826 Pages « < 159 160 161 162 163 > » Bottom

Home Networking ASUS Malaysia Networking User & Technical Support, Managed by ASUS Malaysia Representative

sHawTY
post Sep 3 2015, 11:37 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(ejat666 @ Sep 2 2015, 10:30 PM)
Hi AsusMY,

Would like to seek your advice.

I bought Asus DSL-AC68U AC1900 router yesterday to replace my unifi dlink dir-615 stock router.

Somehow i just notice that there is no dedicated WAN port since the router is 2 in 1 WAN/LAN

My question is which router port should i plug the LAN (1-4) if im using port 1 modem?

Encounter error "pls check your dsl/wan"

I cant get it to work since this evening. Really need your advice thanks.
You bought the wrong router.
Understand this:
RT-AC68U - Wireless router only - This is the one you should've bought.
DSL-AC68U - ADSL Modem + Wireless Router - ADSL is for Streamyx only, you cannot use this for UniFi.

From your picture, that white modem is the BTU (broadband termination unit), you can't remove/replace this.
You can only remove/replace the D-Link DIR-615.

Look at your BTU again, notice the black ethernet cable connected to Port 1?
The other end of the cable has to be connected to the WAN port of your router.
Unfortunately, the DSL-AC68U does NOT have WAN port, it only has a DSL port.
ejat666
post Sep 3 2015, 01:03 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Sep 3 2015, 11:37 AM)
You bought the wrong router.
Understand this:
RT-AC68U - Wireless router only - This is the one you should've bought.
DSL-AC68U - ADSL Modem + Wireless Router - ADSL is for Streamyx only, you cannot use this for UniFi.

From your picture, that white modem is the BTU (broadband termination unit), you can't remove/replace this.
You can only remove/replace the D-Link DIR-615.

Look at your BTU again, notice the black ethernet cable connected to Port 1?
The other end of the cable has to be connected to the WAN port of your router.
Unfortunately, the DSL-AC68U does NOT have WAN port, it only has a DSL port.
Thanks all for your kind advice.

Looks like seller has sent out the wrong device.

Double checked it online, order for rt-ac68u but received dsl-68u instead.

Seems no choice but to return the device to the seller.

Thanks again.
Misfit
post Sep 3 2015, 04:08 PM

106 posts

QUOTE(pl95077 @ Sep 2 2015, 09:28 AM)
Sifu,

mind to share why you enable DDNS? What you can do with your DDNS?
In a simple answer, I just want to access my home PC from anywhere.. well, especially from office/outstation.

Things in my list right now:
-home surveillance
-Wake-on-lan
-VNC over the internet

other things may came in future
SUSraynman
post Sep 3 2015, 04:57 PM

4,333 posts

QUOTE(Misfit @ Sep 3 2015, 04:08 PM)
In a simple answer, I just want to access my home PC from  anywhere.. well, especially from office/outstation.

Things in my list right now:
-home surveillance
-Wake-on-lan
-VNC over the internet

other things may came in future
Who is your dynamic DNS service provider?
nsg86
post Sep 3 2015, 08:37 PM

Nexus
1,146 posts

QUOTE(ASUSmy @ Sep 3 2015, 09:34 AM)
Hi nsg86,

Yes, it will contain your Streamyx user name and password. And yes the path to save the setting is correct.

If can do try to see if the LAN device having the same problem or not when it happen if it is a PC or notebook.

You can do some speedtest also, by using your PC or smartphone.

And have you tried the following setting?

1. Set "DSL modulation” to G.DMT.
2. Set “Stability Adjustment” to -3 dB.

Thank you

Sent to your email , please help to check.

LAN device seems does not have the issue , only device that connected
via wireless have the issue. I tried the DSL modulation, the situation
remain the same. Stability Adjustment is not adjustable in setting page.

Thank you.
nrewq
post Sep 4 2015, 11:13 AM

21 posts

Hi ASUSmy,

I have a RT-N14UHP and would like to replace the existing cisco router with it for my time astro iptv package.

Are there any configuration/steps for this? Thanks in advance.

Or perhaps recommend a better model than this to ensure my entire condo unit is able to receive the signal.
GrandElf
post Sep 4 2015, 12:31 PM

HyunA
1,154 posts

Dear all, just want to ask here,

is it really matter to change TMnet default router?? (the dlink)

Recently, my internet connection always went dc for a couple of sec before reconnect back by itself....and I'm still using the tmnet default router.....

If I change to any of the asus router, will it fix my problem??

becoz of tight budget, I guess I can only afford the RT-N14UHP....

Is this any good?? value for money??
Lynixx
post Sep 4 2015, 01:14 PM

Gooner
1,916 posts

QUOTE(GrandElf @ Sep 4 2015, 12:31 PM)
Dear all, just want to ask here,

is it really matter to change TMnet default router?? (the dlink)

Recently, my internet connection always went dc for a couple of sec before reconnect back by itself....and I'm still using the tmnet default router.....

If I change to any of the asus router, will it fix my problem??

becoz of tight budget, I guess I can only afford the RT-N14UHP....

Is this any good?? value for money??
if you're ok i can lend you my Asus N12HP router to test it out first, if you're happy with it you can buy from me
kianlun
post Sep 4 2015, 02:07 PM

Do Your Work
1,161 posts

QUOTE(ASUSmy @ Sep 1 2015, 09:40 AM)
Hi kianlun,

May I know what is the WiFi card/adapter that you are using? Yo can try updating its drivers. And is all the WiFi device also having the same download speed?

You can use phone to do speedtest also.

You can also try updating the RT-N12 D1 firmware to the latest Version 3.0.0.4.378.6975.

In this firmware, you will need to do a factory reset after the firmware update.

http://www.asus.com/Networking/RTN12_D1/HelpDesk_Download/

Thank you.

