7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Malaysia Airline Enrich Miles, Get the best bang from your CC points :)

tishaban
post Oct 31 2015, 12:04 AM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(glenns @ Oct 30 2015, 03:48 PM)
It is possible to convert my wife credit card treat points to enrichmiles and credit into my enrich account?
Your wife can book a ticket for anyone using her enrich account, not just for herself.

Unfortunately as herc says if you don't have enough from each of your Enrich accounts for a single redemption then you're out of luck, it's not possible to transfer from one TP to another person's Enrich account.

tishaban
post Nov 1 2015, 04:58 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(JC_jun @ Nov 1 2015, 03:50 PM)
my travel destination is very uncertain, but every year will travel to Beijing HongKong at least once.
right now i have Enrich and AsiaMiles membership. 

any other FFP to recommend?

my spending with credit card will earn me points for air miles, right now i credit all to enrich, but starting to consider other FFP programme, trying to find out which FFP better for award flight.
You can gain FFP via 3 ways usually:
1. bonus from CC sign up. Happens very infrequently eg. the 10k TP that you get when you sign up for the MBB Premiere cards, or 30k Enrich that you get once upon a time when you sign up for Citibank PremiereMiles

2. CC spend or other spend (hotel, car rental etc)

3. actual flying

Decide which one you'll be using the most. For the majority of people it's #2
Decide what's important to you eg. short distance regional travel, long distance travel, biz/first redemption, others.
Decide also which CC you'll be using for your spend. If you're a Singapore or Australia PR for example, your options just got bigger.

With this in mind you can decide which FFP you can optimize for eg. MH Enrich and BA Avios are best for short regional travel while AAdvantage is best for biz/first redemption on OneWorld. You can get Enrich via 1, 2, 3 but Avios is available only from 2 specifically Citibank cards or 3 when flying on OneWorld airlines and AAdvantage for most Malaysians are only available via 3 when flying MH or other OneWorld airlines.

This hobby to be honest is far too complex to just describe in a few paragraphs. I've been at it since 2008 and am still learning. Read up and ask specific questions, good luck.

tishaban
post Nov 2 2015, 12:16 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(deeplyheartbroken @ Nov 1 2015, 07:57 PM)
How do you earn Enrich points through hotels' stays? Do I need to show our Enrich card during check-ins? Or do we claim it from Enrich website? Appreciate your guidance.
It's all on the Enrich website

http://www.malaysiaairlines.com/my/en/enri...les/hotels.html

tishaban
post Nov 3 2015, 10:07 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(raist86 @ Nov 3 2015, 08:25 PM)
MAS revamping their A330 business class.. finally..

Thomas bringing Aer Lingus DNA into MAS.... the seats are similar to what's on Aer Lingus... Kinda weird arrangement though..

http://www.ausbt.com.au/malaysia-airlines-...or-airbus-a330s

https://www.flightglobal.com/news/articles/...busines-418524/
Cool, fully implemented by September too. At least I know which plane I'll choose when flying to Beijing or Seoul!

tishaban
post Nov 13 2015, 03:32 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Nov 11 2015, 09:12 PM)
Qatar direct
You can upgrade with Qmiles only, not Enrich.

tishaban
post Nov 20 2015, 05:40 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Nov 20 2015, 10:19 AM)
So, I incorporated a mini review of the OCBC Premier Voyage Miles into my Best Top 10 Credit Cards in Malaysia 2016 article.
Love the sarcastic review biggrin.gif

tishaban
post Dec 16 2015, 04:54 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(dctravels @ Dec 16 2015, 10:52 AM)
I second that motion. Would love to discuss KF redemption tips and tricks with others on here. I am torn between redeeming either two QR A380 F to Europe (again?!?) or two SQ Suites class SIN-AKL seats which have come up for Christmas next year. Have never been to NZ but fancy the newer look and design of the QR F seats.
QR F is nice but SQ SIN-AKL is a 12-hour flight compared to DOH-Europe which is at most 7 hours. biggrin.gif I would choose to go to NZ again.

