Home Networking ASUS Malaysia Networking User & Technical Support, Managed by ASUS Malaysia Representative

cheese86
post Nov 17 2013, 03:02 AM

790 posts

Hi Bros,

looking to replace the D-link router supply by tm for my unifi connection.

which asus router would you all suggest ? I only use the VOIP phone and internet services only.

if I were to replace the D-link router with the ASUS router, do I still need to pair up with the BTU ?

cheese86
post Jan 19 2014, 10:27 AM

790 posts

was reading review about this router - RT-N12HP (Broadcom) - RM209

was quite attracted regarding it high antenna with wifi signal boost.

I'm looking to replace the whole crappy D-Link DIR-615.

currency the setup is fiber optic --> BTU ---> D-Link DIR-615.

my question is can I just hook up the BTU ---> RT-N12HP ---> wireless telephone (provided by unifi) ?

or the setup should be BTU ---> modem ---> RT-N12HP ---> wireless telephone ?

if there is a modem needed in the second scenario, what are brand that you guys recommend.

cheese86
post Jan 19 2014, 11:12 AM

790 posts

QUOTE(ldragon @ Jan 19 2014, 11:04 AM)
wengjoe,
fiber optic --> BTU ---> Telephone
fiber optic --> BTU ---> RT-N12HP ---> PCs / Laptops etc
fiber optic --> BTU ---> RT-N12HP ---> STB IPTV
my networking knowledge is pretty crappy.

so are you saying that I could just hook up the RT-N12HP with the BTU, follow the necessary setup and unifi will work ?

because I was told that RT-N12HP is a router only, not like D-Link DIR-615 where is a combination of router/modem.
cheese86
post Jan 19 2014, 12:12 PM

790 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jan 19 2014, 11:38 AM)
Yes.
Once you choose UniFi mode in the RT-N12HP setup, then it will act as a modem + router just like the DIR-615.

By the way, why are you upgrading to RT-N12HP?
DIR-615 & RT-N12HP doesn't have any discernible performance differences except for wireless strength.
The RT-N12HP doesn't even have a USB port. sweat.gif

If you really want to upgrade, you should go to for at least RT-N56U.
If you're looking for a router with external antennas, go for RT-N16, then you can change the antenna to anything you want.

the reason I choose this router is that I live in a 2 1/2 story home, and all of my notebook/iPhone/iPad are connected via Wifi. I only have a PC that connect using cable but that also hardly been use.

currently the Wifi signal is very weak at back of my home, the kitchen side and the back room.

I read quite a number of review regarding this router providing excellent Wifi signal which fit into my scenario.

thanks for the confirmation, will go scout around for this model and a few more Asus model.
cheese86
post Jan 19 2014, 01:33 PM

790 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jan 19 2014, 12:20 PM)
Hence the reason why I suggested RT-N16.
You can buy the RT-N16 first, then if you're not satisfied with it's wireless performance, you can upgrade the antennas by yourself.
thanks for the tips and suggestion.

will read more about this model that you suggest.

target to get it after CNY.
cheese86
post Jan 19 2014, 08:50 PM

790 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Jan 19 2014, 05:10 PM)
Yeah, same problem here.

A few years ago when router is not that common, I have no problem connecting to my only router, the DIR655 which was one of the best router available.

Fast forward to today, numbers of routers around me is like 5~6. Even when I add my old Time Capsule to cover the ground floor while the other cover the upstairs, I still get blind spots in certain places. You do still find and get connected but the speed is either very slow or keep timing out.

I've just ordered a RT-N14U HP with 3x 9dBi antennas to try to overcome this problem. It's cheap enough to give it a shot.
basically I have no issue with D-Link DIR-615 other then the signal is kind of weak at the back room and kitchen.

one of the main reason that prompted me to change the router is that whenever my iPhone/iPad connect via Wifi and start surfing or facetime, the whole router will be jam up, the latency will be 2k - 3k++ above, totally unusable.

so what Asus router are you using now ?

my choice now is either RT-N16 or RT-N12HP.
cheese86
post Feb 4 2014, 08:48 PM

790 posts

It seem like RT N-16 is out of stock everywhere in KL.

is there any other Asus model to be recommend by sifu here ?

I'm going down to lowyat to hunt the N-16,but I still need a backup plan incase really cannot find. (My other choice is hunt in HK when I'm travelling there end of the Feb.)
cheese86
post Feb 6 2014, 05:12 AM

790 posts

purchase the RT-N14UHP yesterday as a replacement router for unifi since N16 is a discontinue model.

manage to get set up smoothly but how come my wireless only connect at 150mbps only ?

currently setting is set to wireless N only with 40 mhz.

is there any steps I miss out because N14UP is a N300 router which are capable of 300 mbps but I can only achieve half the speed ?

This post has been edited by wengjoe: Feb 6 2014, 05:17 AM
cheese86
post Feb 6 2014, 01:55 PM

790 posts

QUOTE(ASUSmy @ Feb 6 2014, 12:45 PM)
Hi wengjoe,

Try update the firmware to the latest and try again.

The current firmware version is Beta Version 3.0.0.4.374.2239.

http://www.asus.com/Networking/RTN14UHP/#support

Remember to do a factory reset after you have done updating.

And may I know what model of wifi card you are using?

Thank you
Hi Asusmy,

currently using Intel Centrino Wireless N-2230 that came together with my Lenovo Y500.

my current firmware version is 3.0.0.4.374_1217, does updating firmware will solve the issue ?

more like a setting issue or my wifi card is capable only at 150mbps...
cheese86
post Feb 7 2014, 01:11 PM

790 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Feb 7 2014, 10:15 AM)
Its the other way around...

