PC Audio HTPC, anyone doing this?

AlamakLor
post Mar 15 2006, 10:38 AM

9,856 posts

QUOTE(sevendogz @ Mar 14 2006, 11:33 PM)
forgive me, but who's that chewkl? any reference or article on this in malaysia?
post #3 sweat.gif
AlamakLor
post Oct 4 2006, 09:43 AM

9,856 posts

Im building a HTPC in a week or two with the following stuff:

Casing: Silverstone LC11B
Mobo: Asus M2NPV-VM
Sound Card: EMU 1212m
Processor: AM2 3500+
Ram: 1gb 667 - still deciding what brand
AlamakLor
post Oct 4 2006, 09:57 AM

9,856 posts

yes, and the mobo only max out at 1.9Vram...choosing a stable 1.8V ram is giving me headache doh.gif any recommendation? looking at patriot/geil/Vdata

How's the component tv out working for you, and does the onboard vga works ok? compared to my current FX5200 tongue.gif

The SG01 is not bad, but doesnt seem "HTPC" enough laugh.gif

I would really like to get ahanix casing, but the casing itself is more expensive than many "audiophile" components..... vmad.gif

This post has been edited by AlamakLor: Oct 4 2006, 09:59 AM
AlamakLor
post Oct 4 2006, 10:33 AM

9,856 posts

yeah ive also read alot about them picky on rams....or maybe the rams just dont work very well at their lowest rated voltage. Definitely have to pump it to 1.9v Ive also read that ppl couldnt use ddr800 with them and had to lower it to 667 in order to work sweat.gif

any problem with dual channel? my guess is probab;y have to boot up with 1 stick first to set the bios...

the casing will cost arounf RM600+ here

btw when u said tv out, did you mean componsite out? lol....composite cannot be used 1 ler laugh.gif
AlamakLor
post Oct 4 2006, 11:20 AM

9,856 posts

s-video oso dun have meh? sweat.gif i bought a cheapo 24" tv bout 3 yrs ago....it cost me RM600 last time...and it is a true flat screen, with component and s-video input biggrin.gif
AlamakLor
post Oct 4 2006, 01:02 PM

9,856 posts

QUOTE(Edifier @ Oct 4 2006, 01:26 AM)
The Selling price of LC11 is arround RM600++ here also but the LC11 canot support Core2 due to 300W power supply.
htpc no need so kau kua.....AM2 3500+ only 62W biggrin.gif sitll lots of juice for other stuff
AlamakLor
post Oct 4 2006, 09:20 PM

9,856 posts

i got no budget for faster processor sweat.gif I burnt a VERY BIG hole in my pocket this month....no $$ for faster processor sweat.gif I dun have lcd tv, so hdtv will not be realizable for me in at lesat a yr or two...by which time i should be upgrading my processor.

Those multimedia versions cost too much...all of them cost 200+CAD about rm800+...and those pesky vfd aint gonna do me any good besides better looking biggrin.gif
AlamakLor
post Oct 7 2006, 04:21 AM

9,856 posts

you guys think i should really fork out the extra for a 3800 X2 instead of a 3500+? unsure.gif i just noticed that there's a 65W version of the 3800 X2..only suck up as much power as the 3500+...heat shouldnt be an issue then biggrin.gif
AlamakLor
post Oct 8 2006, 01:03 PM

9,856 posts

actually i got the dual core after i posted that. there are a couple version, the one on newegg is rather the same power as 3500+ so why not biggrin.gif

u want ur pc to boot up as fast as xbox? keep it in standby mode when you dont use it smile.gif

This post has been edited by AlamakLor: Oct 8 2006, 01:04 PM
AlamakLor
post Oct 8 2006, 01:33 PM

9,856 posts

jesus...what kind of sentence did i just write in post 308.....sweat.gif
i should stop multitasking...

This post has been edited by AlamakLor: Oct 8 2006, 01:34 PM
AlamakLor
post Oct 18 2006, 11:42 PM

9,856 posts

w00t....my LC11B came biggrin.gif freaking good build quality.
The psu doesnt have any voltage switch or any label at all (300W version) I was wondering if it's universal voltage input...do you know about that edifier?

