°°Official LYN Toyota Prius C Owners/Fans V3°°

hafizss4
post Jan 5 2013, 10:31 PM

Bro,

since you already installed the scan guage, can you share with us your findings, as in engine rpm at certain cruising intervals, say 70, 90, 110?

cool to know. smile.gif

QUOTE(wankf @ Jan 4 2013, 11:15 PM)

You should read back on V2 thread, this the last time I am repeating about this OBD ii monitoring device for our PC leh.....check out the link as follow for more understanding :- doh.gif

http://priuschat.com/threads/scanguage-ii-...prius-c.106524/

I bought it from this guy:-  tongue.gif

http://www.lelong.com.my/scangauge-ii-obd-...7-01-Sale-I.htm

I had posted some of its picture installed in my PC at FB PC group as well...join n check it out.  icon_rolleyes.gif

hafizss4
post Jan 5 2013, 10:53 PM

Hi guys,

I am a new silver PC owner here. got my car late november, only got the chance to join the group recently..

has any of you guys travelled to genting before on PC? if you have, please share your experience with us..

i was wondering, say, if we have the 100++ V battery almost fully charged before climbing, does the battery fully discharge before we reach the top/peak of genting highlands? because i think we would be travelling at low speed <40 kmh climbing up the hills, and be using a lot of electric power, i wonder if the car is able to charge to compensate the battery power used to propelled the car forward?

if the 100+ V battery is unable to charge accordingly then we will be missing a lot of torque towards the end of the trip..
hafizss4
post Jan 7 2013, 04:06 PM

QUOTE(mike1986 @ Jan 7 2013, 03:50 PM)
1) mike1986
2) wankf
3) rangers
4) eeeee7
5) johnnycp
6) louis198920
7) conqu3ror
8) kelvinckh33
9) lkp857 (if include mirror auto folding)
10) skng74 (if include mirror auto folding)
i saw in one of the posts before, we can get it at rm100, is it true? if it is really so and includes auto mirror folding, count me in!

11) hafizss4 (if rm100 & include auto mirror folding)
hafizss4
post Jan 8 2013, 11:52 AM

QUOTE(mike1986 @ Jan 8 2013, 10:45 AM)
Anyway guys. RM 100 is the best Jason  can give and not even me alone can get anything special from him. So in another word, I won't get any benefit too.

So after talking with Jason, he suggested I could still collect all the money on behalf of you all and pass the money to him, then u guys can collect from him based on the list of names and phone no that I have compiled and given to him. He is doing Cod in klang valley or PJ or KJ areas, So still convenient for all of us.

So shall we proceed like that? At least u guys get to meet Jason in person since he is the one going to provided warranty and he could help u to plug in the speed auto lock too.
hi, is it for sure we can get auto side mirror folding also?
hafizss4
post Mar 14 2013, 01:37 AM

hi guys. one question about my prius c, milage of around 8000+km.. recently i have been hearing sounds of "clack" from the rear-left side of the car everytime i accelerate.. i think the sounds comes from a location where the electric battery resides. everytime i accelerate (slowly, still in EV but not EV mode) i can hear the clack sound. and sometimes when i accelerate even more where the engine kicks in, i can hear the clack sound, and the sound appears once for every acceleration i made below 30kmh.. is this normal? i dont remember hearing it before this.. you know, the sound is like, we stretching our hands and it's the same clack sound that comes from the bone at the elbow.. so it's kind of creepy.. haha.. pls get back to me asap, im a bit worried about the car.. since i think it comes from the battery compartment..
hafizss4
post Mar 14 2013, 02:19 PM

QUOTE(wankf @ Mar 14 2013, 08:56 AM)
I had this "click" sound now and then but it was randomly....sometime from the front and sometime from the back when i accelerate for a total stop or after the bump. Since the PC is so quiet, I will notice this sound once in awhile. Some bro here told me is the brake pad release. But your case is only on the back....maybe should go to SC and check it out.  hmm.gif  Nowadays I get use to it already  doh.gif  and sometime stuffs at the back boot knocking each other when brake or accelerate(every single sound will be noticeable when driving this quiet PC, even road uneven also know from the tire sound).  sweat.gif
thanks bro, i dont know i will try to see and move some stuff in the boot before i send to service.. thanks for your advice anyway smile.gif i do hear some tack tack sound coming from the hood at the front, but i think it's the brake functioning.. it makes sense actually.. especially when the ESC or whatever it is is activated.. but the noise from the battery compartment makes me worry...
hafizss4
post Mar 14 2013, 02:21 PM

