gaman
post May 13 2022, 03:53 PM

New Member
*
Junior Member
40 posts

Joined: Apr 2006
QUOTE(ASUSmy @ May 13 2022, 03:39 PM)
Hi gaman,

Is the 30Mbps is UNIFI package? Do you set the VLAN 500 on the DSL-N16?

Thank you
*
It is Unifi package.

No. How?

If I am not mistaken, the TM stock Netis router uses VLAN 600 at Port 4 to connect to Unifi TV.
gaman
post May 13 2022, 05:19 PM

New Member
*
Junior Member
40 posts

Joined: Apr 2006
QUOTE(ASUSmy @ May 13 2022, 04:05 PM)
Hi gaman,

Can you try follow the Youtube below and setup the VLAN for the UNIFI TV.

https://youtu.be/yfz7xw86ap0?t=160

Thank you
*
It works!!! Thank you very much. rclxm9.gif

There are couple buttons which not shown in Youtube but I leave as default, the IPTV works.

Attached Image

Attached Image

But my WiFi drop after enable "Service 2" and "VLAN 600". I tried factory reset and reenter everything "without" setting up IPTV as per Youtube video, my WiFi was OK. After setting up IPTV, WiFi drops. Why?

People like you make me feel confident to purchase Asus products in future.



This post has been edited by gaman: May 13 2022, 06:54 PM
gaman
post May 17 2022, 10:45 AM

New Member
*
Junior Member
40 posts

Joined: Apr 2006
QUOTE(ASUSmy @ May 17 2022, 10:12 AM)
Hi gaman,

The WiFi drop that you mean is the Internet Speed drop? This happen when you playing the UNIFI TV?

Thank you
*
The entire WiFi signal dropped. No WiFi at all regardless whether Unifi TV is playing or not.

Before setting up the VLAN 600, I could see the WiFi status with all devices connected with WiFi. After setting up the VLAN 600 and reboot the router, no more WiFi.

It is possible to set up VLAN 600 using WiFi with this device so that I could connect Unifi TV using WiFi instead of LAN, just like this:

https://simplesharing1.blogspot.com/2018/05...et-top-box.html

Since I don't see second SSID option in DSL-N16 so I tried using "Guest Network" but still I couldn't set WiFi VLAN 600. Can you help?


gaman
post May 18 2022, 10:45 AM

New Member
*
Junior Member
40 posts

Joined: Apr 2006
QUOTE(ASUSmy @ May 17 2022, 03:46 PM)
Hi gaman,

Can you try downgrading the firmware to the previous version? It just like normal manual firmware update. Do check whether the problem still persist after the downgrade.

https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/wireless...N16_1123858.zip

Thank you
*
Unable to upload the firmware given by you. The router gives "Invalid Firmware. Now Rebooting" message.
gaman
post May 18 2022, 11:04 AM

New Member
*
Junior Member
40 posts

Joined: Apr 2006
Oppsss. Sorry. Forget to unzip.

Ok. After uploading the old firmware, no WiFi drop and Unifi IPTV working!!!

Thank you.
gaman
post May 18 2022, 11:06 AM

New Member
*
Junior Member
40 posts

Joined: Apr 2006
I wish Asus routers could set up WiFi VLAN 600 like other makers so that I could free up the LAN port for other usage.

 

Change to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0715sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th August 2022 - 02:47 PM