10 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 >Bottom

License Aircraft Maintenance Engineer, job prospect...

jazzy939
post Dec 3 2008, 03:04 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

There are other positions in an airline.
Human Resource, Finance, IT Dept etc..
Just give a lookout to their advertisements in the local dailies..

However with the current economic slowdown/recession, most airlines have frozen intakes to supporting functions to the operations. There are still vacancies in the technical departments however, like engineers, technicians, cabin crews and pilots.

QUOTE(DT8 @ Dec 3 2008, 01:50 PM)
becos I like aviation. but I prefer I can work in an airline management level.
jazzy939
post Dec 3 2008, 07:00 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Definitely!
Make sure you record properly details of your work and have it duly signed by the person in charge.

QUOTE(JohnMax @ Dec 3 2008, 06:56 PM)
jazzy939, a question.

When pratical at Mas, it counted as experience? To go for Easa.
jazzy939
post Dec 3 2008, 07:13 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Tell you what John,
Understand the exact requirements of EASA-66 syllabus first. Have you read it?
Most of your questions here will be answered!
It is okay to ask but do your ground work first lah, ie read, read, read! tongue.gif

QUOTE(JohnMax @ Dec 3 2008, 07:07 PM)
So, How it count? To go for Easa need how many years experience? 3? Did it deduct the period of the pratical in the experience required? And the report that we do must be how many at Least? Our report is endosed by the LAE and Approval in Mas. Is that what we need to keep??

Correct me if wrong. Sorry a trainee like to ask alot...
jazzy939
post Dec 3 2008, 09:41 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Oh.. ok. Can always go to EASA website and read all about it! wink.gif
jazzy939
post Dec 7 2008, 08:36 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

In aircraft maintenance there are no 'aeronautical engineer' position per se. Next closest position will be Technical Services Engineer. You won't be working direct with the aircraft. Still an important support function. It's a desk job. Female? Of course we have female Technical Services Engineer! wink.gif

QUOTE(kriscpm @ Dec 6 2008, 04:09 PM)
hi.. im new here.. i want to ask whether as an aeronautical engineer, does it require a lot of physical strength to work on it? can a female work or recommended in this field?
This post has been edited by jazzy939: Dec 7 2008, 08:37 AM
jazzy939
post Dec 8 2008, 12:40 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

john,
there is always two sides of a coin. some people like to work in the workshop, some don't.
Easy job in the hangar? Not in my book!

QUOTE(JohnMax @ Dec 7 2008, 10:33 AM)
jazzy939, Work in workshop better or hangar? Because work in work shop the things you know is more than enough, but when time goes by, the things that they do are the same. For hangar, maybe is more things to learn, but they say it easy job.
jazzy939
post Dec 8 2008, 12:43 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

One of a good traits of becoming an LAE is going through tonnes of documents/reading materials.
If it's a drag to read through 70 pages worth of postings, I'd advice you to stay away from this field... tongue.gif

QUOTE(yewkh @ Dec 7 2008, 02:50 PM)
guys can anyone have info/link to MIAT bout this LAME?
70pages is too long, thanks in advance.
I heard for those have degree in engineering they still need around 5yrs to fully get the "international lesen or something" forget the name of it.
Personal Q: does it worth the time/money? i mean after getting a bachelor degree continue to take this professional cert.
Info will b appreciated
jazzy939
post Dec 8 2008, 09:50 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Honestly I did not mean to discourage anyone, but aviation in general is a highly regulated industry. The air legislations in the form of MCAR with it's related annexes, schedules, DCA's own ANs, ADs, SBs, AMMs, IPCs, SRMs, CMMs and the list goes on..
Don't like reading? It's a life long career! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by jazzy939: Dec 8 2008, 09:51 PM
jazzy939
post Dec 9 2008, 07:12 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Referring to AMM or not, I can assure you that the rectification and final certifications will always quote the correct/applicable AMM or other applicable approved documents references. wink.gif
jazzy939
post Dec 9 2008, 09:26 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

CAIP is just a minimum standards/procedures. It is NOT an approved document! How can you certify with references to unapproved documents? laugh.gif

Remember, CAIP is the minimum acceptable standard to pass the LWTR. LWTR where got priviledges? doh.gif