QUOTE(gacktleong @ Mar 14 2013, 09:00 AM)
Is it coming out from the rear seat? Cos im having the problem with the clip or positioning of the rear seat at left rear seat. I often can hear some weird sounds when im turning or driving thru bumppy road in low speed
hurm.. i dont hear any sound when i drive thru a bumpy road.. it's just, everytime i step on the accelerator, the car accelerate below 30 kmh, no matter whether the engine kicks in or not, there will be a clack sound from rear left.. no matter i will try to look at the rear seat.. could be the clip also.. thanks for your advice bro =)
hafizss4
post Mar 14 2013, 02:23 PM

QUOTE(upleasure99 @ Mar 12 2013, 01:47 PM)
What do you mean?? cruise control problem? pls explain in deatils...
i used cruise control a lot, i havent found any problem for it yet. tho i found that to maintain the speed while climbing hills, the cruise control will accelerate beyond the eco region, to the power region (red) in the eco score panel.. so i dont think using cruise control would be economical.. i would rather self cruise and wait for the engine to pick up speed when climbing hills..
hafizss4
post Apr 3 2013, 12:37 AM

QUOTE(ryxx @ Apr 2 2013, 08:25 PM)
Yo, i would like to ask you guys if you experienced loud knocking sound behind the back seat of passenger's side?
It seems that the sound comes from the internal body like plastic knocking sound. It happen even when i drive at low speed on flat ground.
Sent to SC @ Subang twice but they still couldn't find the cause.
Anyone can advise?
bro,

the knocking sound u are talking about, is it something like, prak prak.. like, the sound when you bend a plastic material? im facing the same problem, too. it happens only recently, i think around 8000+ milage.. im gonna send my car for 10,000km milage service tomorrow at subang SC, too. i hope they will rectify the problem for me.. the sound sounds like it comes from the battery bay, under the rear seat, isn't it? it got me worried at first because it's like the sound coming from the battery bay, and the knocking sound is only at low speed, everytime you tap on the accelerator or the engine kicks in. no? well that's what i observe..
hafizss4
post Jun 3 2013, 12:52 PM

QUOTE(ieyjj @ Jun 3 2013, 12:25 PM)
Depends on the causes of battery failure. if I light the battery up in fire, would that be battery failure? haha! well, okay then i think its safe to say that in Malaysia, there isn't any battery failure except for that guy who got into an accident and water went into the battery.
bro, who says prius c engine does not have vvt-i? take a look at the specifications back, it's 4-Cylinder In-Line, 16-Valve, DOHC with VVT-i + Atkinson cycle. what they do is they modified the current 1.5 engine so that it uses less fuel, though less performance from the engine (comparable to 1.2L engine) but that would be compensated by the electric motor, which gives a total output of 169 Nm (in total EV mode). but i guess since 1 motor is used for accelerating while the other is used for charging during non-EV mode, then probably the output from motor would be half of 169 Nm. My guess is engine around 90 Nm at lower rev (111 Nm at peak) and assisted by electric motor 80 Nm that should give us around 170 Nm at low engine rev (inspira 1.8 177 Nm) . So, less fuel, performance is like a 1.8 engine when ECO mode has been shut off.

but the thing with e-cvt, just like any other cvt, the road speed has to catch up with engine speed, so you lost the acceleration feeling. though it is accelerating, you don't feel it, to add more, the digital speedometer won't give you an impression how agressive your speeding is, compared to the traditional speedometer..

as per in the case of accident, all the electronics will be shut down to prevent fire. so, let's say you got involve in an accident, you won't be able to start your car anymore. you will have to call a tow truck. a bit of a hassle here, but it's for safety. plus the battery is stored under the rear seat. as long as the accident does not affect the rear seat, it will be quite safe.

