QUOTE(spiller46 @ Oct 4 2006, 08:37 PM)
nice speaker stand you have there wanna sell your mission M31 (m'i right?) since it's not connected?
btw, how much did you pay for xn125? good?
This post has been edited by ryansia: Oct 5 2006, 09:10 AM
PC Audio HTPC, anyone doing this?
Oct 5 2006, 09:02 AM
316 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
Oct 5 2006, 10:28 AM
57 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
Oct 5 2006, 10:51 AM
119 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: PJ |
My simple setup.
My new LCD TV and HTPC. No money for any sound system. Pokaiz. Just finished setup Astro Programme guide on MCE last nite. Took me 3 days last time just to reseach and setup the guide. Now its kacang puteh already. I am abit dissapointed with the quality of Astro images. Either running directly from composite cable or through MCE the quality still not that good. Can't expect much i guess since Astro is sending its signal in SD format. But my tears of joy start flowing when I watch my downloaded Prison Break season 2 on my LCD TV. The quality is excellent. This post has been edited by terencey: Oct 5 2006, 10:52 AM |
Oct 5 2006, 11:08 AM
QUOTE(spiller46 @ Oct 5 2006, 10:28 AM) Haha...no money to buy speaker stand ma.... PM me your best price........ btw, how old is the m31? good condition?yupe plan to sell it, u interested ????? xn125 cost me ard rm3000+++ QUOTE(terencey @ Oct 5 2006, 10:51 AM) My simple setup. are you using composite??? hopeless..... try s-video, big improvement from composite. tell us the results. how about ffdshow?My new LCD TV and HTPC. No money for any sound system. Pokaiz. Just finished setup Astro Programme guide on MCE last nite. Took me 3 days last time just to reseach and setup the guide. Now its kacang puteh already. I am abit dissapointed with the quality of Astro images. Either running directly from composite cable or through MCE the quality still not that good. Can't expect much i guess since Astro is sending its signal in SD format. But my tears of joy start flowing when I watch my downloaded Prison Break season 2 on my LCD TV. The quality is excellent. |
Oct 5 2006, 11:11 AM
ops....duplicated post.....
This post has been edited by ryansia: Oct 5 2006, 11:13 AM |
Oct 5 2006, 11:18 AM
QUOTE(ryansia @ Oct 5 2006, 11:08 AM) are you using composite??? hopeless..... try s-video, big improvement from composite. tell us the results. how about ffdshow? Yes I'm using composite. Didn't try S-Video because no cable. Will try it out. Thanks for the tip.FFDShow will try tonite. Yesterday nite too busy setting up EPG and testing all the downloaded movies and series. |
Oct 5 2006, 11:32 AM
QUOTE(terencey @ Oct 5 2006, 11:18 AM) Yes I'm using composite. Didn't try S-Video because no cable. Will try it out. Thanks for the tip. i dun even have time to watch episode 6&7 of PB....my maid ran away liao....FFDShow will try tonite. Yesterday nite too busy setting up EPG and testing all the downloaded movies and series. |
Oct 5 2006, 11:50 AM
QUOTE(ryansia @ Oct 5 2006, 11:32 AM) Its good you need to watch it.Ok back to the topic. Yesterday, I almost wanna buy a set of amp and speakers to get 5.1 surround sound for my HTPC setup. But I didn't, otherwise I won't be able to buy my xbox360 this saturday. How much is the cheapest amp+speakers system around? I just want to have a basic 5.1 surround sound for my HTPC, xbox360, future PS3 and astro. Means the amp must have at least 4 or more inputs rite. |
Oct 5 2006, 12:22 PM
QUOTE(terencey @ Oct 5 2006, 11:50 AM) How much is the cheapest amp+speakers system around? I just want to have a basic 5.1 surround sound for my HTPC, xbox360, future PS3 and astro. Means the amp must have at least 4 or more inputs rite. as you mentioned xbox360 & PS3, it is essential to get an AV amp with HDMI. you only have 1 HDMI port on R7....... unless you wanna settles with component.i remember saw sme one was bulking Sony AV receiver with HDMI passthrough which costs RM8xx. |
Oct 5 2006, 12:25 PM
QUOTE(ryansia @ Oct 5 2006, 12:22 PM) as you mentioned xbox360 & PS3, it is essential to get an AV amp with HDMI. you only have 1 HDMI port on R7....... unless you wanna settles with component. Xbox360 no HDMI output. only component. But I will try to check out the sony AV receiver on bulk sales. Any tips to look out when buying an AV receiver? Thanks.i remember saw sme one was bulking Sony AV receiver with HDMI passthrough which costs RM8xx. |
Oct 5 2006, 12:44 PM
cheap cheap one LPPL one leh, just need to look for best input type and quantity.