EDIT: NVM got my answer, works from 110-240V biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by AlamakLor: Oct 19 2006, 07:15 AM
AlamakLor
post Oct 29 2006, 03:50 AM

9,856 posts

got my HFPC (yes...hifi poc...not ht pc tongue.gif) assembled yesterday:
*I wish I was a plug brows.gif*

The emu anlog card has no support so it was bending upwards (downwards after I terbalik the casing) which would hack shorted and get killed if one didnt pay attention....some electrical tape did the trick.

The stupid pci locking mechanism was totally F up..I spent almost 30 mins trying to align the pci cards properly.
AlamakLor
post Oct 29 2006, 03:39 PM

9,856 posts

will take some pix after i tidy up a little biggrin.gif it's the silverstone LC11B casing. I've also changed the stock amd fan to the enermax.

Edit: Here's my modest system:

PSB Alpha B without the grille biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by AlamakLor: Oct 29 2006, 11:36 PM
AlamakLor
post Oct 30 2006, 11:19 PM

9,856 posts

for this pc, I only bought the casing, ram, processor and the enermax fan...these sum up to around rm2k. Sound card, hdd, and dvd rom were salvaged from my old pc which is now a server. Adding those salvaged parts (NEC dvdrw, emu1212m, 1 X 250sata, 1 X 160ide) around RM3.3k for this pc.

I left all my music and movie drives in my server though biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by AlamakLor: Oct 30 2006, 11:20 PM
AlamakLor
post Oct 31 2006, 11:45 AM

9,856 posts

QUOTE(terencey @ Oct 30 2006, 07:12 AM)
Comes package with the mobo.

Had some issues with my RAM on this mobo. Using 2x 512mb kingston 667 DDR2 RAM, kept getting BSOD. But I manually up the voltage to higher value then problem solved.

All in all a great feature packed and value for money AM2 mobo.
hey, are you using the soundmax at all? the driver comes in a combination of english and chinese sweat.gif is there a full english driver out there? I ended up uninstalling it and disabled it in bios....
AlamakLor
post Oct 31 2006, 12:49 PM

9,856 posts

will you ever be going near the htpc to use the touch screen at all? lol

RM2k+ for a casing seems absurd to me...2k+ could get you some very good audio equipments. My casing can hold 3 hdd but I decided to install only 2 in it and slap the others in my server so that other pcs could access it..and i dont have to worry about heat/noise/power issue biggrin.gif
AlamakLor
post Oct 31 2006, 10:34 PM

9,856 posts

QUOTE(accs_centre @ Oct 31 2006, 02:27 AM)
Any issue u found on your mobo? i plan to get same mobo as u  biggrin.gif
Any comment on the nvidia 6150 performance on your mobo?? Thanks!
The board only has a max vddr of 1.9v, so you really need to get something that is rated 1.8 for it to boot up. Another thing is, you cant run dual display with TV + VGA, I think you can run TV + DVI though...im not sure about that. You can only run dual monitor true vga and true dvi connection. Using vga -> dvi converter will not get you dual monitor. Another problem that I have is I cant seem to find a native english software for the soundmax...which really piss me off.
AlamakLor
post Oct 31 2006, 11:52 PM

9,856 posts

it just gives me the feeling of having a cheesy software in my rig.
You will need some RCA -> stereo 3.5mm converter to use the card. Or you can just use digital connection and let your receiver do all the job (if you receiver has digital input)
AlamakLor
post Nov 4 2006, 12:29 AM

9,856 posts

OMG why did u buy the CM260? nice meh? look like old skool VCR player doh.gif
AlamakLor
post Nov 4 2006, 02:01 AM

9,856 posts

are u moving ur x-fi over? biggrin.gif
how much did u spend on the whole rig? I would have gotten the TT Mozart SX instead of the CM260 sweat.gif

0.0225sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:57 PM