> car brake light wont turn off Chat

TSkezman
post Dec 18 2012, 12:12 AM, updated 13y ago

992 posts

hi, this morning, i notice my car brake light is not turn off even after i matikan the car engine.

and notice there are some plastic thing broke in my carpet.

then i went to this bengkel, and they put something like a layer of plastic and some double sided tape and the light now can turn off.

but is this long term solution? just double side tape? how is it work?
kira_mha
post Dec 18 2012, 12:13 AM

129 posts

wat car 1st?
TSkezman
post Dec 18 2012, 12:13 AM

992 posts

QUOTE(kira_mha @ Dec 18 2012, 12:13 AM)
wat car 1st?
Honda Jazz
IluvProton
post Dec 18 2012, 12:15 AM

143 posts

take off the key still got light?
TSkezman
post Dec 18 2012, 12:15 AM

992 posts

QUOTE(IluvProton @ Dec 18 2012, 12:15 AM)
take off the key still got light?
yup.
xDjWanNabex
post Dec 18 2012, 12:22 AM

932 posts

the wire connection behind loose. my car had the same thing..but the connection from brake pedal was loose.

plugged it, and no problem.
TSkezman
post Dec 18 2012, 12:23 AM

992 posts

QUOTE(xDjWanNabex @ Dec 18 2012, 12:22 AM)
the wire connection behind loose. my car had the same thing..but the connection from brake pedal was loose.

plugged it, and no problem.
mine was fixed using a plastic and double sided tape... is it long term? or should i send to other workshop?
xDjWanNabex
post Dec 18 2012, 12:24 AM

932 posts

just leave it i guess. should be fine..
dopeycheese
post Dec 18 2012, 12:24 AM

90 posts

i had this problem once, middle of the night summore, alarm keep sounding cz brake light still on.
what my dad did, was disconnect the battery until send to mechanic next morning. btw make sure they check the brakes, see whether they stuck or not, can cause alot of problems later...trust me
SonnyCooL
post Dec 18 2012, 12:25 AM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(kezman @ Dec 18 2012, 12:23 AM)
mine was fixed using a plastic and double sided tape... is it long term? or should i send to other workshop?
that called short circuit smile.gif

yah black tape is good enough
kira_mha

129 posts

go to spare part shop, order from them

or go SC
drewn123

101 posts

the reason why is becuz the plastic holder to hold the switch to activate the brake lamp ald break into pieces due to usage (it's normal)

A better and cheaper solution is to replace them with metal spacers instead of buying a new OEM part since it will break down later
TSkezman
post Dec 18 2012, 12:28 AM

992 posts

QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Dec 18 2012, 12:25 AM)
that called short circuit smile.gif

yah black tape is good enough
so i can just rileks now? im afraid it will rosak lagi in the middle of the night, then battery all kong...

Added on December 18, 2012, 12:28 am
QUOTE(kira_mha @ Dec 18 2012, 12:25 AM)
go to spare part shop, order from them

or go SC
the bengkel i went, they said this thing cannot order, maybe i try different bengkel....

SC should be ok kan... agak2 mahal tak?

Added on December 18, 2012, 12:31 am
QUOTE(drewn123 @ Dec 18 2012, 12:25 AM)
the reason why is becuz the plastic holder to hold the switch to activate the brake lamp ald break into pieces due to usage (it's normal)

A better and cheaper solution is to replace them with metal spacers instead of buying a new OEM part since it will break down later
so i guess his solution with the double sided tape is legit lah?
i afraid cannot hold, or if the adhesive wear of, might turn on the light again...

This post has been edited by kezman: Dec 18 2012, 12:31 AM
Shiniz
post Dec 18 2012, 12:31 AM

112 posts

sound to me like your wiring problem...probably...but either way juz take some other bengkel and ask them if they can fix it with replacement parts
SUSCliffrisonJr.
post Dec 18 2012, 12:31 AM

Young and Bangang.
2,422 posts

buy new car
maxpudding
post Dec 18 2012, 12:32 AM

164 posts

Tak payah la sc

They will charge you mahal mahal

drewn123
post Dec 18 2012, 12:33 AM

101 posts

probably better to fix it when u can since u are not feeling easy with it.

I'm also puzzled that the person fix it using double sided tape since it's not really a long term solution.
drewn123
post Dec 18 2012, 12:35 AM

101 posts

QUOTE(Shiniz @ Dec 18 2012, 12:31 AM)
sound to me like your wiring problem...probably...but either way juz take some other bengkel and ask them if they can fix it with replacement parts
He ald stated that there are broken small pieces of plastic under the pedals. If wiring problems, shud have blown the fuses ald biggrin.gif

kira_mha
post Dec 18 2012, 12:35 AM

129 posts

SC sure mahal la, but better safe than sorry

later mess up by soo 'experience' mechanic, good luck.

can try go reliable battery shop
TSkezman
post Dec 18 2012, 12:36 AM

992 posts

QUOTE(drewn123 @ Dec 18 2012, 12:33 AM)
probably better to fix it when u can since u are not feeling easy with it.