im happy with my prius c. planning to trade-in with the bigger sister prius in 3 years time.. hopefully the government extends the hybrid incentive for the next few years..
hafizss4
post Jun 3 2013, 12:55 PM

QUOTE(hafizss4 @ Jun 3 2013, 12:52 PM)
bro, who says prius c engine does not have vvt-i? take a look at the specifications back, it's 4-Cylinder In-Line, 16-Valve, DOHC with VVT-i + Atkinson cycle. what they do is they modified the current 1.5 engine so that it uses less fuel, though less performance from the engine (comparable to 1.2L engine) but that would be compensated by the electric motor, which gives a total output of 169 Nm (in total EV mode). but i guess since 1 motor is used for accelerating while the other is used for charging during non-EV mode, then probably the output from motor would be half of 169 Nm. My guess is engine around 90 Nm at lower rev (111 Nm at peak) and assisted by electric motor 80 Nm that should give us around 170 Nm at low engine rev (inspira 1.8 177 Nm) . So, less fuel, performance is like a 1.8 engine when ECO mode has been shut off.

but the thing with e-cvt, just like any other cvt, the road speed has to catch up with engine speed, so you lost the acceleration feeling. though it is accelerating, you don't feel it, to add more, the digital speedometer won't give you an impression how agressive your speeding is, compared to the traditional speedometer..

as per in the case of accident, all the electronics will be shut down to prevent fire. so, let's say you got involve in an accident, you won't be able to start your car anymore. you will have to call a tow truck. a bit of a hassle here, but it's for safety. plus the battery is stored under the rear seat. as long as the accident does not affect the rear seat, it will be quite safe.

im happy with my prius c. planning to trade-in with the bigger sister prius in 3 years time.. hopefully the government extends the hybrid incentive for the next few years..
peak torque from:
engine - 111 Nm
motor - 169 Nm

go figure out yourself tongue.gif
hafizss4
post Jun 3 2013, 03:42 PM

QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Jun 3 2013, 02:47 PM)
Ya I tough usually every car battery battery will run out of juice after 2-3 years??? Ok compare speed of this hybrid to a saga flx 1.3????
bro, i told u before..

it's 4-Cylinder In-Line, 16-Valve, DOHC with VVT-i + Atkinson cycle. what they do is they modified the current 1.5 engine so that it uses less fuel, though less performance from the engine (comparable to 1.2L engine) but that would be compensated by the electric motor, which gives a total output of 169 Nm (in total EV mode). but i guess since 1 motor is used for accelerating while the other is used for charging during non-EV mode, then probably the output from motor would be half of 169 Nm. My guess is engine around 90 Nm at lower rev (111 Nm at peak) and assisted by electric motor 80 Nm that should give us around 170 Nm at low engine rev (inspira 1.8 177 Nm) . So, less fuel, performance is like a 1.8 engine when ECO mode has been shut off.

PriusC engine - 1.5 cc with 111 Nm peak torque
PriusC motor - 169 Nm peak torque

In totally EV mode where the engine is off, the torque of the motor is 169Nm (but a limitation of 6000rpm has been set on the motor, i dont know why)
In hybrid mode, the engine works together with motor1 to accelerate, while motor2 charges the battery
Therefore the total torque is: engine (low rev 90Nm roughly), motor1 (80Nm roughly) total up to 170 Nm.
As a comparison, Inspira 1.8 177 Nm bro.

If you want to compare, compare with persona 1.6 or inspira 1.8. performance is similar if you turn off the ECO mode.
but you achieve this kind of performance with less fuel being used.

hafizss4
post Jun 3 2013, 03:51 PM

QUOTE(hafizss4 @ Jun 3 2013, 03:42 PM)
bro, i told u before..

it's 4-Cylinder In-Line, 16-Valve, DOHC with VVT-i + Atkinson cycle. what they do is they modified the current 1.5 engine so that it uses less fuel, though less performance from the engine (comparable to 1.2L engine) but that would be compensated by the electric motor, which gives a total output of 169 Nm (in total EV mode). but i guess since 1 motor is used for accelerating while the other is used for charging during non-EV mode, then probably the output from motor would be half of 169 Nm. My guess is engine around 90 Nm at lower rev (111 Nm at peak) and assisted by electric motor 80 Nm that should give us around 170 Nm at low engine rev (inspira 1.8 177 Nm) . So, less fuel, performance is like a 1.8 engine when ECO mode has been shut off.

