[WTA]Guitar Pro and God's

TSSaberCortez
post Dec 29 2012, 11:46 PM, updated 13y ago

710 posts

1)How to use scale? I learn all that penta, minor, blues, major etc, but then I never figure out how to use them..
2)Ear training, how do i really train my ears? anybody got source?? I really practice like everyday, but sometimes I feel so disappointing coz I never get the things right?
3)How to tune a Guitar with Floyd Rose properly?
4)Where to get a whammy bar for my cort x6? Mine lost.... sadding..
butterysteeze
post Dec 30 2012, 02:22 AM

1) learn licks for each scales and be creative smile.gif

2) dont rely too much on tabs and try to figure out some simple solo's by urself.

3)loose the locks at the nut first then tune the guitar. tighten the locks back(it will slightly go out of tune a bit) and use the little knobs at the bridge to tune it back smile.gif look on youtube and u'll get the idea smile.gif

4)lol we got the same guitar. i think most of the guitar shop sells it smile.gif
+3kk!
post Dec 30 2012, 07:56 AM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(SaberCortez @ Dec 29 2012, 11:46 PM)
1)How to use scale? I learn all that penta, minor, blues, major etc, but then I never figure out how to use them..
2)Ear training, how do i really train my ears? anybody got source?? I really practice like everyday, but sometimes I feel so disappointing coz I never get the things right?
3)How to tune a Guitar with Floyd Rose properly?
4)Where to get a whammy bar for my cort x6? Mine lost.... sadding..
1. learn theory, music keys, chord progression etc....get a good teacher

2. pitch perfect hearing is hard and not many guys have it (even top musicians for that matter), go get a sifu

3. its easy, unfortunately if you are using a lower end budget guitar it might be hard as the bridge might go out of tune. you just tune your FR like any other guitar with the exception that you can use the fine tuners to tube it after locking the strings in place

4. guitar shops?
kirovdust
post Dec 30 2012, 08:26 AM

353 posts

Got guitar god here ah? Haha... tongue.gif
TSSaberCortez
post Dec 30 2012, 08:57 AM

710 posts

QUOTE(kirovdust @ Dec 30 2012, 09:26 AM)
Got guitar god here ah? Haha... tongue.gif
I know my friend is... but he play mostly rock, a bit progressive metal, but I can he play like God one.. wakakak. I dun want post his youtube video, u want,u pm me... wakakakak

Added on December 30, 2012, 8:59 am
QUOTE(butterysteeze @ Dec 30 2012, 03:22 AM)
1) learn licks for each scales and be creative smile.gif

2) dont rely too much on tabs and try to figure out some simple solo's by urself.

3)loose the locks at the nut first then tune the guitar. tighten the locks back(it will slightly go out of tune a bit) and use the little knobs at the bridge to tune it back smile.gif look on youtube and u'll get the idea smile.gif

4)lol we got the same guitar. i think most of the guitar shop sells it smile.gif
Thx mate...
I still I get a book and start learning the licks..
QUOTE(+3kk! @ Dec 30 2012, 08:56 AM)
1. learn theory, music keys, chord progression etc....get a good teacher

2. pitch perfect hearing is hard and not many guys have it (even top musicians for that matter), go get a sifu

3. its easy, unfortunately if you are using a lower end budget guitar it might be hard as the bridge might go out of tune. you just tune your FR like any other guitar with the exception that you can use the fine tuners to tube it after locking the strings in place

4. guitar shops?
Ermmm, guitar teacher so expensive... Friend who is guitar teacher wanna charge me rm2XX /month... sad.gif , student where got that kind of money...

This post has been edited by SaberCortez: Dec 30 2012, 08:59 AM
Axel95
post Dec 30 2012, 09:41 AM

KEEP ROCKING!
1,284 posts

How to tune a floydrose? Easy. First u tune the low E, followed by A, then go back to E. If E is still E, go to D. After tuning D, go back to E. If E needs tunings, tune it and restart the whole process. remember to always make strings 3,4,5,6 higher by a bit. Floydrose tremolo goes by the concept of balance. the strings holds the bridge in place. The bridge is "floating" hence the term "floating tremolo". Once u got used in that, It will take you about 3minutes or less to tune it after restringing.

