v8.0 The OFFICIAL 3G/5G Honda City 2011 thread, The new City, where to next?

MoNnY
post Apr 17 2013, 06:05 PM

Ooooo... Now I know how to change this
4,423 posts

QUOTE(xin @ Apr 17 2013, 04:35 PM)
ya its a 205 but that is not my ride, i pluck it from other owners. For me, never hit the fender before but i heard that if replaced to aftermarket 16" rims then it would hit the fender cuz the offset.

FC is about the same only previously i get about 400-450km per tank, after changed i get 380-440km per tanks also ...
Xin, I know who's silver city is that. If i'm thinking of the same owner, he no longer has it. haha.
Btw, I'm running on Yokohama A Drive R1. no issues.

Vuilun, two possibilities.
1) surface rust/wet brakes. usually after wash car or in the mornings. sound or surface rust will go away after some light stopping at a junction or two. usually no issues.
2) your brake discs are warped. This happens when the brake pad material sticks to the brake discs especially after hard braking and not letting them cool down before you park your car. So it causes the brake disc surface to be uneven. The cause of this is actually Honda OEM brake pads. If you wanna solve this problem, change new aftermarket pads and discs at the same time. Usually you can bring your own pads to SC and they will help u install. Or, install new discs at SC, and bring your car to workshop to change pads.

FYI SC procedure is to skim twice before allowing u to claim warranty. If you close to your SA, ask him straight help u claim warranty and change brake pads also.

My car had the same problem. without fail it will occur cause the temperature rating on the OEM pads are crap. So i resolved the whole matter by swapping out the OEM discs and pads. Replaced them with Brembo Max discs, and project U bestop pads. Total damage around RM700. But from that day till now, no issues at all. But I have this habit when I park my car, especially after driving fast, to touch my rims before i walk away so i know how hot my brakes are. usually it's warm to touch as in i can hold my finger there for a while.
MoNnY
post Apr 17 2013, 06:27 PM

4,423 posts

If it is the same car I'm guessing then yes. There were a few of us using this tyre.
MoNnY
post Apr 17 2013, 09:22 PM

4,423 posts

QUOTE(aarex @ Apr 17 2013, 08:34 PM)
Thx for the feedback bro.
But I asked 2 tyre shop, both of them also told me that cannot use 205/50/R16 tyre. Will hit the fender when turn. Said 205/45/R16 tyre ok but 45 profile too thin edi la.  hmm.gif blur ...
Bro, i guarantee u, will not hit fender. even fully loaded balik kampung, 5 people in the car on highway, rear fender also won't kena.
45 series will be too thin. speedo will be under.

MoNnY
post Apr 18 2013, 12:59 AM

4,423 posts

QUOTE(aarex @ Apr 18 2013, 12:03 AM)
Really? That's great man.  rclxm9.gif
Thx for the info bro.  notworthy.gif
So far, drove to SG a few times with 5 people in the car. ok la. cause overall, it's almost stock. If you change rim and put 205 then it will depend on the offset. if you still use +45 shouldn't hit. maybe +43 and below might.

Skylinegtr34
bro, if rusted, means damn deep. I know honda clear coat is thin. Depending how bad, might be able to touch up. I think some stockist sell the touch up paint. but, it won't look good to the finish. plus, not to scare u, but the rust can spread if untreated. depending on how the scratch is.
MoNnY
post Apr 19 2013, 01:26 PM

4,423 posts

QUOTE(aarex @ Apr 18 2013, 12:09 PM)
Haha... A drive R1 also not bad ma. How much u change urs? 195/50 rite? NVH on c drive 2? haha.. Will let u knw after i change ...
one radio louder only la. lol
MoNnY
post Apr 20 2013, 03:27 PM

4,423 posts

depends le. sometimes u suay get wrong batch, sometimes the fella dunno how to install correctly (touch the glass with his fingers)

I'm on philips crystalvision. one bulb fused once. so had to buy another set. about RM180.
Change my fogs to the same lights, RM190-210. see nego skills. haha

Good thing about philips, come with matching T10s.
MoNnY
post Apr 24 2013, 12:44 AM

