why air sejuk bad for our health?, what the cons and pros??? why??

TSfantagero
post Mar 17 2006, 10:47 PM, updated 20y ago

[ToFish4RepliesLikeYours]
2,723 posts

i just wanna to know why air sejuk bad for our health??
list out the Pros And Cons please..
and why??

air sejuk that we use for drink biggrin.gif

thanks...

edit: air sejuk definition

This post has been edited by fantagero: Mar 17 2006, 10:53 PM
akira de aimbuster
post Mar 17 2006, 10:50 PM

しごと~
3,500 posts

Nope,bath using cold water is good for health smile.gif
TSfantagero
post Mar 17 2006, 10:52 PM

2,723 posts

errrr..... i mean the one we use to drink biggrin.gif
Vint
post Mar 17 2006, 10:58 PM

ºI'm ♫♪♫♪♫♪..
1,492 posts

Coz the temperature in our body is high and if u suddenly pour something cold inside...imagine yourself
RoyMcAvoy
post Mar 17 2006, 11:03 PM

Going to be a grand wizard next year
1,732 posts

air sejuk will weaken your body defense system.
iDk
post Mar 18 2006, 02:05 AM

1,124 posts

from what i read before, cool water also can be one of the slimming trick.
try to think about it, when you drink the cool water, your body will eventually need to warm it down to the correct temperature, which mean your body will use ENERGY to warm it down, so your body will burn more energy. This is just the theory that i read from other people's little trick. For me, it do make sense but how good it is, what is the side effect of it (coughing, etc) i dont know.
Zen-X
post Mar 18 2006, 02:09 AM

1,238 posts

i think idk is right laa...when i in PLKN last year (Mac-May) my cikgu2 also scold us not to drink ice water after finished marching...
dandrewn
post Mar 18 2006, 10:18 AM

150 posts

Pro: Drinking cold water in the morning actually can stimulate the bowel movement. That's why the orang putih drinks cold oranges or milk straight from the fridge then only cofee or tea.
Cons: Your brain freezed biggrin.gif LOL.
darklight79
post Mar 18 2006, 10:44 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

Bleh!!! All bloody housewives' tales. For goodness sake. Just drink it!
tan_pang
post Mar 18 2006, 10:46 AM

3,110 posts

actually, i seldom to drink cold water
but when i drink cold water along wif some hot food (nasi lemak etc)
my stomach will in pain

i think maybe it is becoz the temperature make my stomach in pain...
TSfantagero
post Mar 18 2006, 09:04 PM

2,723 posts

ehmm.. i'm asking coz i think i'm addicted to cold water... huuhh i always drink cold water straight from the freezer.. biggrin.gif everytime...
riten now.. i'm trying to slow it down....
plus.. i never get cough..... i dunno why.... i've drinking cold water bout since spm... huhuuhuhuhh

anyone wanna add somemore???
gsdfan
post Mar 18 2006, 09:18 PM

418 posts

My tuition teacher said drinking cold water could cause ecsotermic reaction from our body the the water being endotermic. Cold water would absorb energy while our body needs to release energy.
TSfantagero
post Mar 18 2006, 09:20 PM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(gsdfan @ Mar 18 2006, 09:18 PM)
My tuition teacher said drinking cold water could cause ecsotermic reaction from our body the the water being endotermic. Cold water would absorb energy while our body needs to release energy.
i also read this a one book.... it wrote there... this method can be use for dieting.. as our body need to release energy.. so fat will be burn
ayiesz
post Mar 18 2006, 09:28 PM

Selamat Hari Raya
2,778 posts

QUOTE(Zen-X @ Mar 18 2006, 02:09 AM)
i think idk is right laa...when i in PLKN last year (Mac-May) my cikgu2 also scold us not to drink ice water after finished marching...
after finish marching ur heartbeat should be faster than normal
at that time, ur body need more oxygen, so instead of breathing thru nose, u will do it with ur mouth.
drinking can accidentally choke u at that time. so just wait till u can breath normally. its not about cold or hot water
gsdfan
post Mar 18 2006, 09:29 PM

418 posts

Another thing is that cold water can also cause fever(not sure lah) as our body over regulates the temp. in our body(means increase body temp. to high just to warm up the water).

