PC Audio HTPC, anyone doing this?
kianweic
May 3 2008, 11:23 PM
I usually used my old obsolete PC for Home Theatre.
Last I had in Melbourne:
Pentium 4 2.533Ghz with Zalman CNPS 9500LED 1GB DDR Ram ATI Radeon 9550 Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Platinium Enermax 400watt PSU Pioneer DVD-Writer 16x Lite-ON CD-Writer 48x 2x 80GB Maxtor HDD (IDE) Lian-Li Casing Logitech Z-560 THX Certified 4.1 Speakers (not as good as the 5.1 version but decent enough for a good movie)
All this connected to an old 17inch Hitachi Monitor and a 29inch Sony CRT TV.
PS. I probably built a cheap HTPC next via using a portable Laptop, with Logitech speakers for a small room next time.
IMHO, the most important part for a HTPC is the TV and the speakers.
kianweic
May 4 2008, 10:40 AM
QUOTE(beebee @ May 4 2008, 09:42 AM) hi, i have been eyeing this Acer Aspire L3600, saw it in lowyat selling for round RM2k, issit worth it or it can be cheaper if i assemble it myself? » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « My office is using that PC with the exception of the speakers. A decent PC but sometimes things run quite slow doing spreadsheets and stuff. I think it's due to overheating because it has a powerful CPU yet it is the airflow of the casing doesn't seem to be good enough. I think you are better of buying a clone one with RM2k. Cheers
kianweic
May 5 2008, 11:21 AM
Maybe my work one isn't well configured or just have too much dust on it.
I don't think it's worth the money, first it collects lotsa dust, has a tendency to overheat and have a brick for a PSU (like those laptop) creating heck lotsa wires everywhere.)
Yes you are correct in terms that you can't make one as small as this or as powerful (unless you have a lot of time on your hand). However there are lotsa are slightly bigger version which runs just as fast and runs a lot cooler.
Cheers
kianweic
May 5 2008, 04:54 PM
QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ May 5 2008, 03:42 PM) Mine: Core2Duo T7600G, Aopen i945GTt-VFA mini-itx, 2x512MB DDR2 667, Seagate 5400.3 120GB SATA, LG slim DVD Super Multi, 90W AC adaptor, Morex 3688 casing Dunno about you guys lar but form factor (small) is more important to me since my wife is mainly using it to watch DVD niah. Low power and silence is more important for me. If it's a budget issue, just get Intel's mini-itx board and do a DIY casing lor. Small and nice. No need to be powerhouse to sit in the living room lor. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « The beer looks better than the PC hahaha, can't wait to have a drink. Anyway, what kind of remote control you use for that setup? I got my remote control from Logitech and one from Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Platinium. Cheers
kianweic
May 5 2008, 10:12 PM
QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ May 5 2008, 10:06 PM) Nice, mine looks something like this (Logitech ones)  Cheers
kianweic
May 7 2008, 12:21 PM
My Dad's Living Room Home Theatre Setup (This setup is like almost 10 years old) Ceiling mount rear speaker  A lazy person necessity especially when watching movies and needing to go to the toilet.  Cheers
kianweic
May 7 2008, 12:47 PM
HTPC also needs a monitor or TV plus a speaker systems.
HTPC itself can't function without the above as well.
This post has been edited by kianweic: May 7 2008, 12:48 PM
kianweic
May 7 2008, 12:54 PM
QUOTE(cstkl1 @ May 7 2008, 12:50 PM) example of spammer who "tanpa segan dan malu" HTPC doesnt require TV or speakers boy HTPC + TVSpaeakers and AMP is a ure Home theater make.. IF u have a monitor + HTPC.. thats a freaking desktop. boy LCD TVs not necessary comes with built-in speakers as well. Your statement seems to contradict yourself.