Best of the oldies?, Snes, N64, ps1, sega saturn....

TSMr.Ginger
post Mar 14 2006, 08:59 PM, updated 20y ago

77 posts

Just wondering which of the older consoles you guys think is best. By old I mean before PS2, X-box and GC. Being a Nintendo fanboy, I have to say N64. Can you say Goldeneye?
Notoriez
post Mar 14 2006, 09:01 PM

I am Notty and Notorious !!!
2,499 posts

Sega MegaDrive 2 thumbup.gif
SUSRobert
post Mar 14 2006, 09:20 PM

Validating
663 posts

Dreamcast consider oldies?? I think PS1.... thumbup.gif
TSMr.Ginger
post Mar 14 2006, 09:48 PM

77 posts

I think dreamcast not consider oldie, although alot of people would disagree. I would then point out that it was realsed just before ps2.
SUSRobert
post Mar 14 2006, 09:53 PM

Validating
663 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Ginger @ Mar 14 2006, 09:48 PM)
I think dreamcast not consider oldie, although alot of people would disagree. I would then point out that it was realsed just before ps2.
Its hard to find Dreamcast now...i have one..collection dust n turn brownish....but still playing with it...

I just brought PS1. Shops still selling PS1.I think PS1 will not "instinct" couse many people still want to buy it...Snes also its hard to find now...I saw got one shop selling Sega Genesis with a lot of games.....
awh85
post Mar 14 2006, 11:01 PM

2,156 posts

erm..i liked to play alex on the sega master system...lol...never got to finish the game..haih
SUSRobert
post Mar 14 2006, 11:15 PM

Validating
663 posts

QUOTE(awh85 @ Mar 14 2006, 11:01 PM)
erm..i liked to play alex on the sega master system...lol...never got to finish the game..haih
how is the master system? Sega saturn...anyone has??? how about Atari 2600....???? I have it once...during 12 years old..my uncle brought it to me long time ago.......haiyah...if only i can keep it until now doh.gif
Zerol
post Mar 14 2006, 11:27 PM

379 posts

SNES, still have it intact until now, tongue.gif along with some games for it.
awh85
post Mar 15 2006, 01:18 AM

2,156 posts

oops..i think mine was the sega master system II the one before the sega mega drive IIRC

This post has been edited by awh85: Mar 15 2006, 01:18 AM
SUSRobert
post Mar 15 2006, 01:50 AM

Validating
663 posts

I like my PS1....my fav PS1 games now is Dave Mirra Freestyle BMX n Crash Team Racing....

I have the Final fantasy VIII----> 4 cds... sweat.gif
SUSMatrix
post Mar 15 2006, 09:28 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

PSX-ler...apa lagi. Sega Saturn is also a great console. It's king of 2D back then. Has lots of great japanese games...definitely a lot more than the sad Dreamcast.

SUSRobert
post Mar 15 2006, 10:55 AM

Validating
663 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Mar 15 2006, 09:28 AM)
PSX-ler...apa lagi. Sega Saturn is also a great console. It's king of 2D back then. Has lots of great japanese games...definitely a lot more than the sad Dreamcast.
I saw one shop selling Sega Saturn......with a lot of games....dicided to buy sweat.gif whistling.gif

irangan
post Mar 15 2006, 05:17 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

may i know where is that shop that selling sega saturn? i am interested too. can u tell me?
SUSRobert
post Mar 15 2006, 05:34 PM

Validating
663 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ Mar 15 2006, 05:17 PM)
may i know where is that shop that selling sega saturn? i am interested too. can u tell me?
Opps...sorry not a saturn...its a Sega Genesis...with catrige games...sorry

TSMr.Ginger
post Mar 15 2006, 07:15 PM

77 posts

I remeber playing my friends erm.... no my brain gone already, that portable sega one, damn it forgot the name leh
snipersnake
post Mar 16 2006, 01:01 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

sega gamegear...a piece of art...fond memories
{{ERSB}}
post Mar 16 2006, 01:17 PM

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Mar 16 2006, 01:01 PM)
sega gamegear...a piece of art...fond memories
Ya...its game gear, i remember my friend play the sonic game on it....n its colour!!!
irangan
post Mar 16 2006, 01:27 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

sega saturn is the best in my point of view. alot of good rpg and game
SUSSetsunahq
post Mar 16 2006, 01:31 PM

128 posts

superman64, and game gear was fun, I have one

This post has been edited by Setsunahq: Mar 16 2006, 01:32 PM
SUSMatrix
post Mar 16 2006, 02:27 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ Mar 16 2006, 01:27 PM)
sega saturn is the best in my point of view. alot of good rpg and game
Yep. Great rpgs.

I remember Riglord Saga 1 & 2 (Blazing Heroes in US..only chapter 1), Shining Wisdom, Samurai Showdown RPG ( a MUST HAVE! I just love this game!), Panzer Dragoon RPG.

btw, i've a copy of PD RPG US version which i cannot play coz mine is Japanese Saturn...any Saturn interested?? Can PM me and exchange some games perhaps? smile.gif

karising
post Mar 16 2006, 02:59 PM

If heaven is better why we still stay on Earth?
558 posts

Should have make a POLL on this topic mar.
BTW, my favourite is PS1, best graphic and gameplay at that time, FF8 is the best title, silent hill, ridge racer, metal gear solid, gran tourismo, street fighter and etc...
Something times cannot change the memory i have with ps1...
Zerol
post Mar 16 2006, 03:11 PM

379 posts

Agree a Poll would be nice.
LiangZhuge
post Mar 16 2006, 03:27 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(Setsunahq @ Mar 16 2006, 01:31 PM)
superman64, and game gear was fun, I have one
Are you sure ? From what I read Superman64 was one of the crapiest game in the N64 and was awarded in the Hall of shame by some reviewers. Personally I haven't playied the game before.

As for the sega genesis, I saw some machines for sale in Jalan Pasar area in KL.

Roberto^^^
post Mar 16 2006, 06:10 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(LiangZhuge @ Mar 16 2006, 03:27 PM)
Are you sure ? From what I read Superman64 was one of the crapiest game in the N64 and was awarded in the Hall of shame by some reviewers. Personally I haven't playied the game before.