I heard opinion said that in order to burn calories it is better to drink warm water as that would increase body's metabolism thus releasing more energy.
darklight79
post Mar 18 2006, 09:42 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(gsdfan @ Mar 18 2006, 09:29 PM)
Another thing is that cold water can also cause fever(not sure lah) as our body over regulates the temp. in our body(means increase body temp. to high just to warm up the water).

I heard opinion said that in order to burn calories it is better to drink warm water as that would increase body's metabolism thus releasing more energy.

Predisposition to any form of infection, whether viral or bacterial is not determined by cold water for God's sake!

TSfantagero
post Mar 18 2006, 10:08 PM

2,723 posts

i heard also.... cold water can slow down.. ahem ahemm.....
mati pucuk something like that laa....
ur ahem ahem can up nemore... is that true.. rclxub.gif
thefryingfox
post Mar 18 2006, 10:09 PM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

well dont blame me for drinking cold weather
the damn humankind dont even understand what is global warming
its so friggin hot.
u want me to drink warm/hot wateR?
I WILL DIE!!!!!!!!
gsdfan
post Mar 18 2006, 11:13 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Mar 18 2006, 09:42 PM)

Predisposition to any form of infection, whether viral or bacterial is not determined by cold water for God's sake!
Isn't fever can also because by tempreture? Besides cold water also cause tonsilities if i'm not mistaken .
TSfantagero
post Mar 19 2006, 12:19 AM

2,723 posts

bummpieeee..
someone answer me question
skippro
post Mar 19 2006, 04:26 AM

914 posts

in moderation, it is good.
pizzaboy
post Mar 19 2006, 10:42 AM

9,495 posts

don't believe it in being bad
no scientific proof
complete bullcrap

i drink cold water like an elephant.
darklight79
post Mar 19 2006, 12:41 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(gsdfan @ Mar 18 2006, 11:13 PM)
Isn't fever can also because by tempreture? Besides cold water also cause tonsilities if i'm not mistaken .
No, no and no.

Fever = hyperthermia = body's natural reaction to infection; viral or bacterial. Simple.
Tonsilitis = caused by infection, not cold water.
darklight79
post Mar 19 2006, 12:42 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Mar 19 2006, 10:42 AM)
don't believe it in being bad
no scientific proof
complete bullcrap

i drink cold water like an elephant.
Yeah, exactly man. What is it with some of you people listening to your mamas and grandmamas and aunties? There's NOTHING wrong with cold water for goodness' sake. Geez!!
TSfantagero
post Mar 19 2006, 12:47 PM

2,723 posts

ehmm i heard to.. cold water yang make our bone weak.. huuhh so afraid..
seeseng
post Mar 19 2006, 12:58 PM

Swiftlet Enthusiast
863 posts

Those who want to state cold water bad please give some facts to support your points la. Not just say it was told by the elders. Our elders/seniors sure correct meh. We got own brains to think ourselves.

This post has been edited by seeseng: Mar 19 2006, 12:58 PM
INFeRNO
post Mar 19 2006, 11:39 PM

Lord and Master
1,754 posts

So all those of you who believe that cold water can cause cancer and shit, your house don't have cold water issit?

So how do you drink your coke then? warm?

"boss, coke suam satu!"
KilJim
post Mar 19 2006, 11:42 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

is living in Canada during winter time bad for your health? tongue.gif
TSfantagero
post Mar 23 2006, 07:09 PM

2,723 posts

so.. no scientific reason cold water bad foru our health???
TSfantagero
post Mar 24 2006, 03:44 PM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(tan_pang @ Mar 18 2006, 10:46 AM)
actually, i seldom to drink cold water
but when i drink cold water along wif some hot food (nasi lemak etc)
my stomach will in pain

i think maybe it is becoz the temperature make my stomach in pain...
according to my own theory tongue.gif
u cant eat nasi lemak, then sudenly drink water...
this's because, nasi lemak's sambal got oil.. so if u mix the oil and the water in ur stomach... just imagine u put oil in glass of water... huuhh.. it all mix up... so, maybe that cause the pain...
so, if u eat hot food, esapcially the sambaled one.... dont drink rite after finish the meal.. wait till one minute for ur stomach to rest biggrin.gif
peace

well..... anyone wanna add somemore bout cold water??
soulfly
post Mar 24 2006, 09:49 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