ie number of digital input, component input, HDMI bla bla bla option of monitor outbut the more the marrier. |
Oct 5 2006, 12:58 PM
15,022 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Damansara Jaya/Bandar Utama |
QUOTE(spiller46 @ Oct 4 2006, 07:33 PM) tat y i sold my 9600 and go for x1600...but i found out the dvi to hdmi pq is better thn component out in hd mode...... OF course ler. Since ur LCD got HDMI, sure go for HDMI mah. wasted my money to get the audioquest component cable by the way wat u mean by silent pipe??? cos i still using agp interface and not much of choice over market.... me too a big atx casing beside my R7...tat y paiseh to show Silent pipe is Gigabyte's brand for silent heatsink with no fan. I don't think there are many brands with Silentpipe heatsink other than lower end cards becoz most brand put in a fan so u can o/c kaw-kaw and not too concern about noise level. It's a huge nice looking heatsink with a pipe that actually has liquid inside. The liquid inside is used to cool the HSF and when it gets hot, it is vaporised transfered to the end of the long pipe where it turns to liquid again and return to cool the HSF in an infinite loop. There are after market fanless HSF similar to SilentPipe u can buy (i saw some in ALL IT hypermarket and Sri Computer i think). Just make sure they're compatible with ur card before u buy. In fact, i'm planning to buy one to replace the HSF on my 6200 AGP card. Terency and Spiller: Wahhh nice...LCD monitor!! This post has been edited by Matrix: Oct 5 2006, 01:00 PM |
Oct 5 2006, 01:31 PM
QUOTE(Matrix @ Oct 5 2006, 12:58 PM) OF course ler. Since ur LCD got HDMI, sure go for HDMI mah. That i went to sri & all it both also dun have the card.....Silent pipe is Gigabyte's brand for silent heatsink with no fan. I don't think there are many brands with Silentpipe heatsink other than lower end cards becoz most brand put in a fan so u can o/c kaw-kaw and not too concern about noise level. It's a huge nice looking heatsink with a pipe that actually has liquid inside. The liquid inside is used to cool the HSF and when it gets hot, it is vaporised transfered to the end of the long pipe where it turns to liquid again and return to cool the HSF in an infinite loop. There are after market fanless HSF similar to SilentPipe u can buy (i saw some in ALL IT hypermarket and Sri Computer i think). Just make sure they're compatible with ur card before u buy. In fact, i'm planning to buy one to replace the HSF on my 6200 AGP card. Terency and Spiller: Wahhh nice...LCD monitor!! when u saw it??? about lcd tv, i dunno other brand pq juz knw this r7 pair with my samsung hd 950 dvdp did a good job |
Oct 5 2006, 02:13 PM
QUOTE(spiller46 @ Oct 5 2006, 01:31 PM) That i went to sri & all it both also dun have the card..... No, no! The aftermarket HSF is just the HSF only. You're suppose to fix the HSF to the card u already have.when u saw it??? about lcd tv, i dunno other brand pq juz knw this r7 pair with my samsung hd 950 dvdp did a good job Alternatively, you can check out ALL IT Hypermarket(Distributor for Gigabyte) for the Gigabyte GPU card but i'm not sure they have AGP version of 7xxx series or 6xxx series or not. This post has been edited by Matrix: Oct 5 2006, 02:14 PM |
Oct 5 2006, 02:33 PM
QUOTE(Matrix @ Oct 5 2006, 02:13 PM) No, no! The aftermarket HSF is just the HSF only. You're suppose to fix the HSF to the card u already have. ok, thanks ...i think all it gigabyte dun have agp version for 7 & 6 seriesAlternatively, you can check out ALL IT Hypermarket(Distributor for Gigabyte) for the Gigabyte GPU card but i'm not sure they have AGP version of 7xxx series or 6xxx series or not. |
Oct 6 2006, 09:54 AM
Managed to try out post proccessing Astro video yesterday. Result not that good. Overall image quality is ok but got pixelation when watching high speed shows like sports.
