Lug Nut and/or Lock Nut?, Necessary?

TSkyin82
post Dec 28 2012, 07:20 PM, updated 13y ago

Hey Guys,

Just bought a new set of RIMs, few questions about the Nuts;

1) How much is normally for a set of Lug/Lock Nuts?
2) Reliability? as i heard there is a lot of Nuts will break after some time
3) There is a ID for the Lug nuts for that special key adaptor replacement? rclxub.gif
4) Do you guys bought any Lock Nuts for your pretty RIMs? hmm.gif

Thanks in advance & cheers thumbup.gif
Zaypher
post Dec 29 2012, 12:38 AM

297 posts

Hm...some lock nut comes with a box of 4 lock nuts. That means, each rims will have one special lock nut.

I am using one. Got once I sent my car to a workshop and forgotten to bring the lock nut key...the thing is, the lock nut can still be removed easily.

Avoid those cheapo lug nuts..
TSkyin82
post Dec 29 2012, 09:23 AM

QUOTE(Zaypher @ Dec 29 2012, 12:38 AM)
Hm...some lock nut comes with a box of 4 lock nuts. That means, each rims will have one special lock nut.

I am using one. Got once I sent my car to a workshop and forgotten to bring the lock nut key...the thing is, the lock nut can still be removed easily.

Avoid those cheapo lug nuts..
Hmm hmm.gif .. But lock nut will at least make the thief take more time to remove it, right? So far most of those youtube video shows u have to bang the normal nut in to remove it...
alexng2208
post Dec 29 2012, 05:50 PM

Why my warn is 0%? i miss my high warn
4,789 posts

if u get a proper one, then it wouldn't be easy to steal your rims.

if you get those cheaper ones then normal adaptors can easily remove it, no issue at all
drewn123
post Dec 31 2012, 03:01 AM

101 posts

QUOTE(kyin82 @ Dec 28 2012, 07:20 PM)
Hey Guys,

Just bought a new set of RIMs, few questions about the Nuts;

1) How much is normally for a set of Lug/Lock Nuts?
2) Reliability? as i heard there is a lot of Nuts will break after some time
3) There is a ID for the Lug nuts for that special key adaptor replacement?  rclxub.gif
4) Do you guys bought any Lock Nuts for your pretty RIMs?  hmm.gif

Thanks in advance & cheers  thumbup.gif
1. Can go from as low as $50 to as high as $800. Difference is quality or branding. Some being sold as in a set of 20 incl 4 locknuts, some sell in a set of 4pcs (expensive 1).

2. Reliability dun come cheap.... lower quality nuts dun have the toughness hence easily deformed if open using air-gun. Even if you invest in expensive rays nut ($600), the colour will also scratched/fade after being loosen/tighten BUT last longer la. REPLICA dun even last 1-2 tightening/loosening.

3. Some high quality Locknuts have special pattern which unique. Lower quality locknuts, anyone also have lo.

4. Up to you. You wanna have more peace of mind, better put lo. But it won't guarantee you that your rims won't be stolen either.

My tips, just spend in your means for the lugnuts - locknuts combo. J's Racing nuts goes for RM120-150 for a sets of 4pcs.... mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif
Zaypher
post Jan 1 2013, 03:03 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(kyin82 @ Dec 29 2012, 09:23 AM)
Hmm  hmm.gif .. But lock nut will at least make the thief take more time to remove it, right? So far most of  those youtube video shows u have to bang the normal nut in to remove it...
yea, it's sort of like a deterrence factor.
adlirazali
post Feb 8 2013, 11:58 PM

127 posts

hi anyone knows anything about locking bolt? looking for bolts for mercedes, or are them bolts fit for any car make?
Karenalvin
post Feb 9 2013, 04:18 AM

247 posts

no... bolts are more troublesome. you have to get the right length.

different cars have different thread width too. best you check with mercedes or online for details
cx2531
post Feb 11 2013, 12:03 AM

568 posts

aiya easy case. but cheap locknut, buy 4 set. each tyre different. confirm those ppl want to steal / thieve, sure get lose
drewn123
post Feb 11 2013, 03:48 AM

101 posts

QUOTE(cx2531 @ Feb 11 2013, 12:03 AM)
aiya easy case. but cheap locknut, buy 4 set. each tyre different. confirm those ppl want to steal / thieve, sure get lose
just becareful not to lose your 4 lugnuts keys..... tongue.gif tongue.gif
cx2531
post Feb 12 2013, 12:32 AM

568 posts

QUOTE(drewn123 @ Feb 11 2013, 03:48 AM)
just becareful not to lose your 4 lugnuts keys..... tongue.gif  tongue.gif
haha. hide 1 in boot, the underseat, then engine and 1 more at passenger seat smile.gif
drewn123
post Feb 12 2013, 08:53 PM

101 posts

I mean be careful not to misplace it yourself... hahaha

0.0257sec    0.58    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:02 AM