QUOTE(dandrewn @ Mar 18 2006, 10:18 AM)
Pro: Drinking cold water in the morning actually can stimulate the bowel movement. That's why the orang putih drinks cold oranges or milk straight from the fridge then only cofee or tea.
Cons: Your brain freezed biggrin.gif LOL.
this might be offtopic but i think drinking cold orange juice in the morning can help prevent smelly breath as well. some ppl still got smelly mouth eventhough they brushed teeth already, this might help them.
Ultima
post Mar 25 2006, 02:48 AM

KiRiSuTe GoMeN
5,197 posts

hmm i always drink cold water... weather here is so friggin hot, dats y i drink cold water... morning, afternoon, night always cold water... pros, it cools u down smile.gif cons, rite now, i always feel my body 'banyak angin'... hahaha...
TSfantagero
post Mar 25 2006, 11:52 AM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Mar 24 2006, 09:49 PM)
this might be offtopic but i think drinking cold orange juice in the morning can help prevent smelly breath as well. some ppl still got smelly mouth eventhough they brushed teeth already, this might help them.
maybe the acid from the orange juice kill the morning germ... the mahal way is to gargle listerin biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Ultima @ Mar 25 2006, 02:48 AM)
hmm i always drink cold water... weather here is so friggin hot, dats y i drink cold water... morning, afternoon, night always cold water... pros, it cools u down smile.gif cons, rite now, i always feel my body 'banyak angin'... hahaha...
errr.. banyak angin ?? sendawa or fart a lot??? tongue.gif

hahhaa i've stop drinking cold water..... i dunno the diff yet.... maybe it's a long term cons
klifex
post Mar 26 2006, 09:41 AM

847 posts

what i think is that, from a biological and physiological view.
cold water means water below our body temperature...that's why when we touch it, we felt it's cold because it's absorping heat from our body.

okie..what pro: can be use to suppress pyrexia( fever)... can be use to cold compression is stoping bleeding or injured joints...
cold water also useful in factory is cooling down their 24 operating machine...many many more...go and find out ...

cons...

from a physiological view,
about the nasi lemak things ler... i think because of the drop of temperature of your gatric secretion in digesting food.our gatric contents somehow got many enzymes that function optimum at 37C and pH 2...when u drink cold water...especially in large volume, the temperature of the gastic contents tends to goes down..below 37c..and the acidic level also tends to goes up due to dilution of the gastric contents...

now here's the problem when u eat nasi lemak...
what you'll face is a uncomplete digestion of the food...that's why u get stomachache lol...

other than that ler...is some other problem related to to your blood vessels which will constrict due to low temperature...when u drink cold water...your nasopharyngeal tract's blood vessels tend to constrict...
then what will happen is lack of secretion from your throat ...when not enough mucus...then easy to irritate by foreign bodies...will willl initiate cough...sneezing...blar blar....too deep la this one...
TSfantagero
post Mar 26 2006, 04:33 PM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(klifex @ Mar 26 2006, 09:41 AM)
what i think is that, from a biological and physiological view.
cold water means water below our body temperature...that's why when we touch it,  we felt it's cold because it's absorping heat from our body.

okie..what pro: can be use to suppress pyrexia( fever)... can be use to cold compression is stoping bleeding or injured joints...
cold water also useful in factory is cooling down their 24 operating machine...many many more...go and find out ...

cons...

from a physiological view,
about the nasi lemak things ler... i think because of the drop of temperature of your gatric secretion in digesting food.our gatric contents somehow got many enzymes that function optimum at 37C and pH 2...when u drink cold water...especially in large volume, the temperature of the gastic contents tends to goes down..below 37c..and the acidic level also tends to goes up due to dilution of the gastric contents...

now here's the problem when u eat nasi lemak...
what you'll face is a uncomplete digestion of the food...that's why u get stomachache lol...