4,423 posts

QUOTE(mytaffeta @ Apr 22 2013, 05:20 PM)
bro, what is the size of NHC fog lamp? is it difficult to DIY? headlamp is easy one..  biggrin.gif
another thing, do you adjust the headlamp height? im on crystal vision too, somehow i feel the projection is too low..

thinking of adding double din to my city la, can someone suggest me a brand, at least same quality with stock HU.. 1.5k with GPS, possible?  hmm.gif
H11. Yes a bit, cause need to remove the front banana leaf. lol
i was doing some stuff to my car, and my bumper was already removed. so i just added the fog lamp.
I find the projection ok. very good if on dark roads la. normal lit roads can't really see the beam.

1.5k a bit hard. 2k maybe can. Caska lor
MoNnY
post Apr 30 2013, 02:48 PM

4,423 posts

QUOTE(rambelpad @ Apr 28 2013, 11:22 AM)
hi guys, i own a S-grade 2012 facelift honda city.

no fog light installed. can i just install at accessories shop. this will void my warranty?

i want to pu some modulo skirting, u guys where in penang give affordable price?

You can, but I wouldn't advise you to.
#1, you'll need the fog lights to begin with. Original honda part for that not cheap. Last i remember, almost 1k
#2, you need the bumper with the cut out.
#3, wiring harness
#4, you'll need the switch. For old City and Jazz no problem cause fog light switch used to be on the dashboard panel the 3 empty switch holes there. for new city/jazz, it's on the lights/indicator stalk.

So unless you are willing to spend this much on getting foglights and with proper installation, it's just not worth it. Personally, i wouldn't waste my time and money with those shops that just cut out a space and put on any button at the dashboard switch board.

And also, original foglight shines to the corners. it doesn't shine straight. you wouldn't miss it. better u invest in DRL than to retrofit fog lamps.

Btw, I think i owe someone some pictures of my NHC with crystalvision on both lowbeam and fogs right? hHAHA
post later tonight. tomorrow labour day. got more time on my hands tonight.
MoNnY
post Apr 30 2013, 03:09 PM

4,423 posts

QUOTE(earl-ku @ Apr 27 2013, 11:10 PM)
just did my 60k service which includes flushing the ATF ... includes 9L of ATF which they say is that much as they use a machinese to flush, but of the 9 only 4 will go into the gear box ...

is the flushing really necessary? as 9L x 33 per L, thats 270+ just the ATF and another RM55 ATF flush service

service for 60k is about 650+ and this is without the air filter change as i am changing to k&n ...
forgot where i heard, but it's not good to flush your transmission.
a simple drain, and refill will do. when u drain the ATF, whatever loose bits of metal will follow it. now, imagine after draining, you flush the transmission. whatever sediments leftover, will just be washed around the entire transmission.
unless you really have a transmission problem, tell them don't need to flush. just drain and replace the ATF will do.
same goes for the engine flush nonsense. You have a oil filter and u change oil regularly for a reason. there should be no need to flush an engine.

Service center gimmick to make more money from u. they can say longer labour, and use more ATF. labour itself you should know the SC don't charge cheap. imagine they plug that machine for 30 mins, they will charge u. and is the guy even there working on your car? no. just the machine running.
MoNnY
post May 2 2013, 04:33 PM

4,423 posts

anyone running on eibach prokit springs?
I don't want to put on a GAB SS or any other fully adjustables cause i don't see myself using it much. will set at one setting then never touch again.

Considering Eibach but then when absorber kong, headache dunno which to get also. lol. my car already 3 years anniversary. can do whatever i want with it now
MoNnY
post May 9 2013, 10:31 PM

4,423 posts

I had two sounds from behind.
one was third brake light, the other was the whole rear board.
no solution yet.
MoNnY
post May 15 2013, 01:34 PM

4,423 posts

QUOTE(earl-ku @ May 15 2013, 08:35 AM)
Anyone wanna install po-40

Feel like getting it done.. is there anywhere besides ht-auto selling it?

