Comfused sound system setup, Hope sifus help!

TSInnKeong
post Dec 28 2012, 03:08 AM, updated 13y ago

18 posts

Hello all sifus, currently Im new in ICE and I just went for a Focal 100 KRS and a Focal Ibus 2.1 sub.. Im currently using the Ibus to channel the power to my front speaker which is 55w.. Considering to add a good amp since the shop people told me my focal speaker can support up to 100w and 55w is not sufficient for it to perform nicely. After that I heard from other people that 55w is sufficient and wont make much different compare to an 100w amp. Im comfused right now as I wanted to change rear speaker too and shop people intro to change head unit too as it can make big differences in the music as for the 24bit and alot more clearer music when played, they proposed clarion multimedia head unit.. Im thinking if Im changing head unit and the amp really make no much differences i might as well use the head unit built in amp 50w for my rear and nonid for an additional amp cause it cost a bomb too! lol.. Feel wasted if I put another amp since the underseat sub got build in 2 channel 55w and the head unit 50w x 4.. For sifus info im driving myvi 1.5 SE.. How should I do? rclxub.gif Btw, they intro rainbow Ipaul amp or Infinity dont know what model forgot dy lol..
MikeX
post Dec 28 2012, 08:33 AM

354 posts

The rear speaker part can just leave it for the time being... I recon you should change the HU first to have a better output in sound before you add another amp. smile.gif

After HU, then maybe you can consider adding amp of which a monoblock should work nice for the sub. With the new monoblock, your current amp can fully utilised for the focal component set.

TSInnKeong
post Dec 28 2012, 02:37 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(MikeX @ Dec 28 2012, 08:33 AM)
The rear speaker part can just leave it for the time being... I recon you should change the HU first to have a better output in sound before you add another amp. smile.gif

After HU, then maybe you can consider adding amp of which a monoblock should work nice for the sub. With the new monoblock, your current amp can fully utilised for the focal component set.
Oh Thanks for replying! So, Headunit do make huge differences for the sound output? It costs a bomb for the latest clarion.. almost reaching 3k.. Btw, Using the head unit build in amp for the time being? 50w for the rear? or all speaker use the head unit amp first cause it has got 4 channel?
munak991
post Dec 28 2012, 02:52 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

Change HU 1st,
really make a different.

Amp... later..
ezmeer94
post Dec 28 2012, 03:08 PM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(munak991 @ Dec 28 2012, 02:52 PM)
Change HU 1st,
really make a different.

Amp... later..
This.
And munak change sub first not add more hehe laugh.gif laugh.gif
Because u have a focal krx2 don't ruin the sound quality cry.gif
munak991
post Dec 28 2012, 03:10 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(ezmeer94 @ Dec 28 2012, 03:08 PM)
This.
And munak change sub first not add more hehe laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Because u have a focal krx2 don't ruin the sound quality  cry.gif
1 W6 right?
garykam
post Dec 28 2012, 03:12 PM

145 posts

W7 la biggrin.gif
ezmeer94
post Dec 28 2012, 03:22 PM

1,121 posts

Yea munak if u bass head just get a w7
But w6 should be enuff lolz
MyWifeCar
post Dec 28 2012, 05:19 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(ezmeer94 @ Dec 28 2012, 03:22 PM)
Yea munak if u bass head just get a w7
But w6 should be enuff lolz
munak should get w7, then make you jealous.

To TS, changing HU does produce different output... But your 3K sound like you are going for double-din?
ezmeer94
post Dec 28 2012, 05:32 PM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Dec 28 2012, 05:19 PM)

To TS, changing HU does produce different output... But your 3K sound like you are going for double-din?
I would not be jealous hehe
Because I'm not that much of a bass lover hehe
I just like the bass to be there Lolz
But munak really should get a w7
Btw ts changing hu will get u better sound biggrin.gif
Btw 3k should be clarion hxd2??? smile.gif

This post has been edited by ezmeer94: Dec 28 2012, 05:33 PM
MyWifeCar
post Dec 28 2012, 05:54 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(ezmeer94 @ Dec 28 2012, 05:32 PM)
Please don't be sarcastic. TS is aiming for nice double din with GPS feature.
ezmeer94
post Dec 28 2012, 05:59 PM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Dec 28 2012, 05:54 PM)
Please don't be sarcastic. TS is aiming for nice double din with GPS feature.
Then get a pioneer 8450bt hehe wink.gif
TSInnKeong
post Dec 28 2012, 08:59 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Dec 28 2012, 05:19 PM)

They intro me latest Clarion NX502A.. which looks gooding but expensive.. lol~ brows.gif 3K include installation, the myvi head unit frame and a china reverse camera..