other than that ler...is some other problem related to to your blood vessels which will constrict due to low temperature...when u drink cold water...your nasopharyngeal tract's blood vessels tend to constrict...
then what will happen is lack of secretion from your throat ...when not enough mucus...then easy to irritate by foreign bodies...will willl initiate cough...sneezing...blar blar....too deep la this one...
u medic student arr??? rclxub.gif huhuh good explanation...
huhuh then my theory bout nasi lemak, oily food and cold water wrong laa ekk tongue.gif

caprina
post Jun 27 2006, 03:42 PM

76 posts

me always drink cold water even my family members always sindir2.. always cold drink even at 4am (sahur time).. but in the morning i must drink other than plain cold water otherwise my stomach buat hal.. stomach ache in the morning.. can you imagine visiting the toilet several times while others enjoying their dream.. they also say that cold water is bad for athma people like me.. but no reason given..
Legend7050
post Jun 27 2006, 04:23 PM

41 posts

Water, cold or hot, is GOOD for health as long as it is drinkable...at least drink 1,5L a day and more if you practice sport...never forget that human body is 90% of water...it is also advised not to drink the same mineral water all the time...just change brand...
LanEvoX
post Jun 27 2006, 04:58 PM

6 stars only...meh...
1,452 posts

try drink cold icy water during the half time of football or basketball match....i bet u cant continue the second half.....u'll feel damn weak after that
quintessential
post Jun 27 2006, 05:04 PM

ilha formosa
2,919 posts

if you're a vocalist, drinking cold water is not advisable. unless u sing for rockband.
malaysianPotato
post Jun 27 2006, 05:05 PM

I need more space to write stuff here...
2,816 posts

QUOTE(LanEvoX @ Jun 27 2006, 04:58 PM)
try drink cold icy water during the half time of football or basketball match....i bet u cant  continue the second half.....u'll feel damn weak after that
never had a real basket ball match with pro's but i've had a few friendly matches with friends and we always had cool drinks to drink after each quarter, i also drink cold water while running, no problems here so i dont think its that big of an issue.

unless you're so worn out after each half/quarter that expanding a few calories to warm up water brings you down you shouldnt have any real issues with drinking a cool drink while participating in a sport and if you're that tired already after a quarter/half you probably wont make it through the next quarter/half anyway so it doesnt really matter does it?
LanEvoX
post Jun 27 2006, 05:20 PM

6 stars only...meh...
1,452 posts

QUOTE(malaysianPotato @ Jun 27 2006, 05:05 PM)
never had a real basket ball match with pro's but i've had a few friendly matches with friends and we always had cool drinks to drink after each quarter, i also drink cold water while running, no problems here so i dont think its that big of an issue.

unless you're so worn out after each half/quarter that expanding a few calories to warm up water brings you down you shouldnt have any real issues with drinking a cool drink while participating in a sport and if you're that tired already after a quarter/half you probably wont make it through the next quarter/half anyway so it doesnt really matter does it?
it happen few times already, not tired after the half match yet, drink a glass of cold water, tat's it....cant make it to the final half...

my doctor does advise b4, after sport is better to take warm water, like other said, ur body temp is so high and suddenly pour with cold water. Try pour water on the hot burning metal, see wat happen. smile.gif
creative_fla
post Jun 27 2006, 05:47 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(fantagero @ Mar 18 2006, 10:08 PM)
i heard also.... cold water can slow down.. ahem ahemm.....
mati pucuk something like that laa....
ur ahem ahem can up nemore... is that true..  rclxub.gif
yea,, i heard bout tht too esp tru articles.. cold water can make ur didi weak..
but i luv to drink milk.. i hate to drink warm milk.. no way!! still need cold milk..
malaysianPotato
post Jun 27 2006, 05:50 PM

2,816 posts

when you drink the water are you gulping it or sipping it? notice how athletes drink slowly during and after matches.

my physician never adviced against drinking cold liquids after any physical activity and i have never had any issues with it.

alot of doctors advice against it because your body burns calories to warm up the liquid as it passes through your body, after an intense physical activity i can understand why, but it really isnt that big an issue. ask your doctor for a full explanation on it and see what he says, there might be another issue that i dont know of.

another thing... the human body doesnt react to sudden temperature changes like metal does, completely different things. thats like comparing app... durians to oranges.

what sport do you play btw?