Added on December 30, 2012, 9:43 amHow to use scale? Figure out the scale adapted by the guitarist in songs and study it. Study the mood it gives out, which key suits with scales and how well it combines with other scales of the same or different key

This post has been edited by Axel95: Dec 30 2012, 09:43 AM
+3kk!
post Dec 30 2012, 11:08 AM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(SaberCortez @ Dec 30 2012, 08:57 AM)
I know my friend is... but he play mostly rock, a bit progressive metal, but I can he play like God one.. wakakak. I dun want post his youtube video, u want,u pm me... wakakakak

Added on December 30, 2012, 8:59 am

Thx mate...
I still I get a book and start learning the licks..

Ermmm, guitar teacher so expensive... Friend who is guitar teacher wanna charge me rm2XX /month... sad.gif , student where got that kind of money...
guitar teachers dont cost that much, yamaha itself only charges RM150 blanket. however they like your friend might not teach those stuff, and spend time teaching licks, in which why not you just go yamaha get a guitar class in classical and start from scratch.

if you dont mind me asking where you stay?

TSSaberCortez
post Dec 30 2012, 01:43 PM

710 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Dec 30 2012, 12:08 PM)
guitar teachers dont cost that much, yamaha itself only charges RM150 blanket. however they like your friend might not teach those stuff, and spend time teaching licks, in which why not you just go yamaha get a guitar class in classical and start from scratch.

if you dont mind me asking where you stay?
Seri Kembangan.. huhu
+3kk!
post Dec 30 2012, 02:55 PM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(SaberCortez @ Dec 30 2012, 01:43 PM)
Seri Kembangan.. huhu
there is a yamaha shop near your place, if you fancy you can also head down to chambers bukit bintang to have our lessons, last time i checked they were quite budget friendly. approx 150

unfortunately i dont travel that area often as i used to, (used to frequent batu 11 very often) which could allow me to give you some personal tips and tricks over the weekends.

in all honesty tho, not many teachers teach what you are asking, most will just say play in "da key" or use "da scale" and focus on the licks, the only teachers that i know do teach them are jaya and az which unfortunately cost quite a lot and the former doesnt teach anymore. (i dont even know where he is now)

i can give you some insight on how it works

scales are just notes arranged in a manner that suits the "key", as it is it means nothing, to use a scale you need to know the key of a song, lets use a very simple example "knocking on heavens door - GnR"

due to the first chord, the key of the song is in G and if you look at the chords G, D ,C, AM , so you can use a G major scale ( we know the song is in G major because the first chord is a G major, if its in minor the "root' chord needs to be in a minor.

before we go ahead, here is the first thing you need to learn

i) Keys

keys to me in its basic construct is what scale the song is in, if the song is in G maj then you can expect the notes of the G maj scale to appear in the song.of which it goes like this

i - ii -iii -iv- v- vi- v
G- A- B- C- D -E- F#

you notice i put numbers on the song? well there are special names for those, (its called degrees) but to not complicate things lets just go by numbers. but you will notice that this is just a scale, the song is with a progression of

i - v - iv

there after

i - v- ii

now youd be wondering what the heck im talking about, we call this chord progression. based on the first example of G major scale, and teh key we notice that if we were to use the scale and turn into chords the chords used in the scale are as follows

i - ii- iii- iv - v - vi - v
G -Am - Bm - C- D - E - (F#) , now if you note that i bracket (F#)? thats because the traditional F# is a lead note, so we cant put a major or minor chord to this note. (not to me knowledge at least.)

so now we have what makes the key and the progression, which comes to the ssecond thing you need to learn,

ii) chord progression.