PriusC engine - 1.5 cc with 111 Nm peak torque
PriusC motor - 169 Nm peak torque

In totally EV mode where the engine is off, the torque of the motor is 169Nm (but a limitation of 6000rpm has been set on the motor, i dont know why)
In hybrid mode, the engine works together with motor1 to accelerate, while motor2 charges the battery
Therefore the total torque is: engine (low rev 90Nm roughly), motor1 (80Nm roughly) total up to 170 Nm.
As a comparison, Inspira 1.8 177 Nm bro.

If you want to compare, compare with persona 1.6 or inspira 1.8. performance is similar if you turn off the ECO mode.
but you achieve this kind of performance with less fuel being used.
and one more thing, prius c has two different batteries.
1) the normal 12V battery that every other cars use to turn on its electronics and for spark plugs for normal cars
2) additional 144V battery that stores energy to drive the motor and power the electronic power steering, aircond & spark plugs

1) for hybrid the normal battery will probably kaput after 4 years (because it uses it less, unlike non-hybrid car which has the tendency to kaput after 2 years because the normal battery is used for the spark plug
2) the additional 144V battery so far very few cases of kaput. most of the toyota hybrid, especially overseas, has clocked over 400,000 km (taxis) and it is still working well..
hafizss4
post Jun 3 2013, 04:21 PM

QUOTE(Mclaren @ Jun 3 2013, 02:42 PM)
thanks for your great explanation bro...u know better thumbup.gif ...i believe with my experience to fix & maintain my 20yrs old SEG which now still in good condition,i think i can able to main my car even better.
Due to the car aged & look forward for new technology to overcome all those mechanical failure,that's why i chosen Prius C.
I'm thinking the same if Gov.extended the tax examption,Bigger Prius maybe my next purchase
yes, i can't wait to buy the sister prius actually.. it looks gorgeous to me.. haha have you test drove it before?
hafizss4
post Jun 4 2013, 10:36 AM

QUOTE(naith @ Jun 4 2013, 09:33 AM)
Ok. So are there any negative effects (brake-wise or engine-wise) if I use the hand brake while the gear is in D? (without pressing on the accelarator)
QUOTE(naith @ Jun 4 2013, 09:33 AM)
Ok. So are there any negative effects (brake-wise or engine-wise) if I use the hand brake while the gear is in D? (without pressing on the accelarator)
the reason why you have to put the gear in D because..

1. during idle, your ICE (engine) will turn off and so will use the 144V battery to operate the electronics, aircond compressors
2. at low speed it will use the battery to run the motor and the aircond compressors
3. these operations drains the battery really fast (especially during a hot day when the compressor works hard to cool down the car)
4. placing the gear in D will enable the car to charge the battery back when the battery runs out of juice
5. it will turn on the engine (even though in idle) to charge the battery for about 30 seconds. at this time the rev of the engine may seem a bit high, but it will turn off again after re-charging

therefore, please place your gear in any positions (P, R, D, B) except for N where at N the car is unable to charge the battery. the worse effect of not charging the battery is:
- battery totally out of juice
- battery unable to start your ICE (because toyota hybrid uses the 144V battery to start the engine. the 12V battery is only used to start the circuit)
- you will have to call a tow truck

this charging of the battery will happen for around 30 seconds, once every 10 minutes if your car is running out of juice.. if your car is fully charged then i think it takes about 15 minutes to 20 minutes maybe to drain the juice..

what i usually do, i just place the gear in N if my battery is still full.. but once it has reached the lowest 20%, i just let it on N for about another minute or 2, then if the traffic is still not moving, the i just place it in D and wait for my car to charge itself, then only i place back to N..

0.0470sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:00 AM