Hi, I'm using my phone and iPad to test the wifi speed. I've already updated to the latest firmware and did a factory reset but the result is still the same. Could it be its not strong enough to support 30mbps for wifi?
TSASUSmy
post Sep 4 2015, 04:32 PM

2,319 posts

QUOTE(nrewq @ Sep 4 2015, 11:13 AM)
Hi ASUSmy,

I have a RT-N14UHP and would like to replace the existing cisco router with it for my time astro iptv package.

Are there any configuration/steps for this? Thanks in advance.

Or perhaps recommend a better model than this to ensure my entire condo unit is able to receive the signal.
Hi nrewq,

For TIME fiber, you only need to choose the connection type which is PPPoE and key in your Internet account user name and password.

Follow the remaining step to finish the setup.

Thank you
sEabrEEzE
post Sep 6 2015, 10:19 PM

QUOTE(ASUSmy @ Sep 3 2015, 09:40 AM)
Hi sEabrEEzE,

Can you elaborate more on what you trying to do by closing the port 554?

And do you mind providing your sysem log and you setting file too.

So that I can pass it to our RD to check based on your environment and your setting.

I will PM you my email address.

Thank you
I do not access port 554 from the internet, just wanted to close unneeded open ports.

Can this port be closed on a asus RT-AC55UHP?

TSASUSmy
post Sep 7 2015, 10:32 AM

2,319 posts

QUOTE(kianlun @ Sep 4 2015, 02:07 PM)
Hi, I'm using my phone and iPad to test the wifi speed. I've already updated to the latest firmware and did a factory reset but the result is still the same. Could it be its not strong enough to support 30mbps for wifi?
Hi kianlun,

I have tested the RT-N12 D1 at my home which is using 30MB UNIFI package also. And below image is the result.

I use the RT-N12 D1 as a second router, so the WAN IP it get will be from the main router.

Image A is the speedtest in living room which is line of sight between the router and my notebook.

Image B is the speedtest in my room, the signal is 3 bar only.

Image C is the speedtest in my room also but the router is RT-AC68U which provide better coverage area and data rate.

In line of sight and the signal are good, you should be able to get 30MB with the RT-N12 D1.

Thank you

Added

All test are based on same server Kuala Lumpur-Mykris

This post has been edited by ASUSmy: Sep 7 2015, 01:10 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
TSASUSmy
post Sep 7 2015, 10:45 AM

2,319 posts

QUOTE(sEabrEEzE @ Sep 6 2015, 10:19 PM)
I do not access port 554 from the internet, just wanted to close unneeded open ports.

Can this port be closed on a asus RT-AC55UHP?
Hi sEabrEEzE,

I have checked with my RD, and by default the port 554 should be closed. Can you share your setting and system log files from your router?

So that our RD able to check what service are using the port 554.

Thank you
kianlun
post Sep 7 2015, 01:23 PM

Do Your Work
1,161 posts

QUOTE(ASUSmy @ Sep 7 2015, 10:32 AM)
Hi kianlun,

I have tested the RT-N12 D1 at my home which is using 30MB UNIFI package also. And below image is the result.

I use the RT-N12 D1 as a second router, so the WAN IP it get will be from the main router.

Image A is the speedtest in living room which is line of sight between the router and my notebook.

Image B is the speedtest in my room, the signal is 3 bar only.

Image C is the speedtest in my room also but the router is RT-AC68U which provide better coverage area and data rate.

In line of sight and the signal are good, you should be able to get 30MB with the RT-N12 D1.

Thank you

Added

All test are based on same server Kuala Lumpur-Mykris
Thank you so much for the info! Appreciate it. Can you also show me a picture of your wireless settings? I'm afraid my settings are wrong. Thanks!

TSASUSmy
post Sep 7 2015, 02:05 PM

2,319 posts

QUOTE(kianlun @ Sep 7 2015, 01:23 PM)
Thank you so much for the info! Appreciate it. Can you also show me a picture of your wireless settings? I'm afraid my settings are wrong. Thanks!
Hi kianlun,

My wireless setting is all default,

Channel Bandwidth = 20/40MHz

Control Channel = Auto (but you can fix it, choose 1,6 or 11)

Thank you
nsg86
post Sep 7 2015, 02:49 PM

Nexus
1,146 posts

hi asusmy,
any update for my case,? thanks
hidayat14
post Sep 8 2015, 10:26 AM

231 posts

hi asusmy

i would like to know the latest firmware for RT-AC55UHP and can you tell me where can i download the firmware, thank you
TSASUSmy
post Sep 8 2015, 10:26 AM

2,319 posts

QUOTE(nsg86 @ Sep 7 2015, 02:49 PM)
hi asusmy,
Hi nsg86,

I have just replied you to the e-mail you use to sent the log, do have a check.

Thank you
TSASUSmy
post Sep 8 2015, 10:27 AM

2,319 posts

QUOTE(hidayat14 @ Sep 8 2015, 10:26 AM)
hi asusmy

i would like to know the latest firmware for RT-AC55UHP and can you tell me where can i download the firmware, thank you
Hi hidayat14,

The current latest firmware is 3.0.0.4.378.5209. You can download it from the below link.

http://www.asus.com/Networking/RTAC55UHP/HelpDesk_Download/

Thank you
TSASUSmy
post Sep 8 2015, 03:45 PM

2,319 posts

QUOTE(nsg86 @ Sep 7 2015, 02:49 PM)
hi asusmy,
Hi nsg86,

Can you try on the beta firmware below? Do let me know if you still face the same problem.

https://www.asuswebstorage.com/navigate/s/A...31731A400DE682Y

Thank you

826 Pages « < 159 160 161 162 163 > » Top

0.0279sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 12:47 AM