I'm also puzzled that the person fix it using double sided tape since it's not really a long term solution.
its like double sided tape, and they use some thick paper (like the box one)... so it become a bit thick....

but yes, im not feeling easy, if battery kong, lagi sakit....
drewn123
post Dec 18 2012, 12:39 AM

101 posts

QUOTE(kira_mha @ Dec 18 2012, 12:35 AM)
SC sure mahal la, but better safe than sorry

later mess up by soo 'experience' mechanic, good luck.

can try go reliable battery shop
Goin to SC is recommended if there is something serious. However, this is trivial stuff and even if u used back the original parts for this problem. This will happen again, the simplest and cost effective is using a couple of metal spacers, bolts and nuts. Guaranteed u never have to fuss about this problem again. I kena before and my fren fix it for me. Used for 5yrs and no problem til i sold off my car.

Err.... go battery shop for wat?? laugh.gif laugh.gif
kira_mha
post Dec 18 2012, 12:42 AM

129 posts

QUOTE(drewn123 @ Dec 18 2012, 12:39 AM)
Goin to SC is recommended if there is something serious. However, this is trivial stuff and even if u used back the original parts for this problem. This will happen again, the simplest and cost effective is using a couple of metal spacers, bolts and nuts. Guaranteed u never have to fuss about this problem again. I kena before and my fren fix it for me. Used for 5yrs and no problem til i sold off my car.

Err.... go battery shop for wat??  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
battery shop to check anything wrong with wiring
drewn123
post Dec 18 2012, 12:42 AM

101 posts

QUOTE(kezman @ Dec 18 2012, 12:36 AM)
its like double sided tape, and they use some thick paper (like the box one)... so it become a bit thick....

but yes, im not feeling easy, if battery kong, lagi sakit....
If the problem arises when there's no ppl to fix it at night:-

1. just disconnect ur battery

2. disconnect one of the fuse for the rear brake lamps

3. take out ur rear lamp bulb (labor intensive)
TSkezman
post Dec 18 2012, 12:44 AM

992 posts

QUOTE(drewn123 @ Dec 18 2012, 12:42 AM)
If the problem arises when there's no ppl to fix it at night:-

1. just disconnect ur battery

2. disconnect one of the fuse for the rear brake lamps

3. take out ur rear lamp bulb (labor intensive)
if disconnect battery wont reset the ECU?

im noob, and i have read about this somewhere....
drewn123
post Dec 18 2012, 12:48 AM

101 posts

QUOTE(kezman @ Dec 18 2012, 12:44 AM)
if disconnect battery wont reset the ECU?

im noob, and i have read about this somewhere....
some cars, if disconnect battery = reset ECU (yours, i dunno)

If battery kong. Change battery, turn ur key on, let the ECU do it's parameter check, then only starts the car, let it idle a few minutes before driving (no problem for most cars) biggrin.gif

Then u just disconnect the fuse lo. For honda, most the fuses located beneath the dashboard of driver side (right)

TSkezman
post Dec 18 2012, 12:51 AM

992 posts

http://www.bohemianalps.com/blog/2008/car-...ights-stuck-on/

found this on the net, i guess this is the same case, now i understand where they out the plastic.... but stick only using double sided, thats what worries me... haha
Volfeed
post Dec 18 2012, 12:51 AM

396 posts

It is called brake pedal switch bumper. Made of rubber. Mine was broken after 8 years. The parts can be seen scattered on the carpet.
1st step, I went to one accs shop and they replaced it with a bolt and nut. Paid RM5 for the job.

Not feeling comfortable with metal hitting the plastic switch everytime so I went to SC to replace it with the actual rubber bumper during a periodical service.
Forgot how much the thing cost but should be around RM10~20 for a small rubber part.

Probably you can buy it cheaper at the spare parts shop and replace yourself.

Reference video:

silent_stalker
post Dec 18 2012, 12:52 AM

852 posts

Dont know if same or not, but my wife old kancil once had that problem. Change a switch at the brake pedal. It was stuck or broken cant remember.
drewn123
post Dec 18 2012, 12:54 AM

101 posts

QUOTE(Volfeed @ Dec 18 2012, 12:51 AM)
It is called brake pedal switch bumper. Made of rubber. Mine was broken after 8 years. The parts can be seen scattered on the carpet.
1st step, I went to one accs shop and they replaced it with a bolt and nut. Paid RM5 for the job.