As for the sega genesis, I saw some machines for sale in Jalan Pasar area in KL.
Superman on the genesis is fun..just like Double dragon type of game.......

The best N64 game is Mario kart 64
navilink
post Mar 16 2006, 08:45 PM

ã€ãƒ„】
10,783 posts

QUOTE(Roberto^^^ @ Mar 16 2006, 06:10 PM)
Superman on the genesis is fun..just like Double dragon type of game.......

The best N64 game is Mario kart 64
the best damn game on N64 is Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time. Period.

SUSSetsunahq
post Mar 16 2006, 08:53 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(LiangZhuge @ Mar 16 2006, 03:27 PM)
Superman64 you play as a superman, then you fly over many sonic's ring ring to proceed to next level, that's pretty much sums it up

oh of course the game sucked! biggrin.gif
yikyeou
post Mar 16 2006, 10:46 PM

VERY GEEK
1,256 posts

PLay Station and SNES is the best ...eheh...use to play snow bros...pin ball...blabla in SNES when im really small kiddo...then...Playstation...fat ps look better than the small psone....love crash series and GT2...
SUSRobert
post Mar 17 2006, 12:11 AM

Validating
663 posts

QUOTE(yikyeou @ Mar 16 2006, 10:46 PM)
PLay Station and SNES is the best ...eheh...use to play snow bros...pin ball...blabla in SNES when im really small kiddo...then...Playstation...fat ps look better than the small psone....love crash series and GT2...
Ya..Playstation cool classic console, still many people buying it....i thinbk it will continue selling it at shops.....I playing GT2 on PS1 now thumbup.gif

Mr Ez
post Mar 17 2006, 01:52 AM

Super Cool
700 posts

hmmm... not much people like SNES. I guess we in Malaysia to used to SEGA in the old days.
vincentlee
post Mar 17 2006, 02:03 AM

★★★7Star★General★★★
2,108 posts

QUOTE(Mr Ez @ Mar 17 2006, 01:52 AM)
hmmm... not much people like SNES. I guess we in Malaysia to used to SEGA in the old days.
I love SNES thumbup.gif

super mario world, donkey kong, legend of zelda, F-zero, top gear, seiken densutso, chrono trigger, super street fighter 2, so much great memories.

at first only stick to buying catridges, but later when this thing UFO came out...then change to diskette...

the stupid "UFO" costs my parents around RM600 + if i am not mistaken doh.gif

each diskette copied is selling for RM4 sweat.gif
SUSMatrix
post Mar 17 2006, 09:01 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Oooo...pirate talk....pirated UFO!!!! LOL.
vincentlee
post Mar 17 2006, 12:46 PM

★★★7Star★General★★★
2,108 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Mar 17 2006, 09:01 AM)
Oooo...pirate talk....pirated UFO!!!! LOL.
during those good times, this was a hit for poor kids who cant afford to buy original/fake catridges... sweat.gif
LiangZhuge
post Mar 17 2006, 04:07 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(vincentlee83 @ Mar 17 2006, 02:03 AM)
I love SNES thumbup.gif

super mario world, donkey kong, legend of zelda, F-zero, top gear, seiken densutso, chrono trigger, super street fighter 2, so much great memories.

at first only stick to buying catridges, but later when this thing UFO came out...then change to diskette...

the stupid "UFO" costs my parents around RM600 + if i am not mistaken doh.gif

each diskette copied is selling for RM4  sweat.gif
There is also a Doctor and Supercard series. I still have some at home. Most of the 16 bit RPG were for SNES (secret of mana,zelda,FF series, DQ series....)
vincentlee
post Mar 17 2006, 04:25 PM

★★★7Star★General★★★
2,108 posts

QUOTE(LiangZhuge @ Mar 17 2006, 04:07 PM)
There is also a Doctor and Supercard series. I still have some at home. Most of the 16 bit RPG were for SNES (secret of mana,zelda,FF series, DQ series....)
never tried dragon quest before..is it nice? was quite popular in the past.. laugh.gif
SUSRobert
post Mar 17 2006, 04:30 PM

Validating
663 posts

Just brought Darkstalkers 3 --2D fighting game for PS1 thumbup.gif

Just wonder---> the arcade stick can connect to PS1 or not? tongue.gif
LiangZhuge
post Mar 18 2006, 11:10 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(vincentlee83 @ Mar 17 2006, 04:25 PM)
never tried dragon quest before..is it nice? was quite popular in the past.. laugh.gif
Its still popular NOW !!! smile.gif Currently playing DQ 8 on the PS2.
you can try to find english patches for the SNES version ( I think DQ 5 and 6 for SNES english translaton is completed)
SUSRobert
post Mar 18 2006, 12:11 PM

Validating
663 posts

My Ps1---->

Rusty Nail
post Mar 18 2006, 01:12 PM

Why am I still here?
4,883 posts

QUOTE(Robert @ Mar 18 2006, 12:11 PM)
My Ps1---->
i had lots of sweet memories with that. wub.gif
best game i played on that is harvest moon. thumbup.gif
REDFlELD
post Mar 18 2006, 05:07 PM

660 posts

For me, my fav is the Sega Saturn
cuoreboy
post Mar 18 2006, 07:37 PM

81 posts

me also have SNE last time the first time used diskette before that i got those ATARI ....

This post has been edited by cuoreboy: Mar 18 2006, 07:39 PM
SUSRobert
post Mar 19 2006, 09:37 AM

Validating
663 posts

QUOTE(Rusty Nail @ Mar 18 2006, 01:12 PM)
i had lots of sweet memories with that.  wub.gif
best game i played on that is harvest moon.  thumbup.gif
Ya.....Harvest Moon...still can get this game at shop.....wonderful game thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Robert: Mar 19 2006, 09:38 AM
navilink
post Mar 19 2006, 11:32 AM

ã€ãƒ„】
10,783 posts

ehehe.....harvest moon is the ultimate simulation for those who want to become a farmer....and sidequest is raise some childs!
david888
post Mar 20 2006, 11:52 PM

1,069 posts

IMHO, Nintendo 8 bit (NES aka FC) is the best, especially Super Mario Bros. series and Magaman series. this is where the gaming industry evolution started. Try out the Super Mario Bros 3 (year 1991 game), you will see how creative and innovative the game developers are, even though limited by that time 8 bits console.

abe_mad
post Mar 22 2006, 11:16 AM

150 posts

Anybody remember NeoGeo 16-bit?

