PC Audio HTPC, anyone doing this?

ryansia
post Sep 7 2006, 10:33 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Sep 4 2006, 10:41 AM)
Yes, it was one of the option on the list, but the hauppauge 150MCE will set me back RM499!!! Frankly, i'm not so much interested in recording TV(heck, my terrestial antenna isn't even working...i only receive TV via ASTRO). In fact it isn't in my priority list, so spending RM500 just for the remote is a kinda waste.

My main purpose is to listen to music using my Prodigy card => HT system. The prodigy card really produce excellent music when paired with my amp and speakers!! It sounds much better than my XBOX can (which is currently the media center).
Thanks for the link. I think i'll keep my money until can find a better solution.

Btw, the official MCE remote is about USD35. I've scanned some sites but they only sell in US. If anyone know any sites that ships here, do drop a post!
as i've just said, i got a brand new hauppauge MCE remote. offer me a price dude!
if you really out of budget, DIY lar, cost you less than RM20. use girder to control.

this is an excellent guide
http://lnx.manoweb.com/lirc/?partType=sect...me=introduction
good luck

p/s if you dunno how to do, i charge RM 50 for 1 set, janji working! my time very expensive one lor......kekekekeke
SUSMatrix
post Sep 8 2006, 10:44 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(ryansia @ Sep 7 2006, 10:33 PM)
as i've just said, i got a brand new hauppauge MCE remote. offer me a price dude!
if you really out of budget, DIY lar, cost you less than RM20. use girder to control.

this is an excellent guide
http://lnx.manoweb.com/lirc/?partType=sect...me=introduction
good luck

p/s if you dunno how to do, i charge RM 50 for 1 set, janji working! my time very expensive one lor......kekekekeke
kawan, ugpm. icon_rolleyes.gif

btw, thanks for sharing all the info about the Coolermaster C260. Ur feedback are much appreciated!!! notworthy.gif

I'm still thinking what to do. With a case like that, things will probably looks cleaner than say with an MCE remote, since it has the IR receiver built in near the VFD panel right? With an MCE remote, i still have to plug the IR receiver into the USB port and place it somewhere near the casing...or is it possible to put the ir receiver inside the casing??? sweat.gif

Maybe mod the casing a bit? How big is the IR receiver for the MCE remote anyway?

terencey
post Sep 8 2006, 11:00 AM

119 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Sep 8 2006, 10:44 AM)
Maybe mod the casing a bit? How big is the IR receiver for the MCE remote anyway?
Here's a pic of the MCE IR Receiver.

ryansia
post Sep 8 2006, 11:02 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Sep 8 2006, 10:44 AM)
kawan, ugpm.  icon_rolleyes.gif
btw, thanks for sharing all the info about the Coolermaster C260. Ur feedback are much appreciated!!!  notworthy.gif

I'm still thinking what to do. With a case like that, things will probably looks cleaner than say with an MCE remote, since it has the IR receiver built in near the VFD panel right? With an MCE remote, i still have to plug the IR receiver into the USB port and place it somewhere near the casing...or is it possible to put the ir receiver inside the casing???  sweat.gif

PM replied.
review ar.... lazy to right long long one.... all in all, i'm happy with the case due to my personal preference. the only set back is that it only take selective mobo layout with agp/pci-e slot at slot 7 and pci slot at slot 6.

the IR receiver located below the optical drive. the bundled remote can control MCE rclxms.gif rclxms.gif but does not have IR blaster to control Astro (for viewing and recording purposes). if you wanna do this then you need MCE ir receiver.
whether the MCE IR receiver can be fitted within the case or not, i need to check.
SUSMatrix
post Sep 8 2006, 11:11 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(terencey @ Sep 8 2006, 11:00 AM)
Here's a pic of the MCE IR Receiver.

The photo show the IR receiver connected to the ASTRO ir receiver. So it means u can control ASTRO via MCE?
ryansia
post Sep 8 2006, 11:30 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Sep 8 2006, 11:11 AM)
The photo show the IR receiver connected to the ASTRO ir receiver. So it means u can control ASTRO via MCE?
Bingo!!!!!!!!!
Edifier
post Sep 9 2006, 12:16 PM

Store Representative
9,150 posts

New HTPC case for who want to built the HTPC (Silverstone case), available in Malaysia start on next week.

ar188
post Sep 9 2006, 03:43 PM

9,206 posts

any LC18 ??

Edifier
post Sep 9 2006, 03:49 PM

Store Representative
9,150 posts

No, if u r interested we can order it for u. The case cost > RM2000
terencey
post Sep 10 2006, 07:08 AM

119 posts

QUOTE(Edifier @ Sep 9 2006, 12:16 PM)
New HTPC case for who want to built the HTPC (Silverstone case), available in Malaysia start on next week.
Mind sharing the price of the case. Thanks. smile.gif
SiriuslyCold
post Sep 10 2006, 10:50 AM

1,976 posts

dunno if any of you guys follow conversations on AVS Forum, but...