If you are to use a G maj on this progression it will sound rather happy (i wnot go into modes) but lets just stick to that for now

why are keys and chord progressions important? well heres the thing

i) keys tell you which scale to play, to play in major or minor, if you dont know the key and play a D maj over a C maj, youd sound liek crap.

ii) chord progressions tell you the chord choice of the song, notes sound different with C behind than G behind. try this out, play an e with your friend playing a G chord, then play a e with your friend playing a C chord, sounds different? thats the idea.

so to use a scale, you must understand the "key" & "the progression" as this sets the base of your scale application.

so before i confuse you even more, i shall stop here as i think there are a lot of thinks to crack your head with, but this is the basic, we have not looked into rhythm, modes, chord/ apprgio utilization, voicing and intonation yet.

its a long road to learn how to solo, but welcome to the journey. smile.gif

This post has been edited by +3kk!: Dec 30 2012, 02:59 PM
TSSaberCortez
post Dec 30 2012, 02:58 PM

710 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Dec 30 2012, 03:55 PM)
there is a yamaha shop near your place, if you fancy you can also head down to chambers bukit bintang to have our lessons, last time i checked they were quite budget friendly. approx 150

unfortunately i dont travel that area often as i used to, (used to frequent batu 11 very often) which could allow me to give you some personal tips and tricks over the weekends.

in all honesty tho, not many teachers teach what you are asking, most will just say play in "da key" or use "da scale" and focus on the licks, the only teachers that i know do teach them are jaya and az which unfortunately cost quite a lot and the former doesnt teach anymore. (i dont even know where he is now)
i can give you some insight on how it works
scales are just notes arranged in a manner that suits the "key", as it is it means nothing, to use a scale you need to know the key of a song, lets use a very simple example "knocking on heavens door - GnR"

due to the first chord, the key of the song is in G and if you look at the chords G, D ,C, AM , so you can use a G major scale ( we know the song is in G major because the first chord is a G major, if its in minor the "root' chord needs to be in a minor.

before we go ahead, here is the first thing you need to learn

i) Keys

keys to me in its basic construct is what scale the song is in, if the song is in G maj then you can expect the notes of the G maj scale to appear in the song.of which it goes like this

i - ii -iii -iv- v- vi- v
G- A- B- C- D -E- F#

you notice i put numbers on the song? well there are special names for those, (its called degrees) but to not complicate things lets just go by numbers. but you will notice that this is just a scale, the song is with a progression of

i - v - iv

there after

i - v- ii

now youd be wondering what the heck im talking about, we call this chord progression. based on the first example of G major scale, and teh key we notice that if we were to use the scale and turn into chords the chords used in the scale are as follows

i -  ii-    iii-    iv - v - vi - v
G -Am - Bm - C- D - E - (F#) , now if you note that i bracket (F#)? thats because the traditional F# is a lead note, so we cant put a major or minor chord to this note. (not to me knowledge at least.)

so now we have what makes the key and the progression, which comes to the ssecond thing you need to learn,

ii) chord progression.

If you are to use a G maj on this progression it will sound rather happy (i wnot go into modes) but lets just stick to that for now

why are keys and chord progressions important? well heres the thing

i) keys tell you which scale to play, to play in major or minor, if you dont know the key and play a D maj over a C maj, youd sound liek crap.

ii) chord progressions tell you the chord choice of the song, notes sound different with C behind than G behind. try this out, play an e with your friend playing a G chord, then play a E with your friend playing a C chord, sounds different? thats the idea.

so to use a scale, you must understand the "key" & "the progression" as this sets the base of your scale application.

so before i confuse you even more, i shall stop here as i think there are a lot of thinks to crack your head with, but this is the basic, we have not looked into rhythm, modes, chord/ apprgio utilization, voicing and intonation yet.

its a long road to learn how to solo, but welcome to the journey.  smile.gif
Woah man, thank a lot..... ermmm, maybe I head down to that yamaha store and ask their price... but I dun think it is possible for them to skip the first 2 lesson or so... but thx man, I will practice this... and google more.. biggrin.gif
pleasuresaurus
post Dec 31 2012, 01:17 PM

spin spin sugar
2,586 posts

+3kk! bro, we really need to collect all these basics lessons you post and make another sticky la. Banyak info, rugi if it gets lost in subthread limbo.
+3kk!
post Dec 31 2012, 11:25 PM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Dec 31 2012, 01:17 PM)
+3kk! bro, we really need to collect all these basics lessons you post and make another sticky la. Banyak info, rugi if it gets lost in subthread limbo.
speaking of which i should create a thread on what was posted here to share the fun lol
Everdying
post Dec 31 2012, 11:44 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