Anyone did EY Apartments yet?

tishaban
post Dec 16 2015, 08:58 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(dctravels @ Dec 16 2015, 05:42 PM)
You've tried QR F? How did you find it? SIN-DOH leg will be on A350 (no F) but would love to try out QR's A350.

SIN-AKL flight time is around 10 hrs. I will be dropping by Melbourne (try out EK A380 F for AKL-MEL) before returning home via SYD-SIN on Suites Class. And you read wrong: I've never been to NZ and am a big LOTR fan  biggrin.gif
I've never tried QR F, have been on J on their 787 which was fantastic, and on their A340 which was meh.

I definitely recommend New Zealand though, was there some years back and am definitely planning to go again. I have enough miles for SIN-AKL-SIN in J for the family but it's impossible to get more than 2 J seats on Air NZ so I might just go to New Zealand twice next year heh.

tishaban
post Dec 16 2015, 09:00 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(herc @ Dec 16 2015, 05:16 PM)
EY Apartments is out of reach... yet

Im gonna store up and aim for SQ Suites SIN-FRA-JFK, problem is they don't often release 2 seat at once.
You could potentially break the journey SIN-FRA and FRA-JFK as KF allows you to do that by paying a bit extra. This might increase your chances of getting the Suites for 2.

tishaban
post Dec 18 2015, 05:26 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(Yippie123 @ Dec 18 2015, 12:58 PM)
Enrich program is a joke honestly,you better look for AM or KF.

Back to your question, fly cheap Econ domestic flight. Cost you around rm400 if you really want enrich GOLD
You may not like Enrich but if you hit Enrich Gold you'll get Oneworld Sapphire privileges. Free lounges on Oneworld airlines, can't complain...

tishaban
post Dec 29 2015, 03:56 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Dec 28 2015, 07:49 PM)
yes latest model from Airbus but i read MAS is leasing like 4x A350. How to replace 12x 777?

not many airlines can fill up the load i guess with A380, only the likes of emirates can do it. Somemore can order A380 in 2 class with 600+ seats sweat.gif
I think MAB is moving towards a short/medium haul model, with the A350 focusing primarily on their selected long haul destinations eg. LHR and SYD hence the need for only 4 A350. They apparently have options for 2 more A350s plus a pair of A330 to add to their existing soon to be refurbished A330 fleet as well. It is a huge downgrade, from roughly 2 dozen long haul 772 + A380 to about 4-6 A350 but that's what they've decided on.

tishaban
post Dec 29 2015, 11:24 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(dctravels @ Dec 29 2015, 09:49 PM)
Agreed. They are and should rightly focus on being a top-notch regional airline, good enough to give AK a real fight. Forget about SQ and other full-fledged airlines, not even in the same league. Similarly, I echo the sentiments of others with regards to Enrich Miles: why even bother?
I don't agree with their strategy, that MH should leave the international long haul market to SQ/CX/EK/EY/QR, they can have a better differentiator compared to competing with AK in the domestic/regional market, plus MH could potentially complement AK. But then again they have to start somewhere so the regional market makes sense in the short term.

While I agree that Enrich as a FFP is dead, it does have its benefits, particularly for short haul/domestic flights during busy seasons. For example a KUL-BKI return trip today for the first week of Feb is roughly RM1,200+ on AK/MH but only between 17-22k miles which yields roughly 5.5 sen or better per Enrich mile.

tishaban
post Jan 15 2016, 05:57 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(dctravels @ Jan 15 2016, 09:51 AM)
Very interested in my Enrich miles again now:

Emirates to fly high with new first class, business class

I wonder how much they'll charge for a first class ticket using Enrich. Asia to the US on Emirates is 100k Alaskan miles one way, compared to about 70k on Cathay/Korean. Emirates is a marketed as a premium product...