Vista looks like its going to be interesting for HTPC - room correction especially, since hifi equipment with built in room correction like TacT/Lyngdorf are upwards of US$10K, and a standalone unit like DEQX are around US$3k each

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=713073

in Vista, we have a perceptually tuned version of room correction. Because we don't expect everyone to own an instrumentation microphone, we have designed it so that you can use a cheap cardioid or omnidirectional microphone costing a few dollars to do an excellent job. IF you have a more expensive microphone, you can calibrate your room very accurately. All of this is implemented in in-box Vista software, using less than 5% on 3GHz CPU. Our room correction will equalize frequency response, time delay, and gain between all of your main channels, as well as build a first-reflection-cancellation filter if one or more of your speakers are near a reflective surface. If you do have a high-quality microphone, the room correction system will also flatten the overall frequency response and adjust the subwoofer delay accordingly. All of our adjustments are done as to capture the most obvious problems from the point of view of human hearing, allowing us to do a very effective job with a few machine cycles.

Beyond advanced processing like room correction, we have also added fully configurable Bass Management, Loudness Equalization, Headphone Virtualization for private headphone listening, and channel control tools to fill speakers (for example 5.1) from stereo material, as well as build phantom channels when, for example, your listening setup has no center speaker. In addition, both Headphone Virtualization as well as bass boost are available for laptops, for headphone and laptop speaker use respectively.

This post has been edited by SiriuslyCold: Sep 10 2006, 10:53 AM
SUSMatrix
post Sep 10 2006, 03:19 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(Edifier @ Sep 9 2006, 12:16 PM)

Please state price please. TQ.
ryansia
post Sep 12 2006, 07:02 PM

316 posts

LC16M
my targeted price RM9xx

please duntell me it will cost rm1200......
Edifier
post Sep 12 2006, 10:50 PM

Store Representative
9,150 posts

QUOTE(ryansia @ Sep 12 2006, 07:02 PM)
LC16M
my targeted price RM9xx

please duntell me it will cost rm1200......
Price of LC16M is RM999
SUSMatrix
post Sep 13 2006, 10:41 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Link to pricelist in other related thread for silverstone casing.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=316371&st=40

Fuiyo...

RM999 for LC16M....my budget burst like an atomic bomb liao...

looks like cheapest casing cost RM399, with no VFD and no remote and no PSU.... sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

I think i'm gonna do some DIY and spray paint some casing for the time being!!

btw, anyone knows where to get those VFD+remote thingy separately here? Doesn't seems like available locally, although Spore seems to have it.

ryansia
post Sep 13 2006, 11:31 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Sep 13 2006, 10:41 AM)

I think i'm gonna do some DIY and spray paint some casing for the time being!!

thant's what i did for my first HTPC...... i modified from a tower casing to a ha desktop and made a new stainless steel face for it and wola....
terencey
post Sep 13 2006, 11:36 AM

119 posts

QUOTE(ryansia @ Sep 13 2006, 11:31 AM)
thant's what i did for my first HTPC...... i modified from a tower casing to a ha desktop and made a new stainless steel face for it and wola....
Ryan, you have pictures of your custom made casing? Share la. thumbup.gif
ryansia
post Sep 13 2006, 11:41 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(terencey @ Sep 13 2006, 11:36 AM)
Ryan, you have pictures of your custom made casing? Share la.  thumbup.gif
if i got time lar.....once i reach home from work...my time belongs to my wife n kids....
SUSMatrix
post Sep 13 2006, 03:37 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(ryansia @ Sep 13 2006, 11:41 AM)
if i got time lar.....once i reach home from work...my time belongs to my wife n kids....
Ha..ha...same here...the wife factor is also a hindrance for HT/PC kaki.

Now my wife wanna hijack the SONY DVD player to the bedroom...thus i'm planning to hijack her PC to become a HTPC to the living room since she hardly use it anyway! laugh.gif

I dun think i wanna spend 1K on just a casing alone...i can use the money to upgrade to Conroe already!

Also, i want a gold color casing to match my Yamaha amp... smile.gif

I was also thinking whether i can rip off the casing of my old kaput DVD player and turn it into a PC casing...but that kinda mod is way beyond me i guess.
ryansia
post Sep 14 2006, 09:52 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Sep 13 2006, 03:37 PM)
I was also thinking whether i can rip off the casing of my old kaput DVD player and turn it into a PC casing...but that kinda mod is way beyond me i guess.
i did it as well..... using old vcd player casing. using smallest matx power supply and it's in my room as extender (client) via wifi. can't fit in optical drive though

126 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0362sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:33 AM