Price wise?
just go HT. haha.
MoNnY
post May 15 2013, 01:57 PM

4,423 posts

i think she up-ed the price a bit. i think got RM350. cause after shreddy did it, apparently the work was more than expected cause of the actuator placement. if not right, it won't release the lock. and also wiring.

give karen a call lo. then while waiting for your car, ask her belanja u teh o ais.
MoNnY
post May 16 2013, 09:59 AM

4,423 posts

QUOTE(earl-ku @ May 15 2013, 11:38 PM)
my keyhole already sealed first day got the car .. hence this is a good mod for me ... just kedekut with the 350 only hahaha
oh i kena before. attempted break in.
and HM charge too much so I just sealed it with number plate.
so now to open boot, a bit troublesome la. HAHA. sometimes i think about this po-40, maybe a good thing also. but between me walking to my driver door and pulling a handle and RM350, i think twice again. haha.
MoNnY
post May 16 2013, 10:02 AM

4,423 posts

QUOTE(SheepMekk @ May 16 2013, 05:18 AM)
My car starting to show some problems

There's a disturbing sound coming from the front of the car when it's in 3rd gear, under 2k rpm and below 50km/h  sad.gif

I'm guessing it's the gearbox, but my father say if it's the gearbox it'll give me gear slips which there is none.
dude, be more specific la. every car also got sound la like that.
are you driving S or E spec?
if E spec, try replicate this by putting in S, and manual shift to 3rd gear.

the key thing is are you able to replicate this issue every single time on the same conditions so you can shoot your SA with proof.
if not, Honda's brilliant SA will just tell u checked but no fault.
MoNnY
post May 16 2013, 11:07 AM

4,423 posts

one shot go HT, seal it with carbon fiber plate and do Po-40 la. haha
ask for discount

think that time honda charge 280 for replacement together with keys.
HT charge me 70 for new number plates front and back. HAHA. soooo. yea i sealed it instead of fixing the hole

This post has been edited by MoNnY: May 16 2013, 11:08 AM
MoNnY
post May 17 2013, 03:41 PM

4,423 posts

QUOTE(BIGTHINK @ May 17 2013, 11:01 AM)
I just done my 5k service and i realize they add another 3 month for next service from the date i bought this car.I just drive in town only seldom go outstation.So when my next service for 10k,my mileage maybe just 8k++.And if every month my mileage havent reached but my date come 1st then for 50k service my mileage will be at 40k.

Is this true they follow the date of purchased and not from the date i changed engine oil???

WBR
wrong liao then. dunno which funny technician write for u.
go and scold them.
Service interval is always 5k or 3 months whichever come first.
In your case, the 3 months will come before each 5k. nothing wrong.

The 3 months is actually their SOP for mineral oil. if you're on semi synth, it should go further than that.
MoNnY
post May 18 2013, 01:50 AM

4,423 posts

QUOTE(BIGTHINK @ May 17 2013, 09:53 PM)
So u mean i just follow my mileage and dont bother the date ? This is my 1st change for engine oil,i try fully syn c got better FC or not.

BTW wat is SOP ?  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

WBR
whichever first bro. if at 3 months your car is 4k milleage but already 3 months, then follow the timing not milleage.

as for your first service, it should be 3 months or +5k at the date of service. not when u bought the car.

and IMHO, honda's full synth not worth it. If you want balance between performance and FC and must use honda oil for warranty purpose, their semi synth is good enough.
MoNnY
post May 19 2013, 02:18 AM

4,423 posts

QUOTE(mytaffeta @ May 19 2013, 01:47 AM)
their full syn is just a joke, bttr stick with semi-syn.. it will make your car lazy to accelerate and no change in FC..
exactly. which is why i would recommend the semi synth. the mineral and fully synth not worth it
MoNnY
post May 20 2013, 11:17 AM

4,423 posts

QUOTE(andyfriends @ May 20 2013, 10:38 AM)
what brand of fog lights do u all use. how much, and where to get? thanks
Philips Crystalvision. H11 bulb. RM190-220 depending where u go.
I got mine from HT Auto in PJ.

btw, my headlights and fog matches. thumbup.gif

0.0454sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 10:17 PM