QUOTE(creative_fla @ Jun 27 2006, 05:47 PM)
yea,, i heard bout tht too esp tru articles.. cold water can make ur didi weak..
but i luv to drink milk..  i hate to drink warm milk.. no way!! still need cold milk..
if you're going for cold milk why not go all the way and get a milk shake... ice cream and milk, toss in a few bananas and a couple of melted dark chocolate cubes and you got a choco banana milkshake mmmmmm.

This post has been edited by malaysianPotato: Jun 27 2006, 05:51 PM
serenayap
post Jun 27 2006, 07:53 PM

128 posts

me too love cold water///
think no harm done if drink in moderation...

darklight79
post Jun 28 2006, 12:33 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

I can't believe i'm still hearing a discussion about cold water. I'm sorry but.....

malaysianPotato
post Jun 28 2006, 12:53 AM

2,816 posts

___
{o,o}
|)__)
-"-"-
O RLY?

zeist
post Jun 28 2006, 12:59 AM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

I bath using normal water only, cold ice water only whenever I feel like washing my face. laugh.gif tongue.gif

Washing your face using cold ice water is good. thumbup.gif , whenever I go Genting, i will definitely wash my face there a few times. cool.gif
darklight79
post Jun 28 2006, 12:59 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(malaysianPotato @ Jun 28 2006, 12:53 AM)
___
{o,o}
|)__)
-"-"-
O RLY?
Rly.
Notoriez
post Jun 28 2006, 01:09 AM

I am Notty and Notorious !!!
2,499 posts

QUOTE(fantagero @ Mar 18 2006, 09:04 PM)
ehmm.. i'm asking coz i think i'm addicted to cold water... huuhh i always drink cold water straight from the freezer.. biggrin.gif everytime...
riten now.. i'm trying to slow it down....
plus.. i never get cough..... i dunno why.... i've drinking cold water bout since spm... huhuuhuhuhh

anyone wanna add somemore???
Been drinking cold water since i was 12yrs old...nothing happened to me though..biggrin.gif

QUOTE(LanEvoX @ Jun 27 2006, 04:58 PM)
try drink cold icy water during the half time of football or basketball match....i bet u cant  continue the second half.....u'll feel damn weak after that
Can't continue?? Do you know that even proffesional footballers drank cold water during or after the games..based on my friends experienced arr..

I also managed to finish 90 minutes of football with drinking icy water...but that last time arr cry.gif cry.gif

QUOTE(zeist @ Jun 28 2006, 12:59 AM)
I bath using normal water only, cold ice water only whenever I feel like washing my face.  laugh.gif  tongue.gif

Washing your face using cold ice water is good.  thumbup.gif , whenever I go Genting, i will definitely wash my face there a few times.  cool.gif
Try to go and take your bath in Kundasang Sabah...surely you will freeze like hell tongue.gif

silllver
post Jun 28 2006, 02:22 AM

1,298 posts

drink alot cold water is not good. Wait untill u get older, you will know what the effect. But bath with cold water is good for body. yeahh!
ken_wickedboy
post Jun 28 2006, 02:31 AM

439 posts

pour cold water on your car engine after a long day of driving or probably on your disk brake...it shows
pizzaboy
post Jun 28 2006, 02:53 AM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(silllver @ Jun 28 2006, 02:22 AM)
drink alot cold water is not good. Wait untill u get older, you will know what the effect. But bath with cold water is good for body. yeahh!
I have to disagree.

Grandfather drinks cold water (stount, beer, whisky, whatever) all the time.
Morning cold, afternoon cold, night cold, after wake up, cold, anytime, cold.

He's 78, no problemo, cept that he smokes and his lungs are gonna look black like soot and I'll probabbly keep his lungs and frighten (BOO!!!!) my children on the potential harms of smoking.

Late-grandma drank cold water all the time. People said she'll kena those creaky bones and all that hoohah, nope, she died of stroke at a strong 72. Love that old woman.

Ronnie Coleman, drinks his fluids icy cold after his workout.

F1 racers, if you look at their bottles, the water is cold. Condensation on the walls of the bottle.

