PC Audio HTPC, anyone doing this?

stan001
post Aug 26 2009, 03:49 AM

623 posts

Very innovative 2.4Ghz Wireless Keyboard/trackball/touchpad for HTPC MCE

http://usb.brando.com/usb-keyboard_c034d015

I wonder is anyone selling these products here in Malaysia ....

stan001
post Sep 17 2009, 12:55 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(Elanges @ Sep 1 2009, 12:43 AM)
guys i need some help here, i connect my old pc Pentium 2.8 ,512mb ddr2, 256mb ati X550 pcie graphic. since the pc doesnt have hdmi,  i connect thru vga, but under my 32' lcd tv the display is like having some noise, like some electric surge, i tried to set the frequency, still no help. can some1 guide me whats wrong over here,

and the ati card have dvi output, if i buy hdmi converter will it improve the display?
I would recommend you to connect via a DVI to HDMI converter, either a DVI to HDMI converter + a HDMI cable (male both sides) or buy those with 1 end HDMI and the other end DVI.

Much better to output digital display instead of analog vga display.

With this, even the audio can be sent to yr LCD TV without additional audio out cables. ( Not sure if your graphic card support this or not )

An investment in DVI-HDMI converter would not go to waste if you can still use it in the near future...

Added on September 17, 2009, 1:13 am
QUOTE(Kidicarus @ Aug 26 2009, 01:58 PM)

Casing: Moneual Moncaso 972 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w7Ru96Si0OI .  Reasons for picking this is that it just looks awesome with the 7" touch screen, but it can also house a full sized atx mobo.  Unfortunately, the chassis with the touchscreen and bundled remote and software comes up to RM2600, but I'm quite determined to get it.  It's the rest of the stuff that i'm not so sure about.

Processor, Mobo + memory: Should i be going for a board that takes DDR3?  I've been a bit out of touch with pc components since i built my Q6600pc so some decent mid-range board/proc advice would be appreciated.  Also, bearing in mind i would like something relatively quiet, recommendations of a good heat sink would be great as well.

Gfx Card: Gaming is not going to be a major priority.  I suppose a card with a HDMI port/HDCP etc is what i would need here.  ATI or Nvidia is fine, as long as the card runs relatively cool and quiet (not passive cooling though).  It would be great if you could also give recommendations as to the brand so i can do further research on my own.

HDD: 1Tb hdd (edited for typo), but I'm also thinking of a SSD drive for the OS.

Sound: Asus Xonar D2X?

PSU: 550w/650w modular+branded.  I hear BeQuiet is pretty good these days so i'll probably be looking out for these.  Though some recommendations from you guys would be appreciated.

Anyway that's what i have in mind at the moment.  I can probably budget properly once i get the mobo, proc, memory factored in but any help and suggestions would be appreciated.
I just built one last month.... here are some of my experience and things to avoid... read my blog below.

For a full HTPC, remember to get a TV input card + remote control + IR Blaster ( http://hauppauge.com/site/products/data_pvr150mckit.html ) so that you can control yr Astro from yr HTPC and even schedule a recording accordingly.

I went with DDR3 but I think DDR2 should be fine too, prices are not too big of a differences these days.

I choose a ASUS AMD785G mobo with built-in ATI graphic card + VIA HD Audio... the audio can be sent to both HDMI (to the tv together with video ) and SPDIF ( optical link, raw digital audio ) directly to AV receiver for DTS decoding.

If you use it for Astro recording, you might need to keep the HTPC turn 24hrs so SSD would not make much sense.

Remember to budget for a bluetooth dongle, keyboard + mouse as those Microsoft Wireless/Cordless keyboard/mouse would NOT work as the distance between the receiver and keyboard/mouse are too short range and too much interferences.

Also remember to get a quiet CPU cooler as the stock cooler would makes too much fan noise.

Hope this helps..

This post has been edited by stan001: Sep 17 2009, 01:13 AM
stan001
post Sep 19 2009, 04:42 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(van_dyke @ Sep 17 2009, 04:30 PM)

Don't know if this is the right place to post this. I have a pc which has a karaoke software in it. As of now, I'm feeding my sound out from HDMI via my ATI display card. This is connected to my AVR.

