Applying new dog license in Penang, Just sharing info

TSjcloh86
post Dec 26 2012, 12:55 PM, updated 13y ago

Hi all,

Recently I went to MPPP (I'm from Penang) to apply dog license for my 8 month old pup. Anyway, there is a change of ruling. According to the vet office, this rule have just been launch. The currently requirement is

1. Need to apply pet passport
2. Need to got to government vet to get microchip jab.

More or less the procedures are as following :

1. Take pic of left side (head & whole body - including tail) and right side (head & whole body - including tail) - 2R size
2. Take pic of whole body (sitting position) and back body (back leg & tail) - passport size
3. Bring the 4 pics and your dog to the government vet at Jalan Gurdwara, Penang. For microchip and passport application (Monday & Wed only) - open from 8.45am. (Do try to go in the morning.)
4. Pay RM25 (passport and chip), get chip injected and wait for few days for the vet office to call you (vet need to get signature/approval from government).
5. Once with the pet passport, you can go to MPPP to apply for license. (First year free) after that every year renewal is RM10.

Passport is for life but license is (1st Jan - 31st Dec) - 365 days license. Regardless when you go to MPPP to apply. I'm currently at step 4. I'll attached a sample pic of the requirement and once I get the passport will also attach the pic. I'll also check if renewal cases need to apply for passport.

This post has been edited by jcloh86: Dec 26 2012, 02:40 PM
Ulysses
post Dec 26 2012, 12:59 PM

尤利西斯
2,822 posts

does this apply to other state?
TSjcloh86
post Dec 26 2012, 02:39 PM

QUOTE(Ulysses @ Dec 26 2012, 12:59 PM)
does this apply to other state?
I'm not too sure. I'll check when I go collect my pet passport. When I called up they say they are planning to. Whether it has been commence or not you will need to go call the government vet nearest to you or check with your nearest Majlis Perbandaran
xecton
post Dec 26 2012, 04:32 PM

The Reverend
734 posts

crap... so much hassle
TSjcloh86
post Dec 26 2012, 04:37 PM

QUOTE(xecton @ Dec 26 2012, 04:32 PM)
crap... so much hassle
Yup. It cos RM20 for the pics. 2R pic printing identical pic x 2 and passport size printing identical pic x 4. Hence you will have duplicate copies of pic.
lazypurpleS
post Dec 27 2012, 10:25 AM

31 posts

I'm from Butterworth. Does this apply to MPSP? I don't think I can get my doggie to stand still and sit still for me to take the photos sad.gif
TSjcloh86
post Dec 27 2012, 10:31 AM

QUOTE(lazypurpleS @ Dec 27 2012, 10:25 AM)
I'm from Butterworth. Does this apply to MPSP? I don't think I can get my doggie to stand still and sit still for me to take the photos sad.gif
I'm not too sure. You will need to contact the MPSP. I believe it would be the same. You will need to get help from someone else. Erm.. I use a helper and also treats. At the moment because the system is new, they are very lenient with the photos. I'll attach pics shortly.
Carrieyen
post Dec 28 2012, 05:46 PM

but my dogs are 2 years old..will they let my dog apply?
TSjcloh86
post Jan 3 2013, 11:17 AM

QUOTE(Carrieyen @ Dec 28 2012, 05:46 PM)
but my dogs are 2 years old..will they let my dog apply?
Nvr apply before? Yes.. so far no restriction on age yet.
xecton
post Jan 4 2013, 12:04 AM

The Reverend
734 posts

From SPCA newsletter
TSjcloh86
post Jan 4 2013, 11:21 AM

QUOTE(xecton @ Jan 4 2013, 12:04 AM)
From SPCA newsletter
Yup.. saw that but pricing all "lari". Hopefully I'm not cheated by the staff. Waiting for my passport.
xecton
post Jan 4 2013, 11:29 AM

The Reverend
734 posts

Who does the photography? The passport guys or we have to take pictures then bring it to them?
TSjcloh86
post Jan 9 2013, 05:36 PM

QUOTE(xecton @ Jan 4 2013, 11:29 AM)
Who does the photography? The passport guys or we have to take pictures then bring it to them?
Temporary is we have to snap pics then bring it to them. I think I read somewhere they are suppose to do it, but doubt it la.. they so short-handed.
seow227
post Jan 26 2013, 01:17 PM

besides government vet at Jalan Gurdwara, does others vet clinic proide the service as well?
TSjcloh86
post Jan 27 2013, 02:51 PM

QUOTE(seow227 @ Jan 26 2013, 01:17 PM)
besides government vet at Jalan Gurdwara, does others vet clinic proide the service as well?
http://www.jpvpp.gov.my/index.php?option=c...mid=123&lang=bm

You can check and call the nearest government vet available in your area
happyshirt
post Dec 23 2013, 04:48 PM

412 posts

I need to get the license for 2013 now in Penang. Didn't to do it last yr done by Mom but now Mom's not around anymore.
So, i just need to bring the photo? i don't need the bloody passport. Sheer stupidity that.

And go to Beach Street? no more Padang Kota Lama is it?

Asking here because nobody is picking up the MPPP line and this is 1 of the only place i can ask when googling dog license Penang.

xecton
post Dec 23 2013, 06:38 PM

The Reverend
734 posts

It's already December, wait a bit and straight get one for year 2014
xecton
post Dec 23 2013, 06:40 PM

The Reverend
734 posts

And yes, Beach Street is the one.
happyshirt
post Dec 23 2013, 09:25 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(xecton @ Dec 23 2013, 06:38 PM)
It's already December, wait a bit and straight get one for year 2014
Thank you for the advise.my fault I forgot to mention I'm getting for 2014.

Does the photo need to be in color? Warna anjing Hitam! Color photo oso she will be Hitam! tongue.gif

Any size specified for the photo?

Thank you very much
xecton
post Dec 23 2013, 11:16 PM

The Reverend
734 posts

Yes, colour photo of you and your dog, photo size is 4R

0.0268sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:30 AM