Comprende? biggrin.gif

QUOTE(amvasierra @ Dec 9 2008, 06:30 PM)
yup..except if u have to cite ur reference from CAIP or anything else like SB, AD,etc..but what kinda maintenance, inspection, repair, replacement, or overhaul that u need CAIP references for certification?..mind to give some examples?..havent found 1 yet, but all i know that the installation of MEDA kit is not available from AMM for reference..kindly enlighten me a noob blush.gif
jazzy939
post Dec 10 2008, 09:47 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

'muy bueno!' thumbup.gif

QUOTE(amvasierra @ Dec 10 2008, 12:57 AM)
si senor.. tongue.gif

..the keyword is it is not an approved document tongue.gif
This post has been edited by jazzy939: Dec 10 2008, 09:47 AM
jazzy939
post Dec 11 2008, 12:57 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

I was with Aer Lingus.
Now back here.. in bolehland.. tongue.gif

QUOTE(amvasierra @ Dec 10 2008, 01:28 PM)
so jazzy939, where are u working now?
seems like ure working in ireland or sumthing..
jazzy939
post Dec 11 2008, 09:13 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

There's a worldwide shortage of license engineers.
salary is better than a degree, many times over.. wink.gif
jazzy939
post Jan 1 2009, 07:49 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

5 figures? dream on! laugh.gif
QUOTE(hakunamatata @ Jan 1 2009, 01:46 AM)
i read about the detail of aircraft engineering course at nilai web be4 and it stat 5 digit figured salary  drool.gif  dunno real or nt la  sweat.gif
jazzy939
post Jan 1 2009, 10:08 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Your friend's uncle is quite right... it starts from 7 years of experience and strings of aircraft types... laugh.gif

QUOTE(sukhoi37 @ Jan 1 2009, 09:26 PM)
well, one of my friends told me his uncle say that 5 figures salary is possible after 10 years of experience as LAME.
This post has been edited by jazzy939: Jan 1 2009, 10:08 PM
jazzy939
post Jan 3 2009, 04:35 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

The workshop foreman is AS 1 grade.
The max. basic pay under this scale used to be Rm4500. Could be around RM5000 now.

Added on January 3, 2009, 4:46 pmThere won't be any. The scheme is only open to MAS employee's children and the FELDA's.

QUOTE(Errat@ @ Jan 2 2009, 11:59 PM)
hello guys..
can i ask about the LAME/TAME in MAS..are there any news about it?
how to apply?
(p/s: new here) sweat.gif
This post has been edited by jazzy939: Jan 3 2009, 04:46 PM
jazzy939
post Jan 4 2009, 09:13 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Why should they? It's an internal program not open for public. tongue.gif

HOWEVER, don't quote me, MAS is PLANNING to re-start the apprenticeship program based on the BCAR's Section L this year. It is open to the public and you do your own financing. About RM160K for 3 years... mostly likely will start after SPM results are out... biggrin.gif

QUOTE(frozentunez @ Jan 4 2009, 05:44 PM)
hahah....seriously? i din noe that. do they even bother to advertise it in the newspapers???
jazzy939
post Jan 6 2009, 09:19 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

wusuhong,
If at this point of time you're still asking these questions and uncertain of what courses to take, I think you're in 'trouble'...

I have also seen you asking similar questions in other forums.. despite similar threads and lots of discussions with regards to the training and training/learning organisations.

QUOTE(wusuhong @ Jan 6 2009, 12:07 AM)
when should i apply for miat july intake?
how much the fees?
i got my spm already now waiting for stpm result.
which course should i choose?
i already apply nilai but lots of senior advice me to think twice.
hope someone can help.
jazzy939
post Jan 6 2009, 07:50 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

This is the main issue: Getting the LWTR.
We know the how and we know where, right?
Any of the places that have been mentioned over and over again is acceptable. Just some are recognized some don't, some have approval but majority don't.
Just pick one that come your way, work/study hard and get the license ASAP! The end result is the SAME.

jazzy939
post Jan 7 2009, 01:27 AM

reel is real
8,186 posts

Auwww come on! You want the best of everything? Get real!!!
Again, the same question I ask, what the heck do you actually want? Your license or college life? doh.gif

QUOTE(wusuhong @ Jan 7 2009, 01:21 AM)
ya agree with u, just that i know if i enter miat i will get my lwtr faster and nilai will get my lwtr slower.
nilai better college life, miat not so good college life.

10 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 >Top

0.0641sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 03:46 AM