tishaban
post Jan 18 2016, 09:24 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 18 2016, 01:40 PM)
That's super cheap Bro. Next time got such offer please PM me.
Etihad's new year sale is starting in 26 hours.

http://www.etihad.com/en-my/deals/promotio...omotion_id=8309

Not super cheap, Turkish Airlines had amazing sales back in December, but I think you can get some decent deals.
tishaban
post Jan 24 2016, 04:10 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(sukitena @ Jan 23 2016, 07:02 PM)
Malaysia Airlines.
I managed to find some info but would like to confirm. Back to my question on how many Enrich miles will I earn if I were to fly business class from KUL to Dallas US.. I managed to find at link below on mileage accrual. Say if the miles between KUL to Dallas is about 9300 miles, and I fly in C/D class , I will earn 9300 * 1.5 = 13950 Enrich Miles?
13,950 enrich miles is for one way.

KUL-NRT-DFW on MH is basically KUL-NRT on Malaysia Airlines and NRT-DFW on AA metal. You could do KUL-NRT-DFW-IAH technically if you need to go to Houston.

tishaban
post Jan 24 2016, 04:16 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(speedfamgirl @ Jan 23 2016, 01:10 PM)
If there's an airline i would like to transfer my Starwood SPG points it would be Emirates....now just hoping somehow i can use that EK points into MH & redeem to fly for free at least for a year tongue.gif
I really hate my monthly commute to kch-myy with expensive tickets & less choces  mad.gif
If you have 100k SPG points I would transfer it to Alaska Airlines miles, which would net you 125k Alaska miles. This, in my opinion way, is more valuable than EK or MH miles. Alaska allows you to redeem on EK or CX or KE plus a handful of others.

I only have 44k SPG points, still waiting on what will happen with the Marriott sale.

tishaban
post Jan 25 2016, 05:01 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(digidigi @ Jan 24 2016, 05:34 PM)
May I know usually how you guys accumulate SPG points?
I started out with bonus points, but have racked up quite a number just by staying plus as @speedfamgirl pointed out, by knowing what to do.

For example my last stay in the US was ~$1200 for a 9 night stay. With the special bonuses that's available every quarter, plus some bonuses from my Gold status and SPG Amex I was able to net close to 13k SPG points.

If you follow some of the promos going on eg. the 2016 promo in the beginning of the year, one RM330 stay at the Aloft KL Sentral would've netted you close to 4.5k SPG points (2016 new year bonus + 2500 keyless bonus) and that's before other bonuses you may get. If you have a spouse, do it twice, then combine your accounts some time before you want to redeem anything.

tishaban
post Jan 25 2016, 06:30 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(speedfamgirl @ Jan 25 2016, 05:54 PM)
How did you get an SPG Amex?
I lived and worked for many years in the US. Just applied and was approved for both an IHG and HHonors card. Need to diversify now that SPG is possibly going away.

There are ways to get US based credit cards if you're not a citizen/permanent resident, however it's not quick nor is it free. This is not the forum to discuss it, will put something out in the frequent flyer specific one.

This post has been edited by tishaban: Jan 25 2016, 07:07 PM
tishaban
post Jan 26 2016, 02:28 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(torres09 @ Jan 26 2016, 10:50 AM)
anyone know if the new biz class for a330 will be applied to Darwin?
as i know Darwin is using B738.

the destinations for 50% off are all on the indian subcontinent + Beijing + Darwin..

doh.gif doh.gif
Very likely no as Darwin seems to be a low traffic destination. I'd guess the new one would fly to Melbourne/Sydney first.

tishaban
post Feb 17 2016, 01:07 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(speedfamgirl @ Feb 17 2016, 05:37 AM)
Rugi lah...I was thinking if we can do the opposite, or any of the OW members partner by transferring my SPG points to any of them & book for award ticket for domestic MH flights...unfortunately almost non existent doh.gif
What about transferring your Starpoints to Avios? Avios redeems on MH at ok rates for domestic too.

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0273sec    0.96    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:23 PM