Which car do you prefer? CR-V or Stream?

TSpublicENEMY
post Dec 14 2012, 07:24 PM, updated 13y ago

189 posts

My choice boils down to these two cars. Which do you guys prefers? And why, if i might ask.

Honda CR-V

Honda Stream RSZ

6UE5T
post Dec 14 2012, 07:44 PM

1,704 posts

Different types of cars so actually should not be really comparable. Do you need MPV/station wagon or SUV?
Anyway I'd surely pick the Stream because it looks way much better, can fit more people, and will have much better performance. SUV IMHO is useless in normal daily driving. The CRV is way underpowered with the 2.0ltr 4 cylinder engine. A car that size minimum has to have 2.5ltr 6 cylinders.
TSpublicENEMY
post Dec 14 2012, 10:59 PM

189 posts

imho, both cars are underpowered. fortunately, power is something that wasnt really important to me. i drive cars carrying my family. i dont need speed and acceleration. i want a family car that i would be proud to own. shiny, feature rich, comfortable etc.

while i do really love stream so much, last major update to stream was 2006 while cr-v is updated this year. its like, want stream so much but im afraid i would feel dissatisfy due to the simplistic features of stream(no gps etc). as for cr-v while is the new design, lots of updated features, im not really into suv. i know nobody can told me what i should buy, thats why i would like to see what forumers here would choose if they were in my position.
theanswer
post Dec 14 2012, 11:31 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(publicENEMY @ Dec 14 2012, 10:59 PM)
imho, both cars are underpowered. fortunately, power is something that wasnt really important to me. i drive cars carrying my family. i dont need speed and acceleration. i want a family car that i would be proud to own. shiny, feature rich, comfortable etc.

while i do really love stream so much, last major update to stream was 2006 while cr-v is updated this year. its like, want stream so much but im afraid i would feel dissatisfy due to the simplistic features of stream(no gps etc). as for cr-v while is the new design, lots of updated features, im not really into suv. i know nobody can told me what i should buy, thats why i would like to see what forumers here would choose if they were in my position.
if u prefer new model, then go for new crv. stream is an old model. very hard to choose, but stream is not that cheap..price more or less crv (current model).
if u dont need to carry extra passenger..then crv is the best choice. spacious than stream. smile.gif
skyblas
post Dec 15 2012, 12:00 AM

crv, because its a new car
6UE5T
post Dec 15 2012, 12:08 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(publicENEMY @ Dec 14 2012, 10:59 PM)

Sure, the 1.8 stream is also underpowered (better get the 2.0) but at least will response better than 2.0 CRV. Anyway, undersized engine not only makes it slow but also may consume more fuel since in a way that small engine is a bit forced to push a heavy car.

As for features, you just consider what you need, and not overdrawn by just flashy stuff which actually might not be necessary anyway. For example when I bought my car, there are many variants with more features such as push start button, panoramic roof lighting, passenger side audio controls, electronic control suspension, auto parking mode, more controls on the steering wheels etc2. But then most of those features I don't really need, so in the end I just pick a mid variant which offered at a good price and features that fit enough for my need, not much of those unnecessary stuff. The difference in price I can use to add/improve for things I need (for example better tires & wheels, audio, security system).

Added on December 15, 2012, 12:10 am
QUOTE(theanswer @ Dec 14 2012, 11:31 PM)
if u prefer new model, then go for new crv. stream is an old model. very hard to choose, but stream is not that cheap..price more or less crv (current model).
if u dont need to carry extra passenger..then crv is the best choice. spacious than stream.  smile.gif
Yeah Stream is also way overpriced! So then better not buy any of these choices! biggrin.gif Maybe better get a Civic or something else.

This post has been edited by 6UE5T: Dec 15 2012, 12:10 AM
danny_sp15
post Dec 15 2012, 12:23 AM

==============
3,045 posts

i prefer smaller pics please tongue.gif
wayfeel
post Dec 15 2012, 01:57 AM

Member of Elite Negotiators xD
2,114 posts

ya i like stream design alot. surely go for the 2l variant but will that be underpower too? i nvr drive suv vs mpv before. IF the mpv is feel better driveability, then get a stream.

if drive mpv way suck than suv, then maybe is time to reassess , myb an suv is a better car provided u need space if stream/mpv can give u that need then stream. that's it.

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Dec 15 2012, 12:08 AM)
Sure, the 1.8 stream is also underpowered (better get the 2.0) but at least will response better than 2.0 CRV. Anyway, undersized engine not only makes it slow but also may consume more fuel since in a way that small engine is a bit forced to push a heavy car.

As for features, you just consider what you need, and not overdrawn by just flashy stuff which actually might not be necessary anyway. For example when I bought my car, there are many variants with more features such as push start button, panoramic roof lighting, passenger side audio controls, electronic control suspension, auto parking mode, more controls on the steering wheels etc2. But then most of those features I don't really need, so in the end I just pick a mid variant which offered at a good price and features that fit enough for my need, not much of those unnecessary stuff. The difference in price I can use to add/improve for things I need (for example better tires & wheels, audio, security system).