I hardly think cold water's gonna affect you. Eskimos drink cold water ( i shud suppose), don't see them dying like flies after a elephant fart party.
LYFfan
post Jun 28 2006, 08:43 AM

229 posts

This cold water diet method is just theoretical only. its just using basic physics. Simply put if you drink ice cold water, unless you pee ice cold water also, your body must be heating it up. To do that it has to raise body temp and thats by burning calories. How many calories is debatable. Additionally, if you presumably live in hot weather country ambient temp in environment will mean you dont have the same effect of someone in cold country drinking ice water as their bodies have to counter environmental and physiological temperature (technically they burn more calories than in hot weather)

But in any case, drinking ice water brings no harm, only joy if you like it.

Only harm may be to your teeth enamel which can be shocked by ice water or anything you put in your mouth that is so cold.

darklight79
post Jun 28 2006, 10:27 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(LYFfan @ Jun 28 2006, 08:43 AM)
This cold water diet method is just theoretical only. its just using basic physics. Simply put if you drink ice cold water, unless you pee ice cold water also, your body must be heating it up. To do that it has to raise body temp and thats by burning calories. How many calories is debatable. Additionally, if you presumably live in hot weather country ambient temp in environment will mean you dont have the same effect of someone in cold country drinking ice water as their bodies have to counter environmental and physiological temperature (technically they burn more calories than in hot weather)

But in any case, drinking ice water brings no harm, only joy if you like it.

Only harm may be to your teeth enamel which can be shocked by ice water or anything you put in your mouth that is so cold.
^^^^^^^^^^

Well said. I don't know where these people get their stories of cold water shit from. I'm well over old wives Asian grandmama stories. Sheesh...
LYFfan
post Jun 30 2006, 09:49 AM

229 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Jun 28 2006, 10:27 AM)
^^^^^^^^^^

Well said. I don't know where these people get their stories of cold water shit from. I'm well over old wives Asian grandmama stories. Sheesh...
Good question and I think revealing of human psyche. Generally i think people wanna have one single thing to blame for whatever their condition is, weightgain lah, some old age pantanglah, weight loss lah, mati pucuk lah...senang what, if can just blame cold water and cut it out of your life. As if so easy lah... Like we humans are some single cell organism or something that don;t live in complex systems...
malaysianPotato
post Jun 30 2006, 11:16 AM

2,816 posts

for the love of cookies cakes and rice, stop comparing the human body with brake discs or steel rods or some crap like that. THE HUMAN BODY IS NOT MADE OF METAL OR CARBON FIBER.

you people going "poor ice water on your car engine after running it at 5000rpms for 1 hour", ok, i did - no issues. good quality cars are made to withstand such "shocks", the engine temp never goes high enough to begin molecular change, these arent f1 cars were talking about where the breaks reach the temp of the sun when breaking. now i tested it on the human body, i put my hand in 65'C water for 5 minutes after which i put my hand in a bucket of ice water, nothing happened appart from getting a cold hand.

ffs people, logic, its fundemental.

yes i spelled brake wrong, who cares.

This post has been edited by malaysianPotato: Jun 30 2006, 11:17 AM
LYFfan
post Jun 30 2006, 11:22 AM

229 posts

QUOTE(malaysianPotato @ Jun 30 2006, 11:16 AM)
for the love of cookies cakes and rice, stop comparing the human body with brake discs or steel rods or some crap like that. THE HUMAN BODY IS NOT MADE OF METAL OR CARBON FIBER.

you people going "poor ice water on your car engine after running it at 5000rpms for 1 hour", ok, i did - no issues. good quality cars are made to withstand such "shocks", the engine temp never goes high enough to begin molecular change, these arent f1 cars were talking about where the breaks reach the temp of the sun when breaking. now i tested it on the human body, i put my hand in 65'C water for 5 minutes after which i put my hand in a bucket of ice water, nothing happened appart from getting a cold hand.

ffs people, logic, its fundemental.

yes i spelled brake wrong, who cares.
LOL! Dude, common sense aint so common you know. biggrin.gif
BTW, have ya tried to do that hand in water thing on your sleeping buddies b4? Makes them lose control and pee in their sleep apparently. Wonder if it works on women same as men...?
FleshWound
post Jun 30 2006, 11:23 AM