Added on December 28, 2012, 9:01 pm
QUOTE(ezmeer94 @ Dec 28 2012, 05:32 PM)
They intro me latest Clarion NX502A.. which looks gooding but expensive.. lol~ brows.gif 3K include installation, the myvi head unit frame and a china reverse camera.. Any idea gooding onot this HU? notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by InnKeong: Dec 28 2012, 09:01 PM
MikeX
post Jan 2 2013, 01:56 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(InnKeong @ Dec 28 2012, 02:37 PM)
Oh Thanks for replying! So, Headunit do make huge differences for the sound output? It costs a bomb for the latest clarion.. almost reaching 3k.. Btw, Using the head unit build in amp for the time being? 50w for the rear? or all speaker use the head unit amp first cause it has got 4 channel?
If you got RM3k budget for HU, i would recommend u go for Pionner P80RS (less than RM2k) or Pioneer P99RS model lor. One time change and no need change in future again. smile.gif

Added on January 2, 2013, 1:58 pmIf you are into SQ setup, no point getting a 2-din unit as the sound is not as good as 1-din player.

This post has been edited by MikeX: Jan 2 2013, 01:58 PM
howiechoo
post Jan 2 2013, 05:46 PM

Sincerely providing good music since 2004
1,919 posts

QUOTE(InnKeong @ Dec 28 2012, 03:08 AM)
Hello all sifus, currently Im new in ICE and I just went for a Focal 100 KRS and a Focal Ibus 2.1 sub.. Im currently using the Ibus to channel the power to my front speaker which is 55w.. Considering to add a good amp since the shop people told me my focal speaker can support up to 100w and 55w is not sufficient for it to perform nicely. After that I heard from other people that 55w is sufficient and wont make much different compare to an 100w amp. Im comfused right now as I wanted to change rear speaker too and shop people intro to change head unit too as it can make big differences in the music as for the 24bit and alot more clearer music when played, they proposed clarion multimedia head unit.. Im thinking if Im changing head unit and the amp really make no much differences i might as well use the head unit built in amp 50w for my rear and nonid for an additional amp cause it cost a bomb too! lol.. Feel wasted if I put another amp since the underseat sub got build in 2 channel 55w and the head unit 50w x 4.. For sifus info im driving myvi 1.5 SE.. How should I do?  rclxub.gif  Btw, they intro rainbow Ipaul amp or Infinity dont know what model forgot dy lol..
if u got a budget of 3k, get a headunit. a dvd unit will have same quality as a single din normal unit...or slightly better.

for 3k, u should consider my pioneer 8450 offer. it offer you the best sound and features in it's class.

Howie's pioneer offer
ezmeer94
post Jan 2 2013, 07:30 PM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(howiechoo @ Jan 2 2013, 05:46 PM)
if u got a budget of 3k, get a headunit. a dvd unit will have same quality as a single din normal unit...or slightly better.

for 3k, u should consider my pioneer 8450 offer. it offer you the best sound and features in it's class.

Howie's pioneer offer
Yes it's very good
U can even have time alignment
I just found out just now when stuck in traffic jam tongue.gif
garykam
post Jan 2 2013, 07:54 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(ezmeer94 @ Jan 2 2013, 07:30 PM)
Yes it's very good
U can even have time alignment
I just found out just now when stuck in traffic jam tongue.gif
hmm.gif relli arr? I thought must run active to get the TA effect? Or add the small gadget howie sell 1 laugh.gif
ezmeer94
post Jan 2 2013, 08:10 PM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(garykam @ Jan 2 2013, 07:54 PM)
hmm.gif  relli arr? I thought must run active to get the TA effect? Or add the small gadget howie sell 1  laugh.gif
I just discovered pioneer have this Sonic Centre Control it's basically a cheapo version of TA tongue.gif
Still do the job of improving my sound hehe tongue.gif
howiechoo
post Jan 2 2013, 08:30 PM

1,919 posts

yes it's the trick from pioneer to give u TA feel, but if u tested the real TA, u will disable the SCC at all time smile.gif

Added on January 2, 2013, 8:31 pmfor oem system it wont work, on most stock car...u need at least a component change with proper install and correct tweeter placement to works too.....