Yeah Stream is also way overpriced! So then better not buy any of these choices!  biggrin.gif Maybe better get a Civic or something else.
u pick what variant car
TSpublicENEMY
post Dec 15 2012, 01:58 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Dec 15 2012, 12:08 AM)

Yeah Stream is also way overpriced! So then better not buy any of these choices!  biggrin.gif Maybe better get a Civic or something else.
thank you for your insight. true, most of the nice features are unnecessary. its like ive been using proton iswara for the past eight years, those stupid nifty gadgets can really tempting. super really tempting. its like super poor dumb ugly kid got super expensive and huge presents.

anyway, i thought adding accessories when purchasing cars is cheaper than buy accessories outside. original accessories of course. what do you think.
6UE5T
post Dec 15 2012, 09:48 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(wayfeel @ Dec 15 2012, 01:57 AM)
ya i like stream design alot. surely go for the 2l variant but will that be underpower too? i nvr drive suv vs mpv before. IF the mpv is feel better driveability, then get a stream.

if drive mpv way suck than suv, then maybe is time to reassess , myb an suv is a better car provided u need space if stream/mpv can give u that need then stream. that's it.
u pick what variant car
Stream is >150kg lighter than CRV so that's a significant difference in weight. If both use the same 2.0 engine then surely the Stream will be much more responsive. I personally don't like SUV at all, cuz they're tall/high so feels like I'm gonna flip over when cornering.

You mean my car? I pick Mark X G variant which is between F and S. Within G it self there are many choices since for this car it seems can be quite custom order.

Added on December 15, 2012, 9:57 am
QUOTE(publicENEMY @ Dec 15 2012, 01:58 AM)
thank you for your insight. true, most of the nice features are unnecessary. its like ive been using proton iswara for the past eight years, those stupid nifty gadgets can really tempting. super really tempting. its like super poor dumb ugly kid got super expensive and huge presents.

anyway, i thought adding accessories when purchasing cars is cheaper than buy accessories outside. original accessories of course. what do you think.
Well again it depends on what you need. Buying outside might be cheaper but also might not be as easy to find.

This post has been edited by 6UE5T: Dec 15 2012, 09:57 AM
sonic_cd
post Dec 15 2012, 10:05 AM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Dec 14 2012, 07:44 PM)
Different types of cars so actually should not be really comparable. Do you need MPV/station wagon or SUV?
Anyway I'd surely pick the Stream because it looks way much better, can fit more people, and will have much better performance. SUV IMHO is useless in normal daily driving. The CRV is way underpowered with the 2.0ltr 4 cylinder engine. A car that size minimum has to have 2.5ltr 6 cylinders.
there is a 2.4l crv variant , but was never sold in the malaysian market .. i know naza did bring inthe 2.4l once ...

exentric_nova
post Dec 15 2012, 10:10 AM

I Am Serious
1,702 posts

I own a 02 CRV and my family previously owned a Stream.

For long travels (my parent's kampung is in Kedah, we live in Kajang), Stream definitely offers better comfort.

I like my CRV, but Stream is definitely better for family usage.
wayfeel
post Dec 15 2012, 10:35 AM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(exentric_nova @ Dec 15 2012, 10:10 AM)
I own a 02 CRV and my family previously owned a Stream.

For long travels (my parent's kampung is in Kedah, we live in Kajang), Stream definitely offers better comfort.

I like my CRV, but Stream is definitely better for family usage.
very good to know!

I have 2 H sedan oredy. I was thinking if I wanna get another car it wud have to/must be family car, an mpv? cuz i dont like suv also ,sedan is not gonna make sense...n i always like the stream design. another honda? =.= that makes 3 oredy. lol
6UE5T
post Dec 15 2012, 10:44 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Dec 15 2012, 10:05 AM)
there is a 2.4l crv variant , but was never sold in the malaysian market .. i know naza did bring inthe 2.4l once ...
Hahaha, in Indonesia it's the opposite, there's no 2.0 variant on offer! In fact there's no 2.0 Camry & Accord as well over there. Only in Malaysia people willing to buy such underpowered cars I guess due to the stupid road tax!
Nobody there wants to buy big cars with puny size engines despite the mad traffic jams in Jakarta!
toktok
post Dec 15 2012, 11:49 AM

215 posts

CRV. Higher ground clearance and seating position, bigger cargo area. But it fetch less 2 people compared to Honda Stream.

This post has been edited by toktok: Dec 18 2012, 09:03 AM
wayfeel
post Dec 15 2012, 04:12 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(toktok @ Dec 15 2012, 11:49 AM)
CRV. Higher ground clearance and seating position, bigger cargo area. But it fetch less 2 people.
CRV the SUV can fetch less than 2 ppl? U r not confused with the CR-Z ,are you??
sonic_cd
post Dec 15 2012, 05:51 PM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(wayfeel @ Dec 15 2012, 04:12 PM)
CRV the SUV can fetch less than 2 ppl? U r not confused with the CR-Z ,are you??
he means less 2 people compared to the stream ... grammar mistake .
amad108
post Dec 15 2012, 06:36 PM

too much of something is bad enough
1,008 posts

stream, better looks and spacious.. i'm not sure how underpower is stream, but toyota wish 1.8 4 speed auto it accelerate good enough.. n crv 2.0 4 speed it is underpower, drove my uncle crv 2012 model, seriously not enough torque..
Hudd
post Dec 15 2012, 07:03 PM

196 posts

Stream owner here...i must very good fc...can get around 12km/l..so it doesnot mean low cc high fuel..its how u drive..
wayfeel
post Dec 15 2012, 07:13 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(Hudd @ Dec 15 2012, 07:03 PM)
Stream owner here...i must very good fc...can get around 12km/l..so it doesnot mean low cc high fuel..its how u drive..
walanneh. good fc. good to know.

wat cc ur car? 1.8 or 2l?

0.0440sec    0.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:44 AM