Official Windows Phone 8 Discussion Thread! V2, Nokia Lumias / HTC 8x,s / Samsung ATIVS

ainuddin
post Jan 11 2013, 01:00 PM

September 11th, 2001
1,957 posts

920 white joining in. so far so good, except battery when fiddling around, cepat habis woo. sweat.gif
ainuddin
post Jan 11 2013, 02:32 PM

September 11th, 2001
1,957 posts

EDITED.

This post has been edited by ainuddin: Jan 11 2013, 02:44 PM
ainuddin
post Jan 15 2013, 09:03 AM

September 11th, 2001
1,957 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jan 15 2013, 12:45 AM)
Hmmmmm, just as I was impressed with UC browser, I noticed the CPU becoming super hot and thus draining the battery like water. Darn.
ah, i just wanted to install it. do you recommend i do so?
ainuddin
post Jan 16 2013, 01:52 PM

September 11th, 2001
1,957 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jan 15 2013, 03:50 PM)
My Lumia always have this CPU heating issue. Try the browser and report back to us if your Lumia becomes hot or not while using it. At least I'll know that my motherboard is defective or something if you do not experience any heating issue.
ok, so barely 5 minutes on UC browser, my phone upper back top hot gila. close the app, browse using IE then it became cooler. i think the UC browser engine was pushing the hardware very hard, like we stress test desktop cpus. no wonder the app is fast and very responsive with all the settings and eyecandy it has.
ainuddin
post Jan 16 2013, 05:13 PM

September 11th, 2001
1,957 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jan 16 2013, 02:37 PM)
Good (well not good ... but at least it's not my CPU problem). I have a suspicion that some app really pushes the enevlop with regards to the CPU usage. UC Browser is awesome in terms of speed. I mean, going back and forth (I love the back/forward button ... MS, are you listening?) was instantaneous. But I guess as you mentioned, it comes with a price ... the CPU becomes super hot and the battery drain is incredible. I bet that if you continouosly use UC browser, you can drain the battery in 90 minutes easy. The CPU heating up also takes a toll on the battery life even after you close the app. I have had to switch on Airplane mode and then shutdown the phone and after 5 minutes, the CPU will cool down and in that 5 minutes of cooling off period, the battery would have drained another 5-6 percent.
QUOTE(FlamingR @ Jan 16 2013, 04:27 PM)
I have tested the app, by maxing out the CPU usage therefor causing CPU heat up and battery drain is a very bad mobile application. Mobile application should have a balance between the power it consume and performance it gives. A 2 Star app for me because it drains battery like drinking water. I would rather use IE 10 that works just fine without draining so much power.
you guys tried SufeCube browser? looks ok, havent tried it fully.
ainuddin
post Jan 16 2013, 06:05 PM

September 11th, 2001
1,957 posts

QUOTE(godhpf @ Jan 16 2013, 05:56 PM)
The service centre basically just reset my phone. Did nothing but claimed they fixed the problem. This is so frustrating.

Just to make sure that I'm not expecting too much. Can some of you post the lumia 920 pictures in very dim conditions? I'll post mine in a while
ok put here la quick. lets see.
ainuddin
post Jan 16 2013, 07:21 PM

September 11th, 2001
1,957 posts

QUOTE(godhpf @ Jan 16 2013, 07:09 PM)
But the problem is the nokia service centre ppl do not test it under dim conditions like that. they just test it under dim but is actually not so dim conditions and claim it's working as expected. In those conditions my lumia 920 doesn't have any problem. argh this is so frustrating.
wait, summoning sifu aspire2oo6 come in and comment. he lumia pro, lets see his opinion first.

edit, did you take the picture by tapping the screen; or half press the camera button, wait until full focus, then full press it?