Now, my AVR doesn't have a mic port, so... I would need to use my on board sound care for the mic. Thing is, it doesn't add up. I can record my voice in the sound recorder but I cannot play the karaoke and sing from the mic at the same time.

Its like the on-board sound card doesn't know how to pass the info to the video card to output it together from the HDMI.

Anyone knows any solution to this?

Thanks!
Not sure if this help, try to configure the Sound under Control Panel under the Audio and Voice tab.

There is a default voice device and voice recording.. which device to send the voice & audio to...

My board have both ATI HDMI output and VIA HD Audio device..so I need to select which device to send the audio output to...

stan001
post Sep 27 2009, 12:04 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(Elanges @ Sep 25 2009, 08:08 PM)
Guys need some suggestion from u. curently me setting up a HTPC before i start lemme give my system spec

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+ AM2
Asrock A780GM-LE  Integrated AMD Radeon HD 3200 graphics, DX10 class iGPU, Pixel Shader 4.0, Max. shared memory 512MB
# Supports HDCP function with DVI-D port
# Supports Full HD 1080p Blu-ray (BD) / HD-DVD playback
2GB DDR2 800mhz
500GB SATA HDD
small E-Supercase casing

Now im on dilema which Os to put on my system, im not goin to use MCE for play back.. gona use MediaPortal
so for above spec should i go for Winxp Pro or Vista Ultimate ? i wan my system to boot faster and problem free smile.gif
I'm using win XP MCE 2005 for my HTPC. Have not used Vista before, it looks heavy on graphics and gonna slow down my PC ...

MS MCE is kinda bad and not very well designed, very very hard to find where to configure so many settings as it was hidden all over the place... sometimes, my liveTv does not work.. but the integration with IR blaster for the remote control of Astro is good for scheduled recording..

Hv not played with MediaPortal yet..

Why not go with new AMD 785G chipsets (with HD4200 IGP) as 780 is an older chipsets... you know la, motherboard investment can last a long long time... other components (ram/hdd/gc/cpu) can be changed but motherboard usually last the longest..

Read about the AMD 785G chipsets :-
http://hothardware.com/Articles/AMD-785G-C...igabyte/?page=1

stan001
post Jan 2 2010, 11:10 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(Elanges @ Nov 4 2009, 05:50 PM)
hi guys, need some tips here,  im having a slim htpc on living room where it can connect max up to 1 3.5' hdd only, since my hdd is full im planin to set another server where i can storage more movies, and my question is, isit advisable using wireless to watch movies from living room, since i will watch all HD movies which stored in server.  worried the movies might be lag??
Wireless would be too slow..

You can go with those ethernet over electrical wires... hv yr content in a NAS

85M or 200M HomePlug... depending on where the power socket is located, you can get 15-20Mbps tput ... the more adapters, the lower the speed...

You will need a pair...

stan001
post Jan 17 2010, 10:37 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(eugenecctan @ Jan 16 2010, 11:49 PM)
HI sifus, I am connecting my PC to AVR using digital output, the AVR show 2 channel only, but weird part is my 5 speakers is functioning, anything wrong? I am using realtek alc 883, any suggestion on how to set to 6 channels?
Number of sound channels depends on the content ( 2, 5.1 or 7.1 )...

If you play a HD movie in .mkv encoded with DTS/DD, then you will get 5.1.. if the content is only encoded in stereo, then you get 2 channels only...

Best way is to try to play a DVD on yr PC, in the s/w select DTS or Dolby Digital and select SPDIF as your sound output, it should send the digital sound signal to yr AVR like a regular DVD player would do..

stan001
post Jan 18 2010, 10:19 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(isildur88 @ Jan 18 2010, 12:00 AM)
im planning to setup a HTPC. ive just gor a LG 42" Plasma tv. and now planning to get a pc to connect to it. is there any free internet tv that i can stream at high def or at least clear. m also planning to upgrade streamyz to 2mbps for it. thanx.
I do not think such HD content exist in Malaysia or at least over streamyx... US or Korea probably YES...not here..

