Which network cellular for iPad is worth?, can't decide on what network provider

TSfahrenheitcore
post Dec 17 2012, 09:41 PM, updated 14y ago

Dear all iPad users,

Sorry if I had created a topic at the wrong place, but I am preparing a Christmas/New Year gift for my aunt, she is staying in those kampung kampung side (Serdang, Kedah), but I do not know what service provider package is the best selection to pick. This is because the other day one of my cousins was using Digi line but there seems to be no coverage at all, I am afraid I will select the wrong package and waste the monthly line commitment.

So could someone please recommend what package and what service provider to choose from?

She usually do not use much just checking mail and reading the news, I think 1 gig should be more than sufficient for her. The problem is just the variety of packages with best coverage which is in the market which suits her best.

Thank you in advance... thank you very very much
en_mizi
post Dec 19 2012, 11:42 AM

155 posts

I suggest u celcom. The best telco coverage.
suntzulee
post Dec 19 2012, 12:03 PM

Trade Dispute
5,689 posts

my advise would be buy the wifi model only. As for telco, sign up one which have strongest coverage at your area. then use tethering hotspot from phone to mini....best value of money gain....
en_mizi
post Dec 19 2012, 02:36 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(suntzulee @ Dec 19 2012, 12:03 PM)
my advise would be buy the wifi model only. As for telco, sign up one which have strongest coverage at your area. then use tethering hotspot from phone to mini....best value of money gain....
i also apply the same method. smile.gif
christcwl9
post Dec 19 2012, 02:48 PM

^ Engineer ^
2,772 posts

If your aunt use the iPad almost 24 hours in the home only, save the $$ and get the iPad with Wifi only will do smile.gif

If still want go for cellular, i would suggest you to go for either Maxis or Celcom smile.gif
dadurtyz
post Dec 19 2012, 02:53 PM

658 posts

I use u mobile plan, great plan for broadband, i rarely use wifi at home. Coverage seems good since i travel much from KL JB and Malacca. Good speed and coverage indeed with affordable plan to choose start from RM18

This post has been edited by dadurtyz: Dec 19 2012, 02:55 PM
hengmy
post Dec 19 2012, 03:06 PM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(dadurtyz @ Dec 19 2012, 02:53 PM)
I use u mobile plan, great plan for broadband, i rarely use wifi at home. Coverage seems good since i travel much from KL JB and Malacca. Good speed and coverage indeed with affordable plan to choose start from RM18
did they offer nano sim?
AppleDroid
post Dec 20 2012, 01:44 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(hengmy @ Dec 19 2012, 03:06 PM)
did they offer nano sim?
http://www.u.com.my/faqs/nano-sim
hengmy
post Dec 25 2012, 02:54 PM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(AppleDroid @ Dec 20 2012, 01:44 AM)
has successfully cut the normal u mobile sim to nano sim, just need a scissor will do thumbup.gif
SUSsang_kanchil
post Dec 25 2012, 03:24 PM

404 posts

QUOTE(fahrenheitcore @ Dec 17 2012, 09:41 PM)
Dear all iPad users,

Sorry if I had created a topic at the wrong place, but I am preparing a Christmas/New Year gift for my aunt, she is staying in those kampung kampung side (Serdang, Kedah), but I do not know what service provider package is the best selection to pick. This is because the other day one of my cousins was using Digi line but there seems to be no coverage at all, I am afraid I will select the wrong package and waste the monthly line commitment.

So could someone please recommend what package and what service provider to choose from?

She usually do not use much just checking mail and reading the news, I think 1 gig should be more than sufficient for her. The problem is just the variety of packages with best coverage which is in the market which suits her best.

Thank you in advance... thank you very very much
Get prepaid for maxis and celcom.
Test it out before buying.
zuhairi1991
post Dec 25 2012, 03:44 PM

549 posts

try skmm one.. smile.gif
EvRyuk
post Dec 25 2012, 03:57 PM

29 posts

maxis skmm only 700mb...
SUSsang_kanchil
post Dec 25 2012, 04:08 PM

404 posts

QUOTE(EvRyuk @ Dec 25 2012, 03:57 PM)
maxis skmm only 700mb...
Shld be enuff unless ur aunty is torrent kaki r youtube fan.
OCMAX
post Dec 25 2012, 07:04 PM

858 posts

Maxis surfmore pretty good smile.gif
nd3527
post Dec 25 2012, 09:52 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(EvRyuk @ Dec 25 2012, 03:57 PM)
maxis skmm only 700mb...
now already change to 1gb / month icon_rolleyes.gif
monthly fees only RM 25
Moonlight86
post Dec 27 2012, 11:15 AM

84 posts

Where to get the maxis skmm? does it have the nano sim for ipad mini?
Boy96
post Dec 27 2012, 05:30 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

I have Celcom broadband on my iPad, digi and maxis on my 2 other phones, so whenever Celcom enters EDGE and Maxis/DiGi still has 3G, I will use wifi hotspot
OCMAX
post Dec 27 2012, 08:50 PM

858 posts

QUOTE(Moonlight86 @ Dec 27 2012, 11:15 AM)
Where to get the maxis skmm? does it have the nano sim for ipad mini?
search surmore 50 (2G) or surmore 70 (5G) and yes you can apply together with sim card.
NEO.rage
post Dec 27 2012, 09:37 PM

I got Unifi. Do you?
798 posts

Celcom + SKMM sim card = OHSEM~ biggrin.gif
winkiedilwy
post Dec 27 2012, 11:29 PM

Imma farting carrots.
2,343 posts

I use umobile prepaid, RM28 for Internet + calls + SMS. But when I balik kampung it switches to maxis and refuses to go online.

0.0228sec    1.39    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 07:44 AM