That thing cost RM1000 back in 1995 and each game is RM200, 'pirate' copy worth RM150. But lucky me, i have a friend with rich parent bought that for their kid. And as for me and the rest, tumpang happy la.

Not many games back then, but mostly 2d fighting game :

Samurai Showdown
Fatal Fury
King of Fighters

then ps1 come out. Kill this machine. Sad2. cry.gif

This post has been edited by abe_mad: Mar 22 2006, 11:45 AM
Rusty Nail
post Mar 22 2006, 11:51 AM

Why am I still here?
4,883 posts

QUOTE(navilink @ Mar 19 2006, 11:32 AM)
ehehe.....harvest moon is the ultimate simulation for those who want to become a farmer....and sidequest is raise some childs!
new harvest moon for the PS2 sux big time. the farm is no longger that flexible complared the the old PS1 harvest moon plus it's hard to estimate the grid.

what really got me into arvest moon in the first place is the SNES version. but the PS1 version absolutely kick ass with better graphics and farm management system.
willgan
post Apr 1 2006, 08:50 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(abe_mad @ Mar 22 2006, 11:16 AM)
Anybody remember NeoGeo 16-bit?

That thing cost RM1000 back in 1995 and each game  is RM200, 'pirate' copy worth RM150. But lucky me, i have a friend with rich parent bought that for their kid. And as for me and the rest, tumpang happy la.

Not many games back then, but mostly 2d fighting game :

Samurai Showdown
Fatal Fury
King of Fighters

then ps1 come out. Kill this machine. Sad2. cry.gif
Ya... Neogeo MVS games especially games by SNK... it rocks...
You didn't add Metal Slug...

CPS1 and CPS2 also very good...

if you want to play these games, the only handheld that plays Neogeo, CPS1 & CPS2 is GP2X at about 20-25fps... currently...

vivaldi
post Apr 2 2006, 04:51 AM

240 posts

Last time when I was 7 yrs old... there's a ATARI console machine.... I still remember there's a some sort of joystick on the controller... n we played some games like so called "Space Galaxy" shocking.gif .... I wonder how life changed!!! tongue.gif
SUSRobert
post May 27 2006, 10:50 PM

Validating
663 posts

Best of oldies.----->

My fav r----->

dust
post May 28 2006, 08:19 AM

569 posts

i used to own sega megadrive and snes before. a lot of good game. good rpg like chrono trigger, secret of mana and lot. later buy sega saturn and play a lot of shooting and figthing game like 1945, street figther, king of fighter and etc.
SUSRobert
post May 29 2006, 09:59 PM

Validating
663 posts

1942 n Excite bike on the NES is nice......
apac
post Jun 9 2006, 07:59 PM

QUOTE(Robert @ Mar 14 2006, 09:53 PM)
Its hard to find Dreamcast now...i have one..collection dust n turn brownish....but still playing with it...

I just brought PS1. Shops still selling PS1.I think PS1 will not "instinct" couse many people still want to buy it...Snes also its hard to find now...I saw got one shop selling Sega Genesis with a lot of games.....
do u know any shop or people that sell dreamcast???
SUSRobert
post Jun 9 2006, 09:24 PM

Validating
663 posts

I know this shop got still selling it....with all the asscesories.....joypad,memory unit, vibrator......but i only see got 2 left...........but the machine is very old...the taukeh display it on the front shop........when i ask the price...it say Rm500 something.....plus 20 games n one ori Sonic Advanture games..plus one Cd Loader..n the Browser CD.....n the MP3 software CD...
apac
post Jun 10 2006, 07:25 PM

QUOTE(Robert @ Jun 9 2006, 09:24 PM)
I know this shop got still selling it....with all the asscesories.....joypad,memory unit, vibrator......but i only see got 2 left...........but the machine is very old...the taukeh display it on the front shop........when i ask the price...it say  Rm500 something.....plus 20 games n one ori Sonic Advanture games..plus one Cd Loader..n the Browser CD.....n the MP3 software CD...
ohhh!! so can u tell me where the shop is.thanks
KoYuKii
post Jun 11 2006, 12:02 AM

1,979 posts

do u consider this vintage handheld console? thumbup.gif

PhoenixByte
post Jun 11 2006, 06:03 PM

No school like the oldschool
798 posts

Haha..A Game n Watch from Nintendo. I used to own a Zelda Game n Watch that has two separate screens like the DS now. One for dungeon and one where the boss fights is. Too bad I no longer have it (my little bro lost it..arghhhh!!) since it is a real vintage right about now.
apac
post Jun 17 2006, 07:15 PM

hello!! juz wandering, does anybody know any shop that sell or repair sega dreamcast.coz the one i own cannot be play anymore... icon_question.gif
Pennywise
post Jun 19 2006, 12:46 AM

5,796 posts

Micro Genius
Super Nintendo
Sega Megadrive

Contra, Dig Dug, Mario, Shining Force
SUSRobert
post Jun 29 2006, 03:17 PM

Validating
663 posts

Is this oldies??????

Stanley88
post Jul 10 2006, 07:26 PM

68 posts

NES...well mine was MICRO GENIUS - contra, super contra(Up,down,up,down,left,right,left,right,B,A,Start) sounds familiar? wink.gif

super famicom - Street Fighter 2! <--my first game, played NON-STOP
ah_suknat
post Aug 8 2006, 04:56 AM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

ps1...best game resident evil series and grant turismo.

snes...best game crono trigger and super robot wars 4.
LiangZhuge
post Aug 8 2006, 06:04 PM

451 posts

I just found some old NES catridge (big, long ones) way back from 1985 (Mario bros and Square's Rad Racer)(PAL version - for Asia market - for the front loading NES) and was thinking of getting one of those China famicom clones for under RM50 just for nostalgic feel of the game but the pins are not the same (and to check if it is still working after all this while smile.gif ).

