Dec 28 2012, 11:19 AM
544 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
QUOTE(zenix @ Dec 28 2012, 09:59 AM) i don't know in my household we all use maintenance free batteries, every time battery going to die we bring to workshop to change then think maybe got warranty, take out the warranty card and see....ARGH! just slightly over warranty period It is the regular Xsara, not the Picasso suzuki makes pretty good cars but dunno if the ones sold here would fair the same in the test or not IKR the citroen pikaso was weird yet wonderful, nowadays its weird but not so wonderful I somewhere read that bigger is better... Except for off roaders (not sure if SUVs are meant). They tend to roll in crashes (side impacts) and are thus as dangerous as A or B segment cars. So I'd rather look for a C or D segment car with side airbags and curtain airbags. |
Dec 28 2012, 04:56 PM
QUOTE(zweimmk @ Dec 28 2012, 04:35 PM) Not necessarily true la, maybe some people really like the outlook of the car leh? I'm actually a little partial to how it looks. What about those that live outside of Klang Valley, they won't necessarily as much choices as those of us in KL, so no choice but to buy T&H loh. Then there are those businesses that buy the car because it can offer better depreciation compared to other makes, so sell off also don't lose so much mah. Afterall, if you just buying it as a fleet car or to ferry customers around in the KL area, the car on its own is good enough la. At least it's safer than being ferried around in a Vios Actually I think JB is the best place to own a conti. SG is nearby, so there is an abundance of cheap spare parts. |
Dec 28 2012, 06:21 PM
QUOTE(zweimmk @ Dec 28 2012, 05:14 PM) Whether original or 2nd hand parts. Currency must still x 2.51 converting to Ringgit and then there's tax also when coming in, so cheap might not be so cheap after all. But they do have a good selection over there compared to here. For Renault I usually pay 1/2 or less (after conversion to RM). New parts. If non original then can be even cheaper. Heard for Skoda prices are similar (and since Skoda = VW...).Tax... well, if small parts no problem. Big ones they charge as much as they want to, so you can bargain. Can say second hand parts perhaps. But never had to pay anything. |
Dec 30 2012, 11:54 PM
QUOTE(lunchtime @ Dec 30 2012, 10:19 PM) So far, the Sportage looks positve to me, how is the SC? Which SC to go to? Hm. My service advisor got to his post after being a mechanic for a long time. So he really knows the cars, probably better than the mechanics. But yes, I also like to watch my car when repaired. My SC lets me do that, of course they won't take any responsibility should something happen, and that's fine with me.I am only keen with a SC which allows me to talk to the chief mechanic face to face at the service bays. I am doing that with my current SCs for my cars and also with my previous cars. I am not keen to talk to service advisors which are basically messenger boys to the service guys. Plus SC must have competent mechanics which can solve problems, not try to solve problems. Any Naza Kia SC to recommend? @sanadi: Yup, that would be ideal. A proper 4 or 6 point harness and a racing helmet that is attached to the seat too. Some cars come like that from the factory. @zweimmk: Fifth Gear has done a few of those tests, ADAC too. But it is not done on a regular basis, more to show off that you shouldn't drive too fast, and that maybe crash test standards should be raised. |
Feb 8 2013, 01:05 PM
I think this is a different situation. Full frontal with a pole. (Ahem.)
Solution could be similar though, the front end needs to have a very strong bar so that the violent forces are evenly spread out, or better yet, redirected so that the car can move on rather than coming to a full stop. The car was a Honda Integra DC5. Cars aren't built with hitting a thin object like a tree in mind. So while the whole of the front end might have been strong enough (probably not, due to high speeds) a small section of that front end surely can't stand the forces. Hit a piece of meat with a hammer, and the hammer will stop. Use a sword or sharp knife and it will go right through it. This post has been edited by kadajawi: Feb 8 2013, 01:08 PM |
Feb 8 2013, 04:43 PM
We shouldn't laugh though, whoever was in there won't be worrying about resale value anymore.
Mar 22 2013, 02:37 PM
QUOTE(Alan @ Mar 22 2013, 02:14 PM) I think if i'm going to crash (eg unable to stop in time), i'll try to crash with more car body surface as possible to absorb the impact. The small overlap crash seems to focus on the weakest point of the car frame, less structure surface, will high force, the result is high pressure and high damage. In theory yes. But what if you think you can avoid an accident altogether? What will the other car driver do? Probably try to evade. Can you really aim for the other car dead on, when it is time to do so? Also when there is still time to steer the car consciously into a certain direction, then can't you avoid the accident?I'm afraid it is not that easy. Btw. the Citroen DS (from 1955) was designed to redirect the car in an accident, so it doesn't hook on like the Camry does. It should behave similar to the Volvo in the test... That was 1955. |
| Change to: | 0.0249sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:55 AM |