Proton Wira Aeroback problem, body too low for road bumpers

TSkentchow75
post Dec 16 2012, 10:13 PM, updated 13y ago

Best Biz Card Printing Service
1,353 posts

Hello guys,

One of my second hand Proton Wira Aeroback is having issue with its body is too low for the roads in KL.
I do think that it is the previous owner whom got its absorber spring cut to make the whole car being lowered and sportier.

However, I couldn't pass most of the road bumps and if I do so, I'll scratch the bottom muffler pipes along with its catalytic converter box with the ground.
Which I think if I don't fix it, the pipe would break in the long run.

I totally have no idea in how to raise the body level of the Wira.
Do I have to change the spring? any recommendation is welcomed.

SleeplessEyes
post Dec 16 2012, 10:31 PM

2,429 posts

Having same issue here. If there is 2 adults only at the back, my underneath will scrap each time go over tall speed bump. Just 2 adults only! Havent even put luggages.

So each time i go over a bump, i have to do S turn on the bump lo.
Daniel John
post Dec 16 2012, 10:34 PM

38 posts

change the absorber n spring to standard one and monitor the issue...
nyap2
post Dec 16 2012, 10:39 PM

142 posts

change to waja absorber
TSkentchow75
post Dec 16 2012, 10:50 PM

1,353 posts

QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Dec 16 2012, 10:31 PM)
Having same issue here. If there is 2 adults only at the back, my underneath will scrap each time go over tall speed bump. Just 2 adults only! Havent even put luggages.

So each time i go over a bump, i have to do S turn on the bump lo.
Yea, I'm scratching even I'm sitting in the car alone now. D:

QUOTE(Daniel John @ Dec 16 2012, 10:34 PM)
change the absorber n spring to standard one and monitor the issue...
Do you know how much is the changing do?

QUOTE(nyap2 @ Dec 16 2012, 10:39 PM)
change to waja absorber
Bro how much will that do? Can simply simply change to other car absorber?

angrysnail
post Dec 16 2012, 11:02 PM

SuperStars
1,413 posts

I owned wira aeroback also..standard abs and spring sure scrap the underneath since its a new car (2003)..

use stiffer spring and abs like waja spring..but now i'm using G.A.B HA..stiffer than ever..hehe..no more rubbing,only bumping quite hard..
IvanWong1989
post Dec 16 2012, 11:56 PM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

.... original wira is copy of lancer.. which is a sport car... designed to have low clearance.. sportier look.

... trust me even with stock spring and absorber... chances of hitting bumps still high..
winkiedilwy
post Dec 17 2012, 12:24 AM

Imma farting carrots.
2,343 posts

i saw someone jack the whole back up, but the front still hit bumpers before going thru it...
Aquariusdenz
post Dec 17 2012, 12:28 AM

1,533 posts

My sibling's wira even on stock spring also scratch the bottom on certain bumps.
malutapimau
post Dec 17 2012, 09:50 AM

751 posts

its normal, the combination of stock spring + absorber + tyre make the car sit low

you can make it ride higher by change to taller tyre

185/65r14
195/55r15
195/50r16
Alan
post Dec 17 2012, 10:49 AM

413 posts

No sure if heavy duty absorber/spring is available to increase the ride height.
TSkentchow75
post Dec 18 2012, 12:45 AM

1,353 posts

QUOTE(angrysnail @ Dec 16 2012, 11:02 PM)
I owned wira aeroback also..standard abs and spring sure scrap the underneath since its a new car (2003)..

use stiffer spring and abs like waja spring..but now i'm using G.A.B HA..stiffer than ever..hehe..no more rubbing,only bumping quite hard..
How much is that GAB HA you got? I got saw some of them in the super market with skyhigh pricing like Rm450 per set of 2 pcs. D:

QUOTE(malutapimau @ Dec 17 2012, 09:50 AM)
its normal, the combination of stock spring + absorber + tyre make the car sit low

you can make it ride higher by change to taller tyre

185/65r14
195/55r15
195/50r16
I don't quite know what is the size of my current tyre as well. Is it written on the tyre itself?
I've gotta go and have a look tomorrow

QUOTE(Alan @ Dec 17 2012, 10:49 AM)
No sure if heavy duty absorber/spring is available to increase the ride height.
Sure it will helps as when I go over the bumpers, the car won't sink too much when I drove over with fast speed with heavy duty absorber, but expensive can't afford

SUSkimsim
post Dec 18 2012, 07:43 AM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(kentchow75 @ Dec 16 2012, 10:13 PM)
Hello guys,
One of my second hand Proton Wira Aeroback is having issue with its body is too low for the roads in KL.
I do think that it is the previous owner whom got its absorber spring cut to make the whole car being lowered and sportier.

However, I couldn't pass most of the road bumps and if I do so, I'll scratch the bottom muffler pipes along with its catalytic converter box with the ground.

1. Change back to original spring.
2. Change to sport spring.
3. If found the absorber leak and go for KYB is the best, cause my sentra just changed recently for 4pcs KYB at Rm800 inc labor.

Then your car back to normal as new condition already.

Cheers!
TSkentchow75
post Dec 18 2012, 09:45 AM

1,353 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Dec 18 2012, 07:43 AM)
1. Change back to original spring.
2. Change to sport spring.
3. If found the absorber leak and go for KYB is the best, cause my sentra just changed recently for 4pcs KYB at Rm800 inc labor.

Then your car back to normal as new condition already.

Cheers!
Change to ori spring and change to sport spring?
I don't get it
motomeiji
post Dec 18 2012, 09:53 AM

13 posts

dont change to sport springs. in my exp most (if not all) sport springs are lower than stock.
jacktay94
post Dec 18 2012, 09:55 AM

6 stars only? :(
1,334 posts

QUOTE(kentchow75 @ Dec 16 2012, 10:13 PM)
Hello guys,

Wira mmg like tat weih. My friends one is getting major damage as my uni has 3 bumps to the main gate, and 7 bumps to our student house. all high and if sit 3 guys only aso kena d. siao. o.o
SUSkimsim
post Dec 18 2012, 10:07 AM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(kentchow75 @ Dec 18 2012, 09:45 AM)
Change to ori spring and change to sport spring?
I don't get it
Change original or sport is depend you.
For me I don't like bumpy an go back to original spring.
TSkentchow75
post Dec 18 2012, 10:12 AM

1,353 posts

QUOTE(motomeiji @ Dec 18 2012, 09:53 AM)
dont change to sport springs. in my exp most (if not all) sport springs are lower than stock.
I see, thanks for your valueble experience sharing bro!

QUOTE(jacktay94 @ Dec 18 2012, 09:55 AM)
Wira mmg like tat weih. My friends one is getting major damage as my uni has 3 bumps to the main gate, and 7 bumps to our student house. all high and if sit 3 guys only aso kena d. siao. o.o
Yeah, that's why I'd like to amend the problem just to making it raised to the level like normal cars.

QUOTE(kimsim @ Dec 18 2012, 10:07 AM)
Change original or sport is depend you.
For me I don't like bumpy an go back to original spring.
Sport rim is being more 'bumpy' there?

SUSkimsim
post Dec 18 2012, 10:22 AM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

Sorry the sport rims won't bumpy,

Most of bumpy is due to tyre size too slim on 45mm only.

The issue is sport spring would be more bumpy.

Just go back to original spring. Guarranty you won't bumpy ride.
malutapimau
post Dec 18 2012, 10:24 AM

751 posts

have you check the car tyresize?

my guess, its either 175/70r13 or 185/60r14,,,,,,

0.0152sec    0.84    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 10:59 AM