QUOTE(Axel95 @ Dec 30 2012, 09:41 AM)
How to tune a floydrose? Easy. First u tune the low E, followed by A, then go back to E. If E is still E, go to D. After tuning D, go back to E. If E needs tunings, tune it and restart the whole process. remember to always make strings 3,4,5,6 higher by a bit. Floydrose tremolo goes by the concept of balance. the strings holds the bridge in place. The bridge is "floating" hence the term "floating tremolo". Once u got used in that, It will take you about 3minutes or less to tune it after restringing.
tuning it that way will take forever.
faster way is to use a block to uhh block the trem...or just install a tremol-no tongue.gif

and i would really really really like to see u tune it up in 3 mins or less using ur method...
the 3mins or less should include stretching all the strings, until they are stable biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Everdying: Dec 31 2012, 11:49 PM
TSSaberCortez
post Jan 1 2013, 01:26 AM

710 posts

QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Dec 31 2012, 02:17 PM)
nod.gif nod.gif nod.gif

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Jan 1 2013, 12:25 AM)
speaking of which i should create a thread on what was posted here to share the fun lol
rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
QUOTE(Everdying @ Jan 1 2013, 12:44 AM)
faster way is to use a block to uhh block the trem...or just install a tremol-no tongue.gif

and i would really really really like to see u tune it up in 3 mins or less using ur method...
the 3mins or less should include stretching all the strings, until they are stable biggrin.gif
What is that??? now I need google and buy another thing?? money gone to buy guitar stand liao..
Axel95
post Jan 1 2013, 03:36 AM

KEEP ROCKING!
1,284 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Dec 31 2012, 11:44 PM)

I mentioned retuning. as in after installing the strings. tuning and stretching em. okay. maybe i exaggerated a bit. give it 5-10 mins tongue.gif

Tremol-no and blocking the trem would just kill off the joy of a floydrose trem
Everdying
post Jan 1 2013, 10:42 AM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(Axel95 @ Jan 1 2013, 03:36 AM)
I mentioned retuning. as in after installing the strings. tuning and stretching em. okay. maybe i exaggerated a bit. give it 5-10 mins tongue.gif

Tremol-no and blocking the trem would just kill off the joy of a floydrose trem
lol ok.
ok, forget tremol-no, but just a block...it will speed up the restringing process.
rather than the way ur tuning which is what most techs will not do...
floating trem...sure floating...but retuning / restringing when its blocked, ie. fixed bridge makes it much easier.
pleasuresaurus
post Jan 2 2013, 01:24 PM

spin spin sugar
2,586 posts

Man, I just say no to floyd rose trems, senang hidup biggrin.gif
Everdying
post Jan 2 2013, 01:28 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Jan 2 2013, 01:24 PM)
floyd rose is like that hot chick u always dreamt off...but u married something more stable like your fixed bridges.
but when u want to have fun, you know where to look to biggrin.gif

regiuseven
post Jan 2 2013, 01:55 PM

/k/ & /mu/
1,533 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jan 2 2013, 01:28 PM)
floyd rose is like that hot chick u always dreamt off...but u married something more stable like your fixed bridges.
but when u want to have fun, you know where to look to biggrin.gif
Nice one lah. But what kind of bridge would it be - married but still looking at other hotties brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
isaacmiranda7
post Jan 2 2013, 02:16 PM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Jan 2 2013, 01:24 PM)
HAHAHA I agree. wink.gif

I had a Floyd on my Jackson. It's like that annoying hot girl that is nice to look at, nice to play, but very high demands.

Now, gone to Wilkinson. You still get the fun, but she's more reasonable, more stable, and not whiny. wink.gif HAHAHA.

0.0223sec    0.67    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 04:28 AM