Do any of you know where I can find a converter to play it in a Famicom clone ? (Last time I remember I use a converter to play it in my Micro Genius)
alvintan84
post Aug 9 2006, 12:54 AM

Game Enthusiast & Food Hunter
549 posts

NES I guess..Althought the oldest system i have is atari& micro genius..haha
SUSRobert
post Aug 21 2006, 09:23 PM

Validating
663 posts

Dreamcast is good.....PS1 still rocks...
REsuperG
post Aug 21 2006, 10:51 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(LiangZhuge @ Aug 8 2006, 06:04 PM)
I just found some old NES catridge
where do you find them ? i'm interested in getting it as well....

TTLink
post Aug 22 2006, 11:46 PM

13 posts

Saturn n e time...the games there are a dimond in the rough! yes, i know there aren't much quantity of proper games, but the good ones there really kicked it...like sega rally, ive yet to see handling like that in a driving game...special mentions to Nights & VF2
SUSRobert
post Aug 23 2006, 11:48 AM

Validating
663 posts

I like PS1 thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
SUScarnbyresurrected
post Aug 29 2006, 09:20 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(vincentlee83 @ Mar 17 2006, 12:46 PM)
during those good times, this was a hit for poor kids who cant afford to buy original/fake catridges... sweat.gif
Bu jooly good point you have mate..
Darkchaser
post Aug 29 2006, 11:01 AM

522 posts

QUOTE(TTLink @ Aug 22 2006, 11:46 PM)
Saturn n e time...the games there are a dimond in the rough! yes, i know there aren't much quantity of proper games, but the good ones there really kicked it...like sega rally, ive yet to see handling like that in a driving game...special mentions to Nights & VF2
Yep, for sure. I managed to get a Saturn when I was in Oz, and managed to obtain most of the excellent games on the Saturn, including Nights, Fighting Vipers, Virtual On, Guardian Heroes, and the ultra rare Panzer Dragoon Saga laugh.gif
REsuperG
post Aug 29 2006, 12:12 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Darkchaser @ Aug 29 2006, 11:01 AM)
Yep, for sure. I managed to get a Saturn when I was in Oz, and managed to obtain most of the excellent games on the Saturn, including Nights, Fighting Vipers, Virtual On, Guardian Heroes, and the ultra rare Panzer Dragoon Saga  laugh.gif
aiyo Guardian Heroes~ always wanted to play this game but still no luck getting it...
Darkchaser
post Aug 29 2006, 12:36 PM

522 posts

Yeah, I thought Gunstar Heroes was great, but Guardian Heroes is probably the best game ever by Treasure smile.gif
cyclonekid
post Aug 30 2006, 01:50 AM

356 posts

Dreamcast I think is still the best. Too bad my one is busted sweat.gif Anyone selling thiers?
LiangZhuge
post Aug 31 2006, 11:10 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(REsuperG @ Aug 21 2006, 10:51 PM)
where do you find them ? i'm interested in getting it as well....
Well mostly you find them in most unlikely places smile.gif. I found mine in a flea market in Ipoh.

This post has been edited by LiangZhuge: Aug 31 2006, 11:34 AM
REsuperG
post Aug 31 2006, 12:19 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(LiangZhuge @ Aug 31 2006, 11:10 AM)
Well mostly you find them in most unlikely places smile.gif. I found mine in a flea market in Ipoh.

drool.gif super mario bros~ want to sell ?
LiangZhuge
post Aug 31 2006, 04:26 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(REsuperG @ Aug 31 2006, 12:19 PM)
drool.gif super mario bros~ want to sell ?
Part of my collections. Not selling. If I find another I will let u know. So how is you oldies collections going ? I got a clone Super Famicom if you are interested wink.gif

Now anyone here where I can get a converter to play in a famiCLONE ?
REsuperG
post Aug 31 2006, 10:38 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(LiangZhuge @ Aug 31 2006, 04:26 PM)
Part of my collections. Not selling. If I find another I will let u know. So how is you oldies collections going ? I got a clone Super Famicom if you are interested wink.gif

Now anyone here where I can get a converter to play in a famiCLONE ?
Do let me know if you find any extra, thanks. I've listed my collection so far at the "your console" topic, i want to collect genuine console if possible, btw i already have snes, now only looking for games, but i dont mind keeping extra ori consoles if you able to find me 1 smile.gif .

This post has been edited by REsuperG: Aug 31 2006, 10:39 PM
APIITian
post Sep 3 2006, 06:05 PM

1,316 posts

QUOTE(awh85 @ Mar 14 2006, 11:01 PM)
Yah. Alex Kidd series. It was fun to play. Especially the paper, rock, scissors level.
praetorian
post Sep 4 2006, 07:25 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(Darkchaser @ Aug 29 2006, 12:36 PM)
Yeah, I thought Gunstar Heroes was great, but Guardian Heroes is probably the best game ever by Treasure  smile.gif
Everyone has their own opinions, however I think the consensus is Treasure best game is Radiant Silvergun for the Japan Sega Saturn. :-p
waeguk
post Oct 4 2006, 05:01 PM

633 posts

GAME and WATCH !!

Loved those simple games eg. parachute, helmet, octopus, manhole, etc..

Are they still selling these?

McDonalds had some handheld games once, but not the same.
waeguk
post Oct 5 2006, 10:40 AM

633 posts

Wah.... just for fun, I searched ebay for GAME & WATCH... found this sale .... crazy, RM400 each. If it sells, better not throw out your old consoles, they are priceless!!

http://www.ebay.com.my/viItem?ItemId=290035687033

aaronlim18
post Oct 7 2006, 03:49 AM

== IT FREAK ==
802 posts

i still love one game, Super Mario RPG, by Square and Nintendo, on SNES , the only chance where i can play it is via emulator only, no other choice edi,sigh, its a rare game u know, and the graphic and sound, dam good, in the end if u fight with the boss the BGM is FF's fighting BGM music, cool!
http://www.smrpglegacy.com/index.php?p=v7-smrpg
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Super_Mario_R...the_Seven_Stars
rhoyo
post Oct 7 2006, 04:35 PM

-
2,800 posts

Sega Mega Drive .. Runark Ftw !!
revived_irfan
post Nov 23 2006, 12:59 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(Robert @ Mar 15 2006, 05:34 PM)
Opps...sorry not a saturn...its a  Sega Genesis...with catrige games...sorry
I'm interested, where?
RAMChYLD
post Nov 23 2006, 10:57 AM

