University APU vs SUNWAY UNIVERSITY vs SEGI (IT COURSE), plz gv some advise....

TSve@sl
post Dec 30 2012, 12:04 AM, updated 13y ago

51 posts

Hello guys, i have just completed my diploma at segi college. Now i planning continue for further study for my degree i confusing what university i should choice..........

i planning to go either continue study at segi or change to sunway or apu............ which uni is better in IT course??????????

segi = greenwich university cert
apu =dual cert local and staffordshire university
sunway =dual cert local and lancaster university

hope to get sincere advice from you guys soon because i rushing for jan intake!!!
Jun2595
post Dec 30 2012, 09:13 PM

I also planning to take Degree in APU

but i'm not sure this UNI good or not? I need comments
TSve@sl
post Dec 31 2012, 03:03 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(Jun2595 @ Dec 30 2012, 09:13 PM)
I also planning to take Degree in APU

but i'm not sure this UNI good or not? I need comments
which intake u going to join????? i planning join jan
Jun2595
post Dec 31 2012, 02:27 PM

QUOTE(ve@sl @ Dec 31 2012, 03:03 AM)
which intake u going to join????? i planning join jan
IM NOT SURE.. maybe july or sept..

have you arrange your accommodation ?

Can you PM me your phone number? if you join on JAN 2013...

I can check with you whether this UNI good or not.
blmse92
post Dec 31 2012, 08:25 PM

603 posts

My advice.
Dont go SEGI's degree as they UK's award sucks.. Either is sunderland,greewich or abartay dundee.. they rank is the lowest! but of course the fees is cheap. cheaper then many private UNI like sunway,inti etc.. Because previously i go SEGI for diploma only. Now degree i am in INTI..

Sunway is better.. lancaster top 5 in UK university..

Apu i dont know..

This post has been edited by blmse92: Dec 31 2012, 08:29 PM
TSve@sl
post Dec 31 2012, 09:42 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(Jun2595 @ Dec 31 2012, 02:27 PM)
IM NOT SURE.. maybe july or sept..

have you arrange your accommodation ?

Can you PM me your phone number? if you join on JAN 2013...

I can check with you whether this UNI good or not.
actually i stay at kl....... for cert sunway is better but vy costly
In APU for IT i think not bad oso lately they keep winning award

Added on December 31, 2012, 9:48 pm
QUOTE(blmse92 @ Dec 31 2012, 08:25 PM)
My advice.
Dont go SEGI's degree as they UK's award sucks.. Either is sunderland,greewich or abartay dundee.. they rank is the lowest! but of course the fees is cheap. cheaper then many private UNI like sunway,inti etc.. Because previously i go SEGI for diploma only. Now degree i am in INTI..

Sunway is better.. lancaster top 5 in UK university..

Apu i dont know..

yea.... i agreed with you.

for tuition fee 2 years
APU = RM 42000
SUNWAY = RM 45000
SEGI = RM 26000

There is very costly............ can i know how much is the INTI fee? what course r u taking now?

This post has been edited by ve@sl: Dec 31 2012, 09:48 PM
honsiong
post Dec 31 2012, 10:36 PM

3,182 posts

You should join APU, I will tell you why:

1) You will learn how to cope with unusable wifi, even your Internet Explorer is faster than their wifi.

2) Learn how to see the goodness in bad food. It's a tough science, especially in APU. Learning how to find the tastiness in their burnt fried race makes you better person.

3) Learn how to deal with arrogant people. Some foreigners are so rich that they can swoop to the front-line and yell at the spaghetti chef that they queue first. It's also great to improve tolerance.

Added on December 31, 2012, 10:37 pm
QUOTE(ve@sl @ Dec 31 2012, 09:42 PM)

APU's students, like me flex.gif

This post has been edited by honsiong: Dec 31 2012, 10:37 PM
TSve@sl
post Dec 31 2012, 11:02 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Dec 31 2012, 10:36 PM)
You should join APU, I will tell you why:

1) You will learn how to cope with unusable wifi, even your Internet Explorer is faster than their wifi.

2) Learn how to see the goodness in bad food. It's a tough science, especially in APU. Learning how to find the tastiness in their burnt fried race makes you better person.

3) Learn how to deal with arrogant people. Some foreigners are so rich that they can swoop to the front-line and yell at the spaghetti chef that they queue first. It's also great to improve tolerance.

Added on December 31, 2012, 10:37 pm

APU's students, like meĀ  flex.gif
I knew that APU canteen is small and the food is suck but the new campus is open soon................
The point 3 u mentioned improve tolerance. I tell you honestly i'm not the person tolerance person...

The important thing is how about the teacher quality????? how about the ppl??? facilities good???

This post has been edited by ve@sl: Dec 31 2012, 11:06 PM
blmse92
post Jan 1 2013, 11:42 AM

603 posts

QUOTE(ve@sl @ Dec 31 2012, 09:42 PM)

Added on December 31, 2012, 9:48 pm

yea.... i agreed with you.

for tuition fee 2 years
APU = RM 42000
SUNWAY = RM 45000
SEGI = RM 26000

There is very costly............ can i know how much is the INTI fee? what course r u taking now?
If full 3 years course is about 78k-80k max.. direct year 2 will be cheaper 52k+..
i taking bachelor of commerce by university of wollongong
cnvery
post Jan 1 2013, 12:09 PM

1,831 posts

According to The UK Complete University League Table 2013 ranking http://www.thecompleteuniversityguide.co.u...tables/rankings