This post has been edited by ainuddin: Jan 16 2013, 07:38 PM
ainuddin
post Jan 16 2013, 07:59 PM

September 11th, 2001
1,957 posts

QUOTE(PeeEl @ Jan 16 2013, 07:45 PM)
Does it make a difference? If it does, what is it please?
QUOTE(godhpf @ Jan 16 2013, 07:48 PM)
I took the pictures by tapping the screen. Does it make any difference?

edit: I notice that the results are the same. tapping the screen will cause it to focus and then snap the picture.
sometimes happen to me, if tap, picture dark;

then i tried half press method, it gets better;

all auto, night mode setting only. i also dunno why. dont tell me my 920 is rosak. haih.
ainuddin
post Jan 16 2013, 09:03 PM

September 11th, 2001
1,957 posts

QUOTE(godhpf @ Jan 16 2013, 08:05 PM)
how dim is the room? is it as dim as in the 2nd picture or dimmer? I'll try again and see if there is any difference between tap & press

edit: I took the photos all at defaults except for flash
same room, same lighting. ok go try.
ainuddin
post Jan 17 2013, 09:53 AM

September 11th, 2001
1,957 posts

aspire2oo6 mana???
ainuddin
post Jan 17 2013, 01:16 PM

September 11th, 2001
1,957 posts

QUOTE(evilpuppy @ Jan 17 2013, 12:19 PM)
aspire no longer windows fan he jumpship to note 2 riao  whistling.gif
aiyark, just realized. laugh.gif
ainuddin
post Jan 17 2013, 02:41 PM

September 11th, 2001
1,957 posts

QUOTE(rogrog @ Jan 17 2013, 01:59 PM)
aspire2oo6 brows.gif
i see what you did there... brows.gif
ainuddin
post Jan 17 2013, 04:38 PM

September 11th, 2001
1,957 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jan 17 2013, 04:17 PM)
i need to see the photo EXIF to see whats wrong.

It does not matter what phone i use i still can apply same photography knowledge to various phone because i understand the limitation of all this OS.

If you off light assist it sure will be dark because it needs to know what to focus.

some work on note 2
http://www.flickr.com/photos/thenokiagalle...7167724/detail/
dont mind me, go help godhpf there. im ok with my set performace, he is not. he even went to nokia SC for help.
ainuddin
post Jan 17 2013, 08:18 PM

September 11th, 2001
1,957 posts

QUOTE(thesun @ Jan 17 2013, 05:59 PM)
tak beli lagi..
kalau macam tu,
memang kamera l920 ni betul2 power..
bro, dark/night shots will make your friends say, "what sorcery is this??!"
ainuddin
post Jan 18 2013, 01:15 PM

September 11th, 2001
1,957 posts

QUOTE(kenjixx @ Jan 18 2013, 11:58 AM)
I got another question hope that sifu here can help
is there a setting to disable app download on 3g and only download app when wifi is available
try look in settings - mobile network.

there got data connection, turn it off. internet access only on wifi though.
ainuddin
post Jan 25 2013, 05:33 PM

September 11th, 2001
1,957 posts

QUOTE(evilpuppy @ Jan 25 2013, 04:05 PM)
my L920 still under repair  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  calling their HQ for whole day no 1 is answering?? today holiday??  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
go there hantam table bro.
ainuddin
post Jan 27 2013, 01:17 PM

September 11th, 2001
1,957 posts

QUOTE(evilpuppy @ Jan 27 2013, 12:01 PM)
we do it in civilise way  biggrin.gif
why noori?? me got samseng face??? can tahan la, because still have my 8x and no issue until today!! L920? 3weeks only radio already kaput!! repairing status still unknown i guess alot of ppl are on holiday since friday  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
your bad luck ah bro. nokia service not perfect but usually quite ok. while they at it, ask them to unlock radio FM too. brows.gif
ainuddin
post Jan 27 2013, 01:18 PM

September 11th, 2001
1,957 posts

QUOTE(ashwin988 @ Jan 27 2013, 01:13 PM)
Guys am planning on selling my Lumia 920 (red). Going back to android as I really really miss it. If anyone is interested PM me. Just fyi, I bought the phone during release on the 23rd of Dec. so its only a month old. There are no scrathes, and we can cod. Pm if interested and we can deal.
fast fast put at garage sales. so many people looking for red unit.

0.0525sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 04:17 PM