1,715 posts

My 16-bit console of choice was the Sega Megadrive. Wish I bought a SNES instead. I compared the SMD version of The Lion King to the SNES version my cousin has. His has better music, actually got African singing voices. My copy only have cheapo midi representation sad.gif

Then again, I get a kick out of Sonic games.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Nov 23 2006, 10:59 AM
King83
post Nov 24 2006, 03:28 PM

I'm the guy your mother warned you about
5,237 posts

can i still get sega megadrive in the market now?

what will those sellers think? tongue.gif
LiangZhuge
post Nov 24 2006, 04:14 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(King83 @ Nov 24 2006, 03:28 PM)
can i still get sega megadrive in the market now?

what will those sellers think? tongue.gif
Sega megadrive still available in the market,

Saw some new ones for sale in Jalan Pasar and Puchong Bintang supermarket. Selling around RM 80++ if I am not mistaken.
sunauto
post Nov 24 2006, 08:26 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

Whoah ........ still available? You mean the old Megadrive 1 or the latest one, Megadrive 2?

QUOTE(LiangZhuge @ Nov 24 2006, 04:14 PM)
Sega megadrive still available in the market,

Saw some new ones for sale in Jalan Pasar and Puchong Bintang supermarket. Selling around RM 80++ if I am not mistaken.
REsuperG
post Nov 25 2006, 12:31 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Nov 24 2006, 08:26 PM)
Whoah ........ still available? You mean the old Megadrive 1 or the latest one, Megadrive 2?
i think those are not genuine, i've seen shop that selling these brand new md2 price under RM100, asked the shop owner he told me that those are china made md2 clones.
hamtarox
post Nov 25 2006, 11:10 AM

281 posts

ermm...most classic will be SFC le...alot game are legend!!!and i feel that all the sqaure's RPG most best period...unlike now...
king_kenny
post Nov 30 2006, 02:37 PM

82 posts

Hi, Im new here.

just wanna share opinion.

I used to have Atari,Micro Genius, Super Nintendo, PS1 & PS2.

The best before Sony enter the console market, IMO Super nintendo
PhoenixByte
post Dec 4 2006, 09:38 AM

798 posts

QUOTE(REsuperG @ Nov 25 2006, 12:31 AM)
i think those are not genuine, i've seen shop that selling these brand new md2 price under RM100, asked the shop owner he told me that those are china made md2 clones.
I saw Sega MD in warta bangi with Sonic the hedgehog game demo. It is selling at RM38 only with one free cart.
neoardi
post Dec 4 2006, 02:00 PM

Membanteras Pembenci
645 posts

PS1 IMHO is the best and the first Parappa the Rapper is one of my fav game ever. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by neoardi: Dec 4 2006, 02:00 PM
sonic_cd
post Dec 6 2006, 01:04 AM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

i want another saturn just to play this again ... sad.gif mine rosak doh.gif
junaidi
post Dec 11 2006, 02:12 PM

I have quite a number of console in my collection.

1. Nintendo Super Famicom (SFC) NTSC with Doctor 3
2. Nintendo N64 NTSC
3. Sega Mega Drive 2 PAL
4. Sega Saturn NTSC with JVC MPEG card
5. Sony Playstation NTSC SCPH-1001
6. Sony Playstation 2 NTSC SCPH-70006CB

And No doubt, still the most I love is Sega Saturn.

Still try to search for Nintendo GameCube, Sega Dreamcast, SNK NeoGeo AES, NeoGeo CD-Z, NEC PC-Engine Duo-R, NEC PC-FX, Panasonic 3DO & Pioneer Laser Active to add on my personal collection.

This post has been edited by junaidi: Dec 12 2006, 12:28 PM
junaidi
post Dec 11 2006, 02:15 PM

QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Dec 6 2006, 01:04 AM)

i want another saturn just to play this again ...  sad.gif mine rosak doh.gif
Come to my house & I borrow mine Saturn for you to play at my house with S-Video output quality.... No need to bring the game together b'cos I have it & love it too....
h3llspawn
post Dec 12 2006, 11:17 AM

i luv the saturn followed by the dreamcast... as being mentioned earlier there are not much saturn games but the great ones are just great. too bad my lens on my dc hv gave up on me. wonder where i could get it fixed in kl/pj??

This post has been edited by h3llspawn: Dec 12 2006, 11:21 AM
junaidi
post Dec 12 2006, 12:39 PM

QUOTE(h3llspawn @ Dec 12 2006, 11:17 AM)
i luv the saturn followed by the dreamcast... as being mentioned earlier there are not much saturn games but the great ones are just great. too bad my lens on my dc hv gave up on me. wonder where i could get it fixed in kl/pj??
It is quite imposible to get it fix in Klang Valley area because there is no sparepart available for it since 2001. I would suggest that you buy a seconhand unit from Ebay or Lelong.

Some very quality game that I still play on my Saturn besides watching VCD on it:

1 - Panzer Dragon Zwei
2 - Nights into Dreams
3 - Metal Slug (require 1M cart)
4 - Marvel Vs. Capcom (require 4M cart)
5 - Samurai Spirit (require 1M Cart)
6 - Vampire Saviour (require 4M cart)
7 - KOF series (require 1M cart)
8 - Enemy Zero (4 Disc)
9 - Cyberbots (require 1M cart)

P/S: For all Saturn owner out there, Please remember to change the internal coin cell battery (CR2032) on the Saturn every 2 years once.

This post has been edited by junaidi: Dec 12 2006, 12:46 PM
ToGo
post Dec 13 2006, 01:42 AM

506 posts

SNES supporter.
Doctor disk reader, wow can get as much games as 1 want.

Top Gear2, Zanggazist, San, Biker mice, Final Fantasy, Yuyu hakushu, dragon ballz, Street fighter2, Rockman, alot of great game which i would never forget.
madmoz
post Dec 17 2006, 06:11 PM

4,250 posts

QUOTE(junaidi @ Dec 12 2006, 12:39 PM)
It is quite imposible to get it fix in Klang Valley area because there is no sparepart available for it since 2001. I would suggest that you buy a seconhand unit from Ebay or Lelong.