Your best alternative option would be to play Blueray movies for HD content or like myself, borrow some HD content to experience the differences of playing 720p or 1080p compared to DVD content.. as for the sound, it is still either DTS / DD...

stan001
post Jan 18 2010, 03:16 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(valtai30 @ Jan 18 2010, 09:28 AM)
i'm gonna build my HTPC as well, here's my specs....

1. Intel C2D E8200
2. Asus P5KPL-AM Plus
3. Sapphire ATI 4830
4. Corsair Value Ram PC6400 800mhz 4GB (2GB x 2)
5. Blueray Rom
6. 1TB HDD
7. Creative X-Fi Elite PRO
8. 550w Real Power PSU (Huntkey maybe) tongue.gif
9. Casing?? Maybe AOpen G326???

I would not focus on any brand or models...

For HTPC, unlike normal desktop PC, the requirements are a little different :-

Important criteria :-

- HTPC chassis, there are lots of very nice ( and expensive ) case to choose from to blend into yr living room ...

- Cooling - with some small cramp chassis and inside yr poor circulation tv cabinet, cooling is important as it is relative to the fan noise

So choose all the components with lowest noise/low fan RPMs - PSU, CPU, CPU cooler, GPU...

- choices of output - MUST have - HDMI -> tv, SPDIF -> AVR

Soundcard - no comments, no experience with the X-Fi card since usually output digital to AVR for decoding..

Hope this helps in your decision...

stan001
post Jan 18 2010, 07:55 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(valtai30 @ Jan 18 2010, 06:59 PM)
thanks for all the comments above...... actually i just decided and now building in progress and the final specs are as follows..... tongue.gif

1) AMD Phenom II 550BE
2) Biostar A760G-M2+ (cheapo mobo)
3) Sapphire ATI 4830 (got HDMI output)
4) Corsair Gaming Memory 4GB PC6400 800Mhz
5) OEM LG Blueray Rom
6) 1TB HDD
7) No sound card atm.....
8) Huntkey 550w Green Power PSU (cheapo PSU as well)
9) AOpen G326 (quite big for HTPC)

i'm gonna hook this HTPC with my coming soon (this wednesday) Toshiba 42ZV600 Full HD LCD and my Altec Lansing MX5021 (temporarily)........ might get myself AVR set when $$$ nowhere to spend...... hopefully it will be soon.......

should i change any hardwares instead of the above setup??
AMD 760 is an old chipset with HD 3000 IGP... get the current chipset for future proof... 785G is the latest chipset with IGP HD 4200..

If you planning to get the ATI 4830, you might want to go with AMD 770 (no IGP) + SB 710

Choices are ( by pricing ), MSI , ASUS , Gigabyte... google for the A770 models...

Make sure the mobo have HD audio on board as you need to be used with yr existing speakers ( not AVR )..

stan001
post Jan 19 2010, 10:58 AM

623 posts

Do you need recording function for yr HTPC ??

If YES, go for the Hauppauge PVR-150, the MCE edition comes with a sensor & remote control... it can also control yr Astro via a IR blaster ( send IR signal to yr Astro decoder to change the channels ) when you do schedule recording..

No if do not need recording, I think getting of of those special hardware media player ( too many to choose from ) and plug into yr LCD/Plasma would be cheaper / easier to setup...

stan001
post Jan 19 2010, 08:10 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(peter32 @ Jan 19 2010, 05:26 PM)

I am thinking of just installing Window XP with media centre as its OS.  The function is to link the onboard Digital Toslink to my existing AV Amp.  GC will be the usual 785 mobo Radean ATI 4200 version, nothing additional will be added.

Aim: to make the cpu as quiet as possible.  So the idea of iCute PSU that comes with 2 small fans sounds contradictory.  But anyway I have acquired the item, and will let you all know about the noise level. 

Another way is to reduce the fan noise of the chip itself.  One way is to actually underclock the chip !  Has anyone done that before? 