76 posts

it's common practice for sprinters to soak in ice cold water for 15 minutes 4 times a week too to recuperate their central nervous system. but the thread was mentioning about the intake of cold water. so it's silly to come up with pour cold water on engine, pour cold water on metal or pour cold water on anything argument to sum up why drinking cold water is bad.

but then again i agree drinking cold water halfway during a workout weakens me. warm water stimulates and makes me alert.

p.s. Chinese singseh told me drinking ice cold water gives you eyebags
FleshWound
post Jun 30 2006, 11:26 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(LYFfan @ Jun 30 2006, 11:22 AM)
LOL! Dude, common sense aint so common you know.  biggrin.gif
BTW, have ya tried to do that hand in  water thing on your sleeping buddies b4? Makes them lose control and pee in their sleep apparently. Wonder if it works on women same as men...?
IT DOES? gotta try it out on somoene. ph34r.gif
malaysianPotato
post Jun 30 2006, 11:38 AM

2,816 posts

going to try it on a friend later today, he sleeps alot in the afternoon, maybe this'll help him remember why he should be more aware of his surroundings. let you know if he pees himself rclxms.gif

the eyebags thing... err yeah... no it doesnt give you eyebags. i drink cold drinks pretty much exclusively everyday... no eyebags? maybe it only happens to people who believe it, by means of psychological effect. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by malaysianPotato: Jun 30 2006, 11:38 AM
darklight79
post Jun 30 2006, 11:42 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(LYFfan @ Jun 30 2006, 11:22 AM)
LOL! Dude, common sense aint so common you know. biggrin.gif
BTW, have ya tried to do that hand in water thing on your sleeping buddies b4? Makes them lose control and pee in their sleep apparently. Wonder if it works on women same as men...?
REALLY??? I'm gonna try it on my gf. =P Then I'll tell her one of my LYN buddies taught me that. tongue.gif
Can you describe this more in detail?

This post has been edited by darklight79: Jun 30 2006, 11:43 AM
darklight79
post Jun 30 2006, 11:47 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(LYFfan @ Jun 30 2006, 09:49 AM)
Good question and I think revealing of human psyche. Generally i think people  wanna have one single thing to blame for whatever their condition is, weightgain lah, some old age pantanglah, weight loss lah, mati pucuk lah...senang what, if can just blame cold water and cut it out of your life. As if so easy lah... Like we humans are some single cell organism or something that don;t live in complex systems...
Insightful post. Ok, i'm gonna pose a question though. I'm not dissin' my own people, but i'm curious why is it more common among Asians compared to Westerners? This aspect of the human psyche you elucidated?
LYFfan
post Jun 30 2006, 12:28 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Jun 30 2006, 11:47 AM)
Insightful post. Ok, i'm gonna pose a question though. I'm not dissin' my own people, but i'm curious why is it more common among Asians compared to Westerners? This aspect of the human psyche you elucidated?
Not too sure if its true about it being more common with Asians to be superstitious etc. I guess have to compare apples for apples and the like. Mainly in the West you have a more informed (scientifically and logically) society and educational background. IMO.

I mean I do know of Westerners who are into what I would call "orientalism", and its all this b.s. stuff about feng shui and reiki and stuff like that. And I even know an English PhD holder who goes on "colonic cleansing" holidays in thailand. Heeh! U never knowlah, people are people. As the English say "Nothing as queer as folk."
silllver
post Jun 30 2006, 02:48 PM

1,298 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Jun 28 2006, 02:53 AM)
I have to disagree.

Grandfather drinks cold water (stount, beer, whisky, whatever) all the time.
Morning cold, afternoon cold, night cold, after wake up, cold, anytime, cold.

He's 78, no problemo, cept that he smokes and his lungs are gonna look black like soot and I'll probabbly keep his lungs and frighten (BOO!!!!) my children on the potential harms of smoking.

Late-grandma drank cold water all the time. People said she'll kena those creaky bones and all that hoohah, nope, she died of stroke at a strong 72. Love that old woman.

Ronnie Coleman, drinks his fluids icy cold after his workout.

F1 racers, if you look at their bottles, the water is cold. Condensation on the walls of the bottle.