Some very quality game that I still play on my Saturn besides watching VCD on it:

1 - Panzer Dragon Zwei
2 - Nights into Dreams
3 - Metal Slug (require 1M cart)
4 - Marvel Vs. Capcom (require 4M cart)
5 - Samurai Spirit (require 1M Cart)
6 - Vampire Saviour (require 4M cart)
7 - KOF series (require 1M cart)
8 - Enemy Zero (4 Disc)
9 - Cyberbots (require 1M cart)

P/S:  For all Saturn owner out there, Please remember to change the internal coin cell battery (CR2032) on the Saturn every 2 years once.
icon_idea.gif The best handheld ever (athough so shortlived) is SNK's Neo Geo Pocket Colour! Bwahahahah

Anyways, if you guys are willing to wait, I've got a Saturn in my Sabah home which I can loan to you guys... it's PAL (but modded to play other region's games, not too sure if it plays bootleg copies - I had this done in the UK)... some games too like Dragon Quest, Marvel v Capcom, Vampire Savior, Cyberbots (crap...)

If memory serves me well, I also have some ps1 originals like suikonden I (!) and Vandal Hearts... no machine though... long busted doh.gif
acougan
post Dec 17 2006, 06:43 PM

590 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Dec 17 2006, 06:11 PM)
icon_idea.gif The best handheld ever (athough so shortlived) is SNK's Neo Geo Pocket Colour! Bwahahahah

Anyways, if you guys are willing to wait, I've got a Saturn in my Sabah home which I can loan to you guys... it's PAL (but modded to play other region's games, not too sure if it plays bootleg copies - I had this done in the UK)... some games too like Dragon Quest, Marvel v Capcom, Vampire Savior, Cyberbots (crap...)

If memory serves me well, I also have some ps1 originals like suikonden I (!) and Vandal Hearts... no machine though... long busted doh.gif
ebay them for profit thumbup.gif suikoden1 [PAL] is quite rare & fetch a pretty good price.

http://bob.com.sg/forum/showthread.php?t=30864

http://cgi.ebay.com/Playstation-3-plus-MAS...1QQcmdZViewItem
haha
wandiana
post Dec 18 2006, 01:08 PM

85 posts

Any 3DO fans here..? whistling.gif
hamtarox
post Dec 19 2006, 10:55 AM

281 posts

ANY WONDERSWAN BLACK AND WHITE FANS HERe?LAST TIME I BOUGHT IT AT GIANT FOR 99.00..FREE ONE GAME....GUNPEY...arrr...se regret to sell it...T.T

This post has been edited by hamtarox: Dec 19 2006, 10:56 AM
ck2055
post Mar 16 2007, 12:08 PM

251 posts

how about the old

ColecoVision
Atari 2600
Intellivision
ayip_bashah
post Sep 26 2007, 07:39 AM

Best of the oldies??
I have to go with SNES...Chrono Trigger, Zelda a link to the past, Super Mario world, Super Metroid, Secret of Mana, Super Mario RPG, Donkey Kong Country...final fantasy 6 (best game ever)...SNES have tons of awesome games.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ayip_bashah: Sep 26 2007, 12:06 PM
dachlain
post Sep 26 2007, 12:02 PM

32 posts

GameBoy.....Kings of fighters'96 and R-type.
post Sep 26 2007, 12:35 PM

1,447 posts

SNES!!!! FTW
sihumchai
post Sep 26 2007, 01:23 PM

Yate Haugan WOOSH!
538 posts

QUOTE(300078 @ Sep 26 2007, 12:35 PM)
SNES!!!! FTW
Unfortunately games back then were so limited(locally) and expensive.. I noticed a seller in Garage Sales selling Mega Drive II and Saturn, go get em' collectors!

I had most of my time spent on SNES Street Fighter II, and also Dragonball Z 2, Contra 3, Chrono Trigger.. Meeeeemoooriesssss.. I wonder which brother of mine threw/gave it away mad.gif

Gahleon
post Sep 26 2007, 03:30 PM

230 posts

I miss my Sega Saturn with all those XXX games.
nizam80
post Sep 26 2007, 06:14 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(Gahleon @ Sep 26 2007, 03:30 PM)
I miss my Sega Saturn with all those XXX games.
I still have a Japanese Saturn (White Color). However, the button-shaped battery backup memory is not functioning already. Anybody know where can i get a replacement for the battery?
Gahleon
post Sep 26 2007, 06:29 PM

230 posts

QUOTE(nizam80 @ Sep 26 2007, 06:14 PM)
I still have a Japanese Saturn (White Color). However, the button-shaped battery backup memory is not functioning already. Anybody know where can i get a replacement for the battery?
Good your still work,mine spoil when my sis play it without adapter a few years ago... White as well.

Seeing this make me miss my Saturn even more.

nizam80
post Sep 27 2007, 11:33 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(Gahleon @ Sep 26 2007, 06:29 PM)
Good your still work,mine spoil when my sis play it without adapter a few years ago... White as well.

Seeing this make me miss my Saturn even more.

That Segata Sanshiro video is so hilarious!! laugh.gif
skyliner
post Sep 28 2007, 11:20 PM

aku orang
627 posts

i'll vote for PS2, still ralevent until now coz i m still using it..
~wallaauu, i m soo outdated~
Gahleon
post Sep 29 2007, 03:02 PM

230 posts

QUOTE(skyliner @ Sep 28 2007, 11:20 PM)
i'll vote for PS2, still ralevent until now coz i m still using it..
~wallaauu, i m soo outdated~
PS2 still young la kid.
ayip_bashah
post Oct 3 2007, 02:45 PM

Miss the old SNES days... cry.gif

too bad everyones too up on PS3,XBOX630 and Wii...budak2 zaman sekarang nie...
Thumpy Ick
post Oct 3 2007, 05:59 PM

281 posts

Best of the oldies??
I have to go with SNES...Chrono Trigger, Zelda a link to the past, Super Mario world, Super Metroid, Secret of Mana, Super Mario RPG, Donkey Kong Country...final fantasy 6 (best game ever)...SNES have tons of awesome games..

