Travel Mountain Climbers Club, register yourself here!

etigge
post May 12 2010, 04:11 PM

295 posts

hmm.gif I just came back from a hike and camping trip in Gunung Nuang with JuiChuan's group. It was OK and would have been better if we were allowed to rest more and if the camping were made 2 nights instead of one night. Not every trekker is fit to catch up with the fitter ones. After experiencing it first hand, I think 'Camp Pacat' is a better place to camp if the trip is 2 days and 'Camp Lolo' is better with 3 days. All 3 of us were newbies in mountain climbing.
My plan will be(if I hike there again), 1st day-Forestry Station to Kem Lolo, rest. Continue to Kem Pacat and camp there. Early morning hike up to the peak and descend back to Kem Pacat to rest. Then trek back to Forestry Station the next day. It will not hurt my knees too bad if the arrangement was like this. Although water is not available in Kem Pacat, situation can be improvise.

On that particular day, I made it out to the starting point at 10.30pm and JuiChuan and company came out at 12.30am! All 3 trekkers under them hurt their legs! cry.gif The final trek from Kem Lolo which normally take 2 hours extended till 5 hours. It was also raining that day and ascending was slow.

For full details of the hike please check:
http://sjzhuang.blogspot.com/2010_05_01_archive.html

Am planning for Gunung Irau for next month. Anyone?

This post has been edited by etigge: May 12 2010, 04:12 PM
etigge
post May 12 2010, 06:56 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(kulitkayu @ May 12 2010, 05:08 PM)
hope can join ur grup...
it's a daytrip?
y don try gunung rajah??dun hav 2wori abt water..ngee~~~
Irau is a day trip but the stayover is in Cameron Highlands. I am having friends in CH arranging the trip. Not finalise yet about approximate cost, apartment rentals, food etc. will post after finalising.

Gunung Rajah is the place where lightning struck a group of hikers, isn't it. A few of them dies, it seems! ohmy.gif

This post has been edited by etigge: May 12 2010, 07:08 PM
etigge
post Oct 24 2011, 05:29 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(leoluv @ Oct 23 2011, 08:19 PM)
I am new to this "hiking" thingy just recently heard that hiking can help to cure my sinus that;s why I'm looking for some club where beginner like me to can join in where there is any new activity going on..do add me in the loop ya..my email is toastwithlv@gmail.com...
I have join this club too and they organize hikes, camping trips etc. on a regular basis and the difficulty of each hikes is rated so you can choose according to your strength. Check it out yourself.

http://www.meetup.com/KLhiking/
etigge
post Nov 2 2011, 08:14 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(audy @ Nov 1 2011, 02:56 PM)
Can anyone tell me if Columbia trail shoes are waterproof? How about teva/hi tec?
I am using a Teva and it is described as a 'watershoe'. I also have the impression that it is waterproof but using it later reveals that is is safe to use it even when crossing shallow rivers. There are two meshed holes just above the soles and this allows water to seep out and that's the 'watershoe' is about. Not waterproof. The spider rubber soles are good though on rocks and slippery surfaces but the soles are not knobby enough to grip mud when it rains. Overall it is a good investment, I will say.

Many prefers adidas kampong not because it is cheap but rather it is easier to trek through many rivers with it as it is fully plastic. Easy to just dry it after getting wet and wash it in the river. I don't use it as I sweat and it feels slimy if I sweat. icon_rolleyes.gif
etigge
post Jun 5 2012, 11:55 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(honkkydorry @ Jun 2 2012, 01:09 PM)
For Nuang, did u go all the way to the peak?  Where is Tok Wan?
Tok Wan is a continuation of Broga Peak's. After the third peak atop Broga Hill, there's another trail behind the rocks that leds to another peak, Tok Wan. Remember to bring Mosi Guard, lots of mosquitoes! nod.gif
etigge
post Jun 6 2012, 07:11 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Jun 6 2012, 06:44 PM)
have u conquer this hill , ettige?
nod.gif
etigge
post Jun 11 2012, 11:15 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(honkkydorry @ Jun 11 2012, 09:05 AM)
I will be going G.Dato next week.  Can you tell me more about that last part....Scary in what sense?  Is it a difficult climb at that part? 

Also, do I need to bring gloves?
Don't get discouraged from hearsay. It's not dangerous or scary if you are careful and take precaution as in any other forms or recreation. The last part is more of climbing ladders to the top. The summit is a rock fromation and the ladders are there for the safety of the hikers. You will be rewarded a very nice view after the ladders.

etigge
post Jun 14 2012, 06:48 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(frequency @ Jun 14 2012, 11:22 AM)
Don't be afraid, it is not really scary. The view on the top is awesome. There is a bath room there...

water is so cooooollllddd..... decent or not depends on individual guo..

but most of my female friends ok with it..
possibly will be heading there for training this Sunday
Where got bathroom up there larr? I never seen water source at the top of any summit, what water is cold? laugh.gif Are you talking about the bathroom at the base of the mountain?
etigge
post Jul 6 2012, 08:41 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Jul 5 2012, 11:55 PM)
im looking for night hike, which bukit is easy for beginner. nearby around KL . anyone interested?
For night hike in KL/PJ, better to do it in numbers. Safer! There's Bukit Sg.Besi in Alam Damai where they even do steam boat up there occasionally. They do Broga at night too.
etigge
post Aug 18 2012, 04:43 PM

295 posts

It's a bad time to start actually with the monsoon season round the corner. Actually KL Hikers and Trail Running Meetup group have some very advanced hikers who does that frequently. In fact some have just done G.Korbu in a day trip. They used to have trips to Korbu, Yong Belar, Irau, Chamah and Ulu Sepat. I can't follow because I can't do it in a day. In fact I am planning for G.Benum in a 3D/2N trip. So, which are you interested in? Fast or normal? Check out the site, www.meetup.com/KLhiking/

I am also planning for a slow photographic trip to Tahan, intersted?

0.0363sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 07:23 AM