Official Windows Phone 8 Discussion Thread! V2, Nokia Lumias / HTC 8x,s / Samsung ATIVS

marauderz
post Dec 31 2012, 10:03 AM

Windows Tablet War Veteran
3,390 posts

QUOTE(kianopy @ Dec 31 2012, 09:12 AM)
is the IE same as PC version?
The answer is "Pretty Much"

- Can't upload files
- Can't use plugins, Youtube is just a special case.

Other than that, it's supposed to be a carbon copy of IE10
marauderz
post Jan 6 2013, 10:26 PM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(jonchai @ Jan 6 2013, 09:52 PM)
It wasn't a universal search. It was an in-app search, but I think it was good to have. Not sure why they decided to force Bing instead.
The reasoning was that users had to guess wheter or not when they pressed the search button wheter the app they are using would respond or wheter the standard web search would come up instead if the developer didn't implement the search.

Hopefully devs will be giving back the ability to extend the search button ala Windows 8's search contracts in the next version.
marauderz
post Jan 6 2013, 10:48 PM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(jonchai @ Jan 6 2013, 10:35 PM)
Yea, I guessed as much. They could've implemented something like Windows 8 with Search Contract. Those that don't, display a message, done.
The OS can't simply slap a message onto another app, there are a lot of other issues you'd have to be concerned with.
marauderz
post Jan 7 2013, 11:48 AM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(evilpuppy @ Jan 7 2013, 12:28 AM)
all I want to lock my kids away from my start screen, so I set a password, weird thing is this password lock both my start screen & kids corner!!!  Stupid bugs!! Now everytime they want to go kids corner I need to enter my password...
kinda useless. How bout yours settings???
Eh? Works fine for me. Try disabling BOTH pin and kid corner, then test the order of enabling them and see.

marauderz
post Jan 7 2013, 12:58 PM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(evilpuppy @ Jan 7 2013, 12:50 PM)
nokia drive only for nokia lumia.
but the 8x maps should still be powered by Nokia.
marauderz
post Jan 7 2013, 01:38 PM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(izwanqiena @ Jan 7 2013, 01:00 PM)
which one is true?
hahaha confused  hmm.gif
BOTH are true. wink.gif

The Nokia Drive APP is only avaible on Nokia devices.

But...

Nokia provides the mapping information for the built in Maps app for Windows Phone now. Personally I haven't seen a HTC 8X in action to be able to see the exact difference.

marauderz
post Jan 7 2013, 01:52 PM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(evilpuppy @ Jan 7 2013, 12:14 PM)
after removing my password i power off my 8x to soft reset , 2nd time my 8x unable to power on for 5min  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif i leave it for another 5min, out of sudden it boot up. 

now, here what i did, i remove the password , disabling kids corner, soft reset now i can power up normally  rclxub.gif  

1. enabling kid's corner without password. both unlock screen work without password.
2. now i put password to my own lockscreen.
3. same i still have to enter my lockscreen password to kid's corner.. sian....  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
how's your setting goes??  rclxub.gif
Ok, I found out why... interesting bug..

Until the Password, there's a "Requires a password after" setting. Change it from "Each Time" to something else. I guess "Each Time" is... EVERY TIME! tongue.gif

*EDIT* Looks like I could be wrong here... interesting.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by marauderz: Jan 7 2013, 01:55 PM
marauderz
post Jan 7 2013, 01:59 PM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(marauderz @ Jan 7 2013, 01:52 PM)
Ok, I found out why... interesting bug..

Until the Password, there's a "Requires a password after" setting. Change it from "Each Time" to something else. I guess "Each Time" is... EVERY TIME! tongue.gif

*EDIT* Looks like I could be wrong here... interesting.. tongue.gif
Yeah, the PIN still shows up whenever it's time to show up. I think I understand why.