YEAH! SNES is the best out of all d old-school consoles...i still play the games now in my PC... Chrono Trigger i didnt finish it coz Lavos was freakin tough! i think i stopped playing after Crono learned Luminaire... but it was a really awesome game. i will play it again after SPM! surely will!

Zelda Link 2da Past...it was a confusing game. i was stuck in d rabbit mountain thingy...dunno wat to do then just decided to gave up. haha. i know. another game on the revenge list

Secret of Mana was such a confusing game...it was enjoyable! really! Alongside Tales of Phantasia, Illusion of Gaia...but out of all d games of that style, i like Terranigma the most. n i managed to finish it on d 2nd try! (1st try biasalah, got stuck on a tough boss again)

about FF series in SNES... i managed to complete FFIV (Kain n whoever d main character is) and FF VI (Sabin, Edgar, Locke, Celes) (that's my main 4) . yea i agree wit u, FFVI was one of the best RPGs i've ever played. awesome soundtrack too! the world map's theme is the best map theme i've heard so far in a game

i still play those games now...n still looking! there are a few sites which hosts the games..but nothing beats pressing d console n watching d character moves on d TV screen...(n spoiling d TV in d process)
ayip_bashah
post Oct 4 2007, 02:00 PM

QUOTE(Thumpy Ick @ Oct 3 2007, 05:59 PM)
YEAH! SNES is the best out of all d old-school consoles...i still play the games now in my PC... Chrono Trigger i didnt finish it coz Lavos was freakin tough! i think i stopped playing after Crono learned Luminaire... but it was a really awesome game. i will play it again after SPM! surely will!

Zelda Link 2da Past...it was a confusing game. i was stuck in d rabbit mountain thingy...dunno wat to do then just decided to gave up. haha. i know. another game on the revenge list

Secret of Mana was such a confusing game...it was enjoyable! really! Alongside Tales of Phantasia, Illusion of Gaia...but out of all d games of that style, i like Terranigma the most. n i managed to finish it on d 2nd try! (1st try biasalah, got stuck on a tough boss again)

about FF series in SNES... i managed to complete FFIV (Kain n whoever d main character is) and FF VI (Sabin, Edgar, Locke, Celes) (that's my main 4) . yea i agree wit u, FFVI was one of the best RPGs i've ever played. awesome soundtrack too! the world map's theme is the best map theme i've heard so far in a game

i still play those games now...n still looking! there are a few sites which hosts the games..but nothing beats pressing d console n watching d character moves on d TV screen...(n spoiling d TV in d process)
What do you mean "Lavos was freakin tough"??? Lavos was so easy...i beat the creature when I was in Standard 5... tongue.gif

Hohohohoho..another FF VI fan... rclxms.gif greatest FF ever, needs a 3D remake seriously so people will know about it....too bad everyones too up on FF7...FFVII was well made but definitely wasn't the best FF of all time by far. I'm just tired of the high praise it has... there's so much better games...
Final Fantasy VI continues to be my favorite in the whole series specifically because of all the characters especially Edgar, Sabin, Setzer, Locke, Shadow, Cyan and how well developed they were. I hope that FFVI gets the same treatmeant as III or IV and get a whole 3D upgrade on either the DS or even the PSP...I'd also like to see it redone on the PS3...
StraxorX
post Oct 4 2007, 04:20 PM

A lonely Duckling
539 posts

SNES is my most favourite all the time. even PS2,PS3,XBOX360 can't beat this console. game love to play simant in snes
sihumchai
post Oct 4 2007, 04:42 PM

Yate Haugan WOOSH!
538 posts

w00t, all the classic people here.

And I'll have to agree with Ayip, Lavos vs. Rainbow Sword? No-wai! tongue.gif

And StraxorX, I used to play SimAnt in PC.. Man, I'd get that game if it releases on the Virtual Console!! Damn nice to gaduh with spider laugh.gif

And old skool still lives legally through the Wii thumbup.gif
ayip_bashah
post Oct 4 2007, 07:08 PM

QUOTE(sihumchai @ Oct 4 2007, 04:42 PM)
w00t, all the classic people here.

And I'll have to agree with Ayip, Lavos vs. Rainbow Sword? No-wai! tongue.gif

And StraxorX, I used to play SimAnt in PC.. Man, I'd get that game if it releases on the Virtual Console!! Damn nice to gaduh with spider laugh.gif

And old skool still lives legally through the Wii thumbup.gif
Yup...oldskool games still lives...ive just downloaded Super Metroid, Street Fighter 2, Zelda link to the past and Sin and Punishment on the virtual console... rclxms.gif
sihumchai
post Oct 5 2007, 09:13 AM

Yate Haugan WOOSH!
538 posts

QUOTE(ayip_bashah @ Oct 4 2007, 07:08 PM)
Yup...oldskool games still lives...ive just downloaded Super Metroid, Street Fighter 2, Zelda link to the past and Sin and Punishment on the virtual console... rclxms.gif
Oohh.. Virtual Console kaki. I downloaded S&P too, great game, resembles an arcade game very much. Should be perfect for a remake on the Wii.

Street Fighter II.. no-one will play with me la, so I skipped that one. But I would love to play it again tho'.

Waiting for the release of Super Mario Bros 3..
ayip_bashah
post Oct 5 2007, 09:55 AM

QUOTE(sihumchai @ Oct 5 2007, 09:13 AM)
Oohh.. Virtual Console kaki. I downloaded S&P too, great game, resembles an arcade game very much. Should be perfect for a remake on the Wii.

Street Fighter II.. no-one will play with me la, so I skipped that one. But I would love to play it again tho'.