This Black edition is actually famous for its inherent quad design, but only Duo chips are activated !!  So some has the technique and method to unlock the duo chip to Quad !  For me, since it is flexible to start off with, I may actually underclock to gain lower temperature.  Any one can comment on this?

Other query is about window XP.  How good issit to use it to run HTPC?  Is there anything in software that I should be worry about ?

Finally can win XP 32 bit make full use of 4GB Ram totally?  I know the limit is 4GB, but is that so?

Try running the Win XP Media Center Edition (if you can still find it), it comes with the built-in media center s/w with recording functions... if you do not want to go with Vista..

AMD CPU hv feature called "cool & quiet", it will clockdown when idle by reducing the multiplier... my 2.8Ghz would be running at 800Mhz when idle.. Use CPU-Z to check the running speed.

You MIGHT need an efficient/low speed CPU cooler if the stock cooler gets too noisy... my stock cooler was running at 6000 RPMs and it was very annoying in the living room... so hv to get the Zalman CNPS low profile cooler

Win XP would only use less than 4Gb due to the 32bit limitations BUT you still need some ram (512Mb) as Video RAM / Frame Buffer for the ATI HD 4200... so it would be less than 4GB anyway..

Make sure the HTPC chassis is efficient in drawing out extra heat ... add/change to low noisy fans too..

stan001
post Jan 19 2010, 11:11 PM

623 posts

I got the Zalman 8700 LED for around RM180-190 at ALL IT Mall... the cooler is low enuf for some smaller HTPC chassis and the fan blows down towards the mobo, so can cool the rest of the board too..

I set the fan speed to 2000 RPM ( max is only 2400 ), this cooler is very efficient in terms of heat transfer...

A bit hard to install on my mobo cos the fancy heatsink design on top of the chipsets... luckily the heatsink is adjustable a bit...

stan001
post Jan 21 2010, 10:52 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(peter32 @ Jan 21 2010, 12:12 AM)
Sorry a question for the user of MA785gmt-us2b, as it is just my first cpu build in my entire life, I just want to know that if this mother board require to plug in TWO power connector to the Mobo?  The 2x12 and 2x4 ?

Sorry a noob question.  Any answer will be greatly appreciated.
No idea what mobo model r u taking about...

Most mobo need to have either 4 pins or 8 pins power from the power supply..

Check the power supply unit connectors, most should support both 4 pin or 8 pins (2 x 4 pins) ... and check the mobo layout to see what type of connectors it needed.

stan001
post Jan 21 2010, 01:19 PM

623 posts

Just plug in the 4 pins, if you system are still unstable, buy a 4 pins to 8 pins adapter..

8 pins are really needed for those dual CPU or those Xeon CPU that requires lots of power.

Google Gigabyte forums for other possible solutions..

I think higher power rating PSU comes with 2 x 4 pins for the CPU.

stan001
post Jan 22 2010, 12:03 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(peter32 @ Jan 22 2010, 11:07 AM)
Just to update:

I manage to turn on the mobo by plugging in half of the 2x4 cpu power cable.  Guess its ok for now, until one day i want to upgrade the GC.

Installed XP home, will install in more free stuff later.
I am no electrical / electronics expert... only know that W = V * A ( still do not understand those specs on the PSU means )...

What I understand about the 4pins & 8pins CPU socket is that it just carry same amt of current using more cables ...

My Xigmatek 500W PSU comes with two 4pins connector but I only use one of them only...

If you do not overclock yr CPU or use too many stuff that take up the too much power ( a few hdd, GPU card..etc..etc ) , then the 4 pins should work.. if you get unstable, then buy the 4pins to 8 pins connector and if it is still unstable, then you are not supplying enuf power to the mobo / cpu.. then you might need to change yr PSU to a higher rating one...

I'm confused when you mention 2 x 2 pin and 2 x 4pins...