Even though it's Kid's Corner, it's still accessing your data, that's why the password lock screen still comes up when it's time to because you still need to unlock the device. To make it easier in case your child accidentally turns off the phone while playing, set the "Request a password after.." setting to a few minutes, this will leave the Kids Corner unlocked if they accidentally turn off the phone while playing, while your main phone is still locked.
marauderz
post Jan 8 2013, 10:29 PM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(DavidWKW @ Jan 8 2013, 09:34 PM)
Great!
From what I heard, it's t shirt and umbrella and bluetooth earpiece... I guess you just need to get the right salesperson ><
o.O Then can i install windows phone app on my computer which is still in windows xp?
There's a desktop app for Windows 7, but doesn't support XP

http://www.windowsphone.com/en-US/how-to/w...app-for-desktop
marauderz
post Jan 9 2013, 11:42 PM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(lastlion @ Jan 9 2013, 09:58 PM)
hurm..is that so... Disappointed with M'sia marketplace.
There are those of us who try to do a good job instead of doing stuff for the sake of it.
marauderz
post Jan 14 2013, 11:44 AM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(JasonWilton @ Jan 14 2013, 10:56 AM)
games like fruit ninja, the framerate isnt that good compared to iOS and Android.
and the other game i tested on the L920 was the Asphalt 4 or something, laggy shit  cry.gif
Try Crimson Dragon : Side Story.

Most of the time it's the developer screwing up.
marauderz
post Jan 18 2013, 02:02 PM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(thesun @ Jan 17 2013, 04:22 PM)
aku suspek, focus assist light kat lumia 920 ni sedikit sebanyak masuk sekali dalam gambar, mungkin sebab shutter speed sebenarnya bermula waktu focus assist ni menyala lagi.

itu je trick nak bagi gambar malam nampak cerah.
Please go and study back how photography works if you think the shutter starts capturing when the focus assist light is on.
marauderz
post Jan 18 2013, 06:56 PM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(hijamir @ Jan 18 2013, 05:38 PM)
Hello.............
Honestly I can feel this LUMIA 920 is quite hot when using it for surfing... i can feel it even using casing... hmmm is it normal? and another thing... can someone please let me know what is the best way to re install all purchased apps? any shortcut rather then do it one by one?

Thankss
The heat you feel is normal sad to say, should go watch that disassembly video and see what's actually on the top part.
marauderz
post Jan 21 2013, 08:02 PM

3,390 posts

Learning experience mar
marauderz
post Jan 21 2013, 10:31 PM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(evilpuppy @ Jan 18 2013, 08:15 PM)
not only you, L920 heating up is so abnormal even my previous htc devices ..titan doesn't have such heat while surf net with data or wifi on..  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
Regarding this heat issue, if you look at the video at the start of the thread, you'll notice that the top part which heats up is where the CPU, and what I think should be the radio chip is sitting in. Those things are going to heat up when in use, nothing much you can do about it. Think about the clock speed difference between your old phones and the L920. It's quite drastic!
marauderz
post Jan 29 2013, 10:45 PM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(DavidWKW @ Jan 29 2013, 10:42 PM)
>< I guess it will only be out in 2014... This news really makes me wonder whether to buy Lumia 920 now LOL
It's like deciding to keep waiting for the next best iPhone when it's a year away... of course.. it might turn out to be a new new iPad and just pop out all of a sudden without warning.
marauderz
post Jan 30 2013, 11:44 AM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(DavidWKW @ Jan 29 2013, 10:47 PM)
Ya.... LOLXD 128GB Ipad 4 ><
Well... at least it's not just a simple spec change.... oh wait.. that's what happened last time.
marauderz
post Feb 1 2013, 11:28 AM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(monsh @ Feb 1 2013, 07:14 AM)
guys, is there really much difference getting the higher spec ?

i'm using the L620 and i see that the spec is not much different compared to L920 except for 1gb ram.

care to enlighten me please. smile.gif
Is about the individual's needs. The L620 presents great value for money if you just need the basics.. web.. social.. mail.

For me.. it was always for the L920's camera. if not I'd have gotten an L820 instead.

This post has been edited by marauderz: Feb 1 2013, 11:29 AM
marauderz
post Feb 4 2013, 01:38 AM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(Calvados @ Feb 3 2013, 09:27 PM)
Problem here,

I signed in microsoft acount using my hotmail account, then all my contacts changed to hotmail contacts, which I dont want.

any idea how to change it back?
When you attach a Live Id to your phone, all your on phone contacts will be synched to the account by default I think, don't think you can switch back to phone only address book after that.
marauderz
post Feb 9 2013, 09:47 PM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(Tapway @ Feb 8 2013, 11:45 PM)
Anyone knows how to transfer contact info and backup data from Android phone to Windows 8 phone? Am thinking of getting a Lumia 920. Heard the camera is the bestest ever yet (Steve Jobs-style)!
I suppose all the contacts on your android is stored in Google account? If it is, all you have to do is add the Gmail account to the phone and it'll pull the contacts down since Exchange Sync is still enabled for new users for now.

0.0387sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:22 PM