Waiting for the release of Super Mario Bros 3..
cayalah!! notworthy.gif

baru main Sin n punishment skit jer...too busy playing gunstar heroes and street of rage 2 with my friends...
better invite your friends over .syok main 2 orang...

sihumchai
post Oct 5 2007, 09:58 AM

Yate Haugan WOOSH!
538 posts

Ayip, I'm playing Legend of Mystical Ninja now, that one pun best main 2-player co-op, it's harder than Streets of Rage wink.gif I suggest you get it! (and play with a friend)

And I prefer Final Fight > Streets of Rage.. SoR I got one cheat technique that enemies/bosses cannot fight back laugh.gif Just punch once, then let the stun animation go, when almost off, punch again (then repeat) tongue.gif The fatso's won't harm you no more.. Hahaha..
ayip_bashah
post Oct 5 2007, 11:23 AM

QUOTE(sihumchai @ Oct 5 2007, 09:58 AM)
Ayip, I'm playing Legend of Mystical Ninja now, that one pun best main 2-player co-op, it's harder than Streets of Rage wink.gif I suggest you get it! (and play with a friend)

And I prefer Final Fight > Streets of Rage.. SoR I got one cheat technique that enemies/bosses cannot fight back laugh.gif Just punch once, then let the stun animation go, when almost off, punch again (then repeat) tongue.gif The fatso's won't harm you no more.. Hahaha..
Legend of Mystical Ninja??? have to check that one out...is it the same as shinobi???
I love final fight...going to buy the third final fight when it is release...

thanks for the tips...i cant seem to beat the game ..the boss is freaking hard...plussss my fren accidentally pounding my ass didnt help too much either....
sihumchai
post Oct 5 2007, 11:33 AM

Yate Haugan WOOSH!
538 posts

QUOTE(ayip_bashah @ Oct 5 2007, 11:23 AM)
Legend of Mystical Ninja??? have to check that one out...is it the same as shinobi???
I love final fight...going to buy the third final fight when it is release...

thanks for the tips...i cant seem to beat the game ..the boss is freaking hard...plussss my fren accidentally pounding my ass didnt help too much either....
Maybe the name Ganbare Goemon would ring a bell more(maybe not..)? smile.gif Konami made game. It's more like double-dragon or Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles.. But it has a nice variety of gameplay.

And LOL.. Best part about co-op games last time biggrin.gif Can belasah partner kau kau.. Usually I'd do the full combo, punch twice, grab, punch twice again, jump over and throw! Confirm mati laugh.gif

Dammit, you make me wanna get Streets of Rage tongue.gif
ayip_bashah
post Oct 5 2007, 11:45 AM

QUOTE(sihumchai @ Oct 5 2007, 11:33 AM)
Maybe the name Ganbare Goemon would ring a bell more(maybe not..)? smile.gif Konami made game. It's more like double-dragon or Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles.. But it has a nice variety of gameplay.

And LOL.. Best part about co-op games last time biggrin.gif Can belasah partner kau kau.. Usually I'd do the full combo, punch twice, grab, punch twice again, jump over and throw! Confirm mati laugh.gif

Dammit, you make me wanna get Streets of Rage tongue.gif
go get streets of rage...maybe we can team up and beat the hell out of the final boss...hahahaha tongue.gif
Damn!!!..virtual console is really addictive...ive abandoned my PS3 just for the sake of virtual console... thumbup.gif
nomuken
post Oct 5 2007, 07:37 PM

wait till BattleToads either for the NES or SNES comes out... God damn it that game is hard!!! Gonna get it once it hits on VC.
Gahleon
post Oct 5 2007, 07:45 PM

230 posts

QUOTE(nomuken @ Oct 5 2007, 07:37 PM)
wait till BattleToads either for the NES or SNES comes out... God damn it that game is hard!!! Gonna get it once it hits on VC.
There were also a Battle Toad vs Double Dragon back then.
zolarius
post Jan 13 2008, 12:58 AM

QUOTE(Gahleon @ Oct 5 2007, 08:45 PM)
There were also a Battle Toad vs Double Dragon back then.
Guys,

Out of curiousity. Does anybody remember when were these consoles the PSX, Sega Mega Drive II, Nintendo the one which Mario was introduced? or in other words, roughly which years they were introduced to the Malaysian market.
PhoenixByte
post Jan 13 2008, 09:18 PM

798 posts

QUOTE(zolarius @ Jan 13 2008, 12:58 AM)
Guys, 

Out of curiousity.  Does anybody remember when were these consoles the PSX, Sega Mega Drive II, Nintendo the one which Mario was introduced? or in other words, roughly which years they were introduced to the Malaysian market.
Back at my hometown,

NES i think back in 1988. (Cult favourite during those times are of course...Contra, Ninja Turtles and Mario 3)
PC Engine was in 1989 with for the first time 4 player simultaneous play (Motor Roader and Wrestling was among the favourite coz it have this feature)...and also Cyber Cross.
Mega Drive 2 was in 1990 same as SNES. (Sonic, Shinobi and movie based games was a hit on SEGA)

Ahh remembering the good old days playing at kedai apek for RM2 per hour. The shops got rushed by the cops so many times but still we kids would go there since we don't hv consoles back then. happy.gif

PSX? I think late 90s.
Newt0n
post Jan 13 2008, 09:30 PM

56 posts

I really like the SNES, especially the game called Secret of Mana.
figure8
post Jan 13 2008, 09:46 PM

...dear future, come get me
3,174 posts

shining force 3 = best game ever
Cool_Knights
post Jan 13 2008, 11:26 PM

153 posts

the PS i think was introduce here in Malaysia in the 1995, that time the price is as same as PS3 now around RM1400...huhuhuhu.
PhoenixByte
post Jan 13 2008, 11:57 PM

798 posts

Back then..seeing blocky tekken character was really awe inspiring happy.gif
zolarius
post Jan 14 2008, 12:11 AM

QUOTE(Cool_Knights @ Jan 14 2008, 12:26 AM)
the PS i think was introduce here in Malaysia in the 1995, that time the price is as same as PS3 now around RM1400...huhuhuhu.
I have played Nuclear Strike (PSX) which I liked very much somewhere late 1990s. But one thing I noticed that cartridge games are much faster to download that the ones using CDs or DVDs. Thats the reason why I still keep my Super Nintendo (forgot exactly what year I bought it) till today and my nephews and nieces are still playing the Super Mario and grand prix games. Any idea where can I get the SN cartridge in KL?
SWATwolf
post Jan 14 2008, 11:17 AM

431 posts

the legend of zelda: ocarina of time

<3
Scavengers
post Jan 14 2008, 05:41 PM

380 posts

my atari 2600 is still working, talk about good stuff eh smile.gif
bought at if i remember it correctly 1987