Malaysia Airline Enrich Miles, Get the best bang from your CC points :)

aspartame
post Feb 9 2015, 11:06 AM

3,165 posts

For Zone 1 and Zone 2 economy class there is a reduction of about 20% which is good. Generally, for economy class, reduced or maintained for short trips and increased slightly for long haul fights. The major increases are in business and more so on first class, I think. I think no more "cheap" luxuries.
aspartame
post Apr 16 2015, 08:58 AM

3,165 posts

May I know how best to claim the Enrich miles for tickets purchased for kids? Seems like only can earn points in their own Enrich accounts? If so, is it easy for them to transfer their points to my account later?
aspartame
post Apr 17 2015, 12:19 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(tigaxxx @ Apr 16 2015, 09:19 AM)
It will cost 4 sen /1 EM  + rm40 fee to transfer ur kids EM to yours..
Would like to know more about earning miles. For example, if fly to Hong Kong economy class return air fare about RM1k, how many miles are earned after the trip? I saw this chart about accrual 200%, 150% etc but accrue what? rclxub.gif
aspartame
post Apr 17 2015, 07:02 PM

3,165 posts

Thanks guys. Have a clearer picture now. Seems like unless one frequently purchases business/first class tickets, earning miles are not easy especially those economy promo tickets. Was thinking of opening Enrich accounts for family members to earn some points and later transfer and consolidate. Knowing the slow accumulation rate and transfer costs now, not much incentive really. tongue.gif Might be better off just trying to earn miles from Maybank 2 Premier credit card spending.
aspartame
post May 12 2015, 08:58 AM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ May 12 2015, 01:03 AM)
Promo to japan

travel 15th may to 30th sept

Osaka 50% off

Tokyo 30% off

Might consider burning my AAX ticket, only 27.5k EM + RM70 on business class from KL to Osaka. plus both are red eye flight. And I would get to try MAS lounge.
Why do you prefer red eye flights?
aspartame
post May 25 2015, 11:54 AM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(maiself @ May 24 2015, 10:48 PM)
40K + RM350-RM450 - You need to purchase MH Smart Economy
The difference between economy and business if 34,000 miles on way. Isn't it better to just redeem business? Under what circumstances is it better to upgrade? Thanks notworthy.gif
aspartame
post May 31 2015, 08:42 AM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ May 31 2015, 07:10 AM)
Flew to Osaka for 27,500 EM, still get awarded 5,376EM for taking that flight biggrin.gif
What? Do you earn EM again on your redemption? If true, it means "effective cost" of EM to redeem must deduct by the EM earned on redemption? Is this a standard practice also across other flyer programmes? Please explain bearbear kor.
aspartame
post Jun 7 2015, 11:37 PM

3,165 posts

I have 2 questions:

1. Is it possible that for certain flights where the economy tickets are full but you are still able to use Enrich miles to book the tickets? This is what seems to be happening but I cannot understand why they do it.

2. Can you use Enrich miles to book a ticket/tickets that is not in your name? These people are traveling without you.
aspartame
post Jun 26 2015, 08:03 PM

3,165 posts

Hi guys,

May I know after redeeming tickets through Enrich, what do we need to do? Do we need to call them to book our seats? How about if we need to buy additional luggage kg? How is redeeming Enrich different from normal purchase?

aspartame
post Mar 19 2016, 09:39 AM

3,165 posts

I am exploring the flights to Barcelona and I found out that I could not redeem tickets to Barcelona using Enrich but yet Malaysia airlines do fly to Barcelona. May I know how to redeem them? And another question about Oneworld: is it possible for me to redeem flight to Barcelona if other airlines in the group fly there and if yes, are the redemption rates cheaper than if I redeem using Enrich? I am having a hard time figuring which are the ones available for redemption and how much are the miles on Oneworld. The Enrich redemption online is pretty staightforward though. Appreciate some help.

aspartame
post Mar 19 2016, 11:15 AM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(JC_jun @ Mar 19 2016, 09:43 AM)
You can't redeem Because it is code share emirates flight, MH enrich does not allow you redeem flight operate by emirates
What about Qatar airlines? They are part of Oneworld. Does that mean I can call Enrich call center to redeem using Enrich miles? If yes, how to calculate the Zone for flight from KUL to BCN?
aspartame
post Mar 21 2016, 12:46 AM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Mar 20 2016, 07:15 PM)
Google for the Enrich OneWorld chart to check the zones.