Not feeling comfortable with metal hitting the plastic switch everytime so I went to SC to replace it with the actual rubber bumper during a periodical service.
Forgot how much the thing cost but should be around RM10~20 for a small rubber part.

Probably you can buy it cheaper at the spare parts shop and replace yourself.

Reference video:

Lols, i guess it all boils down to the person that DIY ur problems.... My fren did a great job and niggling sound or wat so ever... FYI, my fren own a mudguard shop btw.... tongue.gif tongue.gif
drewn123
post Dec 18 2012, 12:56 AM

101 posts

QUOTE(silent_stalker @ Dec 18 2012, 12:52 AM)
Dont know if same or not, but my wife old kancil once had that problem. Change a switch at the brake pedal. It was stuck or broken cant remember.
Biasa la, cars have so many parts waiting to spoil.... every case is unique lo
TSkezman
post Dec 18 2012, 12:59 AM

992 posts

QUOTE(drewn123 @ Dec 18 2012, 12:54 AM)
Lols, i guess it all boils down to the person that DIY ur problems.... My fren did a great job and niggling sound or wat so ever... FYI, my fren own a mudguard shop btw.... tongue.gif  tongue.gif
so i guess tmrw i will search for this bumper la... dont feel easy with just double sided tape.... lol....

but dunno where can find... sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
drewn123
post Dec 18 2012, 01:01 AM

101 posts

QUOTE(kezman @ Dec 18 2012, 12:59 AM)
so i guess tmrw i will search for this bumper la... dont feel easy with just double sided tape.... lol....

but dunno where can find...  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
U just go find ur SC, see how much the replacements cost.... if cheap grab it la

TSkezman
post Dec 18 2012, 01:01 AM

992 posts

QUOTE(drewn123 @ Dec 18 2012, 01:01 AM)
U just go find ur SC, see how much the replacements cost.... if cheap grab it la
ok will do. plan to MC tomorrow... hahaha....
drewn123
post Dec 18 2012, 01:04 AM

101 posts

QUOTE(kezman @ Dec 18 2012, 01:01 AM)
ok will do. plan to MC tomorrow... hahaha....
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by drewn123: Dec 18 2012, 01:04 AM
TSkezman
post Dec 18 2012, 01:07 AM

992 posts

QUOTE(drewn123 @ Dec 18 2012, 01:04 AM)
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
i hope the rubber bumper is cheap la... just now paid rm10 for the fix... doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
cleetoreese
post Dec 18 2012, 01:12 AM

>car got problem
>goes to the mechanic to get it fixed
>doesnt ask anything to the mechanic
>ask in /k/ instead

congratulations.
TSkezman
post Dec 18 2012, 01:24 AM

992 posts

QUOTE(cleetoreese @ Dec 18 2012, 01:12 AM)
>car got problem
>goes to the mechanic to get it fixed
>doesnt ask anything to the mechanic
>ask in /k/ instead

congratulations.
tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
Manlet
post Dec 18 2012, 01:46 AM

ᕦ (ò_óˇ) ᕤ
762 posts

preve > jazz
SUSpgkia8
post Dec 18 2012, 01:47 AM

190 posts

Kezman the mod from the evil forum?
maudermunty
post Dec 18 2012, 02:22 AM

65 posts

just happen to me last week also. like volfeed said, normally mechanics put in bolt and nut to secure the thing. and normally the double sided will not last, its more of a temporary solution.
TSkezman
post Dec 18 2012, 10:38 AM

992 posts

just changed the rubber stopper at Quicksave USJ. at first, they guy who did my car dont know about this rubber, so he suggest to alter the switch, luckily i know, so i show him the video post previously...

then he show to his like office people, turn out they do got stock for this thing.

cost me rm10.....

at first i go to Honda SC, guess what, they dont sell this rubber thing, must buy whole set.... watafafafak?
piap_master
post Dec 18 2012, 10:48 AM

183 posts

just the rubber ring and plactic tat attach to the switch wich is when u press the brake pedal,da switch turn off..if u release ur brake pedal,its turn on..if u undrstnd la..
SUSmarumaru
post Dec 18 2012, 10:50 AM

189 posts

Trust ur instinct luke, maybe there are other issues than just that.
xen0
post Dec 18 2012, 10:53 AM

ismi..alif..lam..ya..fa
1,486 posts

i kena before...just replace a plastic thing laa...2 to 5 ringgit only...no wiring issue..

0.0197sec    0.71    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:32 AM