I hardly think cold water's gonna affect you. Eskimos drink cold water ( i shud suppose), don't see them dying like flies after a elephant fart party.
but is really bad for young people (age 1-18 growing age). Your body will show green blood stream under your skin. If you drink only cold water.

This post has been edited by silllver: Jun 30 2006, 02:51 PM
silllver
post Jun 30 2006, 03:22 PM

1,298 posts

You can prove to us in future when you have your own kid, let them have cold water from young. No hot water, just ONLY cold water. Sure they suka gila why my mom allow me to drink cold water. yay.~! No harm what. GO ahead guys.
malaysianPotato
post Jun 30 2006, 04:22 PM

2,816 posts

so err i tried the hand in ice water thing on my friend, he woke up. how do you get their hand in the ice water without waking them up?

am i supposed to use normal room temp water or cold water?

This post has been edited by malaysianPotato: Jun 30 2006, 04:22 PM
LYFfan
post Jul 1 2006, 09:55 AM

229 posts

QUOTE(malaysianPotato @ Jun 30 2006, 04:22 PM)
so err i tried the hand in ice water thing on my friend, he woke up. how do you get their hand in the ice water without waking them up?

am i supposed to use normal room temp water or cold water?
they are supposed to be in deep sleep first, and i think u can use warm water or cold water.
malaysianPotato
post Jul 1 2006, 12:47 PM

2,816 posts

QUOTE(LYFfan @ Jul 1 2006, 09:55 AM)
they are supposed to be in deep sleep first, and i think u can use warm water or cold water.
ah, then i cant do it on someone who's daynapping. i guess i'll have to try to ninja it up on a weekend night then.
LYFfan
post Jul 1 2006, 02:36 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(malaysianPotato @ Jul 1 2006, 12:47 PM)
ah, then i cant do it on someone who's daynapping. i guess i'll have to try to ninja it up on a weekend night then.
Heehee. Give us update ok, if it works. rclxms.gif
malaysianPotato
post Jul 1 2006, 05:59 PM

2,816 posts

i'll probably try tonight on my brother or if i can sneak into my friends house i'll try it on him. probably try to break into my friends house, my brother has a katana and is grumpy when he wakes up.

will probably have to pay for repairs on his door though... sigh the things i do for a laugh.

eta: i think i wont try this, its rather mean to get someone to pee himself and its kinda scary since most of my friends are bigger than me and are better trained than i am... also the guy i was thinking of doing this to has pepperspray, no way in hell am i getting peppered again.

eta2: lol, a thread on cold water being bad for health has the most views in this section. funny.

This post has been edited by malaysianPotato: Jul 1 2006, 06:31 PM
INFeRNO
post Jul 1 2006, 07:48 PM

Lord and Master
1,754 posts

QUOTE(silllver @ Jun 30 2006, 06:48 AM)
but is really bad for young people (age 1-18 growing age). Your body will show green blood stream under your skin. If you drink only cold water.
You know, you remind me of this story I heard from my uncle who was studying vet med in UPM. He had a classmate (who was 24 at the time) who actually thought hot dogs were made of dog meat! Everyone laughed until they reailsed that she was serious, then they laughed even harder.

Your parents probably told you that little fairy tale when you were young so that you'd keep your grubby mits off the fridge and not hurt yourself. How can there be a correlation between cold water (that goes into your stomach), and your veins (or green blood stream as you so eloquently put it).
malaysianPotato
post Jul 1 2006, 08:37 PM

2,816 posts

QUOTE(INFeRNO @ Jul 1 2006, 07:48 PM)
You know, you remind me of this story I heard from my uncle who was studying vet med in UPM. He had a classmate (who was 24 at the time) who actually thought hot dogs were made of dog meat! Everyone laughed until they reailsed that she was serious, then they laughed even harder.

Your parents probably told you that little fairy tale when you were young so that you'd keep your grubby mits off the fridge and not hurt yourself. How can there be a correlation between cold water (that goes into your stomach), and your veins (or green blood stream as you so eloquently put it).
rofl alien blood is transfused when you drink cold water!!!!! that must be it!

i cant believe this thread on cold water being bad for health is 4 pages long. thank god foreigners dont read this.

0.0290sec    1.15    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 03:34 PM