This post has been edited by howiechoo: Jan 2 2013, 08:31 PM
6UE5T
post Jan 2 2013, 08:38 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(InnKeong @ Dec 28 2012, 03:08 AM)
Hello all sifus, currently Im new in ICE and I just went for a Focal 100 KRS and a Focal Ibus 2.1 sub.. Im currently using the Ibus to channel the power to my front speaker which is 55w.. Considering to add a good amp since the shop people told me my focal speaker can support up to 100w and 55w is not sufficient for it to perform nicely. After that I heard from other people that 55w is sufficient and wont make much different compare to an 100w amp. Im comfused right now as I wanted to change rear speaker too and shop people intro to change head unit too as it can make big differences in the music as for the 24bit and alot more clearer music when played, they proposed clarion multimedia head unit.. Im thinking if Im changing head unit and the amp really make no much differences i might as well use the head unit built in amp 50w for my rear and nonid for an additional amp cause it cost a bomb too! lol.. Feel wasted if I put another amp since the underseat sub got build in 2 channel 55w and the head unit 50w x 4.. For sifus info im driving myvi 1.5 SE.. How should I do?  rclxub.gif  Btw, they intro rainbow Ipaul amp or Infinity dont know what model forgot dy lol..
Just a general guide, if a speaker is rated at 100w rms/continuous power handling, then best to drive it using power amp minimum also 100w rms, can even go slightly higher up to around 120w rms. So you need to check the specs of your speaker and decide accordingly.

FYI also the 50wx4 in any HU is just max peak power rating. The actual continuous power is just around 20w rms or even slightly less. But true that changing the HU will give much better quality than std HU. I suggest you get one that produce at least 4V output voltage with separate channel output for your sub, of course with the corresponding x-over control. When choosing the power also better to get one which has gain control for more than 4V so can be matched with the HU output voltage.
ezmeer94
post Jan 2 2013, 09:18 PM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(howiechoo @ Jan 2 2013, 08:30 PM)
yes it's the trick from pioneer to give u TA feel, but if u tested the real TA, u will disable the SCC at all time smile.gif

Added on January 2, 2013, 8:31 pmfor oem system it wont work, on most stock car...u need at least a component change with proper install and correct tweeter placement to works too.....
Haha yes if I have sound processor I would never touch that stuff again hehe tongue.gif tongue.gif
Discovered it accidentally lolzz tongue.gif
Lucky for the tweeter pod hehe

garykam
post Jan 2 2013, 09:33 PM

145 posts

Dun wait lo, go to buy 1 processor put in. smile.gif with ur m line sure very nice 1
ezmeer94
post Jan 2 2013, 09:36 PM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(garykam @ Jan 2 2013, 09:33 PM)
Dun wait lo, go to buy 1 processor put in. smile.gif with ur m line sure very nice 1
Have to slow down abit hehe
No budget for it ATM tongue.gif tongue.gif
Sh@rty 5
post Jan 2 2013, 10:17 PM

104 posts

tongue.gif

so you are the myvi with philips drl?

whistling.gif

sorry out of topic blush.gif
TSInnKeong
post Jan 3 2013, 12:04 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(Sh@rty 5 @ Jan 2 2013, 10:17 PM)
tongue.gif

so you are the myvi with philips drl?

whistling.gif

sorry out of topic blush.gif
Yeap, Kekeke... gonna visit you soon for Crystal Vision and Diamond Vision Philips bulb kekeke.. If you do sell higher end amp, HU, speaker.. Do PM me.. Intended to get from other dealer coz felt like abit kena 'tiok' at the current shop service provider. smile.gif

Added on January 3, 2013, 12:07 am
QUOTE(howiechoo @ Jan 2 2013, 05:46 PM)

Howie's pioneer offer
Thanks for your offer.. Can tell me the differences between this 2 unit? Your pioneer and Clarion NX502?

This post has been edited by InnKeong: Jan 3 2013, 12:07 AM
howiechoo
post Jan 3 2013, 12:28 AM

1,919 posts

Thanks for your offer.. Can tell me the differences between this 2 unit? Your pioneer and Clarion NX502?

[/quote]
Actually u can have the features comparison in their website...
Sh@rty 5
post Jan 3 2013, 12:47 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(InnKeong @ Jan 3 2013, 12:04 AM)
Yeap, Kekeke... gonna visit you soon for Crystal Vision and Diamond Vision Philips bulb kekeke.. If you do sell higher end amp, HU, speaker.. Do PM me.. Intended to get from other dealer coz felt like abit kena 'tiok' at the current shop service provider.  smile.gif

tongue.gif thanks , see you soon , nah nope. we don't do high end audio , sifu here can help you out on that

haha just uploaded the cv and dv photo at our fb biggrin.gif

0.0238sec    0.53    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 04:45 AM