PC Audio HTPC, anyone doing this?

rudhrasamy
post Jun 22 2006, 10:40 AM

844 posts

I wanna build a Low End HTPC for my fren......
His min requirement was must have remote to operate(4 listening to music while turn of da tv/ watching movies), small form factor, very low end as he not gonna use it for extreme condition such as high end gaming or recording any tv programs.

The purpose is for education, multimedia entertainment........ His max budget is RM1500

So can u guys suggest me the hardware i do need for this HTPC......

Thanx for your contribution......

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=304373
rudhrasamy
post Jun 23 2006, 12:42 PM

844 posts

no sifus replyka....

if not can u guys recommend me the remote control device which is cheaper in the market.... i dun wan tsunami's its damn expensive
rudhrasamy
post Jun 25 2006, 03:09 PM

844 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jun 24 2006, 02:55 AM)
cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

MY HTPC DIED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

story is HERE

cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
im sorry for you..... maybe u have to change ur mobo.... do concern about the static electric discharged from the tvs as mentioned by Vervain

QUOTE(ryansia @ Jun 24 2006, 03:00 AM)
Well, what you need is just a remote IR receiver, gfx card or mobo with S- video (for crt TV) and a PC of course.... these are pretty much simple but the real pain is at the solfwares......

RM 1.5K machine can even run 1080i HD material already.
cheap cheap
sempron 2600+ less than 300
1 Gig Ram 300
mATX mobo with nvindia 6100 or 6150 gfx built in (c/w S-Video, DVI, Component ) less than 350 thumbup.gif
HDD 200 GB less than 300

all the above is about RM1.2K, balance 300 for other stuffs like low profile (since none of the pci/ pcie will be used) casing  (dun expect nice casing though).......

not to forget, homebrew serial IR receiver for less than RM 30.

but i did not factor in all the solfwares cost...and i dun think you gonna spend a fortune on that.....

i hope it helps.
thanx alot for the recomendation.... but i need some recommendation for the remote control.... my friend here noob bout hardwares n installation... next time if want to reformat means need to find those drivers n softwares...... im dun prefer home brew r/c coz this is not mine.... but still working on the home brew r/c for my pc.... will pm u for seek ur help if have any..... thanx for everything

QUOTE(Hwoarang45 @ Jun 24 2006, 07:48 PM)
hehe ......

my first HTPC was my XBMC modded xbox,

cheapest and best solution tat time, can play virtually any popular video/audio/picture format available , and share data from pc via wifi, and best of all quality console gaming hhahahaa...

too bad can't record video only....
does ur XBOX MC can do office works n surfing net....???? if can wana recommend for xbox

QUOTE(Vervain @ Jun 25 2006, 02:27 AM)
anyone knows how to discharge static electricity and electric leakage from tvs? cause normally pc are sensitive to these elements
need to put a wire connection between earth n the body of ur tvs.... y dun u ask in technical corner.... can get many ppls attention to get answer

Guys xbox360 can do office works n surfing net???? need to know
rudhrasamy
post Jun 25 2006, 08:20 PM

844 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jun 25 2006, 04:38 PM)
guess wat....

ITS ALIVE!!! ITS ALLIIIIIIIIIIVVVEEEE!!!

hehehee.....only problem was just the friggin ram...changed it to a KVR 512mb and  rclxm9.gif  icon_idea.gif  rclxm9.gif

thank god it wasnt the mobo....i love that mobo too much coz of the onboard sound...  matches well with my Edifier R501MKII and so easy to configure....

gave me abit of a scare sweat.gif
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif im happy for you..... to find the root cause must be a big headache...... rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
rudhrasamy
post Jun 27 2006, 03:26 PM

844 posts

QUOTE(ryansia @ Jun 27 2006, 03:15 PM)
anyone insterested in this Silverstone LC-14M case???

http://www.silverstonetek.com/products-lc14m.htm

we may start a MO to keep the price lo..... Robyncom sold before at 1.2K........drool
you mean te case itself is ony rm 1.2k???? sweat.gif sweat.gif
rudhrasamy
post Jun 30 2006, 10:27 PM

844 posts

QUOTE(ciputra @ Jun 30 2006, 03:00 PM)
your friend budget of 1.5K RM imo is too low. for cheap remote, get any unused remote and with a DIY IR receiver with girder as software shld do it. but warning girder is steep like hell to understand
yeah i know how its works..... realy difficult to understand it..... rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

QUOTE(vey99 @ Jun 30 2006, 09:49 PM)
Media Centre runs on top of XP so its std loading times plus a couple of seconds...
Usually I come home, press the power button, put my stuff aside and its up oredi...
u must have a super fast rig there.... thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

0.0164sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:28 PM