20MHz limited to 150mbps, 40MHz is 300mbps... and now they are running trial for 80MHz for those AC routers.
my scenario is as per below after playing with wireless setting. Don't know what else to set other then update the firmware which I'm kind of reluctant to at this moment.

1) 20Mhz = 72.2mbps.

2) 40Mhz = 150mbps.

cheese86
post Feb 7 2014, 08:44 PM

790 posts

QUOTE(Khalid21 @ Feb 7 2014, 05:33 PM)
N 2230 MAX only 150mbps..
I did google more information about Intel wireless N-2230.

some ppl mention it can achieve 300mbps, some say the maximum speed is 150mbps.

to me 150mbps or 300mbps doesn't really make a different as the router is stable enough to cater my usage.

This post has been edited by wengjoe: Feb 7 2014, 08:46 PM
cheese86
post Feb 9 2014, 04:04 PM

790 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Feb 9 2014, 01:45 PM)
Did you set router to N only? I read that 2230 is 2x2 and Intel even listed it for 300mbps. How far are you from the router?
I set N mode only with 40mhz.

my house is a 2 1/2 story house, the router is in the mid level hall and my room is on the upper floor.

the max I can get is 150mbps, my signal is full bar.
cheese86
post Jun 11 2018, 11:51 AM

790 posts

previously using Asus RT-N14UHP for my internet while i'm in Malaysia under Unifi, is being serving me well.

can someone recommend me another Asus router which support speed up to 1GB as my new ISP verizon fios is offering minimum speed of 100Mbps and 940Mbps internet package in my new area ?
cheese86
post Jul 7 2018, 11:23 PM

790 posts

currently using Asus RT-N14UHP, does this router support speed up to 100 Mbps ?

my current ISP Verizon is providing speed as of 100 Mbps but it seem like i'm only getting around max 30 Mbps from the speed test that i conduct.

If i were to buy a new Asus router, which one is recommended which can support speed up to 100 Mbps ?
cheese86
post Jul 8 2018, 12:55 AM

790 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Jul 7 2018, 11:26 PM)
30mbps on wireless is likely wifi N
30mbps on LAN is likely 10/100 LAN and not gigabit
QUOTE(blacktubi @ Jul 8 2018, 12:37 AM)
Get the RT-AC86U, it is relatively cheaper in the US compare to Malaysia.
before i start to thinking of buying a new router, i want to know does Asus RT-N14UHP, support to 100 Mbps ?

not sure is there any missing setting or should i reset the router and reconfig it.

need some proper input from sifu here, the specs of this router say it support up yo 300 Mbps on wireless N

cheese86
post Jul 16 2018, 08:54 AM

790 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 8 2018, 01:04 AM)
rtn14uhp is only N, 2.4ghz, can't do 100mbps well.

to get full and stable 100mbps, better go AC, use 5ghz.

a cost effective one will be RTAC1300uhp.
QUOTE(blacktubi @ Jul 8 2018, 01:19 AM)
This is a 2.4Ghz single band router. 2.4Ghz is incredibly congested these days which make it impossible to reach the theoretical speed.
it seem like something is wrong with my asus router RTN-14UHP wireless function, i could only get max speed up to 30mb via speed test.

but when i plug into the router via Ethernet cable, viola my test speed became 80/90Mbps.

i believe even with 2.4ghz - 40 width channel i should be able to get near to 100Mbps but something is wrong somewhere, any router recommended under budget of 150USD ?

should i downgrade the firmware to test it out ?
cheese86
post Jul 20 2018, 11:05 AM

790 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 16 2018, 12:14 PM)
as said, rtn14uhp is fast ethernet N router, can't do full 100mbps.

ethernet, u get 80-90; wifi u get max 60-70 with 2.4ghz.

change to good gigbit AC router: ethernet, u get 104-105, wifi, u get 102-103 with 5ghz.
brought Asus RT-AC86U router, on 2.4G wireles N manage to do 80/70 which is pretty good compare to my old router.

on lan and 5G, is hitting my package max speed of 100Mbps.

awesome router i would say
cheese86
post Jul 20 2018, 06:03 PM

790 posts

QUOTE(boonhan @ Jul 20 2018, 03:58 PM)
Hi. Can u check what version u running?

I updated mine to latest and 2.4g wireless not working, it seem broadcasting but unable to connect. It was fine before update.
Version 3.0.0.4.384.21140

just curious how much you brought your router for ?
cheese86
post Sep 24 2018, 10:44 PM

790 posts

it seem like my router ac86u is a lemon unit ? the 2.4ghz is not working at all, my phone and notebook able to detect the connection but not able to connect no matter how I try. I try upgrade/downgrade the firmware, factory reset, change to 20mhz/set different kinda of WiFi channel but still not working. I plug in my back router rt14uhp and is working like a charm. Anyone had the same issue ? I going to test it out tonight again before sending for RMA
cheese86
post Sep 25 2018, 06:37 AM

790 posts

QUOTE(sheemmet @ Sep 24 2018, 11:09 PM)
sounds like unit is having issue , warranty go go go !
tongue.gif
will sent RMA tmr.

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Sep 25 2018, 12:52 AM)
Is this a Malaysia unit?

Try changing the SSID (wireless name).
i brought it from Amazon as i'm based in NYC, i believe for sure is a hardware issue.

i try everything from what i describe 2 post back, even try changing SSID like what you suggested but aint working.

even if i manage to connect to 2.4Ghz, the connection probably last like 1 min then it will auto cut me off

0.2782sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 03:56 AM