Lancaster (Sunway) ranked 9th in UK
Hertfordshire (INTI) ranked 47th in UK
Sunderland (Segi) ranked 89th in UK
Greenwich (Segi) ranked 102th in UK
Staffordshire (APU) ranked 108th in UK
Abertay Dundee (Segi) ranked 111th in UK
blmse92
post Jan 1 2013, 01:26 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(cnvery @ Jan 1 2013, 12:09 PM)
According to The UK Complete University League Table 2013 ranking http://www.thecompleteuniversityguide.co.u...tables/rankings

Lancaster (Sunway) ranked 9th in UK
Hertfordshire (INTI) ranked 47th in UK
Sunderland (Segi) ranked 89th in UK
Greenwich (Segi) ranked 102th in UK
Staffordshire (APU) ranked 108th in UK
Abertay Dundee (Segi) ranked 111th in UK
Thanks for the info! biggrin.gif
TSve@sl
post Jan 2 2013, 02:04 AM

51 posts

lol....... funny SEGI ranked is highest than APU..... and 1 more thing need you guys to advise

SEGI computing modules

year2

nformation Systems Development Project
Organisation and Project Management
Computer and Network Systems
Database Applications Technologies
Application & Web Development

year3
Project
Interface Design
Interaction Design
60 Credits from:

Web Engineering
IT Project & Quality Management
Information Systems Engineering
eCommerce

APU IT modules

year2
Object-Oriented Development with Java
Fundamentals of Mobile Computing
Systems Development Methods
Database & Web Database Systems
Hardware, Software Systems & Networks II
Network Security
Research Methods
E-Commerce
Creativity & Innovation
Systems Programming & Computer Control
Remote Access Networks
Mathematics & Algorithmics

year3
Investigations in Information Systems Security
Project Management
Advanced Database Systems
Entrepreneurship
Data Recovery
Computer Systems Security
Innovation Management & New Product Development
Critical Issues Managing IS in Organisations
Design of Corporate Communication Systems
Enterprising Management
Information Systems Security Project

why the course modules are so much different???? i had check other uni all modules are quiet similar to APU just SEGI modules look so different ! plz advise
honsiong
post Jan 2 2013, 07:25 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(ve@sl @ Dec 31 2012, 11:02 PM)
I knew that APU canteen is small and the food is suck but the new campus is open soon................
The point 3 u mentioned improve tolerance. I tell you honestly i'm not the person tolerance person...

The important thing is how about the teacher quality????? how about the ppl??? facilities good???
I will try to be honest la... The campus status updates are as follow:
When I visited UCTI during december '11, they claim new campus will have its phase 1 completed and opened on undefined month '13
Few weeks ago a few admin/lecturers came into our engineering class, informed us new campus phase 1 will be done and opened in the mid of '14, assumed June or so.
We cant seem to find where the new campus is, nor did they release any photos apart from "official rumors" and artists impressions you found online.

Teacher quality is OK la, but some are terrible, while some are great to an extent that they welcome you to consult them if you cant understand some parts.

Facilities? Their server burnt down few weeks ago, the labs full of burned plastics smells and they struggle to get server spin up without quick backup. You heard it, WITHOUT QUICK BACKUP. Only the core webspace is up, OK enough for us to download study materials and nothing more. As no.1 IT university they failed at backups, cloud hosting, and if you pry open their underlying web codes, they suck at programming.

People arr... Local students are hardworking and great. Foreigners in my engineering class are quite smart and awesome. But in business classes shakehead.gif I really pissed off when having comm skillz assignment with them.

IT students in my foundation batch kinda spoonfeed type, so beware, if you sibeh pro in IT they rather ask you some stupid lazy questions rather than googling around, watch out.

Tips:
- Pissed off to be group leader is fine, you get chance to learn more!
- there are some workaround with APU Wifi system, http://blog.anonoz.com/645/play-around-the...i-of-apu-apiit/
- Think of APU as a sandbox for wrongdoings and tolerance improvisation dojo, yes you will meet plenty of retards, but in working field you will bump into retards as well, sharpen your skills to deal with them. If can, choose group assignments teammates WISELY. Dont choose ur friends if they suck and cannot handle the jobs, join the best person possible. I knew a few really capable people in my batch and tried to work with them. It brings less pain even if your work sucked.

This post has been edited by honsiong: Jan 2 2013, 07:28 PM
jonjie
post Jan 3 2013, 04:43 PM

147 posts

Why not APIIT?
GagaRemix
post Jan 3 2013, 08:05 PM

305 posts

QUOTE(jonjie @ Jan 3 2013, 04:43 PM)
Why not APIIT?
APU = APIIT = UCTI
zhuhang
post Mar 27 2013, 07:32 PM

29 posts

I may take diploma in IT here, how's the environment?
What's the negative stuffs here and will they affect my studies?
zhenjian
post Dec 19 2016, 04:16 PM

can someone recommend some nice uni for IT course?

Kcdw96
post Dec 20 2016, 01:58 AM

708 posts

QUOTE(zhenjian @ Dec 19 2016, 04:16 PM)
can someone recommend some nice uni for IT course?
1. Govt unis - UM, UKM, USM, UUM, etc

2. Monash/Nottingham

The others... Idw comment as I may offend other people who're students of those institutions.

But as a rule of thumb, The class profile determines how much you learn. Ie if your peers are slow, your learning will be crap as the prof has to dumb down the lesson to accommodate these people

Some of these institutions, half of the intake come in with grades like CDD, and some come in with dubious foundation certs from private unis whose quality can't be ascertained. You be the judge of what I'm trying to say

At the end of the day, computer science programs are like any other science/engineering program. Your peers will affect how much you learn

At least for govt unis, minimum entry standard is probably around BBB

This post has been edited by Kcdw96: Dec 20 2016, 01:59 AM

0.0215sec    0.25    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 11:09 PM