Need help to overclock BBA radeon 9800pro, ATItool got artifact 3dmark no artifact
Mar 16 2006, 09:19 PM, updated 20y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
628 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
need ya help here guys, i'm using a built by ati radeon 9800pro with vivo function. i'm having some problem on overclocking, by using atitool to check for artifact the core at stock speed 378MHz already got minor artifact
Mar 16 2006, 09:22 PM
4,707 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: where there everywhere |
change cooler
add sum ram sinks get a better airflow casing as5 flash to ati98xt bios i changed my cooler to artic cooling wif good termal compoun n ram sinks manage to get a bit higher then 98xt speeds all can;t work ur card at its limit already |
Mar 16 2006, 09:38 PM
2,982 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Changi T2, T3; SG |
i am able to hit 420mhz on stock. but ram is a bit sensitive. don't overclock that too much
Mar 17 2006, 11:13 PM
6,744 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: World Wide Web Status: Banned |
Mine able to do 440/412mhz with Ati Silencer 1 with Artic Silver 5 and sum ramsinks on the rams. Try to increase the clocks slowly until u reach the peak. Firstly increase the gpu clock and mem clock separately. Then since u have the highest clocks for both gpu n mem, u can now try increasing both. Increase gpu then followed by mem and see how much u can get. Then run the benchmark, preferably 3dmark03. When u wanna change the cooler make sure to check your core wether its a R350 or R360. If its a R360 you can flash to 9800 XT bios. The bios itself gives u an extra boost of 300marks on 3dmark03. Tested by me.
You can take a look at my 3dmark03 score link at my signature. The actual speed was 445mhz/412mhz. p/s: Atitool is a bit sensitive on detecting the artifacts. Even if u dont see them, the software can detect it. So the best way is to use 3dmark03 to see wether there's artifact or not. My 0.02 cents. This post has been edited by uzairi: Mar 17 2006, 11:16 PM |
Mar 18 2006, 02:50 AM
628 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
p/s: Atitool is a bit sensitive on detecting the artifacts. Even if u dont see them, the software can detect it. So the best way is to use 3dmark03 to see wether there's artifact or not. My 0.02 cents. [/quote] yeah i also noticed in 3d mark i do not notice any artifact at all when i hit 400Mhz on the memory. so you're saying i should forget about atitool despite it detected a lot of artifacts? will it actually damage my card in long run? one more thing when i o/c using atitool above 385/365 for core/ram and run scan artifact, the whole system freeze!!!can i really don't have to care about the atitool at all? thanks a lot |
Mar 21 2006, 01:35 PM
I use 3dmark03 to see wether my card still can increase the clock or not. Highest core in 3dmark03 was 450mhz but 3dmark05 445mhz and it differs because the way they bench the card. It depends actually, atitool is a great tool but in this case we dont use it as its too sensitive. You can use atitool to determine the highes non-artifact overclock, then use that data and slowly increasing it while testing it with 3dmark03. I suggest u use Rivatuner. Hope this helps.
Mar 21 2006, 06:44 PM
954 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: Anywhere! |
atitool super sensitive in detect artifact, though other app dun show artifact, i wont wan to tolerate wif the speed tat got artifact wif atitool, coz i know it is not a fully stable speed
depend on u, for me i cant stand wif any not fully stable OC |
Mar 21 2006, 11:55 PM
It depends.. on 3dmark i can go stable until 450-445mhz of core speed and 412mhz/824mhz memory speed. Benchable and stable.. just atitool report got artifact..
Mar 23 2006, 11:26 AM
4,133 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Cameron Highlands Rank: Amateur |
actually how to flash to 98xt ?
mine is R360 128mb by GeCube |
Apr 13 2006, 09:02 AM
332 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
Check out the link
Apr 15 2006, 12:21 PM
5,341 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Apr 15 2006, 08:23 PM
17,053 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Apr 16 2006, 12:43 AM
4,810 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Apr 15 2006, 12:21 PM) R350 can be flashed to 9800XT but i think the R360 cannot.Only can only on the core and RAM.Somebody said R350 core is better. both can be flashed with 9800xt biosbut what you will get is this R350 after flashed : full screen of artifacts in 3d environment R360 after flashed : about 300 to 800 boost of score in 3dmark03(no artifacts at all) dude, R360 is better than R350 most of R360 core can reach 420mhz while R350 cannot. |
| Change to: | 0.0140sec
5 queries
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:21 AM |