Google mileage calculator to find the distance between airports. You'll need to check KUL-DOH-BCN not KUL-BCN

Google on how to check for Qatar availability on Avios to check which flights are available on QR
Thanks!
aspartame
post Mar 24 2016, 10:25 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Mar 24 2016, 09:45 PM)
Yeap, that's the answer. For some reason "O" class tickets can now be topped up to regular fare ones (list of redeemable classes herehttp://www.malaysiaairlines.com/my/en/enri...rich-miles.html). This top up is about 20% more expensive than buying the lowest regular (MH Basic, Smart, Flex) priced fare.

what peeved me off was that I booked a lowest fare ticket (O) KUL to LHR, and bought a MH Basic (about RM700 more) for LHR to KUL as I wanted to use the Qatar Lounge. the flight is in June and the agent is telling me all redemption upgrades are already taken up for LHR to KUL including the standby list. I'm not sure if this is true or not as I'm still able to see availability for full redemption and cash+miles tickets via Enrich portal for my flight dates.  ohmy.gif
Why didn't you redeem business straight away instead of upgrade? About the same right? Or is it cheaper to redeem upgrade?
aspartame
post Mar 26 2016, 10:33 AM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(herc @ Mar 23 2016, 07:23 PM)
My award ticket from PEK-KUL can upgrade via cash over counter, did not ask for miles coz that time has empty EM.
How is this upgrade via cash over counter different from MHUpgrade offered through email where u get to set your bid to upgrade? Which way cheaper?
aspartame
post Mar 26 2016, 10:36 AM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Mar 24 2016, 09:45 PM)
Yeap, that's the answer. For some reason "O" class tickets can now be topped up to regular fare ones (list of redeemable classes herehttp://www.malaysiaairlines.com/my/en/enri...rich-miles.html). This top up is about 20% more expensive than buying the lowest regular (MH Basic, Smart, Flex) priced fare.

what peeved me off was that I booked a lowest fare ticket (O) KUL to LHR, and bought a MH Basic (about RM700 more) for LHR to KUL as I wanted to use the Qatar Lounge. the flight is in June and the agent is telling me all redemption upgrades are already taken up for LHR to KUL including the standby list. I'm not sure if this is true or not as I'm still able to see availability for full redemption and cash+miles tickets via Enrich portal for my flight dates.  ohmy.gif
May I know what so special about Qatar Lounge? I assume you are referring to the one in LHR right? So, MH business class can enter Qatar Lounge because of oneworld membership? And, for your KUL to LHR, did you upgrade to business class? Sorry..noob here
aspartame
post May 22 2016, 07:34 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(msa9696 @ May 22 2016, 05:30 PM)
Yes it's really worth
Mostly people redeem business class to London right? Anybody here redeemed first class before?
aspartame
post May 22 2016, 10:36 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ May 22 2016, 10:04 PM)
I've redeemed business on MH but not first (yet), but tempted to do it now. The only thing stopping me is I have a first class redemption on Etihad to London this winter so I'm a bit short on vacation days biggrin.gif
Etihad and MH, are they using the same plane?
aspartame
post Jul 22 2016, 08:13 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(raist86 @ Jul 21 2016, 07:15 PM)
One advice.. use the enrich miles and redeem for other OW airlines like Cathay and JAL. There's some taxes but it's not crazy like MH YQ.

For Eg, KUL - HKG - AKL, the total est taxes for CX came up to about RM 800 per pax return.. while if i fly KUL - AKL under MH, i have to pay almost RM 1.5k per person. With CX, can get to enjoy a stopover in HK, enjoy Pier business lounge and better seats.
May I know this Pier business lounge is only for business class seats right? And if using CX, how long is the stopover at Hong Kong? What is the advantage to have stop over there? Quick trip to the city?
aspartame
post Aug 1 2016, 12:19 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Aug 1 2016, 10:31 AM)
Let's see how silly is MH FFP now compared to SQ

HKG
SQ: 23,375 (B) / 31,875 (F)
MH: 45,000 (B)

I can fly A380 first class suite on SQ, MH only operate a tiny 737. With SQ i can do business return (option of A350 with SIA) with the miles required by MH for one way.

PEK
SQ: 29,750 (B) / 42,500 (F)
MH: 55,000 (B)

NRT
SQ: 34,000 (B) / 51,000 (F)
MH: 55,000 (B)
Can you please also do a comparison for Business return to London? Is it still worth it to redeem MH business to London? Thanks
aspartame
post Aug 1 2016, 05:48 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(herc @ Aug 1 2016, 02:33 PM)
KUL-LHR J return

Asia Miles 120,000 + HKD 2,533.00, transit HKG
KrisFlyer 136,000 + MYR 2,923.90, transir SIN
Enrich Miles 150,000 + MYR 2,395.90, direct