I used blur NR + resizing only. Even with all the post processing turned off I still get pixelation of high speed shows. Did I miss something here? Anybody can give me some tips? Thanks you. |
Oct 6 2006, 03:59 PM
QUOTE(terencey @ Oct 6 2006, 09:54 AM) Managed to try out post proccessing Astro video yesterday. Result not that good. Overall image quality is ok but got pixelation when watching high speed shows like sports. what's the connection from astro? composite or S Video? about pixelation you might want to test direct from astro to Tv if the this persists. the problem might be the TV scaler or source and not your HTPC.I used blur NR + resizing only. Even with all the post processing turned off I still get pixelation of high speed shows. Did I miss something here? Anybody can give me some tips? Thanks you. How about upscaling the dvd or divx? you need to do some registry heck inorder to run ffdshow on MCE right? what's the CPU load when you enable blur NR with resize? what's the size you set in resize? |
Oct 6 2006, 04:06 PM
QUOTE(terencey @ Oct 6 2006, 09:54 AM) Managed to try out post proccessing Astro video yesterday. Result not that good. Overall image quality is ok but got pixelation when watching high speed shows like sports. I noticed u used the ASUS mobo with the built-in 6150 card. Did u install Nvidia Purevideo??I used blur NR + resizing only. Even with all the post processing turned off I still get pixelation of high speed shows. Did I miss something here? Anybody can give me some tips? Thanks you. After Installing Purevideo, the DVD movie quality seems much better than the codec that comes with PowerDVD. btw, i still find it hard to believe MCE didn't at least give some cheap free codecs for DVD playing...it can't even play DVD by default!!! Also, i'm starting to hate the online spotlight which is nothing more than gimmick to sell u rubbish online. I think my XBMC on the XBOX has a far superior interface(and looks nicer) than MCE!!! PS: PureVideo isn't free...it is only 30 days trial....Nvidia is greedy...but u can always look for the ahem ahem "pecah" file.... hee-hee. |
Oct 6 2006, 04:34 PM
QUOTE(Matrix @ Oct 6 2006, 04:06 PM) I noticed u used the ASUS mobo with the built-in 6150 card. Did u install Nvidia Purevideo?? "pecah" is not the right word lor...should be "retak" lol. every popular BT site should have that.After Installing Purevideo, the DVD movie quality seems much better than the codec that comes with PowerDVD. btw, i still find it hard to believe MCE didn't at least give some cheap free codecs for DVD playing...it can't even play DVD by default!!! Also, i'm starting to hate the online spotlight which is nothing more than gimmick to sell u rubbish online. I think my XBMC on the XBOX has a far superior interface(and looks nicer) than MCE!!! PS: PureVideo isn't free...it is only 30 days trial....Nvidia is greedy...but u can always look for the ahem ahem "pecah" file.... hee-hee. agree with matrix. pureVideo is one of the best Mpeg2 decoders. |
Oct 6 2006, 04:41 PM
paging all the MCE users.
there are many plugins for MCE out there. Mind to share experience and list down the "essential" for MCE. I personally have installed Media Center Browser- simplified IE within MCE. Musical Folder- browse my misic collection via folder My Movies- titles catalogue PPLive for MCE- PPlive within MCE Weather please share your experience. This post has been edited by ryansia: Oct 6 2006, 04:43 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0263sec
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 12:11 AM |