Have fun setting up your HTPC..

stan001
post Jan 22 2010, 12:10 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(neuvas @ Jan 22 2010, 11:07 AM)

My display will be an acer h233h.. thru hdmi.. i dont need tv tuners or recorders.
my htpc purpose (by priority):
1) Preview HD content (m2s / xvid / mp4 / mov h.264) which comes in 720p & 1080p edited in vegas by another pc.
2) Watch downloaded movies (mkv / divx /etc..)

questions:
1) i would like to know about the front end if i were to use with xp pro.
2) id rather use remotes compared to wireless keys.. any recommends?
3) I have an old p4 2.8 HT northwood + ic7 mobo (ancient) running 2x512 of ddr400s. could it be used as a barebone for the htpc i'm building?
4) XBMC looks nice.. isit suitable?

Most ppl usually use Media Player Classic as it support most of the video codec ( .mkv,etc.. ) .. and even support GPU offload to decode those HD content... 720p, 1080p

Downside is that it does not work with remote controller... I usually use my BT mouse for controlling the playback ... a bit of a hassle..

stan001
post Jan 22 2010, 01:19 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(peter32 @ Jan 22 2010, 12:48 PM)
And I also hunt for a wireless keyboard and mouse too.
Pls dun get those Cordless type, costing like RM120 or less for both keyboard and mouse... the range of the keyboard / mouse is like 2 - 3 feet only...

I purchased a cordless type from Viewnet, have to exchange it for a Logitech BT MediaPro keyboard, not the best keyboard around but that was the only BT keyboard they have at the moment.... plus add in RM20 for a bluetooth dongle..

Yr options are 2.4Ghz type or Bluetooth (BT) options of keyboard and mouse or those Media Edition keyboard/mouse combo ( usually comes with either trackball or small touchpad )

Depend on yr budget, taste, feel (touchpad or trackball) and availability here....

With BT type ( add RM20 for the dongle ) you can also connect to yr other BT devices like phone for file transfer...etc..etc..

QUOTE(valtai30 @ Jan 22 2010, 12:06 PM)

now come back to the remote control, anyone have better recommendations on this??? i oso prefer remote than wireless k/b & mouse...
This forumer sells HTPC cases and remote controller..

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=662901&hl=

This post has been edited by stan001: Jan 22 2010, 01:22 PM
stan001
post Jan 22 2010, 03:03 PM

623 posts

Not the same meh ??, the program that comes with K-Lite is called Media Player Classic home cinema..

A good article for all HTPC users :-
http://www.guru3d.com/article/accelerate-x...the-gpu-guide/1

stan001
post Jan 24 2010, 12:57 PM

623 posts

Found info on how to make MCE remote controller to work with the latest version of Media Player Classic Home Cinema (MPC-HC V1.3.1249.0 )

Options -> Player -> Keys

Look for command Play, choose MEDIA_PLAY pulldown menu under App Command column...

Do the same for Pause, Stop, Jump Forward (medium) & Jump Backward (medium )...

Credit to the person that wrote this instructions below :-

http://www.avforums.com/forums/home-entert...er-classic.html

stan001
post Jan 25 2010, 12:26 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(sil3ntHunt3r @ Jan 24 2010, 08:21 PM)
I'm thinking to build my HTPC with

1.Zotac Ion N330-D
2. KINGSTON 2GB DDR800
3. WESTERN DIGITAL 320GB SATA2
4. LG 22X DVD WRITER SATA / OEM BD-Rom

Do you guy think it is appropriate for me to go for Atom N330 Ion? I choose this because I want small size HTPC and my HTPC will be use mostly to play HD content..Planning to install XBMC live into the machine but since XBMC cannot play Blu-ray disk, so kind blur on what to install so that I can watch Blu-ray disk from my HTPC (currently use TotalMedia Theater to watch blu-ray disk)
The ION mobo is very nice and fanless... I read a lot of good stuff on the ION platform as a HTPC/MediaPlayer appliance.. rclxms.gif

How much is the price of this mobo ?

Does the XMBC do DXVA (DirectX Video Acceleration) using the ION GPU ? If yes, than it will not use the CPU for decoding...

I read somewhere the ION uses the 9400M GPU..

What about the chassis ?

I think manufacturer will use board to built fanless MediaPlayer appliance out of it with all the necessary bundled s/w..

0.0452sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 11:41 PM